223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Buckskin Mountain SP (River Island Unit) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (928) 667-3231
CGID8176

Buckskin Mountain SP (River Island Unit)

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   7   8   10   9   7   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
Nice state park located at a bend in the Colorado River. Park Wi-Fi was intermittent, ability to use Verizon MiFi was dependent on site location, we saw a lot of people using the picnic pavilions to call / email / check online, etc. We didn't have any issues with our MiFi after we put up our booster antenna. Road down into the park is very steep with a very sharp turn, but once in the park it was very easy to maneuver through the park. Sites were a little closer together than most of the state parks we've stay in, the sites closer to the water treatment facility had to deal with a bit of an unpleasant aroma. I'd recommend avoiding sites 12-24 due to the aroma. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
They offer on-line reservations (with a $5.00 booking fee) but the reliability is questionable. When we reserved our site, it was only available for two nights. After we stayed one night, the site was now available for a week. When we were looking for a site before booking the site at River Island, we checked the availability at Buckskin Mountain (about a mile closer to Parker). All of the FHU sites were reserved. After we arrived at River Island, we checked on availability at Buckskin Mountain again. The ranger told us there were 5 FHU sites available for three nights. After checking the 5 sites to see which one would work for us, we returned to the office to reserve a site. The ranger informed us that all of the 5 sites were no longer available. It took us about 10 minutes to check which site would work. So in 10 minutes, all 5 sites were booked on-line in the middle of the day. Very hard to believe. The park is along the main highway between Parker (about 12 miles North of Parker) & Lake Havasu City. It is close enough to go to either town for supplies. A little closer to Parker but Lake Havasu City seemed to be a better option. The interior roads and site pads are paved. Some of the turns at the end of the rows are very tight. There is a mixture of pull through and back in sites. Almost all of them are flat so it is easy to level. Only saw one site that needed some minor blocking for the RV to get level. There is a public boat launch & parking. They only have water & electric (50/30/20 amp) hook ups – No sewer! But there is a dump station for use on your way out near the exit. The two bays are short with a tight 90 degree turn to exit the park. The utility connections are about in the middle of the sites. Each site has an outside table on a concrete pad and an elevated BBQ. There is a lot of space between the sites. There are two common restroom/shower buildings located at opposite corners of the campground. During our stay, one of the buildings had lost its’ water heater so the 29 sites (the campground was almost full) had to share only 4 shower stalls. There was no anticipated replacement date. As a result of the demand, the showers were not very clean – hair, debris and mud were on the floor and the water wasn’t very hot. It was best described as warm. It’s safe to say that almost all of the sites offer a view of the southern sky with few obstructions so you should get good satellite reception. They even posted the setting for the satellite carriers. Our Verizon Hotspot Wi-Fi device didn’t work! Remember the park is only 12 miles from Parker. Cell phone reception was poor at best. There is a fenced pet area which is dirt. No waste collection bag stations or tools. There is a dumpster close to the area to dispose of waste. Some folks didn’t clean up after their pet. Not much area to walk dogs outside of the pet area due to the size of the campground and the number of campers with dogs. There weren’t any paths or trails to walk. There was a high pitch mechanical whine sound from the nearby service area. It could be annoying if you’re sensitive to that type of sound. The staff was friendly and helpful. We could hear the wild burros at night that were across the river. If we ever had to return to this area again, we would not stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Nice location, but tired. No lights working in the men shower area. Good Verizon signal here from California, across the river. Very good hiking trail back to old mines. A good workout. A much better choice would be at Cattail Cove SP, just 11 miles north. We stayed a week there and it was great. Friendly staff both places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
We nice and new park. No one there except us which we found surprising, since both neighbor State Parks (one either side) had plenty of visitors. No connection on our Verizon USB modem - even with a booster aerial connected. With reference to the sewer dumping fee mentioned in previous post - surely this is part of the campground fee if you have paid this? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$23
I plan on going back to Parker just to stay at this park. It was very peaceful, great for hiking and bike riding. Wi-Fi service good, but no cell phone service. I only stayed for the weekend, but I missed it as soon as I left. If you are driving through Parker make sure you stop at the Crossroad Cafe, wonderful food & service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
A beautiful spot on the Colorado River. Store/Arcade/Restaurant are nearby. All sites are back-ins but configured in a way it is easy to do. For history buffs, a visit to the community of Postson northwest of Parker could be of interest as one can view the remnants of the internment facility, where some 17,000 people of Japanese descent, mostly American citizens, were interned during World War II. There is also a monument just north of the community of Postson. I would give this a 10 were Wi-Fi available, even if provided by an outside source for a fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
We have stayed here twice in 2 years, as the excellent Buckskin Mountain next door has been full. A good 'overflow' choice. Nice beach & river front, roads very easy to drive - it's a small park with big, mostly open sites. I'm not sure of the rate with electric; lets say $20-$23 a night. Bathrooms good; hilly hikes available above the campground and river. Buckskin (1 mile south) is the prize, but River Island will work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
We had no trouble navigating the roads with our 39' 5th wheel. The entire campground is quite flat and level, which appeals to us for an overnighter. If you want large shade trees, go to the other campground. Our site was level enough that we did not need to unhook, although a little side-to-side adjusting was required. There is a nicely done hiking trail. Because of the canyon and because the campground sits in a bowl, you won't have cellphone or modem service. There is a nice dump station, but don't pull in just to dump - the dump fee is the same as the camping fee, $23. Since they are right on the river this pricing makes sense to us but could be a shock to someone only needing to dump. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$23
Facilities at the site were excellent. Paved roads and large sites. There are more likely to be sites in this area than Buckskin Mountain, but camping here entitles the guest to full use of Buckskin facilities, such as hiking, visitor center, and ranger talks. Near the road, but traffic is very light at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$23
Nice park, newly remodeled with large sites and 50 amp electric. Right on Colorado River. Great backup for Buckskin Mountain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com