218707 User submitted reviews online!!
The Reef RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: 526383830650
CGID8272

The Reef RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
216
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   7   1   5   9   1   1   1   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
Great venue for activities such as beach, kayaking, hiking. No activities, no pool. Full hook ups, watch the elecricity surges. A little out of town, but not as crowded as the in town parks. When we return, this is the park we'll come to. Very good staff and security. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
The rate cited reflects a monthly rate. This is our first time back in this park since 2007. There is now free Wi-Fi. There are finally functioning (clean) bathrooms and showers. There is a small laundromat; it had two working washers and two working driers while we were there. It takes US quarters, which can be obtained at the RV park office, but only occasionally. The sites are still very large, with 50 amp service at most of them. When we arrived we were allowed to pick our own site. We prefer the $20/night ($500/month) regular sites over the $35/night ($700/month) beachfront sites. The regular sites are oriented such that you can use your rig as a windbreak when the north winds blow, and they are isolated from the roving vendors on the beach. The vendors are not allowed to enter the park uninvited. To be fair, though, they all cheerfully move on when you tell them "No thanks". There are 48 beach-front sites and 168 other sites. At the first site we had, the voltage was quite high--132+ volts at night. We had to keep a space heater going all night to keep the voltage low enough that our surge protector didn't continually shut off power to the rig. We moved to another site later, and the voltage was down in the mid-120s. The park was virtually empty December and January (10-15 rigs), although a couple dozen rigs showed up between Xmas and New Years and on a few weekends. In February there were as many as 40-50 rigs on the weekends. When Spring Break started (second week of March), the park was about a third full, with all the beach-front sites taken. Before Spring Break, this is generally a very quiet place to be, although there are occasionally folks with noisy off-road vehicles in the park. During Spring Break people were shooting off fireworks on the beach every night. One bozo was exploding quarter sticks of dynamite, scaring our dog into a quivering mass of fear. The white-linen restaurant on site has a new chef. The meals are outstanding. The bar (Wrecked At The Reef) has been remodeled and is now a modern, pleasant place to have a drink and good food, either indoors and outdoors. A far cry from the dingy hole it was six years ago. Staff at the RV park and both restaurants were very pleasant and spoke excellent English. We think it’s the best RV park in town, and we have looked at them all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
Came down from Las Vegas for Christmas week. Made fully paid reservation but when we arrived the park is absolutely EMPTY..A total of 12 various rigs here. Very sad actually. Strong 50 amp service..voltage a bit high..running around 132, water and sewer OK. We have beachfront. Wi-Fi included and very strong. Town is also quite barren of visitors and locals need business. No hassles/no problems...a nice getaway. Other parks were very empty as well. Would return. Hope things improve for these folks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
Another warning. If you prepay your reservation, best that you stay at the Park as scheduled. You will not get a refund if you cancel, notwithstanding their policy on the website. We have been waiting over 10 months for our refund, and don't even get a reply to our inquires. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$27
We camped here with our RV Club of 8 units. The rate reflects a group pricing. We had an Ocean Site. The utilities are shared. The spaces are large allowing for me to park next to my trailer. The restrooms and shower room were in deplorable condition. We normally use a campground showers even though we have a shower in our trailer. We used the trailer shower during the entire stay. The restaurant adjacent to this campground was closed due to the worldwide economic decline. Our experience was positive. The campground was patrolled by security. The beach vendors were polite and left when you told them "No gracias". The Mexican Marines patrolled the beach on quads enhancing the overall security. Our club is coming back to Puerto Penasco in October 2010; however we are staying at another RV Park. Finally, don't let the news of Mexican violence scare you away from visiting Rocky Point (Puerto Penasco). Their economy is very dependent on the US tourist dollar and they protect that income source. My wife and I felt safe and welcome in the community. Most of the violence is occurring in other areas i.e Nogales and Juarez. Those border towns were dangerous 40 years ago before the drug violence started. Just use normal caution as you would in any American city and be aware of your surroundings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Our family stayed here over Spring Break. I would say this was about half families and half retired visitors. Did not have any problems with college partying or loud music. As a matter of fact we did not see any college kids "whooping it up." Great beach sites and friendly staff. You should bring down some wax for your RV because there is a service where they will come to wash and wax your vehicle for only $1.50 a foot and do a great job. Everyone was friendly and felt very safe. Make every attempt to get a beach front spot, if not, no big deal because the beach is right there. There is a big reef right in front of the park (hence "the reef") and it is great for the kids to go exploring for hours when the tide is out. This was our first time down in an RV, we usually rent a house. We will be back in an RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
It is true. If you have to cancel your reservation for any reason you will not get your deposit back. We booked a week and had to cancel the reservation with the understanding we would not receive all of the deposit. We canceled 2/14/2009 and still do not have the amount owed to us. When you email them you get the same response that your email has been forwarded to our accounting department. Warning! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Warning! We paid a full deposit way back in June/08 for the month of February /09. Regrettably, due to poor health, we had to cancel in November /08. It is now February / 08 and we have yet to receive the refund. Same thing happened with my brother-in law. We are getting the run-around enquiring. The email site claims they have turned it over to the accounting department but will not put us in touch with them... Stay tuned... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
We camped here over the Halloween Weekend. Rates increased for the "holiday" The park has gone down in cleanliness over the years. The trash was never picked up while we were here. The flies were horrible. Too bad, it was a nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$42
The best part about The Reef is the fantastic restaurant located on-site - truly a wonderful experience. About the RV Park...we had to have access to Internet due to illness in the family, then when we got there were told the server was pulled "months ago". Even though the kid behind the front desk was playing video games on the office Internet machine, we were not allowed to even check e-mail on it. We had to leave early because of this, and were told we could not even have a partial refund for nights not stayed (the place was empty). If you like aggressive beach vendors, dust, and a "it's not our problem" attitude, you'll love your stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
The park was clean and many spaces were available. WiFi was not available during our visit. The sites are large and have easy access. We have been here the last 3 years and it's much better than the more congested parks in town. The rate was $35 per day for ocean sites and $25 for others. The showers and restrooms were new last year and were clean with great water pressure. They also have a laundry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
Beach front sites are around $30; interior sites are $20. This is a large parking lot-type park. The attraction is full 50 amp hookups right on the beach. Wi-Fi is very slow and $4/day. Sites are enormous, but the beach front sites have their hookups on the beach end of each site. That's great in a trailer, but in a motor home it's a very long reach to the connections. We always spend our time dry camping on the adjacent beach for $5/day then coming to The Reef once a week to pay $7 for a dump and fill. This park is about a 10 minute drive from town, but not nearly as congested as the parks in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com