223564 User submitted reviews online!!
Dogwood Acres Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (717) 776-5203
CGID8253

Dogwood Acres Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   8   10   9   9   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
We chose Dogwood Acres after doing an extensive Internet search. Although we were looking for something closer to Gettysburg, we are certainly glad that we did end up at Dogwood. The owners are top notch, going way above and beyond to make sure that everything is satisfactory, and the come around and check on you at least once a day. The sites are level, gravel, and mostly shaded. The facilities are immaculate, and the amenities are just as they say they will be. Trying to find fault with anything here is nearly impossible. Their camp store is well stocked, the pool is clean and secure, and the fishing pond is too. We will certainly go back to Dogwood Acres when we are back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$42
Rate shown is weekly which includes 1 night free. This is a beautiful campground with roomy sites, lots of green areas and plantings. Seasonal campers keep their rigs and their sites clean and neat, and the owners work very hard to maintain the park in really good condition. Owners/managers are friendly helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. Seasonal campers are friendly and accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return if in this area. Recommend highly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Off the beaten track. Stopped there for an overnight. But, I'd go back in season. There seams to be a lot to do when the campground is hopping. Large gravel sites. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
I would say the same things everyone else said. Pretty camground, large sites, lots of shade, great owners. I just wish I'd been here when it wasn't pouring rain and blowing wind! WiFi isn't great, but it's there, at least. I think I've tried all the campgrounds along this Florida to New Jersey route now. This is one of the few that I will gladly return to on each trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
Flawless is the only word we could think of. We loved the owners, who are constantly working and extremely personable. Quiet serenity, impeccably clean, excellent price. Glad we discovered it, as we will definitely make this one of our I-81 stops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
We love this campground! We have been coming here for years. My kids love it, too, It is a safe place for your kids to play and lots to do. Yes, there are a few rules, but that it why its such a wonderful family campground. Owners go out of their way to help us every time we are there. Treat us like family. I would tell you that the pool and whole place is very clean and well kelped! They do a lot for local charities. Wonderful people and all the seasonals are very friendly, also. So give them a try - you wont be disappointed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
The staff at this campground are very friendly and helpful. This is a small, family owned campground but extremely well maintained. The store is well stocked. There is a lake as well. The playground was very therapeutic, and my son with autism really enjoyed it. There are swings, a bouncy bridge, a hamburger to climb in, a snake to climb in, a rope ladder, and a climbing wall to name a few. And, the park is shaded as well. The sites are a really nice size, and the owner will help you line up your trailer. Other than hiking, there really is not a lot to do in the area unless you are visiting Carlisle. Some of the activities were run by seasonals, but they were well organized. The wagon ride was the bumpiest ever, but my son loved it. This campground also appears to cater to special needs children-the playground was designed to be therapeutic. If this campground had a laundry, I would have rated it a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
This campground is a little out of the way but well worth the drive. It has lots of shade, roomy sites, owners are friendly and helpful. They have activities on the weekends for those who want to participate. Pool was clean and nice, shuffleboard and volleyball areas kept up. Pond seemed to be well stocked. Internet access only at office or close by. Would stay again if in that area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
Great weekend at Dogwood. My children had a great time. Expansive number of cable channels. WiFi is too expensive to utilize. Great sites, level and well maintained. I will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$21
We really enjoyed our visit with these park owners. Getting to the sites was easy and we were escorted there upon arrival. I would like the sites up on the hill made a little roomier. When the campground is full, it is tight.They had a very nice breakfast for everyone and the proceeds went to charity. We found the grounds very well kept and had a very nice few days visit. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
Excellent campground. Full facilities, well-maintained. Many sites are seasonal, but there are a number of overnight sites as well. Owners friendly and actually escort you to your site! We arrived using directions from our GPS and were taken in the long way that was very windy and narrow. Next time, we'll follow the directions the owner gave us to get out! We would camp there again!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
We just returned from our first stay here. We will return! I wish it was not 3 hours from home. We were there for the Pirate weekend. What great events for families! The activities really brought the campground together. The hosts were very accommodating and everyone was friendly. Our kids did not want to leave. They voted this the best campground playground. It is a very clean, well maintained, landscaped campground. It would have been a 10 for us but we felt the sites were a little too close for our liking. We stayed on site 25 on the trickle stream. It was an end site so it was a bit roomier than most. We were here to visit the Army Heritage Museum- 15 minutes from campground- free and terrific for any American History buff! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
We stayed at this campground because of the award they won for being "small campground of the year" and that we like to try new places. We came in on Sunday and left Tuesday. There were very few people at the campground. Over 50% of the sites are seasonals. Our check in was fine and our site (#16) was very wide and shaded. The site was level and graveled. We had the nice pool to ourselves almost the entire time. The bathrooms were clean, but there is only 1 bathhouse with 2 showers and two toilets; however, there is another at the office building. I can see how that would be inadequate when many more campers are on site. The owners were very "hands on" and were working all day around the camp. They have worked hard to bring the camp up to its current condition. We had 1 big issue: the Wi-Fi service. It is $10 per day..way too much. The owner doesn't make any money on it, but most places it is free or much cheaper. We weren't able to get logged on later on in the day, and the service was anything but helpful. Essentially, we spent 2 hours arguing with the company without resolution. For $10 and the principle of it! The owner tried as well and couldn't help. This is a big negative for us. There are rules for liability sake, but not so constricting that we couldn't enjoy ourselves. (OK..so I can't dive in the pool or need to have the kids at our site by dark, or can only have 2 dogs.) We find that the people who complain about the rules are the ones who violate them so much. We would consider coming back if the Wi-Fi isssue is resolved. They do need more bathroom facilities. But a place with over 50% seasonals, must be doing something right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Clean park and very, very rule-driven, which is okay with us. Nice pool, pedal cars, activities, and fireworks show for the 4th holiday which was a nice surprise. Husband enjoyed the hiking trails nearby-just a quick drive. Won't go back here, though; 95% of the park is permanents so it was more like a trailer park than a campground. Also, one and only bathhouse is teeny, although again, this is a park for permanents, so I suppose it's not needed. Owner and wife were very pleasant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Nice wooded sites with lots of space and fairly level. We stayed here for a couple of weeks while traveling to NY. Lots of hiking trails nearby. Owners/hosts were very friendly to us, but we did see him lose it a couple of time with people running over the grass, which is not hard to do in a big rig on the tight turns. We did not like all the additional cost for Wi-Fi, cable TV and 50 amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
The campground hosts were extremely friendly and attentive and were very concerned about our safety during severe thunderstorms. As for the campground, the accommodations were satisfactory. We were disappointed to find out that the hiking trails were not accessible by foot, although the owner did offer to drive us to the trailhead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Everything that has been said is true. The owners are exceptional people that go out of their way no matter if your a seasonal, or overnight camper. Everyone in park is very friendly, and helpful. After 1 weekend, we are getting a seasonal site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This campground was quite nice and the owner was exceptionally helpful. We received info on all things about the area, the TV stations, Hershey, and everything we asked about. The site was good sized and level. We received Passport America prices which were very reasonable. The pool was clean and the showers were adequate. I would highly recommend this campground because the atmosphere was very pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
The owners/managers that run the park could not have been more welcoming. The road is narrow as stated before but is very manageable. We were very surprised to see the pool when we arrived since it was not listed in the CG write up, along with a very nice pond with a fountain. Overall a very nice place to camp and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Stayed here in April for the Carlisle Swap Meet. The owners guided us to our site, gave us expert directions to the fairgrounds in order to avoid traffic. This place was extra clean, friendly owners, new gravel on sites, no problems. Booked for the fall swap meet while we were here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
Stayed here over the weekend. Park has a nice clean bathroom/shower. Huge nice playground. Very nice owners and great ice cream and floats in the store. Son fished in the pond. They also have frisbee-golf, bingo and wagon rides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$19
This is a nice country campground. Good place for a few days in the country. Our site was level, full hook-ups and grassy gravel. The only problem I saw for our 40ft motorhome was the narrow driveway turn-in off a narrow 2 lane road. The park is well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Roads leading to this park are VERY NARROW and winding. Roads inside the park were very tight for our 35 ft cl A motorhome. Our pull-through site was level but barely long enough. Wi-Fi is $5 per hour or $10 per day. No cable or 50 amp at site we had. Many permanent campers here. Swimming pool was nice and paddle boats are available to rent for use on the pond. Not a bad place, but we probably will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
The park is well maintained and very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This is a beautiful campground. It has something to do for grandparents thru children. Hike the mountain,swim and fish, or simply enjoy the the very clean enviroment.This is absolutely the cleanest RV park at which I visited and the folks there are just great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
We are permanent campers at a campground in New York. Although we like it very much it cannot even compare to Dogwood Acres. The people are fantastic, the owners care very much about their patrons, and the campground is amazing. They have a Frisbee golf course for fun. Everything is fantastic there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
We have been to Dogwood Acres numerous times and have enjoyed our experience each an every time. The fellow campers and owners are extremely friendly and make us want to come back each and every year. The facilities are very clean and we have been impressed with the many updates and improvements the owners have made over the years. It is obvious they have a vested interest in making this campground their pride and joy. It just keeps getting better and better. We have always enjoyed the weekend activities including the disc golf course and sitting by the pond. We can't wait to visit again real soon! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$33
Not sure of exact nights or how much we paid per night because those aren't important to me (or most men), but we had a really good time. Drove 5 hours to get there and have done so a few times The owners are welcoming, the seasonals are friendly. Camp store is nice, no restroom issues at all and had an easy time backing in to my site. Plenty to do with Frisbee Golf, Games, Fishing and more. Had a really good time, weather was great. Nice area. We will return as soon as time permits. A great campground worthy of a long annual trip for a nice friendly relaxing weekend, with plenty to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
We tried this park twice--6 months between visits-- since it was conveniently near my daughter's school. Both times there were an enormous amount of black flies. It was impossible to sit outside, let alone eat there. The second time we brought the screen room and the screens were covered in flies. I am not sure what was causing this scenario, but it was not pleasant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com