214502 User submitted reviews online!!
Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (305) 745-3549
CGID826

Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$102



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   9   9   7   5   5   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$102
We find this KOA to be run by a good managerial staff. There were people in golf carts buzzing around everywhere. Previous person wrote that security is bad. We see it as KOA staff eyes seemed to be available if needed. We were camped across from the pub. I thought it might be loud/bothersome there, it wasn't though. We found this KOA to be clean/well run/up to date/ (were doing bathroom renovations at main bathhouse) and just seemed to capture the 'laidback nature' of the Keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$56
We find this KOA to be poorly run in terms of bathrooms and security. Not sure why there is a security hut and no gates and no one manning it. Bathrooms were only cleaned once per day when they needed tending at least 3-4 times per day. At times some of the toilets were plugged for a whole day as no one ever checked on them. It seems a money grab as there were so many tenters and only a few bathrooms. Not even bathrooms in the way back area for tenters. They brought every bit of mud into the showers and bathrooms with them. Terrible bathroom monitoring! Our price was based on an ad in a Florida camping magazine so we cannot say that is the price very often. The pool is very nice and they have a nice bar attached to it with a small restaurant. When we arrived one other camper told us.. "Oh, anything goes here. No one ever checks!" We had tenters beside our RV who had 3 tents, 2 trucks a dog, and 10 people in these tiny spots and they talked loudly and laughed until 1:30 am. Security is joke. Very disappointed in this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$93
This park has an excellent location with plenty to do for all ages. Having a beach, pool, restaurant/pub, marina, playground, dog park area and a pedestrian fishing bridge in one location is rare. The sites were very tight which we expected in the Keys. The staff was very friendly and the park was well maintained. We had a back in site along the mangroves/ water with W/E, and these sites seemed to be the biggest sites in the park. I was surprised at how quiet it was after reading previous reviews. We had no noise issues what so ever. The only things that we could find wrong with this park were that the Wi-Fi was all but non-existent and the cable was so snowy that TV was unwatchable. If they made their sites bigger and fixed the Wi-Fi and cabl, this park would be a 10. I would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$95
The park was very clean. The staff were exceptionally friendly. We did not encounter any of the noise stated in the previous reviews. We stayed in site #179 directly across from the Tiki Bar and pool area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$90
Last year we stayed down the road at another park, but we had kids with us this year and decided this was a better choice and it was. Pool is nice and everything was clean and people were very nice. Beach isn't too great (rocky), but fishing pier was really good and easy to access, as was the very nice bait shop. Restrooms were well kept, but I am 5'9" and barely had enough room in the stall. Biggest issue is the size of the sites. We could not open our awning as it would have hit a pole. Another guy's rig didn't even fit and hit a tree limb when they tried to back him in. We did not find the campground to be too loud as others have stated. Even with music in the bar, it was not bad at all, but we were also not that close to the bar/pool either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$87
I read the previous reviews on this campground before we arrived, but I rationalized that since we were only going to be here 3 nights during the week, we could manage with the noise. I was wrong. The other reviewers were absolutely correct. We had a site just across from the pool (and pub). Two nights of the three, there was live music. The music begins at 7pm and goes until 10:30 or 11:00 and it is l-o-u-d. I can't imagine there is a site in the entire park that is free from it. Worse, by the time the entertainment is done, everyone listening is pretty smashed and spends the next few hours wandering through the campground yelling and carousing. The "quiet time" from 11pm-8am is a joke. The small "beach" is dirt rather than sand but it IS on the water. The pool and hot tub are nice but was always full of kids, so we did not use it. Roads and spaces are quite tight but the staff is very good at helping the rigs maneuver into their space. The staff is all very nice and it appears they are here every season. We enjoyed being so close to Key West but will not be back here again. The inability to get a good night's sleep was just too much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$98
When we first arrived we noticed the nice oceanfront location, the pretty little beach, the small marina, and the pool. Later on all that we noticed was the noise. This campground has a sponsored event nearly every evening. This event is located in the open air bar which is in the middle of the campground. Instead of watching the stars from our camp chairs outside, we were hunkered inside with the windows shut and the A/C on. We were avoiding the call of "B-3" over the loudspeaker from the ongoing bingo game. Later we were avoiding the cursing in high volume from the people who were drunk at the bar. The grounds seem well maintained and employees seem helpful, but the lack of noise enforcement was a real problem. It seemed that the campground is actually encouraging a noise problem. We won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$82
We spent a month here after leaving the resort, about 5 miles down the road. We would have left this KOA after a week, but my husband was in the middle of having dental work done in Key West. The sites at the KOA are incredibly tight. We literally had to walk sideways to get between our rig and the picnic table. Not sure how many times my husband had to help rigs get around the curve (tree in the way) in front of our site. While the park itself is trash free, the back area and county road are full of trash. The park drives are paved but the sites are coral gravel: expect to vacuum/sweep a couple times a day and mop every day. When the wind wasn't blowing, the no see ums would eat you alive. On the positive side, the work campers were an incredibly fun and friendly group. There is a well stocked camp store with reasonable prices. The cafe serves breakfast and lunch every day and is open til 7 three days a week. It serves burgers, chicken wraps, hot dogs, etc., and occasionally has a yummy dinner special. The pub has reasonably priced drinks, bingo on Mondays, and bands several nights a week. (Wouldn't want a site near the pub unless you are a party person due to the noise.) The pub is a hot spot that attracts many locals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$98
The park is neither particularly charming nor particularly ugly and offers the standard you'd expect from a KOA campground. The reason why I give only seven point: You can hear noise from the highway, the sites offer little privacy and WiFi is not for free - given these facts, I think 98 incl. tax is a little exaggerated. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$165
I am glad we rented an Airstream trailer, this saved me from de/re-winterizing my travel trailer, towing almost 3000 miles & trying to back-in to a very tight site. However, that is normal for Key West area. The pool & spa was heated, although the cove water was not too cold for December. There is on-site pub, sometimes a band & snack bar (did not try). Mangrove Mamas, a two block walk to RT.1 is pretty good. One bad thing happened that we believe is not the campground's fault, all our whites turned green at the laundry, this was probably a BAD practical joke by some jerk. We had good weather & bus service to Key West for the New Years Eve celebration right at end of road. We will probably return & rent an on-site trailer. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Restrooms were frequently attended and cleaned,. The park staff made an attempt at enforcing 11:00 noise curfew, but they weren't very good at it. Don't expect to get any sleep. The heater in the Jacuzzi was broken. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$65
This is one of the friendliest and kindest, family oriented KOA's we have every stayed at. We arrived here originally to stay 4 nights, and see Key West. On the second night, my husband landed in a Miami hospital for emergency surgery, and I was stranded there until he was discharged 5 days later. This staff asked daily about him, offered their help for anything I might need, I felt safe and cared for the whole time. They had a special weekly rate set that I was able to pay to make the extended stay affordable, so the price listed is an average. The laundry facilities were clean, operational, and they were very dog friendly to my 4 doggies that travel with us everywhere. They gave us a great site when we arrived, as we are from the mountains, and to see the ocean is a special treat! They offered to help my husband hookup and get going when he had recovered enough to travel at the end of that week, and I cannot say enough good things about everyone there! The office staff is so very friendly and helpful, facilities are well maintained, pool is clean, and trash is removed several times a day. Seeing the staff constantly moving around the park taking care of things was a major assurance to me, as I was alone there for 5 days. I would recommend this park to anyone visiting Key West, and if we ever get there again, would not hesitate to stay there again. Oh, and I got to meet the giant Iguana, Godzilla, while there, and he is amazing! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$76
The best park in the Keys! So close to Key West. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The staff is very friendly. Have been camping here for seven years over Easter break. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2011
$99
Let me begin by saying that my girlfriend and I are full-time RVers. We've stayed all over the USA and have spent many nights at KOA's. What we're looking for differs from most as we have no kids, pets and work from our RV. We are most interested in nice, level lots with space, a good Internet connection, a peaceful environment where we feel safe and welcome and feel that we are getting value for our money. That being said, this was truly one of the worst campgrounds at which we have had the misfortune of staying. The campground is horribly overcrowded, you can tell they are out to make money and care little for the comfort of their guests. Our 5th wheel was so close to the next one that we couldn't open our awning. Additionally, the staff showed us to our site, "helped" us back in and after we were nearly set up, they came back and told us that we'd have to move sites because our slide-out was 6 inches into the next campsite (days later, another camper was literally in the same spot). After we moved, we discovered that the electrical panel was not good and instead of letting us move to another site (at the time there were about a dozen or so available spots), they made us wait an hour until they had repaired the box. Needless to say, we were not impressed with their business decisions despite the fact they they were friendly. As a result of these delays, we did not get set-up until four hours after arriving (a new record for us). If you're looking for peace and quiet, stay away as there are loud drunks every night, unsupervised children running everywhere and at all times of the day and night (the worst was the 6 year old riding her bike in her pajamas alone after 10 pm - no helmet, no lights, no parents (they were likely drinking at the bar)), loud music in the evenings on certain nights (that went past 10 pm) and a general disregard for privacy since the sites are so close together. You will constantly hear AC units, people talking (as they are within a few feet of your camper) and, to a minor degree, the chickens and roosters which are abundant on the island. There is inadequate parking throughout the campground. Despite our attempt to get the office to tell us where to park our truck as there was not enough space on our campsite, we were told to "not to worry about it" and that "it should be fine where it is" (which was in a lot across from ours). In the two weeks we were there, we ended up moving our truck 6 times because they could not simply tell us where to park it. To say this was an inconvenience would be quite the understatement. Part of the frustration came as a result of calling over 6 weeks ahead to verify that they had spots big enough for our 38' trailer and 22' truck. At that time, they said that it would not be a problem at all. As I mentioned, we work during our travels and the Internet is important to use, their Internet connection was very poor to say the least. It is a very good thing that we have two levels of backup. Out of the two weeks we were there, the Internet did not work at all on 3 days and only part of the day on another 5 days. On the days were it did work, the connection is slow (at or less than 56k speeds). The office, as nice as they were, did nothing to help resolve the issue. Speaking of the staff, they were all laid-back (which does not necessarily translate into being friendly) but they did not always appear to know what was going on within the campground. For example, you will have to take care when walking around the campground as the staff is constantly driving around on their golf-carts to what must be a life-or-death situation based on their speed and lack of acknowledging that you are even on the road. We will NOT be returning to this campground and actively encourage others to avoid. If you're looking for a place to get drunk, don't mind having no personal space, are fine with being awoken by drunks shouting to each other or the sky overhead and are fine with a staff that by-and-large ignores you, they you may actually like this campground. If, however, you are more accustom to being valued as a customer/client, then I highly encourage you to choose somewhere else. There are a number of other RV campgrounds on the surrounding islands and most charge more but save yourself the frustration and stay with one of them. One last note which does not have anything to do with this campground is a word of caution about the Keys in general. We went down to the Keys as we've always heard that they are beautiful with a lot of fun activities to do. Perhaps it is because we have been so many truly beautiful places in our travels, but we actually didn't think the islands were especially pretty at all. There are very few beaches and fewer places you can actually see the water (bridges are the best place to view the water) as the trees and vegetation literally go right up to the water and are quite thick. There are a number of bars and "cheap" touristy shops on Key West and on the other island (e.g. Big Pine Key) but if you're looking for something other than these activities, your choices are quite limited. In other words, please research the islands in great detail before you go to ensure that you will enjoy your time there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$99
Gravel parking base, no shade. We were placed near the pub and pool. Pool crowded and noisy. Fishing on pier was wonderful but steep rocky hill to get there and back. No see ums were wicked. Beach swimming difficult due to rocks but trampoline and water toys great for kids. A large iguana wanders around which is fun to watch. Friendly and abundant staff who must live in the park. 24 hour security good. bus to Key West out on main road. Pretty setting, water is beautiful. Internet for one device per day. Cable TV nice. We were very glad to have air conditioning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$100
This is the southernmost KOA, our first KOA experience and it was a good one. It was not crowded at all during our visit but I felt you had plenty of room between motorhomes. The park is very clean and there is a well stocked store including bait for the kids to fish on the old bridge. The swimming area was a favorite for the kids due to the blow up things in the water. The pool is very clean and the pub has good wings and pizza. The restaurant across the street is great and you can get it to go if you need to. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$106
Typical KOA with narrow sites on sand and grit. No concrete slabs. Enough room for awning and car and right up against next motorhome. Camp store was very clean and well-stocked and support staff was very friendly. The island decor theme covered up the need for some TLC (maintenance). Laundry facility was not very well-maintained with some machines not working and not very clean. Cost per night was way over-priced and extra charged for the third person in our motorhome who happened to be permanently disabled. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$92
Wow, we have just finished our sixth spring break in a row, and as usual, Sugarloaf Key was our destination. We once again had a wonderful time. This is one of the few places you can camp where you never have to leave unless you want to. If you don’t wish to cook you can have breakfast and lunch at the small on-site restaurant, wings or pizza in the afternoon at the pub, fish from the bridge, and swim to your heart’s content in both the ocean and at the campgrounds’ pool. Follow that up with a good soak in the hot tub and then after a hot shower walk over to Mangrove Mama’s for an excellent dinner. Staff is wonderful and the facilities are well maintained. If you have children, they will have a blast, and because of the layout, they will be easy to keep an eye on. Now with that said, there are many folks who have a problem with this campground that I would like to address. The sites are tight and if you require a lot of space around your camper this is not the place for you. That is especially true if the majority of your time is going to be spent sitting under your awning and not out enjoying what the campground and the Keys has to offer. If the sound of children playing and folks having fun is an irritation, stay away. If you don’t enjoy swimming, fishing, sunning, boating, or kayaking this isn’t the place. If you want a perfect white sand beach, don’t bother with the Keys, they do not occur naturally here. Not the campground’s fault, Mother Nature was the culprit. If the price is a turnoff, you need to not bother with the Keys at all, with the exception of the State Parks. Of course you will give up a lot of amenities to stay in the State Parks, but you will have a bigger site. We will be staying again next year and are already looking forward to it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$89
Very expensive but it's in the Keys. Nice campground with a marina, kayak rentals, fishing, boat ramp, pool, hot tub, nice beach. Most sites are very close together. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$100
Nice big park, but expensive. Internet cost $. Only stayed one night due to cost. Sewer hook up very far from our RV: in the site behind us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2011
$03
For over $100 a night, you would expect at least the room to sit at the picnic table without having a sewer hose under your feet. The beach is a joke, yuck! Good luck getting into a shower or even the bath house. They pack this place. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$85
Small sites but it was very clean. Had a doggie play area. A lot of green grass and trees so you can sit and play with your pet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$99
Over all it was a great place to stay! Staff was great! Clean grounds! Just loved it and would definitely stay here again! We had left after being here for 4 nights and on our way home we decided to turn around and go back to stay till the end of the week! Cannot wait to make this our home for 4 to 6 months out of the year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$99
This is a good example of "location, location, location". This over priced KOA would be barley acceptable anyplace else in the country. The sites are gravel and not sloped correctly for drainage. Flooded sites were common during the rains. The spaces are jammed together with little room moving around. Hooks ups are difficult due to height of sewer connection and distance from site. Extra sewer extensions are a must. The no-see-um's were thick most days leaving both the wife and I bit to pieces despite liberal applications of bug repellent. Long pants and sleeves are your best defense. Having the pub is nice, but some of the local talent that performs is marginal at best. State parks in the area are a much better value, though can be hard to get into. The prices range in the $110 to $130 per day range, and no weekly or monthly rates are offered. The staff is friendly, but can be aloof when it comes to answering the phone or returning a voice mail. They basically have so much business, they don't worry too much about being responsive to callers. Most reservations are made through the KOA 800 number. There is a decent marina and place to launch a boat. Stay here if you must, just be prepared to pay a lot, and lower your standards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$99
We were essentially staying in a parking lot with very tight back-in sites. We were in the so-called deluxe sites to accommodate larger motor homes. Huh! Thank goodness the sites were empty on each side of us and in front of us or I'm not sure how we would have gotten in. We saw the staff helping everyone get parked. We were unable to reach the sewer connection even though we had an extended hose. Most people had an extension. We are just trying to be conservative with our water usage and we will use the dump station as we leave. We expected we would have free WIFI since we were paying over $100 a night but, no, we had to pay $18.75 for the weekly WIFI rate. On the positive side, the staff was friendly and the park in nicely maintained. The pub was a popular spot next to the pool. We would look to stay somewhere else the next time we are in the Keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$99
The fee is $105/night PLUS $8/kid/night. The spaces are tight. The staff is friendly. There is a Pub. The pool is warm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$99
We had a water view site, which was a view of the swimming area. The sites are very narrow on the water for an RV with slides!! It was very quiet, the campground was 3/4 empty and our neighbors were nice, which was great due to close quarters. We took our kayak out everyday and enjoyed the area for this purpose. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will camp here again. It would be nice if the prices were lower, this is my only complaint We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$99
Great location with protected ocean beach with floats. Marina with Eco boat tours at the campground. Nice store and an on-site so-so restaurant. Except for an up-scale restaurant (Mangrove Mama's) across US-1, not much else on this key. We were parked in a large gravel parking lot-like area, no trees here, although other sites with less services had some shade. We were put next to the Pub which had a loud (but very good) band playing until 11:00 on Friday night, quiet the other three nights. Good, fast Wi-Fi connectivity at $3.40 per night. Very surprisingly, the KOA was only 20% occupied while other parks in the area were over 90%. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$99
We stayed Jan. 09' in a tent on the shore. We must have been one of the only tents packed in like sardines between GIANT motorhomes. The sites weren't anything special...no shade, no privacy, but the amenities of a KOA are sweet! pool was great, tiki bar was relaxing and refreshing. prices were high but so is everywhere in the Keys. There is a beach, but don't plan on swimming there. It's rocky and mucky. No see-ums were bad. Was bitten up pretty bad by the time we left. As far as the Keys though...I HAVE THE KEYSDISEASE! luv the keys. Drove down in convertible from mainland. I'd go back to the keys in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$99
This was a pricey KOA and had the usual amenities, plus some. The sites were nothing special, gravel and close together. The first spot we were shown would have had our MH window looking at a tall canvas covered chain link fence about 20 feet from the front of the rig. It turned out to be a sewage plant that emitted a constant hum. We requested to be moved and they allowed us to select another site that had a partial ocean view. It was the same price, so don't hesitate to go look at the site first before you take what you are given. They did have entertainment in their on site lounge/bar. It was a local band and we enjoyed the night. Good laundry facilities and an on site boat launch and marina. Overall we enjoyed it, but it was still over priced. But so are most things in the Keys, so if you are going, be prepared. If I were to find myself this far south in the Keys again, I would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$99
A beautiful park. KOA 100%! The managers are a riot! They really make you feel at home and have some of the best workers! The place was really busy due to the Christmas holiday, but everyone we spoke to, while walking through the park, had nothing but good things to say about the place. It was fun to actually go to a "bar" right at the campground. You pay more for drinks than you normally would, but it's worth every penny not having to drive somewhere to get a cocktail! We will return every year to this park and we suggest you give them a try! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$75
Had a great time. Can not say enough good things about them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$82
This park is very nice and well maintained. The restrooms/showers were extremely clean, the staff very friendly/helpful, and the location close to Key West. It has a small doggie playground in the rear which our dogs enjoyed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$98
Entry to the park and getting to the site was easy. Most of the staff are friendly, desk personal are a little less than friendly. Entire park is gravel, no trees to speak of and no grass to speak of. Dog walk area is very dirty and others do not clean up after their pets. Back of the park looks like a scrap yard, there is a broken down RV rusting away. Swim area is small and you will need foot protection. Make sure you have a surge suppressor, 50amper hooked up on our shared pole and blew our breakers. Bus stop a short walk to the road and will bring you to Key West, better off bringing your transportation or get a rental up the chain, not Key West. If it rains there will be large puddles so be pre-paired. The cost is high but it is the Keys. WI-FI is not free. We will not be coming here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$99
We paid $130 per night. Sites are very small. But you're camping on one of the few tropical islands that we can drive to in US. Many parks in the Keys have been closed and condos built in their place. So we better enjoy it while it still exists. I looked it up once for kicks, the water in Key West in January and February is warmer than the water in Ocean City, Maryland in August, gotta love it. We have also stayed at Bluewater Key Resort, which is closer to Key West. Blue Water Key is a little more expensive, but is much nicer, But here's the kicker for us, we have six kids, Sugarloaf Key KOA has a small sand beach and usually (sometimes they are destroyed by storms, so check first) has a floating trampoline and iceberg floating offshore for the kids to swim and play on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$94
Very much enjoyed this park. Nice beach, great pool, beautiful area. But the actual camping spots are not the greatest; pretty small, cinder-gravel, and baking in the sun. But considering it's location, I guess that might be expected. There are a handful of ocean front spots that looked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$90
We just returned from this campground after spending 2 weeks there. It turned out to be an excellent experience. Washrooms, pool area, and hot tub were clean and spotless. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Small beach area was cleaned every day of seaweed etc. I would definitely like to go back here someday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$96
This park really has it all. The location 20 miles north of Key West is terrific. The sites vary in size from pretty good, to tight, depending on the location. There are some waterfront sites that are tight, but we had plenty of room where we were. The park is very dog friendly including a fenced exercise area. The people are friendly. There is a marina with variety of activities. There is a bar right on site with daily activities. Wifi is available at a charge, but it works very well. Cable TV works well. We will stay here again if we are ever in the Keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$99
We spent New Year's Eve here and we had a blast. This may not be for everyone! Every site plus a few empty spaces were full. Motorhomes were packed in like sardines. The amenities were great. A beach, marina, pool, bar, live band, water trampoline, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms and showers were clean. Yes, it is very expensive but this is a high rent district. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2007
$95
For the price, this campground is not worth it. I will stay at another the next time I'm in the Keys. The location is OK at MM 20 on US 1. But overall there were too many negatives. This is the first KOA that I've stayed at that had horrible bathrooms. As with most Keys campgrounds the sites were very close together and are very difficult to back into. Many kids at this park and the noise factor was very loud (we have a kid and she said they were too loud). One night some kids shot off some fireworks and blew a transformer so we had no power for 2 hours. Unlike Fiesta Key KOA there are no sunset views (one of the main reasons to come to the Keys). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2007
$95
Way too crowded, jammed in awning to slide-out. They should up the rates and cut out about 50 sites and make the remaining ones bigger and plant some trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$87
We had a wonderful time. We arrived the day after Christmas and left on New Years Day. They had lots of activities for the kids(and there was a lot of kids running around), Check in everyone was friendly and helpful, The marina was nice, The beach had some jellyfish but the kids still jumped on the trampoline and climbed the rock wall that was in the ocean, and the pub had a great band on New Years eve it was a great way to ring in the new year. A few disappointments were that the sites were extremely close together and the bath house was in need of some updating. They were cleaned 3x's a day but with 200 sites and everyone of them full all week long Im sure that they did their best. It was a great location at mile marker 20, only 18 miles to key west. We hope to go back again soon, but not in the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$83
Compared to KOA campgrounds in Saco, Maine and Gettysburg, PA this park was a bit of a disappointment. Compared to other campgrounds in the Keys it was superior. Setting is nice. Location is great for visiting the Keys. Staff could have been more knowledgeable. There is minimal recycling. Wi-fi is available, but not free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$50
This campground is very close to Key West (about 14 miles) very easy to find. It is extremely clean, has courteous staff, and price was reasonable for the "Keys" Made another reservation for 2007; really looking forward to going there again We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$98
This campground comes highly recommended! We stayed with our 4 yr old for a week. Close to Key West, and town. Movies on the beach at night, and the campground bar was fun. Very friendly staff, and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$93
I really enjoyed the stay here. Very clean park with friendly service, nice pool, nice beach (for the Keys) and good amenities. Only complaint would be with the internet service - there was no way to register online, and the office was out of the cards needed for prepaid access. Othewise, great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$92
I have a family of four, which includes two children, ages 11 and 14. This was the perfect place to go for them. They had an absolute blast, and so did my wife and I. We have camped all over the southeast, and have seen some of the best and worst campgrounds available. This ranked way up there on the fun meter! The facilities were clean and in good repair and the staff were courteous and very helpful. The pool was wonderful and a great place to head when you were ready to leave the beach. At the small beach, the water trampoline, and the "Rock", were a blast for the kids, and I have to confess, at 47, I had a ball on them too! The marina is excellent, and the boat ramp is a big plus. They also rent boats, but we didn't give this a try. We brought a 16' square back canoe which we could launch from the marina and motor across the cut and fish the flats. The bridge fishing, which can also be accessed from the campground was quite good. The campground restaurant was great for breakfast, and the pizzas at the bar were quite good. We also visited Mangrove Mama's across the Highway from the campground and enjoyed the entertainment and food. We zipped in to Key West for one day of our stay, but never made it back. We were too busy fishing and swimming. With that being said, the only reason I didn't rate this campground higher than an 8 was due to the tight quarters. If you are a camper that has to have lots of space to be content, this facility is not for you. We had campers tight on both sides. Not so tight we couldn't put down our awning, but there wasn't a lot of room to spare. When we first arrived, and for about 30 minutes after, the tight quarters concerned me. Shortly after that, it no longer mattered, and we proceeded to have a wonderful time. This is a wonderful place for families to come. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2007
$90
First off, we had a confirmation to stay in a back-in site that was waterfront. We had also paid a holding charge, nothing much ($20), but at the time had given us the security that the site would be available for the week we were there. The wife called after making the reservation and spoke with an onsite host that confirmed our waterfront stay. We drove 1000 miles and arrived at about 2:00 p.m. to only find that the site was not available and no one seemed to care. We explained that we had a confirmation and holding fee charges. We were met with the cold shoulder of "I can refund you your money and you can try to find another campground down the road if you like." This seemed standard practice of the bait and switch. My wife was then handed a map of available spots for us to "WALK" around and decide which one we would prefer. Then after trailering into a site, we were met with the reality that our slide-out view was "two inches" (I MEAN TWO INCHES) from the neighbors fixed camper. Our front door was "four feet" ( I MEAN FOUR FEET) from our other neighbors sewer hookup. In fact we had to place one of our own chairs over it so the kids would not accidentally disconnect it. Our rear landscape window got a great view of a Class A rear end at three feet. And our parking would only accommodate one vehicle that had to wedge itself under the goose neck of the fifth wheel. The no see-ums (sand gnats) were horrendous and would swarm you if you had the misfortune of having to park you're commuter vehicle in overflow parking. (which of course, we had to do) Other than the site being a FLOP, the weather was magnificent and the other vacationers were very friendly. This pet-friendly park had a pet walk area and a pirate playground for the kids. The swimming area was convenient and recreational. The marina was informative and boat launching was easy. The pool was clean and the beer at the bar was cold and fairly priced. The entertainment was marginal, but the atmosphere was relaxing. We had decided to stay at this park, only after hearing bad stories about the Fiesta Key KOA, getting closed in the future. Don't be surprised if it happens here as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$90
Love this corporate run KOA. Aside from beautiful Blue Water Key Resort, this is as good as it gets in the Keys. Very tight sites, but they make up for that with a friendly staff, paved roads, white gravel sites and lots of fun activities for kids. Great water toys for all to play on as well. Nice campstore. The Eco Tours that run from the marina are fantastic. Cheers to Tom and Leslie who head up those adventures. We look forward to coming down each year and have never been disappointed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$85
This is a great place to stay in the keys. The people are all happy and extremely friendly. Nice pool, great activities, nice bar, breakfast restaurant. Sites are really tight. Laundry had 5 machines not working. Whatever the shortcomings, they are made up for by everyone being happy to be here. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$90
Very nice park, although you would expect that for the very high price. Beautiful setting and only about 20 miles into Key West. Very friendly staff. Lots of activities available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2007
$95
The price is just too expensive even for the Keys. Sites were OK, but a little close to neighbour. Problem was they were only half full but still grouped everyone together. My wife was attacked and bitten by one of three dogs belonging to a motorhome 3 sites away from us. We completed an incident report but NOTHING was done about it. If that dog attacks a child, at least there will be one record already on file. There is a public bus service 100yrds from the KOA which costs $12.50 for 7 days and then $6.25 for 7 days for the downtown buses - much better than the $15 shuttle the KOA operate (or didnt when we were there as not enough takers). It could be a great campground if they reduced the price and provided that bit more in service. We wouldnt go back. BTW the city bus covers the area from Key West MM3 to Marathon MM50 and then you use the downtown buses for final 3 miles to main streets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$85
This was our first time at this KOA. The staff was excellent. The food at the snack bar was great for breakfast. The bar offered pizza and wings in the afternoon. The pool was heated and very clean. We fished at the marina and on the bridge everyday. The kids had bingo in the afternoon. Thanksgiving dinner was expensive. The hookups were a little far from the sites. We had to purchase extra sewer hose from the store and they ran out of firewood. The sites were nice. If you want a fire you must bring a firepit. We will return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$70
Well, where do I start. This is going to be a mixed review. I would say that the good far outweighs the bad. This is a well maintained property that is in a good location. The staff is friendly and answered several questions cheerfully. If you have kids, this is a great place to stay, as there are many activities (swimming/fishing) for them. The campground has a great beach with plenty of toys. It also has it's own marina. However, their boat rental prices were WAY out of line. We ended up renting a pontoon boat from another marina on Cudjoe Key just over the bridge. Good boats and good prices. Cudjoe Key is also a great place to start when going to Looe Key for diving. The bathrooms and laundry facility were top notch. Never had to wait in line for either. Now for a few of the bad items. Mosquitoes and no-seeums were really bad. But of course, the property can't control that and I didn't take off points for this. Just bring industrial strength bug repellent. On the last day of our vacation, some campers that had a "bad vibe" arrived in several RVs. I've been camping a long time and I can sense when things are going to get loud. One of the tipoffs was that they had a whole goat on a picnic table between two RVs. They were preparing for the roast that night. Fires are not allowed in this campground and they didn't have a grill big enough to cook this beast, so they were obviously going to start a fire on the ground and use a spit. So I went to the office and told a lady of my concerns. I ask whose door I could knock on that night if it got loud and she showed me an intercom button on the front door of the office that I could use. I warned her about the "goat ritual" that was going to take place that night. She wondered aloud how they were going to cook it. Good question. Did she go ask them? No. Also, I asked her what the intercom person was going to do if things got out of control. She said they would ask them to quiet down. What if they continue? She said they would give two or three warnings before asking them to leave. Two or three? I mentioned the police and she seemed to think that was a bad idea. The bottom line is that I took a sleeping pill, put in ear plugs and got a bit of sleep. So we get up at 5:00 am to get an early start. We get hooked up and head to the showers before we leave. That's when we see Bubba passed out on the laundry table, a Budweiser (his last one I suppose) a couple of inches from his hand. This guy is REALLY dead to the world. It concerned me enough to check out his color and check his breathing. Where this guy belonged was a mystery. But here is the disturbing part. There was a property employee cleaning the showers and he saw this guy (walked past him) at least two times. I'm thinking that this is supposed to be a family place. It's now about 6:30 and families are getting up and will be heading to the showers soon. Why wasn't this guy asked to get where he belonged? Unbelievable. As I mentioned earlier, the good outweighed the bad, but there are some issues that the property owners need to address. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$70
We loved this campground. The office and campground staff were very friendly. You are escorted to your site upon arrival. Bathrooms and showers were clean (although a few shower handles were broken) and well-lit, as was laundry area. TV in the bathroom tuned to Weather Channel - enjoyed looking at the snowy forecast for back home. Beautiful beach area with a fun trampoline in the water. Enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub. Snack bar breakfast and lunch offerings were good and affordably priced. Good fishing from the bridge. Garbage picked up at your site. Good WiFi ($) signal at site. We did not bring our TV, but they had a very good cable channel selection. I'd give this park a 9.5 - just nitpicky things like site not being raked out (campground itself very clean) and the small sites (but we expected that), and the broken shower handles prevent it from being a 10. We would return in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$91
This is an outstanding KOA. Everything is as it should be, considering the price of the site. We enjoyed it very much. The only downside is that our site was right next to the lift station, which smelled of sewage the first couple of days we were here. Water pressure was very low, but the water was clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$73
Brought our new boat down from Ft. Lauderdale to spend 5 days relaxing and boating. Sugarloaf has its own boat launch, gas and about 10 boat slips. Be careful of the strong current coming back into the marina. It is the perfect location to launch your boat to go out to Looe Key Reef, one of the best snorkeling and diving reefs. The facilities are well maintained but it does get extremely hot in the summer. Most of the sites are on crushed coral. They have a large area for tenting but we chose a waterfront site with mangroves with an opening to view the water. There was plenty of room for our tent, boat and van. We were there during the start of lobster season, so it was very busy with boaters, which everyone may not like. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2005
$80
The sites are short; a 40' rig would be a squeeze. They are also narrow, maybe 20 feet wide. Showers are clean but slippery and cleaned at times other than those listed. The folks who work there are very friendly and helpful. There is a "honey wagon" for $10. Shuttle to Key West costs $15 per and leaves at noon and returns at 8:30 PM. Weather was great as was pool, hot tub. A friendly, nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$67
A nice park, but a little too pricey. A nice staff though and close to Key West. The park could use some landscaping. We booked this place almost a year ago and requested water front, but ended up one row shy of the water. Seems they only save those spots for the big rigs. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$55
This place is like a big RV parking lot, but the views are fantastic. Some sites sit right on the ocean, but they are very close together. The park is very well run and organized, but congested. The pet walk area was pitiful. Good marina on site. Good restaurants closeby. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com