218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Cypress National Preserve - Midway Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (239) 695-1201
CGID8244

Big Cypress National Preserve - Midway Campground

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   6   8   10   8   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
Our rate is the Federal Senior Pass rate. We arrived with a reservation, well after dark and it was very, very dark. There are no camp hosts, but we had a reservation so we had prepaid. The campground was pretty empty for the one night we stayed.The restrooms were clean enough, but there are no showers. There is no water hookup, but there is a dump station. You come up on the entrance pretty fast, so come in slow. A camp host would be a big plus. The sites were level and paved, as was the campground road. We would stay overnight again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
The rate reflects a 50% senior discount with a Federal Senior card. This is a very pleasant and convenient campground that is well kept. The electrical is a strong 50 amp. There is a dump station and fresh water available. It is right along highway 41, but in our site as far back away from the highway as possible, the road noise was not objectionable. When we arrived there were only two other campers, and only two more came in for the night. As noted there were no camp hosts. The sign at the entrance is a bit confusing, it indicates that reservations are required, but that is not correct. There did not seem to be any reserved sites when we were there, but they can be reserved on the recreation.gov. We felt safe, but we probably would not leave the RV there alone because the campground is so close to the highway and there is really no security. It would be nice to have hosts. We did not use them, but the restrooms seemed modern and clean. There are no showers. We did not get a Verizon signal. Satellite is not a problem as the trees are short. We would certainly stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
As the name suggests, this campground is midway between Naples and Miami. No commercial amenities nearby, but plenty of wildlife. The campground surrounds a small lake which is visible from each site. The loop roadway is paved as are the individual sites and a large greenbelt sits between the road and the lake. Neither the roadway nor the paved sites are very wide so backing in my 28 footer necessitated steering onto the lawn area. Not a problem in Dec., but may be an issue in the soggy season. No water at the sites, but there is a potable water station to fill up if necessary. Dump station on site. Surprisingly little noise from Hwy 41. Nice place to spend a day or two. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
This is a great stopover when traveling to/from the Florida Keys. Just 3 or 4 miles from the Oasis Visitors Center operated by the Park Service. Sites are large and have 50 amp service. Potable water, restrooms, and dump station are available. The campsites encircle a lake. Be careful of alligators if you have pets. When we arrived in the afternoon, we were the only campers here, which made it a little scary since we were in the middle of the Everglades. And, all host sites were empty. However another camper did come in during the night. As we said, this is a great stopover to visit a day or so and explore the Everglades. Be sure to visit the Visitors Center and observe the ‘gators from boardwalk along the canal, and to purchase local goodies from the gift shop. We will visit again on our way south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$19
Very nice park - a loop around a lake. Each site has electric, but no water and no sewer (although there is a dump). The price is $19/night, cash only. There are restrooms, but no showers. We were able to get Verizon 3G and a booster helped with the signal. Oasis Visitor's Center just a couple miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$10
Love this park! The roads are asphalt in good condition, as are the RV sites, which for me means no tracking in of dirt. Sites are arranged around a small lake/large pond, and have no shade, which was fine for my satellite signal. Correct in no cell phone service, but I did get cell data service most of the time. I Velcro my mobile hotspot to my RV window, and was able to get a couple of bars nearly all the time. Wish they would allow reservations here, but I was here for several days in mid-January when everything else around here, especially state parks, were absolutely full, and this place was never full. I would easily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$19
We liked this place and were glad to be able to get a reservation there. It was not far from the Big Cypress Visitor's Center and Shark Valley Visitor's. Both were very interesting. Had a campsite with plenty of space, open and nice. It was on the pond so we had a nice view. We camped in a 40' motor home and would definitely do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$10
A terrific location to explore the Everglades area. No showers, no water, come in with a full tank. Central pond has resident alligator. Beautiful sites, very spacious, very open, no shade. Verizon MiFi worked intermittently, but we were able to publish our blog every day. Over the air TV non-existent, AT & T cell phones no signal. We loved this place! You can kayak in the Turner River nearby (lots of alligators). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$10
Rate quoted is with senior pass. Dump and central water available (cost if not camping). No Verizon phone or data. Good TV. Convenient to Shark valley and "Loop Road". Good phone & data about 5 miles west on main road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$10
Located on state route 41, Alligator Alley in Big Cypress National Park, next to Everglades National Park. Super friendly campground host met us as we pulled in. There are 4 couple hosts in this small campground. Price was $10. per night with our golden Age Pass, otherwise it is $19. We had a back in site with 50 amp electric. There are no water or sewer hookups. There is a water fill, for fresh water and a dump station. The sites and roads are paved. There are some nice palm trees between sites. Sites are mowed grass with no privacy between sites. There are 26 RV sites and about 6 tent sites. A restroom with flush toilets is the only amenity. Weak Verizon signal. Since we use our phone to connect to the Internet, we had problems connecting. We used our Wilson amp and external antenna to connect, but the signal was still weak. TV signal was also weak with very few stations. Dog friendly? Yes, a lot of room to walk your dog. No fenced-in dog run. No lighting at night: was very dark and quiet. Great to see the night sky. There is some day time noise as this is a main road across the Everglades. It is a 2 lane road. A SUPER campground for visiting the Everglades and Big Cypress National Parks. The campground was one of the nicest public campgrounds we stayed in. We could only stay 10 days, as this is the limit in season (told after Dec. 15th to end of Mar.). It is called Midway because it is kind of midway on Alligator Alley. From here we toured the 10,000 Islands, Shark Valley, and the main area of the Everglades. Some of the areas we toured were 3 miles from the campground to 100 miles, the end of the Everglades at Flamingo. We also drove to big Cypress National Park about 50 miles one way. If we come here again we would stay here and then move to the Flamingo campground for a few days. This is a super public campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$19
Nice campground. Electric only. Price included the dump station. The fresh water hose was broken so you may to call first and see if they fixed it. Sites are back-in, level, and have nice grass next to them with picnic table. No showers or sink to wash dishes -which was a pain. Pond has two alligators so keep your kids and dogs away from the water. Nice camp hosts watch over the area and make sure people are obeying the rules. No Internet with our Verizon air card. Sprint phone worked out by the main road, Tamiami Trail. This campground is a couple of miles from the Oasis Visitor Center and a 20 min. drive to Shark Valley. Great place to relax and enjoy the stars – no services nearby so come prepared. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$19
We stayed there for one night and we had a good time. It is a self-service campground - there are envelopes, which you have to fill out and place your money in. We liked the idea of self-service as we had no definitive plans and preferred not to make any reservations. Campground is set around the lake, which had at least two alligators in. They were pretty curious but never came out of water. The sites are very clean, spacey and very well organized. We stayed there on Thursday and we were almost the only people there which was nice. Campsites are not very well isolated, since there aren't that many plants. The table and the grill are placed on a concrete patio. Grill has a flexible grid which was easy to adjust. No water, but electric hook ups. Dumping station is an extra $6, also a self-service. The campground is surrounded by the cypress forest and is filled with birds, which we really loved about it. Although it is a bit too close to the highway and you can hear traffic passing by, the birds singing in the morning made our stay enjoyable. Very clean, very organized, really liked the campground. Bathroom are a little bit too far from some of the sites, but we camped in a motor-home so it wasn't a big deal. Will come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$10
Big Cypress National Preserve, Midway Campground. I don't know what to say but when I pictured a National Parks campground in my mind this was NOT what I expected. The campground surrounds a small lake, with fish and an alligator, all roads and sites are paved with patios and fire boxes. There is 50AMP power to all the RV sites but no water or sewer. Potable water is available near the dump station so you can go in with empty tanks and fill with fresh water. The RV sites are totally level, just drop your jacks. The Park staff at Oasis Visitor Center were very helpful and informative. We visited during the Jar Head Fire and the only issue was the smoke and a little ash fallout. The stay was pleasant and I would return to this spot again. There is some talk of adding water and sewer to 26 sites. There are currently 4 with total hookups but they are reserved for park staff and volunteers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$19
Friendly camp host, spacious paved site, very clean campground, peace and quiet. A recipe for an enjoyable evening watching the sun set behind palms and cypress. Fresh water is available if you arrive with an empty tank. There is a dump station on the way out. There was plenty of space to maneuver while backing into the site. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$10
What a little gem! Small, quiet campground with grass sites placed around a lake. Large back ins all have a cement patio with picnic table and charcoal grill. Only downside is that service consists of electric only. There is a dump station and water fill-up station. $10 nightly fee is with Golden Age Pass. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$19
This is a National Park Campground that was recommended to us by Oasis Rest Stop on the Tamiami Trail. It is a very well kept campground and we arrived there late last night and drove in and it is a first-come, first-served type of campground. It is located just west of the Dade County/Collier County line on Rt. 41. The price is $19 a night unless you have a Golden Age Passport, then it is only $10. There is a very nice dump station there and there is water available to load into your unit. All spots are paved and so are the roads throughout the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
This campground is actually about 25 miles South of Everglades city, which is the closest town. 30 sites around a great lake. Electric (50 amp) is the only service provided. Water and dump available by restrooms. Golden Age price is $10. Sites level on concrete pads. Very nice and well maintained for what it is. Good location for seeing the sites in the area. We will be back. Everglades City has a wonderful historical museum that should not be missed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$19
Pristine national parks campground. Fully paved road and sites. Lush grass between wide sites, small pond (with gators). Volunteer-maintained campground, and very nicely maintained by the friendly volunteer hosts. Electricity-only at sites. Water and dump are located at park entrance/exit. Would return if ever on Tamiani Trail (I75 / US 85) going from Miami to Naples again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
This is a beautiful campground. All of the camp sites surround a small lake. The camp host was very helpful. We stayed two nights on our way to the Florida Keys, and stayed one night again on our way back. Extra large sites were easy to get in and out of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$17
Now this place takes you back to nature. Very quite, small park. Staff are very friendly and knowledgable with regards to their surroundings. ie: types of trees, history of the land and surrounding wildlife. We will stay there agin if back in the area. We camped her in a 5th wheel We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com