219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Chassahowitzka River Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (352) 382-2200
CGID8152

Chassahowitzka River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   10   8   7   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Canoe, Kayak, boat rentals were very reasonable and you can walk to the water. Most sites were big enough for large rigs, but not all of them. Sites were level and very shaded. Restrooms, showers, and laundry were very clean and nice size. Sites are all hard packed dirt. We were told Wi-Fi probably would not work good due to the park was full, but our Wi-Fi worked very well with full strength bars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$28
This was an excellent tree-filled county park that was quiet and offered access to lots of wildlife right at their dock. Interior roads were dirt, as were the sites. We stayed in #42 and it was perfectly level. We did have a lot of standing water in our site after 2 days of rain, but it dried fairly quickly and we were able to get around. Power was 50-amp and strong, water pressure was barely adequate at just under 40 psi. A nice sturdy table and fire pit were located at each site, with wood for sale at the office - although it was expensive. The park Wi-Fi was free and worked well, and the Verizon signal to our phones and Hotspot was excellent. The bath house was new and beautiful, with clean bathrooms and showers that provided several hooks and a bench for toiletries - nicely done! The laundry room was clean and consisted of 4 washers and 4 dryers, plus a nice folding table. The staff was friendly and helpful, and it was nice to be able to walk down to the dock and rent a kayak for the day. The Publix grocery store was just a couple miles away, as was a huge Shell station where we fueled up with diesel and hooked up the car. We would definitely stay at this nice park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$17
What a beautiful place! So many trees and right on Chassahowitzka River. Near the south bend in the river is a beautiful spring to swim in. We saw a family of manatee one day, and heard owls and foxes every night. Lots of good red fishing. The sites were spacious and well shaded. The only negatives were the no-see-ums, and the ubiquitous mud when it rained, and the very expensive washers and dryers ($2.25 each). Will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
The campground is a great place for family water activities. We stayed here on Saturday - Monday. The campground was crowded but the sites were spaced apart very nicely. Our site (#42) was a pull thru and provided plenty of space for the slides and awning. Even with lots of families and many children, the campground was very peaceful. Swimming in the Seven Sisters Springs is very refreshing. All of the campground personnel were very friendly. The camp sites are grass and dirt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
This is one of our favorite campgrounds in Florida. Off the beaten path, quiet, and a river that is abounding with wildlife. There is a boat ramp in the campground where you can rent canoes and kayaks. You can paddle down secluded creeks, and view the Seven Sisters springs that feed the river; or travel down the river itself to the gulf. Look out for manatees, alligators, dolphins, fish, and a myriad of birds. The campground is under new management, and has built a brand new shower/restroom/laundry building that is kept spotlessly clean. The sites are large and sheltered under huge live oak trees. On a practical note, there is a Publix near by, a Wal-Mart 3 miles north, and a major shopping area 20 minutes south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$46
The park is clean and not to hard getting in and out. There are a few sites which are tight. There was a pack of dogs at one site which sounded like the hounds of hell. The office manager did finally act and evicted them. We where the the 7 site to complain about the dogs. There manager was a bit snippy about the complaint stating if you are hear to bitch about he dogs I am working on it, and it was in a non joking way. The showers where not clean. We rented canoes from up the road, $13 per boat verse $30 per boat at the camp store. Over all Nice place for a weekend get away. Oh there was live music which was nice on Saturday night down on the docks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
This was a very quiet campground. Sites were large and fairly level. Loved the drive to the store where you could see the river. No discounts of any kind for camping so a little pricey. Would stay here again. We stayed 2 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$40
Sites are fairly close together. Bring your own firewood as they do not sell nor provide any. I thought it was a bit pricey at $40.41 including tax--but I was happy to have a place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
This is a decent campground but it could use more attention by staff. The bathrooms were rarely cleaned and often without toilet paper. Not all sites at the campground have full hook ups, and the tent sites relied on the bathroom facilities. I had requested full hookups but was told there were none available when I made my reservation, however there were full hookup sites empty during my entire stay. Fortunately I had brought a portable septic storage tank which I relied on during my one week stay so I did not have to use the bathroom facilities. Laundry facility is available and wash/dry charges reasonable. The no se-ums were horrible and I learned from other campers that this had been an ongoing problem. Not much the campground staff can do about that I guess. My site was large and fairly level. There were no privacy barriers between the sites but there was space. The campground is adjacent to a boat ramp providing access to the Chassahowitzka River. Excellent area to kayak as well as great location to Crystal River area. This is a big plus for staying at the campground. I would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
This is a county park located on the Chassahowitzka River south of Homosassa Springs. There is a boat ramp, canoe and kayak rental, and camp store a short walk from the campground. The campground is very wooded with some full hook up sites. Ours was a back in with water and electric and was wide enough for 3 slides. Our site was very tight to get into because of the trees but once we got set up it was a beautiful site. There is a nice laundry room. There is a Publix grocery store a few miles from the campground. Homosassa Springs State Wildlife park is located about 15 - 20 minutes from the campground. We enjoyed our stay and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
Although this campground is in a great location and has very attractive sites, it could use some maintenance. Our site had broken glass and a glass bottle in it when we arrived, and the wooden picnic table had a big chunk out of it. The bath houses need a new floor. The vanity area and toilets were nice enough but the showers have no private changing areas, the water pressure is terrible, and there's no place to put your stuff. Great place for canoeing and fishing, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$15
Bathrooms older, but clean. Bathhouse is a long walk from the tent sites, but right next to the RVs! What's up with that?? Tent sites were big and private from each other due to lots of woods, but you could still hear the Florida rednecks playing their music way too loud. The campground security never seemed to drive by when this was happening. Lots to do in the area. The river was amazing for paddling, and of course, the manatee are worth the visit alone. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
Ya gotta see this place!! Woodsy, very rural setting in a very rural county, on the edge of a beautiful spring-fed river. Friendly folks manage this county park campground; just an easy-going inexpensive place to stay. Rent a canoe or a john-boat or bring your own. Our last trip we saw, very up-close and personal, a huge manatee, aligator, lots of fish, birds, turtles. Paddle to one of the many springs that feed this river swim in the crystal clear water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
This park is one of our favorites. Woods abound. The Chassahowitzka River comes into the campground property, and kayaks/canoes are available for rent. The store stocks most supplies you could want, including ice cream. It is lovely and peaceful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
The people were very nice. We had to pay cash for the site, or be charged a $2.00 fee. The store/office had plenty of supplies for everything you can imagine, including fish bait and tackle. The campground is set up like a boating/fishing camp. Bugs were horrible, so don't forget the bug spray. Campfires were allowed and each site a fire ring provided. Security, OK - we happened to be right next to the couple on duty for the night - no problems. Pet's vaccination paperwork/license are required. Lots of dogs in this park. No place to really "run them". The sites were sandy, and and no concrete pads, but if you carry a rake, it can be nice. Woodsy with oh so much shade (hence the bugs). Lots of traffic using the boat ramp and clearly not campers, just boating. Plenty of snowbirds, and "residential" campers, but still very nice, and enough space between to have privacy. The showers/bathroom were not very nice. No security (even though there's a lock and pass code system, door needs to be fixed), and when inside the shower, you only have a curtain. Some of the campers not so "pretty". Probably harmless, but hanging around the bathrooms. Kids were in the bathrooms a lot. There's a separate section for tent campers only. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com