224265 User submitted reviews online!!
Blue Licks State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (859) 289-5507
CGID8249

Blue Licks State Park

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   8   7   10   10   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
The wife and I really enjoy Bluelicks Campground. It’s a quiet low key campground. Staff is very nice and friendly. Campground has always been clean. Check before you go as some sites are not as level as others. Not much to do in the area for shopping or sightseeing but the park does have a museum, pool, Put-Put golf and trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
We arrived on a Friday and was surprised it wasn't overcrowded already. We hiked the trails and checked out the park. The pool was closed for the season, but mini golf was open on the weekend. The museum was still closed for renovation. For the most part campsites were level and good condition. We stayed at campsite 25 and the only bad thing about it was trees were to close to open awning. Be prepared to bring extra extension cord and water line as some of sites need them. The restrooms were clean and decent shape. Overall we liked our stay and will be back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
Small campground perfect for families. Park makes a tear drop shape with playground and restrooms in the middle. Each lot is large with lots of grass and the majority have shade. There are several trails to go on and a short walk (1/4 mile?). There is putt-putt, playground, and an Olympic size pool. There is also a museum, but currently closed for renovations. The lodge at park has a very nice restaurant worth checking out. There is no Wi-Fi or cable, but we were able to get several channels using TV booster. I've camped here several times in the past. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This park seems to be like most KY state parks – very few sites that are level. Even through restrooms were clean, we are finding that most KY parks need to be upgraded and their facilities repaired. On the grounds you can hike, swim in a pool, play miniature golf, visit the museum (excellent), walk the grounds of the battlefield, visit the Inn and even hike the Buffalo Trace!. There were only three other campers here when we arrived. We have also found that especially during the month of April, no one is at the gates in the KY State Parks so anyone can drive around and use the facilities and it is hard to find someone to talk to for information. There are some positives for this – you can change your site whenever you want to and when you do find someone they are always friendly and informative. Beautiful drive to get to this park if you drive the scenic byway by the horse farms to Paris and then pick up 68 which goes right by the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
You should make sure you have extra cribbing, a long electric cord & long water hose. Nice shade in most spots. Some spots look too short for anything other than a pop up or tent. Lodge food was spectacular. History of the place was interesting. Will try to come back when pool is open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We stay here at least once a year. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. The park would be really great if they expanded, had individual sewer hook-ups, and some pull-through spaces. It is always a clean, neat state park with activities available. They have a wonderful evening buffet at their lodge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
We love this park because the staff is so great. There are some sites that are hard for a big rig to get into. We usually try to stay at a space next to the bathroom because we can easily get our rig on it. The park does not have many lots for a big rig to fit into. It is a great place and I would dearly love to see the park obtain monies to upgrade it. We have eaten at the lodge and the buffet is great and always fresh and appealing. If one is lucky enough to get there on their monthly "Seafood Friday". We do not have any children but the Activity Manager always has events and outings for children. The staff has always gone above and beyond their normal duties to assist us. We are totally impressed with Blue Licks State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
We were very pleased with this CG. We stayed over a weekend and found it to be clean and well kept. The bathrooms are aged but were quite clean even though the park was almost full. This is a state resort park and has an excellent museum describing the battle at Blue Licks. There is a restaurant, though we didn't try it. The only complaint we had was there was no signage indicating the campground entrance when arriving from the north. It only displays the restaurant and museum. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
This campground is part of a State Lodge which has a very nice supper buffet. The swimming pool is a short distance away as well as the miniature golf course, but the playground for small children was right in the center for easy access and visual needs. There are several hiking trails, and canoe trips on the Licking river are offered during the summer. This campground is well within 30 minutes of 3 cities with major shopping and stores and is protected by the State Parks authority whom walk the campground several times a night as well as vehicle patrol. During summer months the park offers music and magic shows in the pavilion ehich is in the middle of the campground. Main draw backs are no sewer at each site and the road noise from US 68 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
The park is very nice with a mini-golf, lodge, museum, and pool. Some of the sites were very tight to get into, they are "T-ed" right off the narrow roadway. The bath houses were OK, not the best but still OK. This a nice CG to be in for Halloween as a lot decorate for it. There was a haunted trail also down next to the river. If you go, take the time to check out the museum and battlefield. Daniel Boone lost one of his sons at the battle and the monuments are a nice read. The lodge is newer and very nice. It's near the bottom of my KY St Park list right now as I have stayed at a few more. I will go back though because it's so close to home. Try to stay at the campsite on the top of the hill between the entrance and play ground/bath house area, they are a lot better to get into and are level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com