218867 User submitted reviews online!!
Lost Dutchman State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (480) 982-4485
CGID8274

Lost Dutchman State Park

Camp Information
Sites
134
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   9   10   10   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This is a beautiful setting with wonderful sunsets, red rocks, and attractive desert vegetation. Very quiet. Nearly a perfect park. I would give this a 10 except no sewers or wifi. There is a clean and easy to use dump site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
Great spot, big sites, handles big rigs really well. The sunsets and scenery here are just killer. Nice long pads, good water pressure, etc. One thing though, this campground can be windy given its spot at the base of the Superstition Mountains. Great value for the price. Would come back here for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$31
Beautiful park with large, well separated sites. About one third of the sites have water/electric, the rest are dry. Good showers available. Very quiet at night. Verizon signal is weak. I recommend you use a satellite map when choosing your site because some sites have the sitting area facing the road because a wash drops off behind the site. Those sites have no privacy at all. Excellent trails right in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$28
We enjoyed our time at this campground. Beautiful mountain views. Campsites only include water and electric, but a dump station is available. Campground is close to an old mining town (Goldfield) with shops and restaurants. Campsites are large and had some distance from fellow campers. Hiking trails were available throughout the park. We had no issue getting a DirecTV and Verizon 4G signal. Freeway access and grocery stores is about 20 minutes away. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
Beautiful setting in the Superstition Mountains. Spacious sites with picnic table and fire pit. All sites with hookups had reservations. They have an overflow area, dry camping, no reservations there. Clean showers and bathrooms, but very busy. Lots of hiking trails and close to Apache Junction shopping. We would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
What a gem! This is a very well maintained State Park, with very friendly and helpful staff at check in. Roads and sites are paved. Our site was level, very long and very wide, big rig access was good. Quiet, with privacy and space around the RV, plenty of space for the towed. Picnic table, fire ring and grill all in a wonderful desert setting, with incredible views to the Superstition Mountains, the Hosts were constantly cleaning and raking around the sites, they do a great job of keeping the Park immaculate. The bathrooms were clean. Pet friendly and lots of wonderful trails to walk your pet. No WiFi but cell was good. Safeway and Bashas' are about 5 miles down the road and there are a  couple of restaurants about 5 minutes from the Park. We were here during the week when it was quiet, but we were told that it gets very busy at the weekend.  We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
The rate given above reflects the daily rate plus electricity. It was very hot while we were there, so we used a lot of electricity! I think the in-season rate is higher, This is our all-time favorite RV Park. The sites, which are level, with modern, working hook-ups, are thoughtfully laid out over hilly, wooded terrain. This is a rural setting which we like. There are several area of open space near-by, conducive for walking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
This is one of our favorite places to stay. The only reason we do not give it a 10 is that there are no sewer hookups. This time we camped here on the last days of August -- and it was hot requiring air conditioning throughout the day. I think the rate of $25 refers to the summer rate. This is a nice park in the desert, a rural setting. There is ample room for short walks or lengthy hikes. The RV sites with electric and water are pull-through sites, and are reasonably level. Town (Apache Junction ) is about 7 or 8 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
We took our family for a night of camping to check out our new trailer a bit closer to home before traveling out of state with it. Lost Dutchman was very nice, with the base of Superstition Mountain campsites, it would be hard to go wrong! We loved it! Nice location, looks like a little stream or streams may run through (when it rains in AZ right). Views of the City at night are truly beautiful and the mountain lights up deep red in the sunset - reminding me of the Dolomites in Italy! Beautiful country. We will definitely be camping here again. Family and pet friendly, Clean facilities, nice people! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Beautiful setting! Our view was of the Flatiron that was exactly like the postcard I bought. Nice sites, not on top of each other. Pull-through sites are nice and wide. The extensive trails in the park are very clean and nicely organized. We will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Wednesday, April 10 – Lost Dutchman State Park, Apache Junction, AZ: This park is off the Apache Trail in the Tonto National Forest. There are 68 sites in three loops that interlock. Some have water and electricity but no full hookups. Bath houses were clean and convenient. It is a beautiful campground and some sites can hold the big rigs. All sites with electricity were taken so you might want to make reservations. The mountains surround this area, and there are 320 acres of hiking trails, camping, and picnicking areas. The rangers even offer moonlight hikes and guided hikes, but the schedule should be checked. The cost is $25, but if you make a reservation the fee is $30. We had a beautiful site 43 looking out over the mountains. This park is close to Goldfield Ghost Town and Mine Tours, Superstition Mountain Museum and Superstition Mountains. The Apache Trail climbs past the mountains through Fish Creek Canyon and edges of Apache, Saguaro, Canyon and Roosevelt lakes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$31
WOW. Just WOW!!! What a great site (#27) we had for one of the most spectacular place we have visited so far. Beautiful! Waking up to snow one morning only added to the beauty. No trains, planes or other noises you may hear at the commercial Parks. Although not far from 'town' you'd never know it. The view of the Superstition Mountains was just awesome. One of the better State Parks we have visited. Definitely will be back when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
Wonderful park. Well maintained very friendly staff, great sights, wonderful sounds of nature, VERY clean restrooms and showers. Will be staying here again next year in Feb. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
Fantastic park although we were lucky to get the last site with hook ups as we didn't have a reservation. Many campers were in the overspill parking dry camping later that day so this park is very popular this time of year. Our satellite navigation bought us in on dirt roads, and we nearly abandoned our efforts. But once we found the campsite it was an easy in and out on tarmac roads via Apache Trail Road from Apache Junction. Our site was next to one of the trails, complete with information along the walk about local bird and animal species and paw prints etc. formed in cement slabs, bird feeding spots and water feature for the wildlife. A coyote walked right past our site in full daylight one afternoon! Loved the coyote sundial along the trail. Located in the foothills of the Superstition Mountains with access to trails up the mountain. Clean restrooms and easy pull through sites. Pet friendly with lots of walks for the pooches to enjoy. Great ghost town gold mine located next to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
This is just a State Park with most of the RV spots in a pull off the roads. Very few back in spots. Also no sewer although there is a dump station here. Not much privacy, a lot of the sites have the picnic table against the road so you pull into the sites going the wrong direction if you want your RV door to open out to the table. . We originally planned to stay here for 3 weeks and paid for that in August through the reservation on line service. We are only staying 8 days and that is only because Christmas falls during our stay here. A lot of this area around the park is Tourist mines and such. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
This is one of our all-time favorite parks. There are a number of sites with water and electrical hook-ups. These sites have level pull-throughs. The only reason we did not give this park a rating of 10 is due to no sewer hook-ups. If you wish to stay in a place with electrical and water hook-ups, it would be a good idea to make reservations ahead. There are also a large number of excellent sites with no water and electrical facilities. Some, but not all, would be a difficult fit for our 40 foot rig. Lost Dutchman State Park is in the desert, in a quiet country setting over-looking Phoenix, and in turn overlooked by the Superstition Mountains. There are several interesting hikes in the park, including one up the mountain, and many other interesting hikes within easy driving distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
Outstanding location at the base of the Superstition Mountains with trails that provide a wonderful sunset view of the Phoenix valley. Also great access to the fun Apache Trail road that heads east (the road turns to a single-lane dirt road a few miles beyond Tortilla Flats, so don't drive your motorhome further than that!) The campground was recently upgraded to offer electric at about 1/2 the sites. Unfortunately, this means that RVs staying in the other 1/2 of the sites (some of which are rather small) are often needing to run their generators. A shame they could not have simply put electric in at all sites so the campground would be more quiet. Other than that quibble, this is a great place to stay when in Phoenix! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Lost Dutchman is fantastic desert camping. The view of the Superstition Mountains is incredible, and at night you have the Phoenix metro area lights. Plenty of activities in the park and nearby. Sites are flat and many are pull through. Park is big rig friendly. The only negative is that like other AZ state and county parks, they do not offer sewer hook ups. We look forward to visiting again soon! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
This is a great state park, close to Apache Junction (5 miles), with good hiking, and biking only on blacktop in campground and in the day use area. It has 1 new restroom and shower; 1 older restroom and shower. The new showers are nice and much cleaner. This is an excellent place to explore the Arizona desert. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Camped here for 3 nights and enjoyed this park. Washroom is dated, but very clean with good water pressure. Large pull through sites with a majestic view of the Superstition Mountains. Temperatures were high 90's and needed the A/C. Only a handful of campers due to the heat. Park is in excellent condition with good walking trails and clean sites. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
We have loved staying at this beautiful, well-kept state park nestled against the mystical Superstition Mountains. We have really enjoyed hiking the many trails here. Park rangers are very friendly and helpful. Park recently got electric power with water sites: rates are $25. There are still tent and boondocking sites for $15. We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$21
We like this park, which may soon be closing due to the fiscal mess in Arizona. Very pretty desert sites, with decent privacy for some. Easy walk (1/2 mile, slightly uphill) to the spooky Superstitions, which rise up right at the south edge of the park. Bathrooms were ok, it's no Catalina, but it works. No hookups, which we found clear going in. It's a few miles up the Apache Trail from the Junction; do your shopping on the way in. If this adventurous little park closes, it'll be a shame. Lots of volunteers would be happy to keep it open, and how tough (or expensive) can it be to do so when there are no hookups? Shame on you, Arizona legislature. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$15
Nice, quiet campground. It is a very nice state park, no hook-ups but a nice atmosphere. The rangers were very friendly and it was not crowded. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$12
This was a really nice park, but only had dry camping. On the plus side, over half of the campsites were pull-throughs, which provided plenty of room for our fifth wheel. Some of the pull-throughs were long enough to have 2, sometimes 3 rigs on one site. The desert landscape was beautiful. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
We had planned to stay as many as two nights at this campground. Since there was some question as to the status of electrical hookups here, we did research until we found positive confirmation on Arizona State websites. Since a reservation wasn’t possible, there was no need for us to actually contact the park. Confident that the campground now had electrical hookups, we were only concerned that we would arrive only to find it had no vacancies so we made contingency plans accordingly. On the appointed day of our trip, about an hour before sunset, and with the temperature still hovering around 114 degrees Fahrenheit, we arrived at the apparently abandoned visitor’s center to be greeted at the front gate by a piece of paper indicating that the campground indeed had _no_ electric hookups. We entered and found not another living soul, save for the campground host (who of course, had a full hookup), and, a couple that had just drifted in to assert free use of the bathrooms. We inspected the campground and the sanitary facilities hoping to find some sort of silver lining. After turning on two control valves in the bathroom in an attempt to get water, I had to conclude that there wasn’t even running water. One of the drifters pointed out that I had overlooked yet a third(!) valve which needed to be turned in order to get the water to flow. Hoping to get some encouragement from the host, we knocked on his trailer door to ask him if he thought it would be all right for us to run our quiet generator during the night so that we could operate our air conditioner. We felt it was a reasonable request since there was no one else in the campground that could possibly hear our equipment! His initial retort was that there _was_ someone else staying at the campground. I asked if he was referring to a closed up and abandoned tent trailer we had seen. I noted that the owners had apparently parked the padlocked tent trailer and then de-camped to a motel! His concluding comment was that the patrolling park officer would kick us out in the middle of the night if we ran a generator. At that point, we decided we would be stupid to remain there, considering the oppressive heat, so we drove to nearby Fountain Hills and camped in my sister’s driveway (at least there was a full hookup!). The biggest letdown concerning this park has to be the attitude of its associated personnel -- not just the host who was happy to get rid of us but also to all the state employees who allow incorrect information to persist on state websites. Obviously they knew something was wrong because they posted the sign at the gate. There was no authority there to take ownership of the bad condition of the existing facilities; absence of necessary policies or facilities; nor the downright incorrect information that they are willing to let people rely on. Subsequent research revealed that there _had_ been a plan to add electrical hookups at the Lost Dutchman and Lake Havasu Campgrounds but that these projects were delayed temporarily (…or perhaps permanently). The campground is certainly well located for its namesake park and for a number of other commercial; natural park; and offroad attractions. Ordinarily, I would give the campground my highest accolades on this point but, in this case, it is not like there aren’t a hundred other commercial and government campgrounds nearby that are actually comfortable. So, I feel justified in giving this campground a big fat “zero” in this category. As for the look and feel of the campground, it’s hard to deny that there isn’t a lot of potential for a first-class site but it is just so rundown that I can’t award it more than an average score. The infrastructure to be found is so rundown and so many necessary facilities for this climate are lacking, that I feel I must score it as below average in that category. I would give the campground an average score for big rig accessibility but I have to point out that most of the suitably large sites that I saw were marked as closed, for no apparent reason. Given that observance, I feel I’m being generous to even let that average score stand. If someone wanted to stay at another government run campground instead of a commercial campground, in the area, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the nearby Usery Mountain Recreation Area (about 15 road miles from Lost Dutchman) or the McDowell Mountain Regional Park (about 43 road miles from Lost Dutchman). Both are operated by the Maricopa County Department of Recreation. The $20 or so rates are a bargain compared to the facilities currently offered at Lost Dutchman. Obviously, if I had awarded the Lost Dutchman Campground its full due based on the attractions in the area, it would have gotten a somewhat higher score but three stars are already too many. Don’t think about staying here unless you are prepared to go somewhere else as a result of your possibly unfavorable inspection. I wouldn’t even give much credence to what you might _read_ about this campground without you personally confirming it onsite. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com