206609 User submitted reviews online!!
Butterfield Ranch was rated 6 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (760) 765-1463
CGID8250

Butterfield Ranch

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   3   2   8   7   7   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2013
$39
My rate stated includes tax and the $2/night dog fee. The main reason we decided to camp here is a friend's recommendation. The staff greeted us in a very friendly manner and they were very helpful and available. The sites are very spacious. The problem here is deferred maintenance. Everything that has been painted needs repainting. The signs within the park are all old and faded or broken. The sites themselves were a weed patch. I still have foxtails and plant matter stuck to my UGG boots. The bathroom gets an extra point for the hand painted tarantula on the stall door. The bathroom loses a point for a hole in the wall covered up with a sheet of paper asking to keep the door closed. I assume that rule is to keep the wild animals out. The pool bathroom had a broken hinge on the stall door. There was no soap in the bathroom either. The solar heated jacuzzi was nice, but cloudy water made me feel I was in a natural pool. The rec room with a pool table was locked up the whole time we visited over the weekend. Too bad some of that solar heated water did not help the freezing pool. I would not return until they made some improvements. I would rather camp in a primitive camp or nearby county park than go back there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
We had just purchased our first travel trailer and this was our maiden voyage in our new toy. The staff was kind, the one male staffer we saw everyday we were here, checked on us everyday. The park was pretty empty. When we arrived there were about 13 sites taken, we decided to take one that was away from everyone so that we could get some quiet. The had 2 cabins that were behind us quite aways, and they had tents and trailers all hooked up next to the cabin. They were very loud even though quiet hours were after 8pm. They didn't enforce the rules, the pet policy that is. All dogs were supposed to leashed and none except my dogs were leashed. They boast 3 pools: there was only 1 functioning at the time we were here. The spa was not functioning either. We pulled up to several sites to find that the hook ups were not working. We moved 3 different times to find a working site. All sites were on dirt which most were level. Picnic tables were on at least 1/3 of all sites, as well as fire rings. Convenience store was really pricy: I guess that's what you pay for convenience. We will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$13
The rate reflects a monthly rate. The daily rate is $37 a night. We had visited this park a year ago and were looking forward to spending a full month this year. What a disappointment. The place has really deteriorated. The infrastructure is falling apart and we were told that the owner would not pay for parts. There were electric hookups that did not work and water lines broken and just flowing. There was a huge dump right behind the camping area and the permanent mobile homes were generally filthy. The workers did not know how to manage a site. The WiFi was only available in the Visitor Lounge but the lounge was only open from 9 am to 6 pm. If you went somewhere during the day and got back at dinner time, you could not get to the WiFi. Since there was no cell phone coverage, this made it very isolated. More important, the workers did not seem to care whether you were happy or not. They were workers and did not work very hard: just what they had to do. We would never stay here again. In fact, we left before the month was over and went elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
This park seems to provide everything advertised and more. It's an older park that fell into disrepair but is being cleaned up and put into order. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our stay here has been quiet, restful, and pleasant. Desert trails, photo ops, historic landmarks, and native American campsites are within easy walking distance. This park is one of the few that also accommodates horses, having safe pipe corrals and campsites together. There is a small store, visitor lounge, three pools, two spas, and group activities. I feel this park is a good value for the money charged. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
Nice campground, friendly staff. Great location if your mission is to get away from it all. No TV reception, no cable, no cell coverage, and wireless only by the front office. It's a 25 mile ride to Julian and even further to anywhere else. But if you want peace and quiet, you'll find it here. The only sounds we heard were thunderstorms, coyotes, their horses, and once in a blue moon, a passing car. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
Very nice campground in a peaceful, serene, setting. All spaces are level on dirt with DG roads. There are a few trees and lots of desert. The park has three pools and a spa. They are old but extremely clean and well kept. The managers are some of the nicest people ever and will help make your stay outstanding. This is a place to get away from it all! No Verizon cell service, no cable or antenna TV. Many spaces had picnic tables and fire pits. We were there when the park was fairly empty so it seemed like we had the place to ourselves. There are hiking trails all around, and the stars that come out at night are breathtaking. Great place for family and group camping in a rustic setting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$35
Butterfield Ranch Resort is tucked away in the shadow of Mt. Laguna, and is right across the street from Anza-Borrego Desert State Park. The weather at Butterfield is fantastic all throughout the winter months. It is warm and sunny, but not hot. Nice breeze. Lots of hiking and biking trails around. There are 3 swimming pools (one of which is solar heated) and 3 hot tubs (which are wonderful on a cool, starry night). The resort is very peaceful. It is a great place to relax, to spend a weekend exploring, or to winter over. We stayed for 4 months and love it. The staff is extremely friendly, too, and very knowledgeable about the vicinity, the hikes and bird-watching opportunities around the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
Wi-Fi at the office but not in the campground. Only cell service was AT&T. Very quiet park, we were there mid week. It is about 30 miles from the town of Julian. Apparently this is an old park that has just re-opened. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com