221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Johnny's Lakeside RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (251) 970-3773
CGID8265

Johnny's Lakeside RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
171
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   9   10   7   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
Great RV park. Lots of grass and shade trees. Sites being improved with new concrete parking pads gradually. Many already done. Beautiful, huge pool with 3 water slides and a lazy river float. Nice lake with free fishing. Extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful staff. Park recently changed ownership and hopefully, will continue current improvements and good business practices. We would definitely stay here again even though there is an abundance of nice parks in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Loved the park. We had a shade tree. Ample camp space. Nice Lazy River and pool. Staff friendly and helpful. Site states 171 spaces, don't know where they would be, unless on a parking lot. There were campers in the back on what looked like a parking lot with no hookups, but LOVED our space. Couldn't get reservations later in the summer. So need to make reservations for this place in the heat of the summer. Will go again for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
We came to this park because of the reviews we had read. The park when you come in looks nice, with wide sites. Check in was fast and very friendly. We were escorted to our site which was great. Our concern was that the road is very narrow. A few times we had to drive over the curb a bit. Our site was paved which was nice. Again the road is pretty narrow so we drove over the grass to get our rig in. There is a bit of a dip in the front and the back of the pad. WiFi is free but very slow to none. The sites are fairly narrow when compared to the sites in the front. Swimming pool was empty, but as we were told it isn't heated it did not matter. You do hear traffic noise. Our biggest concern were the narrow roads. With a 40ft RV you do need a bit of room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$65
We were quite satisfied with the park. Clean restrooms, sites, etc... Plenty of sites to choose from. Staff was pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
Family friendly park, not far from Gulf Shores and beach access. Pool and lazy river area was perfect for our family, especially with smaller children. Sites are a little close; however, we didn't feel cramped in anyway. We enjoyed the campground enough that we booked again for next summer. Plan ahead with reservations. This park tends to book quickly. Our rate reflects the weekly price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$15
Price reflects monthly rate. Beautiful park, very dog friendly. The Wi-Fi was terrible, but they were working on improving it when we left. We were dissatisfied with the activities for the winter folks. Not enough to do to warrant spending another winter in Johnny's. Such a beautiful clubhouse that was very under-utilized. The park needs an activity director. The pool was beautiful, but not heated so we didn't use it all winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
This is a really nice RV park with many friendly people. We stayed here a week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The restrooms, showers, and laundry facilities we very clean, however the pool was a little dirty. They have a nice lazy river which was enjoyed by many, but didn't feel crowded. The staff was friendly and showed us to our spot, which was level and a decent size. We had a site right in front of the lake, which was delightful to look at. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Very nice park, quiet, convenient location. Great water park and pools, nice hall and office staff. Sites reasonably spaced. Close in to Foley for groceries, Home Depot, etc. Camping World is just a couple miles north. WalMart on other end of town, only about 5 miles. Just beyond that is the outlet mall. Very convenient to go to Gulf Shores without staying there, about 10 miles. Lots of locals leave their RVs here all summer. Early reservations a must from Memorial on all summer. Paid monthly rate, don't remember what it was, just pulled a number for that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
This was a very nice park. The staff was very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Large RV Park with strong presence of “Snow Birds” come January. Lucky for us, it’s a quiet season in October (except for 2 Halloween week-end events). Lots of pull throughs with long, level and sometimes paved sites. All sites have paved patio areas. While the office help is efficient they are prone to NOT volunteer information. After our arrival and reading the park flyer, we had questions about visitor parking, internet access, and propane. If you don’t ask all of the questions you will need to return/re-call a number of times. They seem to be willing to only answer what is asked of them and not offer any other information that might be helpful to the questioner. As long as you don’t have to deal with the office, the other staff members are friendly and personable. They have a large pool area with water slides, spray circles, and a canal surrounding the main pool with inner tubes for riding around. Another unique benefit is that they pick up garbage (that you bag and leave at the end of your site) daily by 10am. Unfortunately, they do not have any recycling options within the park. There is a small fenced area for dogs. Our dog was able to chase her Frisbee in the space. Even with that space, the park staff as a whole weren’t really into dogs. Our dog thinks all golf carts have treats since her first exposure proved that out. In fact, the golf cart drivers are not dog-friendly at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
Just spent eight days here. They let us use the PA discount three days one week and three days again the next week. The bathrooms and laundry were spotless. The pool was new and excellent with slides and lazy river. Two campsite sections, the older one wrapping around the pond with lots of shade with the newer one set up in rows with no trees. Both had plenty of room with 50 amp and new picnic tables. All of the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Lots to do in the area. Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$29
Our recent trip to Alabama as a Snowbird at this RV resort included potlucks, Blue Grass Concerts, ice cream socials, billiards, church services, card playing, and special events at the activity center where free coffee and tea were provided along with fried chicken and pulled pork. A van was provided to transport us to the many amusements in this area and at no extra cost. Your constant improvements to this resort including the new swimming pool, hot tub, lazy river and future game room is a reflection of the vision this park has for all visitors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
Stayed for one month. End of season for them so a lot of the activities they advertise were over for the year. We found the park to be clean. laundry facilities small for the size of the park. We were in the very back and sites were nice, but tight for us to get into. Office staff was not very knowledgable when we asked questions but friendly. Prices reasonable and would try another month if in the area in season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
This park was exceptional. It had beautiful lakes along with a water park which was beautiful plus a lazy river almost complete. Restrooms were clean and up-to-date. We were told new owners are moving all locals out. There were a lot of snow birds but most were leaving. Wonderful locations for seeing sites in Mobile Bay and Gulf Shores. We stayed 3 days and would have rated a 10 except the sewer hookup smelled awful, so we didn't connect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
We camped here over spring break and although we chose this campground because of the pool, the pool and lazy river were closed for renovation while we were there. Had we known, we would have stayed elsewhere. The advertised distance to the beach is definitely misleading. It is 30 minutes via the Foley Beach express to the nearest beach and 45-60 minutes if you take the main road with all the traffic. The internet was hit or miss, you were lucky to get 10 minutes of connection even though your computer shows four bars. Many of our neighbors complained about it as well. This was mainly an older crowd with all planned activities also for an older crowd with the exception of the ice cream social in which our kids were the only ones there. On a positive note, the restrooms were nice and the people camping there were very friendly as a whole. We would not camp here again since it is so far to the beach and not much else to do here considering the other campgrounds we drove through were much closer and more convenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
It was our first visit to this park and we absolutely loved it. The park is kept in pristine condition. The restrooms and showers are the best we've seen anywhere. We really enjoyed the pool and even hit an item on our bucket list by going down the water slide! Our site backed onto the smaller of the two lakes on the property which was full of fish. Also, since our bedroom is at the rear of our rig, every morning we had the sunrise through our bedroom window. Sadly we've left just as the social activities get underway, but if we ever go back to Alabama we would make Johnny's a destination - especially now that we hear they're putting in a hot tub! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Very clean park. Staff friendly and efficient. Nice pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Campground is very nice. CATV worked great, WiFi was a little slow, office staff was very pleasant and sites were level with good water pressure and electrical service. There are 2 pools and one water slide pool with 3 tube slides. Near plenty of shopping and restaurants. Only about 15 minutes from the Gulf beaches. And the price of $25 was not bad either. This is our second time here and we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Stayed over the Memorial Day Weekend. Park has water slides and is working on installing a game room. Nice shrimp and Crawfish boil for the holiday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
The staff was very friendly, the grounds were extremely clean, and the water park was great. While we were there they were working on a game room for the kids. Great park with lots to do for the kids and close to great shopping and restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
It was a nice park. Area left some thing to be desired as we were looking for a park for a 4 month stay in 2011. Not for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$33
This is a first rate campground and the management and staff are very friendly. The campground is well maintained; there is a gazebo and pretty lake. One of the staff even stooped by our site and gave us some fresh picked satsumas. This is the 4th time that we have stayed there and the first time that I've taken the time to write a review. The campground has always been a great place to stay--that's why we keep returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This park is now closed We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$37
Be careful if bringing in pets. First thing they told us was the rules. We were told that if we didn't pickup our dogs business right after she was done, we were out. If we left our site for any reason and didn't take the dog, we were out. If our kids were loud, we were out. The list went on for about 3 minutes. This was after they took our money. The office staff was very rude and made it known that they did not want kids or pets in their park and that they wanted us to be 55 or older. The sites were not bad and mostly level. Good drive to get to the beach, about 7 miles. Lots of traffic noise if you are near the gate. Don't think you would like this place if you have kids. Won't be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
This park is definitely for the 55+ age group. While here for a month we didn't see any children. Don't feed the plastic ducks in the lake. Never saw a live duck or goose in the small pond (lake?). Gravel sites pretty level. Lots of small trees. Very small pool. No exercise facilities. Cable TV was free. WiFi costs $30 a month but weak signal and slow. Not many activities in the park. This is a laid back quiet park. No fires allowed except a central location for special events. Cost per month was $450. All in all a decent park for the money. Everyone was nice & friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
All of the staff was very, very nice. Park was very clean and well lanscaped; but too many trees. Address is confusing! Easy to pass-up. Pool was very clean, but small. Sites are plenty long with gravel and pretty level. Does not accept any discount memberships. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This was only park with availability around July 4th weekend that was semi-close (30 min) to Gulf Shores, AL. The park was okay. Pool super small and they decided not to open until noon last day (kids were very disappointed). Would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$17
A beautiful park!! Found it in Passbook America. No longer in Passport America, but honored the price. Hosts were outstanding. Would have liked to stay longer. Lots of room at the sites. Bathromms and showers outstanding- in beauty and cleanliness! Swings placed around lake- all in all very picturesque. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
The park is well cared for, but there were no activities, except church services, and both the pool and hot tub were closed for the 2 months we were there (Feb.- Mar. 2008). The staff seem friendly, but just work 9 - 5 and do not have much investment in the guests. WiFi is not free and the 'lake' is just a pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$40
Beautiful Resort with every amenity you could want. Only complaint is "NONE" We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2008
$33
This is a worn out park recently purchased by Leisure Concepts Management who is attempting to turn it into a "condo" concept. They were attempting to sell sites but with little success and if you saw the park you would know why. There is a small lake in the older section of the park that is surrounded by sites, all gravel. The north end of the park is basically a field with utilities, poor landscaping with metal industrial/warehouse buildings. A new pool but really a kid size and that's about it for amenities. They did build a very nice sales office, I wonder why? The staff was great but obviously embarrassed about their product. Don't waste your time or hard earned money here. If going to the Gulf Shores area, attempt to get into the Gulf Shores State Park. We found it too late. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$35
Beautiful park, excellent service, very, very clean. Owners and management very friendly, treated everyone courteously and family atmosphere, will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com