206622 User submitted reviews online!!
The Great Outdoors RV Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (828) 349-0412
CGID8222

The Great Outdoors RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   9   10   10   8   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
This campground was very nice and staff was extremely helpful. They drove us to the site and directed us for backing in, I didn't even have to get out of the coach! A friend was arriving later than us, and they were not able to get level in the site next to us, the campground quickly gave them the option of changing to a nearby campsite and gave them several options. We would stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$42
This is a first class CG. I would like to have given it a 10, but there are a couple of cons that prevent that. The Wi-Fi is wimpy, often barely working. A few of the sites are pretty narrow and another few are not level. Otherwise the CG is a clear 10. The pool was spotless and warm, 83 degrees. Very little road noise. The sites are going to be reworked to improve them and level them. The staff is first class. The one who directed us to our site is a great guy. He seemed to know every guest by name. Entering the CG is a bit challenging. The drive is very steep, but easily manageable if you take your time. Yep, we will be here again, sometime in the spring. Do yourself a favor and book reservations there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
We recently stayed at this park while attending an RV rally. The park is beautiful with nice views of the Smoky Mountains. The staff of many workampers bend over backwards to attend to your every need. The pool was nicely heated and we swam in it several times. We would definitely stay here again. Our rate was the rally rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
This is a very nice park with a spotless shower and bath. The staff is great and helpful. We have stayed here many times in previous years and will be back again. Reasonable rates for a very clean campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Great park. Clean, beautiful views. They have activities for guest if you want to participate. Very friendly and close to lots of things to do. Beautiful clubhouse. Has a nice laundry facilities and an exercise room. One of the best parks ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Great campground. Exercise room was nice. Pool was nice. Weekly activities, pot lucks, desert nights, ice cream socials, campfires. Great staff (work campers). Close to many activities: golf, greenway walking trail, casino (Cherokee), Smokey Mountains, Smokey Mountain Performing Arts Center. Great mountain views. WiFi was poor but the owner added 100 MB/sec service and it now flies. Nice monthly and extended stay rates. We spent 5 months here and will be back in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
The nightly rate based on one month stay. Friendly staff. Grounds are kept up very nicely. Not all sites are level. Sites are all gravel and back in. If your site backs up to Hwy 441 bypass, the traffic noise is non stop and loud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
There is much to like about this RV park: it is a modern facility, exceptionally clean, close to Franklin, and the staff, mostly seasonal workampers, are incredible! But, it is on a bare hillside and suffers from sites that are too close together. Most sites have very little useable area adjacent to the parking pads -- on ours, we had to place the picnic table and chairs right next to the coach, almost touching, due to the slope. There are no trees. Worst of all, the Wi-Fi is terrible: e.g., over the course of a week I was never able to get access to G-maps to help plan our local excursions. Would we stay there again? Not likely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
I cannot say enough good about this park and our camping experience there. We have camped for 45 years. They called us to verify when we would be arriving on the afternoon of our first night's stay. Someone was waiting for us ( no packet on the door!) We were escorted to a clean and open site. While my husband was assited with set up, they invited us to share with their Father's Day Dinner in the community room. A welcome thing for weary travelers. The rest rooms/showers are elegant. The pool is clean and heated when necessary. The WiFi, electric,water,sewer, and cable all worked excellently. They provided a map of the area. They also included a nice tv channel guide and a listing of area stores, hospitals, clinics, vets, and restaurants. Everyone was so friendly and outgoing ! We will definitely be camping here again. No cons! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Very well kept. Extremely clean facilities, especially restrooms. Friendly staff. Great pool. Lots of CG-sponsored events at no charge. I would give this CG a "10" if the Wi-Fi were better--it varies from unavailable to good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Very nice park, which the owners are diligently working to further improve. Pool, restrooms/showers, and clubhouse are extremely clean and well maintained. Laundromat and restrooms were superb. The sites are close together and trees have not grown large enough to provide shade. Our gravel site was almost level. Propane refill was quick. As the landscaping matures this has potential to be a beautiful park. Owners and staff are friendly and attentive. We enjoyed our stay and are recommending it as a future rally site for our camping club. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
This is wonderful RV resort. Very friendly, helpful, and considerate staff. The resort is located in the Mountains near Franklin, N.C. and close to a verity of attractions. The resort offers a pool, exercise room, laundry, and clean showers and restrooms. Lots of activities are offered to the RVers, cable TV, and extremely good Wi-Fi. I recommend this resort to anyone for a few days or a few months stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
We arrived at this park late April intending to stay for a month. The park is so nice, and there is so much to see in the area that we extended for the 3 month special rate. The park is maintained in excellent condition. The owners are constantly sponsoring events such as dinners and movies to make the stay enjoyable. The work campers are all friendly. The rate I quoted reflects the 3 month rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$21
This is definitely the nicest RV park in Franklin. Lots of landscaping and everything is spotless. The camp hosts come by every morning to pick up your trash - and they are quick about it! The pool looked beautiful and inviting, although we didn't use it. They also have a pretty well stocked workout room. We were parked in one of the upper tiers. We did have a bit of trouble leveling as the site angles forward, so we had to block the front tires. There are also a lot of ants! We've experienced the same problem at other area parks so apparently ants love this town. We had spotty issues with the WI-FI but, again, the camp hosts were quick to remedy the problem. One small thing - we paid for an extra night at the normal charge, then found out the next day we had to leave due to a family emergency. We didn't ask, but thought they might credit us for that night since we had just paid. Our rate reflects a special spring weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
The owners and people who work at this park are wonderful! Everyone is so friendly and helpful! This is a clean, quiet park, not a lot of kids running around. There is some highway noise, but I didn't find it unpleasant. They had a pool side party for Memorial Day that was very nice! It included drinks, food, and live music! My one complaint is that I had chosen this campground for Memorial Day weekend because they advertised on their web site that their pool was heated. I thought that would be a nice treat for our two daughters. Unfortunately, they did not have it heated and my daughters were able to swim very little! (this is why my rating is a 9 and not a 10) Some of the upper sites have a nice view of the mountains, but the vegetation is starting to grow and hide the view. I hope they keep it trimmed back to maintain the view!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$21
This is a very nice camp ground, with paved roads and level sites. The rate is a special for the start of the spring season. The owner is very nice and is at the campground every day. The owner had a Memorial Day pool party while we were there, with food, adult beverages, soft drinks, and live entertainment without any charge. There are many camp workers that will help in anyway they can. This was our first time to stay here, but we will be back for the fall colors - reservations all ready made, for October. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
This is great park. Very clean. It is run by many work campers and every one of them are great to be around. There is a lot to do in the area such as the Smokey Mountain Center for the Performing arts, the casino at Cherokee, NC, gem mines, antiques, etc. Franklin is a delightful town with many great restaurants and shops. The pool looks nice but will not open until Memorial Day. The clubhouse is very nice and they host a dinner or pot luck weekly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
1st time here. Loved it. Beautiful view, good base location for sightseeing. Owner and staff very friendly. Definitely will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This park is outstanding! It is beautiful and well kept by friendly employees. The owner stops by to make sure everything is OK and he even remembers your name the next day! I'm impressed and will use this park next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
We had a retired-military rally here and were treated great. The owner visited us and dropped the rate in half to $15 a day for anyone wanting to stay on after the rally. All the staff went out of their way to help us and to make sure we were happy. This is a great park with great views. We will for sure go back. Franklin is a very friendly town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
This was a great little park. The staff was "southern friendly" and very helpful. The park was quite clean and well kept. The surrounding mountains were spectacular. There was plenty to do nearby for everyone. The new owners are also very friendly and have improved the park quite a lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. Very good location and everyone was very friendly. Enjoyed access to Smokey Mountains and all the attractions that were very easy to access from the Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Cool mountain location. Very clean well manicured park. Friendly and helpful staff. We have stayed here many times and find the power and Wi-fi to be very reliable. We come here as a getaway place to chill out. It is also a great base location for folks that like mountain and river activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
This resort has is located central to many points of interest in western NC and northern GA. It is easy to find driving north from Franklin, but easy to miss if driving southbound toward Franklin. New owners went into business when we arrived for the Memorial Day weekend. All of the employees and the "regulars" made us feel right at home. The office, pool area, and bathhouses were all spotless. The park has an unfinished feeling, but the sites were well laid out. We had no trouble parking in our large rig. Our site was clean and level, but the road noise behind and below our site left us feeling a little sleepless the first night. The new owners provided all of the guests with a great Memorial Day get-together at the pool with music and food. We will definitely return to this RV park whenever we plan to be in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
An excellent park close to the highway but above the highway noise. This park has several levels and they are easy to back into. It is about 4 miles from Franklin and 16 miles from Dillsboro off a 4 lane highway. A Wal-Mart and fast food is about 2 miles away. The leaves were beautiful, the staff kind, and they give out doggy biscuits for the 4 legged guests. This will be our park of choice for exploring the area again--nice drive from Highlands, Cashiers, Sylva. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
We enjoyed our stay at this RV park. It's a relatively new park and all facilities were clean and well maintained. The work campers were friendly and busy all the time keeping the park looking good. The RV park is carved out of the side of a hill and has several levels. We (40' rig) were on the upper level, across from the club house and pool. Although Highway 441 was visible, the road noise was minimal on our site. We also had a great view of the surrounding mountains. The laundry is located in the basement of the club house and has two washers and dryers. There's also a small exercise room adjacent to the laundry. We had a chance to use the cable TV connection as our satellite receiver died during our stay and were pleasantly surprised at the number of channels available and the clear reception. (Not always the case at RV parks). We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
Very nice, clean, newer park. Wide level sites. Great internet and cable. Showers/restroom are clean. Park is nicely landscaped. We had a problem with our cable TV and the owner helped us isolate problem to our RV. We had traffic noise due to site we chose. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Very nice campground. We stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday and were only 1 of 2 campers in the entire park. The park owner checked us in and walked up to our site to make sure that we were all right, even told us to use the adjoining site to park our vehicle since the park was empty. Everything was clean and spotless, roomy sites and all the amenities. Plenty of places to go and see outside the campground; we rode bikes, played outside with the kids and explored the campground. They have an outdoor pool and nice clubhouse that is available for use. I would recommend this campground to anyone, and they will be seeing us again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
This was a great place to stay while visiting the Franklin area. All back in sites but plenty of room to maneuver. Cable TV, and WiFi worked great. All facilities were kept sparkling clean. Store was short on supplies but it was the end of season. Plenty of places to shop a couple of miles down the road. The terracing of the different sections provides a sense of privacy. There are few trees due to the age of the facility but some have been planted. Laundry was spotless with plenty of room and a TV to watch while doing the laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This three year old park is half ownership and half rental. The park is built into the mountain and gives each site a beautiful view of the surrounding area. The level gravel sites are big and our 42' MH fit nicely. The Wi-Fi, satellite and cable TV worked fine. The area is beautiful and town is a few minutes away. The park is quiet and the staff was great. Word hasn't got out about this place yet, and so very few people arrived during our five day stay. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Weekly rate included Passport. One of the very few 10's I have ever given. Steep walking but site is level, large, even shaded. And great cycle riding. Will return again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
We have been coming here since the resort opened, around 2006. Thought I had previously rated it, but apparently not. All sites are back-in, full hookups and includes free cable and WiFi service. Sites are terraced on mountainside and most sites have great views of the Smoky Mountains. Roads are paved, sites gravel: eventually will be concrete. Very large in-ground swimming pool. Activity building has restrooms, laundry and excercise room on first floor, second floor is available for large groups (such as rallies), complete with restrooms and kitchens. At present, no charge for use for organized large groups camping here. Campground recently joined Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$37
No pull through sites, but very wide easy roads to maneuver. Had no trouble with 42 feet. All roads are paved real wide for easy access. Amazing mountain-range views. We were going to stay one night and stayed the week. Sites 45-60 are on top if you stay or reserve a spot over the phone. The park website gives you a great overview and park tour if you are not sure. Pool, showers, club-house, cabin lots, Class A Lots for sale at the Sunset Ridge section with private facilities if you are looking for property. We took he tour with the owners, nice friendly couple. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
Park is beautiful and facilities are very good. However: bring your bug spray as the sites are infested with ants and many had bees (yellow jackets and bumble) and beetles. If you are not getting bitten by ants or have then all over your outdoor things you are getting chased by bees. While we were here 2 work campers got stung and one had to go to the hospital. Beetles are everywhere. Sites are not real level and the road noise is unbelievable. Be prepared to hear the owner's wife complain about every camper in the place if you go in the office. I think her attitude is give me your money and shut up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is a new park that has great facilities. It is still growing in usage but is in a good location for overnighters or longer term stays to explore the area. Cable and Wi-Fi are included in the site fee. This is also a good place for rallies of motorhome or trailer clubs as they have a nice clubhouse with kitchen facilities. Have visited here several times already and found the owners and their workkampers very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Super friendly owners and staff who waited in the office until we showed up after hours. Very nice mountain view. Super clean showers and restrooms. Large capacity laundry facilities that my wife raved about as it dried everything in 10-20 minutes. This campground will be even better once some of the trees mature. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
Fairly new campground with further expansion already in the works. Very user friendly with large, open, back-in sites. Very big rig friendly. Front office Staff and campground hosts are extremely helpful and very friendly. Sitting on a hillside, the campground is terraced with all paved interior roads. The sites are level compacted crushed rock for a very stable campsite. We started with just two days, but kept adding days because we were fully enjoying the view and the weather. We already plan a return to Franklin and will use this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
This is a new park that is being set up as a true Motor Home Resort. The resort is still under construction, but the sites are ready and the views are unbelievable. Don't miss this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com