218180 User submitted reviews online!!
Parnell Creek RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 51 user reviews. Phone: (256) 776-2348
CGID82

Parnell Creek RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   9   9   7   9   8   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$26
Sites were not large, but there was enough space in between to be somewhat comfortable. FHU and bathrooms that are nice, private, clean. Like a house bathroom. 4 washers/dryers. Located in a shed that shook as you walked in it. But the units worked fine and that is what counts. Pets welcome. Plenty of area to walk them. They do have a long narrow fenced dog walk. Not really sufficient for a large dog to spread their legs. This park is right along the highway, so be very careful your dog does not get loose! WiFi free but many people couldn't connect. Since we have a booster antenna, we had fairly good service. Plenty of open area for satellite. Although this park is right on the highway, which is great for overnight, the park still has a sort of homey community feel. They owners are very nice. They have a large garage/barn building with a wood stove, tables, and kitchen. The owners serve a Sunday breakfast of scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausage, bacon, and/or biscuits and sausage gravy for a donation. Mail delivery is accepted. There is quite a lot to do within 20 miles. There is a Space museum which we missed out on. Unclaimed Baggage Center is within 10 minutes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
This is a small, rustic, family owned campground, with Highway 72 running along one side of the campground. Full hookups and helpful friendly staff at check in. Road and pad are gravel, our pull through site is fairly level, but barely long or wide enough. Big rig access although doable, but is tight. Some noise from the highway. Plenty of grass. Picnic table and fire ring, but no shade trees. Bathrooms and laundry are old, basic but clean. Small dog run. Wi-Fi is very slow, but cell is good. We would stay here again. The price this is great for a one night stopover, but certainly no more than that. Rate reflects Pass Port America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Really nice park. I would give it a 10 if the Wi-Fi was better. Nice pool, well manicured park, level sites playground for kids, nice grassy areas under awning and very friendly caring owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$16
Easy in and out. Very nice family owned, well kept, upgraded camp store, and even provided a free breakfast. The rate was with Passport America. We have stayed here before and will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
When we arrived we were pleasantly greeted, after check in we were escorted to our site by a young man. The site was plenty large for our 43 foot RV and our car. All of the front sites are brand new, power and water is all up to date, easy in and easy out. There is a small strip of green grass well maintained between sites. The salt water pool was a real treat for myself: open 10 to 8. In addition, they have a very small building, in it includes a treadmill and bike and a like step machine. In addition, they have a tanning bed for an additional 3 dollars. We stayed here for 3 nights. We visited the space museum in Huntsville about 40 minutes away, and the store of re claimed airline baggage ( over rated). The only drawback to this camp ground is it is close to route 72 and you get the traffic noise. But for traveling through and taking a break for a few days at a very fair price, it is perfect!! It is an easy 4 star park and in my opinion better than some 5 star rated parks we have stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This is a very clean and well maintained park. The people who run it are very friendly and helpful. I spent 6 nights here while sightseeing in the area. It is located halfway between Huntsville and Scottsboro so was very convenient. The only reason I did not give it a 10 is because of its proximity to the highway which made it a little noisy. I would stop here again if I were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$23
We dropped in on this little gem. We really loved staying here, the only points off were for the highway noise and the sites are a little close. The owners are doing a great job on this place and we will be back for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
This is a nice park with very helpful owners. It's a PA and Good Sams Park. Gravel roads and sites are a tad narrow, but we had no problem getting in and out with a 40' bus. Some noise from the highway, but it didn't disturb our sleep. We spent 4 nights and would visit it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
This campground owners are very friendly and helpful in letting you know what is in area. The campground is a work in progress and most of the work is being done by the owners. New campsites are being added. Our camping club will be staying here later on in the year, and we can't wait to see what all has been done. Camp store is very well stocked with items and crafts. It is a Good Sam Campground -- that's a plus! We definitely will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Very nice Park. Owners present and very friendly and helpful. Great pool. Close to highway but surprised at so very little traffic at night. Little to no shade trees available. Would definitely stay again if in area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
We stay at this park every time we pass by. The owners have the place looking great. The gravel roads are smooth and well groomed. The grass is neat as a pin. We are always greeted with a warm welcome. The Passport America rate makes this park a Super Deal! Stop by when you are in the area. You will be happy you did. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Positives: Clean and well maintained. Friendly staff. Would stay again for a stop over. Free breakfast Sunday mornings. Small store well stocked. Negatives: Excessive road noise, Wi-Fi wouldn't connect, all roads are gravel. Other campers haven't cleaned up behind their dogs, excrement every where, no cable TV. 50 amp was very limited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Campground was impeccably clean. Bathhouse/showers were cleanest I've ever seen in a campground, better than many hotels!! Hosts are on site and very approachable. Does lack a little shade. Certainly would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
Excellent park, clean, good service and Sunday breakfast is excellent. Stayed 4 nites, 3 PPA, one Good Sam. Nice people and very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$13
Previous post praising this park are accurate, but I must caution that the WiFi that is advertised as available, is limited. It is slow and sometimes not available. The monthly limit on time allowed by the server apparently ran out on the second day of our stay. It did not come back during the next two days. There is a McDonalds in Scotsboro that has WiFi with no purchase required. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This is one of the cleanest, nicest parks we have seen. The hosts live on site, and are very friendly and helpful. The place is extremely clean and even the gravel drives are manicured. They have worked really hard and it shows. The buildings are all very clean and kept in good condition. It is half an hour from Huntsville, and located in the mountain area of US 72. Roads are four lanes divided which provide easy access. It has a pool, playground, miniature golf and more for family entertainment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
A very nice campground. A touch tight for a big rig, but everything was so neat, clean, and landscaped. Many amenities. Very helpful and friendly staff. Would most definitely return. We used Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
This may be one of the top parks at Passport has to offer. Very easy to find, sites level, nice pool and other amenities. If you want to explore Northern Alabama, then this is a good spot. Also, the owners are very helpful and pleasant. The grounds are immaculate and they are working for your business. Would stay here again and recommend to anyone in any size rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
Clean, well kept, and friendly owners at this park. I would definitely stay again. No negatives as far as I am concerned. Rate is Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$65
We love this place!! The owners are so great and friendly they make you feel like family. The cabins were built by the owners and are very homey and comfortable. The salt-water pool is awesome. This is not a huge campground but they have activities and fun things for everyone. You can see the pride they take in their business. It is extremely clean all over and the showers are huge and private. Love it!! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
Great campground with wonderful staff/owners. Although it is a small campground (and very tight for maneuvering a big rig), it is immaculately kept and clean. We have young children and the playground was clean and safe. The salt water pool was in great condition and very clean. The only drawbacks to this campground are it's proximity to HWY 72 (a four lane with lots of traffic/noise) and the fact that people are allowed to smoke at the pool. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay. Don't miss the Sunday breakfast that the staff prepares for their guests free of charge. We'll be back when we are in the Huntsville area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
Rate is with Campclub USA Discount. Amazing value for an excellent well-kept campground. Very helpful staff, we rented a satellite box for 2$, great to have a dish on the site to connect to. The pool was lovely, and they also have a fitness room. The bathrooms were really good. We stayed two nights and visited the Space Center at Huntsville. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
We have stayed here for one night stops, for over 5 years. We found this camp to be friendly and a well affordable camping option. The staff team is very friendly and informative. The bathrooms were also in excellent condition and appeared to be less than a couple of years old. NOTE: The new baths are complete private bathrooms. Something you would expect at an RV Resort, not a small, family-owned campground. The same for the large salt water swimming pool. In the past 2 years they have turned a number of back in sites to pull through sites by adding a second road. The club house (different from the Rec Room) is available for individuals or rallies. It has a full kitchen, wood heat, but no A/C. Some sites have DirecTV dishes mounted so you just have to hook it up to your RV and you are ready to go. They also have some DirecTV boxes for rent. There are enough attractions in this area to stay several days, such as Natural Caverns State Park, Unclaimed Freight Salvage at Scottsboro, plus others that people have mentioned in other reviews. You are also not that far from the Space Center at Huntsville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
Great park, friendly folks, and we enjoyed trip to the Depot Cafe. If it has been raining it's a tight turn into the pull through sites with anything 40 foot or longer. I put the rear tires in the mud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$28
This has to be one of the most enjoyable stays we have had in Alabama. The family that owns this campground are extremely pleasant and accommodating. It is oblivious that they have worked very hard to make the most of this roadside campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This was our very first camping experience with our 5th wheel and it was wonderful. Just exceptional hosts and this campground is clean and welcoming. The Sunday breakfast was great. The Sunday night cookout was really good. The people camping here, both the long timers and the weekenders, were friendly. We couldn't have asked for anything more except maybe for no rain on Saturday. We highly recommend this place for a restful, enjoyable weekend. Thanks hosts for making it special. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
A few buddies and I stayed here while visiting the nearby Walls of Jericho. We found this camp to be a well designed, friendly, and affordable camping option. There were some good and bad things about the campground. As for the good: there are very friendly and informative staff. It was a very relaxed atmosphere and we had a great time in the pool and enjoying the breakfast and cookouts that were provided. There were a few problems. Mini-golf was around 2 dollars to play, would have expected this to be free for those staying at the camp. The activities center is in desperate need of remodeling. We stayed in Little Joe's Hideaway Cabin and it was nicer than what I expected. It appeared to be less than 2 years old. The bathrooms were also in excellent condition and appeared to be less than a couple of years old. The only real problem I experienced here was in the form of a little visitor we had in the cabin. We found a Black Widow spider setting in the corner by the window. We killed the spider and found no other traces of bugs or spiders the rest of the stay. I in no way feel this was the management's fault but just be mindful of what may be hiding around. All in all we had a great time and will come back if we have the chance. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Outstanding! My usual place was booked so I ended up at Parnell Creek. What a blessing! This was easily one of neatest and cleanest campgrounds I have visited. The owners are experienced campers and they know what makes a good campground and good camping experience. I have a new favorite campground when visiting the region. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Our week stay at Parnell Creek Camp was most delightful. The owners, Kevin, Dawn, and son Will, are some of the friendliest and hardest working people I've ever had the pleasure to meet. We enjoyed our air conditioned cabin, the clean bathrooms, the refreshing saltwater swimming pool, the wonderful breakfast on Sunday morning, and the playground for the children. The location was near to Huntsville, so we were able to visit several places of interest. We will go back when the opportunity arises. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
We dropped in by accident and were very pleased with everything! Very well maintained campground with lot's of possibilities also for children to spend your time. You'll find everything you'll need, and if not, the really nice people that own the place will try to make it happen. Unfortunately we missed the big breakfast on Sundays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
Enjoyed this park. Dawn and Kevin went out of their way to make everyone feel at home. They fixed a pancake breakfast on Sunday and on Sunday evening they had a hot dog supper. They have horseshoes and miniature golf. Spaces were a little close but they have plans to enlarge some of the sites and add some more 50 amp sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
This was the best campground that we have ever stayed at! Manager couple were very helpful and very friendly. They had activities every night for the campers to participate in if they choose to. They also joined in as well. They also prepared a full breakfast on Sunday morning for the campers! The salt water pool was clean, and the mini golf was a lot of fun! There is so much to do here that you would never have to leave the campground to find something to do. We had planned on staying only two nights and ended up staying four! We will definitely camp here again, and again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$27
We spent four nights at this facility and really enjoyed it. The relatively new owners (Kevin, Dawn, & Will) are making major improvements. These folks are very friendly and I highly recommend this park. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$11
Stayed for 3 months for the this rate. Was a very clean park. Managers were both very friendly and helpful. We were here in the off season, and park was not busy but found it to be very comfortable. The only negatives we would give it were, the Wi-Fi left a lot to be desired as to reliablity, and lack of a patio. We have learned that having a patio is now at the top of our list because of mud on rainy days and dirt being tracked into RV. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
Price reflects Good Sam discount. This is a well-maintained campground bordering Alabama Route 72. It is OK for an overnight stop. There are all gravel roads and sites with some longer ones allowing you to keep your toad attached when you set-up. All sites look to be quite flat. TV Cable costs extra, but minimal trees allow the use of satellites. There is free Wi-Fi but signal was weak in some out-lying campsites. There are some seasonals but nothing unsightly. Highway noise was irritating and never let-up. Personnel in the office were very friendly. There were no restaurants nearby. Highway noise keeps me from giving a higher grade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
My husband and I stayed here for 1 week. It was nice and very roomy. The entrance to the road of the campground is a very quick pop up surprise over the hill coming west off the 72, there is a blue and white trailer picture sign that does help, but be on your toes. They are about 50 ft from the road so no long, bad roads to get to their place. The owners are a wonderful couple that have just purchased the campground this year, and are working hard with enthusiam to make it better. They even get you excited about all the things they would like to get done, keeps you going back to their website to see what's new. We actually decided to go to this campground on the fact their new pool is with the salt water, which is very healthy for the body and skin, much more so than chlorine. Little did we think the weather might be alittle cool. There is no cable at this time in that area. Wifi was ok but they were actually working on bettering it as we left. Thursday nights they invite everyone from the campground to go to a local diner, which is fun, and you even meet others who meet you there that had been to the park in previous times. I used the workout room which was small and cozy and got the job done. Also they had a couple of people who are full time live- ins there, and you would have no clue which ones they were for the fact they don't allow a bunch of personal items to be outside like other campgrounds; they are all nice and neat. We will surely stay with them again when we pass by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
This is a beautiful park right on the highway. This is a family run park, and the people were great. They even had a free pancake dinner for all the guests on Saturday night. The mini-golf is in great shape, and the pool is salt-water and brand new. No chlorine smell, and the pool is in great condition. We were not able to access Wi-Fi at any location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
The park was very nice, but we were very impressed with the owners who were always on site. We had a couple of issues - dead battery on towed vehicle and a hard drive computer problem. They were very helpful in both cases - even letting us utilize their personal computer. Can't say enough about their helpfulness. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
It served our purpose for visiting family in the area. The price is right for a couple of nights - we were unable to pick up the WiFi in our campsite #20. In a big rig - the roads are tight. Large gravel roads and sites that are almost level. There is a guest fee of $2/person/day - we thought it was a bit much when we were having my father in law (who lives 15 minutes away) over breakfast. It served our purpose at a reasonable rate. Appeared that half of the sites were full time live ins. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
We stayed here for 2 weeks while fishing Lake Guntersville. This park is convenient to Huntsville, Scottsboro and Guntersville and is only 90 miles from the Talladega Speedway. The swimming pool was waiting for inspection but while there, enjoy Thursday night eating at the Depot, Tuesday night Bingo and cards on Friday. Dawn and Kevin the owners are great to do business with and we now consider them our new friends. The sites are gravel and level with good water pressure and stable electric. The Wi-Fi was sometimes difficult, but you could always walk to the pavilion or up next to the office for a speedy connect. For those who don't mind recycling, they separate cans, and plastic and paper and then garbage. There is a lot of room to walk the dogs. We are looking forward to our next stay at this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$24
New owners are very friendly and helpful. They are anxious to make sure that you have everything available to you for a good stay. Very cold weather, so we didn't get to use the amenities. They were available and looked good. WIFI is free and working. We will definitely go back when weather is better and stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$13
We were camped in our toyhauler that had our Harley in it. We also were with another couple that had the same type of unit. Has wonderful campground owners and hosts. One came around the first evening to warn us that the wind might pick up and to keep an eye on our awnings. They have plans to put in a swimming pool next spring. They picked up garbage every morning that was placed in front of each camper. They hold bingo in the shelter every week, have miniture golf for a low price and invite all the campers to cookouts. Great place to stay. Clean, friendly and accessible to many interesting areas. We visited Huntsville and rode over to Rock City at the top of Look Out Mountain near Chattanooga. Would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
New owners were very friendly and helpful. They are doing many improvements, the place is looking great and very clean. If we are ever in the area, we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$14
The Park is extremely clean. The new owners are very friendly and helpful. They came by each morning as we we eating breakfast at our outside table to see if we needed anything. The sites are level and large enough for big rigs. This was our first time in the area and we will definitely come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$13
We stayed here a week and have already decided to return next year for another week. The sites are decent size, level gravel sites, just about all of the water hookups are new as are most of the electrical, tested at 118 volts. The new owners are extremely friendly and helpful and are working very hard to make this a great family park. It is a great location for doing things in Huntsville, Scottsboro or visiting the Cathedral Caverns. Seven years full timing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Sewer and electric too far back to be used conveniently. Water leakage around water hookup caused thick mud around water line. Rules state pets on leash but we had a small dog outside our camper for hours yipping with no leash or collar. Was told by management that another camper there does not use leash for her dog either. WiFi didn't work. New owners have little office organization. Ok spot to overnight, but not for a long camping trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
This park was a very good overnight stopping place. Price was reasonable - the owner was friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was a wasp nest in the electric box. The owner came over promptly and resolved the issue. We did use the picnic area and grill to cook dinner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$13
Great park with friendly owners. We stayed twice in May. This was our 4th year so use them as an overnight stop. They are near Scottsboro, AL on Hwy 72. These people go out of their way to please you. We had not packed the USB cable to let us connect our wifi unit to our notebook and they loaned us the cable off their office printer. Where else would you get that type of service?? Most places you would not even think about asking. They do have some sites with direct tv dishes if you have your own box and they may have a box or two they can furnish you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$10
Used as a one night stop twice in October. The park has several new rates in effect. $10 for 10 hours for a site with water and electric and the dump station. (also use of the restrooms and laundry room). For those who wish a little more than a Wal-Mart, they have a $5 “boon dock rate”. You get use of bathhouse and laundry but no hookups and there is a $5 fee if you use the dump station. Some of the sites now have Direct TV dishes set up for those that carry a Direct TV box with them. Just off Highway 72 about 10 miles west of Scottsboro, Alabama. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
Stayed twice in 2005 and two nights in May and June of 2006. The park was full one night with a Good Sam Rally. The campground provided a great local band for this rally. They have a new pavilion with a number of tables. Good level sites and very friendly owners. We use this park as a stopover when going to or from Memphis to North Carolina. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
We stayed here in July 2003 in our 5th wheel, it is a nice clean park with friendly owners, was treated to a fish dinner by the owners at no charge. We will stay there again on our next trip We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com