223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Fountain of Youth Spa was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (760) 354-1340
CGID8264

Fountain of Youth Spa

Camp Information
Sites
1000
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   6   10   9   1   1   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$16
Have stayed here three times, always in the upper dry camp. This is a great place to meet people and socialize. Very friendly, at least among the dry camping folks. The pools are fantastic. I do like being away from the cities and this does that really well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
This park caters to the senior winter visitors. Lots of activities, pools, hot tubs, massage, entertainment, store, and café on site. Very clean and well maintained. We spent 3 months here during the winter season. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$16
We loved this park! We heard it was where boondockers go for a vacation and it's so true. With our solar panels and water capacity we don't need hook-ups and prefer to camp without them so the Fountain of Youth is ideal. They have a large dry camping area that is a little cozy side-side but very friendly and quiet. We heard very few generators running and when they did it was only for a short time. The swimming pools, hot pools, and steam rooms are all great and kept very clean. The restrooms and showers are also very clean as are all of the park facilities. The list of activities is long and varied and you can be as involved as you like. We found the park pet friendly with no restrictions on where you can walk your dogs. There are many trails just outside the park gates and they also have a small, fenced dog area within the resort. We would definitely stay at this resort again. We stayed a week but would plan at least two next time, maybe a month! The only real negative is that the internet offered by Tengo is terrible. Next time we'd be sure to have an alternative organized. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$39
We decided to try Fountain of Youth after hearing from another RV'er that they loved the place. Plus, we were interested in the history of the Salton Sea and its demise. It is a huge park with many park models; however, these models can be somewhat old, consisting more of single and double wide mobile homes. Regarding the placement of your motor home or trailer, you may be placed anywhere between these permanent homes, and if a motor home, you are told to park in a "B" site, which is a pull-in site. That means if you are facing the east, you pull in to face a mountain of dirt and stones. The park is tiered so if you are lucky that there is room on the east side, you can pull in facing the Salton Sea and mountains. Trailers get to use the back-in or "A" sites so the opposite is true for them. Unfortunately, we had a pull in to the dirt site and it was uncomfortable but we decided to give it a try. The resort tries hard to keep everyone active. However, it seems to cater to the mid-70's and above. If you are a young and active 55-65, I suggest going elsewhere. There is only one mineral spa, the others are chlorinated as are the pools. They have an active water volleyball session twice daily but the long term residents take up the spots. A café serves average food and any restaurants that are worth going to are at least 40 miles away in Indio. There are active 4-wheelers there but down the road is a younger group at another RV resort. We were admonished twice in our 4 day stay. Once about walking on the sidewalk and once about taking our dog to the dog area (I was on my way to the dog area-. What was I supposed to do - carry him at 75 lbs. Not many pets there. Yes, people do have dogs but not many of them belong to the long term residents. In conclusion, I would say, if you like to be active, are over 65, don't need to eat out, like going to the pool daily, and can socialize with mild activity, the place is for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$15
Stayed in the dry camping area. Park has very nice facilities and is a very good value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$10
We booked for one week and ended up staying for a month. The rate quoted is based on the monthly "dry-camping" rates. We really enjoyed this park, very friendly employees and fellow RVers. This is NOT a 55+ park, we are well under 55 and were welcomed, no problem. The ONLY age restriction is in regards to purchasing and owning a lot, then you must be 55+. We stayed in the dry-camping area for the entire month and loved it, actually, there is more site space in the dry-camping area than the full hook-up sites. Everything is very clean and well organized. We'd definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
Since when did this place become 55? They didn't say that when I booked, but should have. I never felt so unwelcome in my life. Especially the staff, I think hated me. I'll never return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2011
$46
I couldn't believe how terrible their customer service is towards younger families. If you are under 65, beware. I witnessed an inexcusable confrontation between a young father and the manager. She only cared about her way and never listened to what he had to say. She attempted to overcharge and got extremely angry when he corrected her in a polite manner. She was so fed up she kicked the matter over to the owner only after bending the truth about the situation. I will never stay here again after seeing their hatred to the young. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$19
The rate is based on a monthly rate. This is a 55+ plus campground that has many things to do, day and night. You cannot be bored. The home to RV ratio is about sixty percent homes. Do not trust GPS to get here! Look at a map and follow the signs. Desert golf, hiking, ATV groups, talent shows, etc. The drawbacks are: shopping is sixty miles away in one direction (Palm Springs area) and forty in the other direction (one Wal-Mart and a Vons). Emergency, medical runs are one hour at best (I timed it, being an old Rescue/Fire). Phone service and WiFI are at the whim of the time of day and how the wind is blowing. So be prepared. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$39
A bit remote, but that is what lends to it's personality. Impeccable facilities, super friendly people and phenomenal activities to participate in. The pools and mineral spa were wonderful. Store, cafe, massage etcetera on site. Older trailers scattered through park but not unsightly. A winter destination we will return to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Rate was based on the coupon of 4 nights for 3. We are 52, 60 and the age group of this park was older, as the previous reviewer stated, but we LOVED this park and everyone here was super friendly! The pools and hot tubs were wonderful as was the mineral steam room. We went on one of the 3+ weekly hikes and 3 older guys totally challenged us and we've climbed some 10,000ft mountains in Tahoe! They have a little grill room that isn't the best but nice to have since you are really in the middle of nowhere. It's a funky little park and yes, there are quite a few run-down trailers and park-models, but the people, facilities and activities more than made up for that. The weekly, monthly and LT rates make it a very reasonable place to stay, but not for a night or two. Exercise room, pool, shuffleboard, horseshoes, dances, exercise, hiking, computer room, store & much more We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$38
We stayed using the internet special of stay 4 nights and pay for three, so we upgraded to a premium site, with patio, cabana, gas barbecue, and patio table. There are only 4 premium sites. Site was beautifully landscaped. Mineral Pools were very clean and water sparkling. Park has many permanent sites. Many looked junky with various lazy-boy chairs at their site majority of people were in their 70's +. We are in our late 50's and a minority. Lots of very old golf carts running around. Also ATV's and Jeeps. This park might suit many people but we will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$42
This campground is terraced so that each level has a view towards the Salton Sea. However, the utilities at the sites are situated such that our motorhome had to be headed into a wall. There seems to be some logistical problems with getting the coaches situated so they can look out their windows at the scenery. Oddly, many of the fifth wheels had to back in so that their view windows were also facing the terraced wall. Apparently, with enough advance notice and prearrangement, one can get a site that will afford a view. Despite this oddity, we did enjoy our stay. The staff was friendly, the grounds and facilities were well maintained and the mineral spas met our expectations. I will plan a return visit but will schedule in advance so I can avail myself of one of the view sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
This is a 55+ campground that has two pools and four spas that are maintained better than any campground we have ever stayed at. Overall cleanness is great. They have all sorts of activities and get togethers such as dancing, line dancing, singing and Pot Luck dinners. They have their own (desert style) golf course that is free. Many ATV groups and trails in the area. The sites overall are substantial. Drawbacks: It is fifty miles to shopping areas. There are a lot of power and water problems at some sites. The Wi-Fi is a vender that charges $40 a month for a service that is at best up 25% of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
Very friendly park, 20% park models, but all are made to feel very welcome. Favorite of many snowbirds, some have been coming here for many years -- this is our 5th season. More activities than you can participate in and the four spas and two swimming pools are wonderful. Downside is it is 40 miles from the nearest Wal-Mart, but the park has a store and fresh veggies are brought in twice a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$35
Fountain of Youth was recommended to us so we tried it out for a week. The people and residents were very friendly. Here are the reasons I did not give it a 10. There is a bird sanctuary nearby and Bombay Beach and Slab City are worth while visiting. It is far from any town with proper food supplies. Lastly do not follow your GPS for directions. It will send you miles down a gravel road and say you have arrived when you are in the middle of nowhere. Go on the highway until you see their signs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$32
The Fountain of Youth is properly named. When you are physically active, you will stay young. It is an older park, well maintained and actually 'hyper active'. Many very friendly Canadians here. Unbelievable number of active friendly and happy people here. In a way, I hope too many people don't find this marvelous place. A rating of 8 is probably low for what this place can do for your health. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$36
Rate by previous poster was for dry camping. This is not a park for a quick overnight stop due to the location but is certainly worth taking 2 or 3 days to visit. There are 3 hot mineral spring tubs each with a different temperature. We were amazed at the amenities available--grocery store, beauty/barber shop, massage therapy, restaurant and the usual shuffleboard, boccie ball, and other fun stuff. The sites were not level, the roads and sites were all gravel at our site. There was a water truck that came around to dampen the roads to keep the dust down. Everybody was very friendly and having fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$15
Can't believe this park has no previous reviews. I heard about it at the Lodi Elks lodge where a woman told me I had to stay there and see the hot springs pools and waterfall. While I did not fall in love with the park, I did leave knowing I had been someplace different and special. See their website for details. It is unusual that they don't take reservations. I arrived and stayed in dry storage for $15. The dry storage area has its own bathroom, shower, and dump facility. It also comes with a view of the distant Salton Sea if you are on the downhill side of dry storage. The office and pools are only 2 blocks from dry storage which is a plus. The little dog park is also nearby as is the back gate where you can walk along the dirt frontage road. The park has 1000 sites but most of them are permanent sites. I did not see any children but can't find any age restrictions in their literature so am calling this resort kid friendly. Everyone I talked to was friendly and talked as if they were in someplace special. The hot springs spas are nice as they vary in temperature with the hottest spa called the "crab pot". This park is remote so don't expect to find any shopping nearby. At the price of $15.30 I paid this place is a deal. Full hookups are $35 at the winter rate, which is also an okay price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com