218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Lakeside RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (334) 745-5414
CGID8189

Lakeside RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   6   2   8   5   7   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
Fee reflects the Passport America rate, only available on Mon and Tues nights. Owners were exceptionally friendly and would rate 10/10 in our opinion. Unfortunately the campground needs some tidying and seems to be a depot for junk. The sites are all pull-through and level. Services include cable TV and good Wi-Fi connection. Laundry OK at $1 per load. Campground is full of seasonals who leave for work early in morning. Campground is immediately adjacent to 280 and the noise continues through the night. We might stop here for one evening, passing through, but would not go out of our way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
Mixed feelings about this park. It is good for our purposes as a couple of days stop. Full hookup with 50 amp power and cable. Wi-Fi is weak. Site was level and well spaced. However, it is NOT a destination or family park. Most sites are long term workers who leave noisily at 5 AM. Environment offers no aesthetics (where is the lake?) and you do hear highway noise if your windows are open. Owner is very friendly and helpful but the scenery is not the best. We would use it as a stopover again, but not as a "destination" park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
Like previous reviews, this is not a destination park. However, it is fine for an overnight. The owner is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a level pull through site. We are self contained so the lack of facilities didn't bother us. However, I am a light sleeper and it was too close to the noisy road for me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
We stayed here for one night only on the way to our destination. When we saw a collection of rusted out, abandoned vehicles near the entrance we almost turned around...but one of the employees came out to us and convinced us to stay. I have to say the owners were really nice, but that's the only thing good about the park. It is horribly run down and dirty...the "office" is located in a run down trailer with rusted junk all around it. There is only one bathroom for the whole park, and it is located in an added on room in the back of that trailer - the door had to be held closed with a folding metal chair. The fee is collected at the site - cash or check only. The playground is a collection of run down, filthy, moldy old plastic toys that look like they were collected from the side of a road. Again, in all fairness, the owners couldn't have been nicer...the site we stayed in was level and it did have some grass and gravel. The best way to describe this place is VERY rustic South. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
As others have pointed out, this isn't a destination park. It's one you where you overnight on your way somewhere else. Lots of permanent residents. Owner very pleasant. We called ahead. He met us with golf cart and took us to our site. Asked if we needed anything, offered to help set up and invited us to come to the entrance and sit around and visit with the locals. Good power, water, cable (76 channels he boasted of) and sewer. Easy in and out. We certainly recommend this CG for exactly what it is. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
We were only here 1 night. They were able to accommodate our truck w/boat and MH w/toad in one long pull-thru slot. Took a walk around the park and there is a lot of old mechanical equipment and old trucks on the perimeter of the campground with trees grown up all around them. It is ok if you need a place in this area for an overnite but is not a vacation destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
This is the only site available in the area. Wi-Fi and satellite available. Friendly site. Fairly basic though, but would stay again. Cash only! You must call to meet management at the camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
Fairly level (we made it work). All amenities. Easy off/on to the highway. We thought by selecting this facility a few miles off the interstate we'd be free of highway noise. Not so, the highway was close by. Payment is in cash to the owner who takes you to your site. All-in-all a good overnight campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Very nice park. Easy in and out with separate exit. VERY friendly staff. No office, owner and camp host met us at the entrance and escorted us to our LARGE pull-through site. Wi-Fi and cable TV was excellent. $20 Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$32
We used this for just one night on the way to Gulfport, MS. Rate entirely too high for the facilities. Would look further next time. The manager was very nice and helpful. No office to go to. He met you at the entrance, led you to the spot, and then collected at that point. (Checks or cash accepted, no credit cards.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Not a bad place for an overnighter. The sites were nice large and level. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
This is an old campground. We didn't see an office. The CG owner came to collect at our site. It's very quiet, off the highway in a rustic setting with many trees. It was easy in and out and going to the site although the roads and sites are gravel. Even so, we leveled up easily. Cable TV was good but not so, the Wi-Fi. We had trouble connecting. The bathhouse was unisex but clean. The facilities are so old, I would have to say the $32 rate was too high. It needs major upgrading. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Rate is Passport America that is only good Monday and Tuesday. Long pull-through gravel sites, can stay hooked up if desired with no problem. Good 50 amp electricity and water pressure. Shady sites and friendly, helpful owners. Easy access from I-85. Negative is as previously posted with junky stuff all around outskirts of park but the campsites are maintained. Good overnight park and would return but only at Passport rates. Not worth the full rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
Very friendly and helpful, yet non-intrusive staff and long-term residents; family- and pet-friendly; lovely, wooded, level sites despite being located on a steep hillside; very good Wi-Fi coverage and easy in/out. The facilities are old and in need of some maintenance, but very clean despite the age. We would return here, and found nothing that would keep us from staying long-term if we had to be in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
This is the worst campground we've seen for junk and old trucks scattered around. It is a mess. It has all hookups and facilities for an overnight stop off I-85. The pull through sites are fine, so we would use it again if necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$32
This park is way overpriced for what it offers. We camped here overnight on our way to Florida and it is adequate for an overnight stay. It is trashy and has many permanent residents. It is close to the highway and we found that convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$32
Stopped overnight on way to Destin from Atlanta. Gravel lot; slightly uneven. Easy in and out. Friendly management. Remained hooked up to tow vehicle. Some road noise all night. Did not use sewer hook up. All services were easily accessible; if desired. Free cable TV. CHEAP: would use again on a travel stop over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
A year ago I wrote about this park being in the midst of re-landscaping, as it looked by all the equipment laying around that work was in progress. It wasn't. Nothing has changed. Maybe it looks good in the summer when everything is green but this time of year it looks run down. The park works well as a stop-n-sleep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
Access is good. Sites are gravel and not level. It rained hard and drainage is a problem for all sites on the north side. To the south there is a construction yard with old equipment, mobile homes, and other similar items parked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
Very big sites and great owners. Campground still a work in progress. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
We would go back to this park just for the owner/operater. He was the nicest, friendliest guy. We had to put in a new microwave while we were there. No easy task, and he came right over and offered to help, and brought one of his helpers with him. This camp will never make it on RV Camp Beautiful, but it has full hook-ups, cable and wifi. I did have trouble using the wifi, but again he had someone come help me. It still was not strong, but there was another hotspot that I could get on. We stayed here for a week, and will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
Very rustic, bordering on trashy, but good for a one-nighter or a base for visiting the Opelika-Auburn area. Looks like they are in the midst of re-landscaping. Great cable TV and instant wireless. Possibly the friendliest hosts I've ever come across. If I was in the area, I'd go back just to shoot the breeze with him. The piles of rock and gravel, the tractors and other equipment still liter the park and it still looks a little on the trashy side. Even with all that, I’d still come here again for the friendly folks and good services. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We stayed here only 2 nights, but were not impressed. The sites were unkempt, rustic and closely cramped. There was a lot of 'junk yard' debris strewn around and a lot yard gnomes and trinkets around. The campground road was uneven gravel and hilly and windy. Anyone with a camper longer than our 32 footer might have a hard time navigating around with the low hanging trees and sharp turns. All that said, the owners were nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
No bathrooms or anything yet, large very nicely set-up sites, pull-throughs, great owners. Perfect for us as we only care to park and ride around towns. Priced higher than all local parks etc. unless you can have discount Camp Club USA or Passport America. NO DISCOUNT on weekends though so would not stop on weekends. Old trucks and equipment out front gate; almost did not go in, but once in you see great layout and sites. Locals tell us won't go there too high and too messy looking out front. Needs to have a big sign advertising special deal/s stop in. Needs to get local word of mouth out there, as the locals camp and travel further for cheaper rates right now. Stopped at several places to eat and locals say too messy looking. For us it was perfect. Really nice owners but only 2 other guests overnight. Saw 4 permanent campers. Lot of hard work already done there to clean it up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$28
Park appears to be a work in progress. Wifi not at all sites yet, but being added. Our pull-through had excellent wifi. Many trees in park, but no problem maneuvering our 40' long 12.5' high motorhome pulling a Jeep. There appears to be abandoned construction equipment nearby, but was not a problem for us. There are many construction workers camped here, but there sites are well maintained. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
There did not appear to be an office as the check in was completed in the driveway. After check-in, we were led to our site down a single lane gravel road. We passed the dump station on the way in and it appeared to be just a pipe sticking up out of the ground. It also appeared to be higher than the road. The park is heavily wooded and care must be taken of overhanging branches. Most of the sites appeared to contain permanent residents. Our site had standing water as it had rained earlier in the day. The host was very friendly and helpful even finding extra boards to help level the coach. The site was surrounded by junked out trailers and a junked piece of old road equipment. Across the street were several junked out double wide trailers stored there. We spent that night because a storm was coming but we will probably not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com