223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Aiken State Natural Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (803) 649-2857
CGID8228

Aiken State Natural Area

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   10   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
Wonderful park! Hidden jewel, which is nice, because it isn't crowded, and I hope it stays that way. Yes, the main road through the campsites is a bit bumpy, but that is the only thing we could find wrong with it. Well, the water pressure was a tad low, too. Our campsite (#19) was spacious and we had no problem letting out the slide or the awning. We intended to walk to the start of the canoe trail on the South Fork Edisto River, but the camp ranger offered to drive us there, kudos! We had a wonderful time on the water, and on this trip for that matter. We will certainly be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
A very large state park and it has a small 25 site camping park nestled in the Pine Woods with the ground mostly covered with fallen pine needles. It was built in the 1930's by the CCC. The roads and the campsites reflect the custom of those times. They are small, even tiny and narrow. The roads are narrow enough as to make it awkward, even difficult for one to easily back a RV into a space. Pine trees rule! Way too many of them, which helps to block a camper from extending both sliders and awnings. The park has rental canoes which is a real plus. The park is somewhat off the beaten path accessible via paved country roads in a rather desolate part of the state. A park ranger told us that the busiest seasons here are either Spring or Fall. We were here in September and found the bugs great enough in number that we did not bother having a fire. Bathrooms are functional, clean, and well ventilated. TV reception was very good. Neither one of our cellular phones were able to make a connection. We'd recommend visiting this camp if you are an agile driver, had a smaller rig, and loved to canoe or fish. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$15
What a great park. This is another one of the CCC parks that was built in SC in the 1940's. Only 25 sites but they were all level with a few that had large pine trees in the middle. Lots of large pine trees throughout and very quiet, There are a couple of spring-fed crystal clear ponds that you can access via a short hike from the campground, or another pond about 3/4 mile away that is also great for fishing and picnicking. When it is warmer we will go back for the canoe rentals on the Edisto River. Lots of trails throughout the park. The bath houses had been freshly painted, very clean and warm (it was 25 deg when we were there). The rangers were very nice and helpful. The road in the campground could be tight for any long rigs. We could access Verizon on our iPad with 2-3 bars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
Had a great time here. Quiet with clean sites and there was fishing 1 pond and 1 big lake clean bathrooms/showers. People was so nice there. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
WE LOVED THIS PARK. When we first arrived I wondered "what did I get myself into?" No park ranger was in sight, and our camp site had a big tree in the middle...no way to get our 28 foot travel trailer in. A camper told us that they would come around and that they changed sights with no trouble. He was right; we chose a site and all was well. The campground is on sand, something unexpected...but the kids loved it. This was a very laid back place, with lots of natural activities to do. Several lakes to explore. One lake feels hidden among the trees, but has a bridge over a spill way and a covered area for lunch. So every day we rode our bike over for lunch and to catch frogs. The other lake was great for fishing, with benches and a park area. We also went on a canoe ride, they had rentals, the river was low but it was a beautiful river. We will come back to this one. It's a great place to zone out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
Good site well off in the woods. Restrooms weren't that clean. Spacious sites, very peaceful. Wouldn't recommend in the summer, very hot and buggy. Good fire rings in all sites. Level and easy access to sites. Road is a bit tight but travel trailers shouldn't have a problem. Small fifth wheels with 30A should be good too. Far off the beaten path, and it takes some time to get to places, but good place to get out and relax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$12
This is an older and smaller State Park located about 20 miles from the city of Aiken SC. We spend Friday and Saturday there and were actually surprised that we could have spent a few more day since there was more to do then we thought. I originally reserved a pull through site since I thought I'd be making the drive alone but when we got there I really didn't like it. We went to the main office to see about switching but it's only open 11am-12pm and then you have to call the ranger on his cell phone. That wasn't a problem and he was fine with us moving since there were only four other sites in use anyways. For an older, smaller and less popular park, it was well maintained. The bathrooms were cleaned everyday and although the showers were older, they were clean as well as the shower curtain and had great hot water. The sites were dirt/sand packed and all of them were cleared of pine straw so you could tell they were taken care of. There are canoes to rent to take down the Edisto River, an area in the campground to play horseshoes, 3 mile nature trail, great flat surfaces for bike riding, and several ponds and picnic shelters. Although he wasn't at the office, we saw the ranger riding around several times a day and at night so we knew he was around. The only reason I didn't give it a ten was because there was no camp store, you could buy firewood from the ranger but nothing else and the redneck gas station down the road was a little scary. Other then that it served it's purpose as a great weekend getaway and I would love to go back when we have more time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com