220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Faver-Dykes State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (904) 794-0997
CGID816

Faver-Dykes State Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   9   7   9   8   6   5   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$19
Sand road coming in and going out of park is 3 miles long narrow, and rough. This is an older State Park, that is quiet and remote. OK for smaller trailers and Motorhomes, but would not take a 36' in again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
The worse thing about the park was the entry road. It was brutal, potholes as big as our truck that never stopped. The rain made it nerve-racking since you couldn't tell how deep they were. The bath house while clean was old, the shower wasn't great, mold growing on painted block and the drain was a real ankle twister. However the natural beauty, foliage, wild turkeys, pigs, deer made up for it. The sites were large. This was a great base to explore St. Augustine and surrounding area. The 30 amp power was all right. We would return, felt it was an excellent value. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
This is what camping is all about! An older, smaller park with lots of privacy. The trails are great with wildlife abundant. Saw our first Javelina there, or "wild hog" as they're called here. Very quiet and dark, which appeals to us. Staff is very friendly and excited to see new arrivals. A Gem of a spot, a new favorite for us. Water pressure is a bit low, so bring some in your tank as a supplement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
Dirt roads, quiet while we were here. Trails are open and wide, and short. This campground is what it claims to be, a respite "for those who want to get away from the crowds". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
I loved this campground, stayed here for 9 days. Definitely Old Florida. Very quiet, not much to do. Right up my alley. Quite empty during the week, but it filled right up on the weekend. All sites were spacious. There are a few smaller sites but no 'bad' sites. We stayed at site 22 that was very private, but there were many sites that was very nice and I would of been happy at. It is down a 2 mile dirt road into the state park which does get large puddles when it rains. There is a boat ramp in the state park portion along with picnic tables. No playground in the campground. Does have a 1/2 mile nature trail which was nice and it seems to be set up for nature talks. Certainly will stay here again next year. Bathrooms were on the older side but clean. We had a night time raccoon visit when I left a bag of popcorn out on the lounge chair by mistake. St.Augustine is a lovely walking town. Lots to do and see there. They have found a return customer with us as we visit relatives in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
If you want a peaceful place to camp this is it. It's a mile and a half down a dirt road so you are away from any road noise yet only 15 minutes from the beach. Only negative comment is the Ranger is less than helpful and hard to find. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
We chose site 16 and our 34' TT fit but we couldn't extend our awning. The site had great day time shade due to the tree canopy overhead. I actually had to engage my 4WD to get backed in due to a thick, spongy ground cover made up of a sand and broken shell fragments. This base drained water great and was soft under foot, but clumped badly on sandals/shoes and was hard to keep out of the coach. The CG is literally carved out from a very dense thicket of saw-tooth palm fronds, vines and young trees. You cannot see your neighbor from most sites. This privacy comes with a price however, there is very little breeze. The humid mornings were uncomfortable and the mid-day heat was hard to take. There is ample wildlife and some will come in and climb right into truck beds to dig through your garbage. The wildlife is also probably responsible for the single worst thing about our stay. When we stopped at the unoccupied ranger station to check in there was a small flyer announcing a tick problem. The flyer probably should have said "tick epidemic" because they were literally everywhere, on the road, in the dirt, on every blade of grass and every tree branch. The ticks ranged from the tiny seed ticks to the determined ring-neck. It was an hourly activity to pick them off and dispose. Our dog was covered. However, if you ever wanted to know what Florida probably looked like to the first Spanish explorers, Faver-Dykes State Park probably comes close. This is authentic inland Florida. We hiked a 2.6 mile trail to a vantage point overlooking the Pellicer creek and the trail was very well marked and maintained. It also had the biggest spiders I have every seen. A thin black/yellow beast that from leg-to-leg was larger than my hand. They spun webs about 6' off the ground. It was NOT a fun hike. I wouldn't come back to Faver-Dykes, but I'm glad I experienced it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
We were there the day after a rain. The roads and campsites had cement like mud. We had to wash our TT and truck after the stay just to get the weight off! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$9
Spent 3 nights in site #28. Excellent for our Roadtrek but could easily fit bigger. Sand sites, but all looked level. The grounds were clean when we arrived. Restrooms/showers are a little old, but clean and functioning. The one ranger we met was informative and friendly. Three decent hiking trails. Kayak rentals the cheapest we have run across to date. Firewood/ice available from the host. Nice, small, shady park. Quiet. Communications sparse at times, but then. We'll return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
We have a 26 ft 5th wheel that is 12ft tall. Getting in and out of this park was somewhat of a trial. There are MANY trees that crowd the nearly (total) 4 miles of the narrow sandy access road to get in and out. While part is separated "one way" the bulk of it is a very narrow 2 lane. Fortunately we met no other vehicles both coming and going. The park is currently VERY dry and has had one recent fire that burned almost a 100 acres (in a remote part of the park) according to the ranger. Power was good, and water pressure was (50 psi). The park ranger (only 1 that we saw) was very friendly and effective but seemed stressed. We had a pleasant stay and visited nearby ST Augustine, about 20 miles away. This was an easy day trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$10
Senior resident rate shown. Our third time here, the first time since the new trail opened behind the Rangers office. It is a good hike with the last 1/4 mile or so paralleling the water. The end of the trail is at a great observation point overlooking the water-good picture opportunity. The canoe rental and launch ramp are about 1/4 to 3/8 mile from the campground with the public day areas another 1/4 mile beyond that. Good fishing in Pellicer Creek for both fresh and salt water species. Make sure you have the correct license for the species you catch. If you're a basket weaver like my wife, there are very long pine needles available in the public area and just off the beginning of the new trail about 50 yards down a dirt road off to the left on the left branch of the trail. The old shorter trail between sites at the end is also a nice hike with good views of the water and grass. As usual, Florida State Parks are great-friendly, clean and interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
If you want to relax and not do anything this is the place, because there really is nothing to do here. It is a small camping area and each site is private. It is sandy and there are a couple of walking trails, (bring bug spray). There is no TV reception so bring DVDs. It is really 2 miles from the blacktop road to the camping area and a mile from the main road to the dirt road. Makes for a good 6 mile morning walk. There is a boat ramp that is nice and a small play ground. The wife asked that we not go back but it is ok if you like wilderness. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
A quiet park, with good space between camp sites, and good kayaking. Has lots of armadillos. Campfires are allowed. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$19
The campground was very well kept. It was very quite at night and the local sheriff patrolled the grounds. The drive in was not as bad as others made it out to be (I've been through worse). The park rangers were very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
To be fair, some of the problems we had were due to two weeks of rain prior to our arrival. First, the mosquitoes just about carried us away. Second, the road into and through the park are narrow, dirt, and have numerous pot holes. Finally the sites are packed sand and I see no way that even had it not been for the rain that it won't get into your vehicle. The site we had was not the most level and I was grateful to have four wheel drive to get out of it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
Great park if you want to feel like you are camping, not RVing. Sites are large but sometimes complicated by trees that make backing in, setting up a challenge. Dense foliage provides privacy, but at lower level so that they do not block the sun completely. Nice nature trail, boat launch, canoe rental. No laundry facilities, dirt road into the campground is about 2 miles long. About 15 miles to historic St. Augustine sites and to Crescent Beach and grocery shopping. 30 sites with about 80 percent reservable. Campground was full as it was Race week in Daytona. Staff was friendly and facilities were clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$14
As State Parks go, this one is great. I love the privacy of each site. There was a significant amount of tropical foliage growing around each site that created the privacy. The sites were HUGE. We only were able to stay one night but I can't wait to go back. Bath houses were clean. The entry road was very rough but we survived. If you are looking for a getaway, it is perfect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$15
This campground is a bit more rustic than many due to about two miles of dirt road to and through the campground but it worked very well for us. The road is a bit narrow and lumpy but passable. We had site #16 and even though it was not entirely level we didn't have any trouble finding a sweet spot in it and it was very spacious overall with an easy back-in angle; we have a 30 ft class A. Some of the other sites are more narrow. All of the sites are surrounded by trees, palms and other greenery for privacy and shade. Bathhouses a bit outdated but clean with plenty of hot water, hooks and a bench in the shower for your stuff. Hosts are friendly, helpful and kept the sites groomed and the park clean. Dump station was easy to access. St. Augustine is about 15 minutes away, we visited Cabrillo de San Marcos, the Oldest House, the Spanish Quarter, the National Cemetary and Anastasia Island. We also thought that Fort Mantanzas Natl Monument and Bulow Plantation Ruins State Park were easy day trips worth doing. We had quite a bit of rain the night before we left and the road out had some large puddles to drive through but was fine. We liked the wildlife in this park and would visit again but it would be nice if the road were paved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$14
We love Fl state parks, but Faver-Dykes is just awful! It is far away from St. Augustine, and everything else. Once you turn into the park, you must drive down a 10 minute dirt road (don't wash your RV or car). There is no check-in, as no rangers were there at all. They did drive up in the morning and left the gate key number for us. Deer flies were awful, and sites were un-level, we had 4 days reservations, but left to boondock on the 2nd day (it was Memorial Day - and nothing else was available). We personally will never visit this campground/state park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com