206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Mission West RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (956) 585-5551
CGID8283

Mission West RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
320
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   8   10   9   10   1   9   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
This has been a most miserable winter down here in the Valley. That said, it's not fun to be in a park that has no pool tables, fitness equipment, or the like for when it's too cool out to do anything. The TV and Wii only go so far. If you are into playing guitars, fiddles, and the like this is a great park. We're not. The potholes and patched roads make riding a bicycle a challenge. Most people are really friendly and will help you all they can. We won't return this coming fall, but will be going over to a San Benito park with the facilities we are looking for. And hope for a more normal Valley winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Stayed here for one week recently and found it to be a nice, roomy park in good condition. Lacking were concrete pads in all sites (if fact there is an extra charge for one), there are no picnic tables provided in any sites, and there is a spotty 50 amp. power presence. While there, our sewer hose was cut (destroyed) in a number of places by probably a weed trimming or edging machine. Management refused to deal with the issue, insisting that they are not responsible for the property of customers. They need to better train their landscaping maintenance folks on the proper operation of their equipment and better train their day managers on the legal responsibility they have when they or their employee performs negligently. They left us with the choice to sue them for $40 or just go away. So, we moved on to another park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
This is a fairly nice park. We stayed here using Passport America rate. Only negative is that they put us along the business route which was pretty noisey. The park was only about 1/2 full so not sure why we couldn't have been placed farther back in the park away from the noise of the street. With that said we did not ask that question, something to ask for those of you considering staying here. Restrooms and showers were clean. Garbage dumpsters were only in one location for a park this size. It was a little strange but made for a good time to exercise the dogs. Nice dog fenced area here, also. We did not use any of the outdoor facilities as it was pretty cold but pool area looked nice. Laundry room looked fine also. We would definitely stay here again. Be sure to go to Bentsen Rio Grande Valley State Park. It has beautiful birds and walking / biking paths. Plus you could bike to the state park. It is about 4 miles from Mission West RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
This is our 7th year at Mission West RV Park. Last year was a little bumpy, but ALL has been settled and we are back to one big happy family. Hamburger night on Monday is in full swing. There is so much to do here you can be as busy as you want. Water Aerobics is fantastic and we are getting ready for a Ladies Luncheon/Fashion show for the 3rd year. Also we are having a Winter Texan Open House on January 12. Lots of free prizes, food and vendors. This is a nice park with very wide streets and a wonder feeling of openness. We have our own golf course and tons of activities. You can be as busy as you want to be. Lots of good food, fun and fellowship in this Park. Also owner is very hands on and involved in the workings of this park. Always ready to hear new ideas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$11
This is the 3rd year we have chosen to return to spend our winters at Mission West RV Park. We have found the people to be very friendly and welcoming. The owners are here every day and are working very hard to make this park the best in the Rio Grande Valley. The streets are wide so maneuvering a large RV is no problem, all sites are easy back-ins, with FHUs. The activities list is varied and long, plenty of things to keep you busy all day. They have a par-3 golf course at the park so that is a big plus. We feel lucky to have found this park and plan to return for many more seasons. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
Things are great here in the Rio Grande Valley. Mission West has taken on a new personality, more of a family atmosphere, now that many of the people causing problems have "moved on" down the road. Great place to stay for the Winter! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2012
$1
This park is still under a major lawsuit, and it is an ugly lawsuit. The owner/management does not want to recognize the signed contracts anymore and has locked out the owners of these paid for sites. If you are told differently then ask why most park models are now gone, people moved out, and there are so many empty concrete sites available. Most of these concrete slabs were put in by the contract owners and not the park owners. If staying and parked on concrete pads you may be subject to an eviction notice as most of the concrete sites are owned. Police have been called numerous times because of this trouble, and the owner has told them it is his park, and they have no jurisdiction. The owner has also showed signs of violence, ridicule, and name calling trying to get his way. Would you want to stay in a park where law enforcement is not welcomed? The electric at $.19KWH is some of the highest in the valley as is the price for staying here. With so many other parks in the valley WHY would you want to subject yourselves to the problems going on in this park? This is a problem that went on all last season, Oct 2011 to April 2012, and will not go away until the lawsuit is settled. The rate is based on the maintenance fee paid but saw very little done with it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
We have been coming to Mission West RV for a long time. It is under new ownership and things have greatly improved. Clean bathrooms, showers, and a great pool and hot-tub. The new owner and his family are very friendly and involved in the park. There are many activities for people in the park. They have a dance and other entertainment open to the public. Monday night is Hamburger Night. The Hamburger and chicken are fried fresh that evening. They serve between 375 to 450 sandwiches. I would highly recommend this park for a short or a long term stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2012
$14
Monthly rate applies to this but there are different rates depending on who you know. This park does not have a new owner but the silent partner has come back wanting money and nothing more, wants to sell without the other partners permission, (court date coming soon). This park is in litigation between the owners and residence have taken up sides between themselves. Pool/hot tub has periodic break downs (no money for propane), hamburger night (burgers are cooked in advance then reheated to give it the nice freshly cooked smell), very unfriendly staff, golf course is playable but so is a cow pasture if all you want to do is hit a ball, squatters in sites that belong to someone else but being friends with the new so called owner seems to make it right, court date on that coming soon. This park is in receivership and it shows. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$12
This park has some of the largest sites in the Rio Grande Valley. For the most part it's a very friendly park, with many activities: golf, pool, hot tub, water aerobics, line dancing, music jams, crafts, bike club, horseshoes, just to name a few. The new owner has improved this park immensely. It's taken on a cleaner look, things are getting fixed and spruced up. We look forward to spending our winter here. The rate is based on a 3-month rental. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
This RV park has faced many changes in 2011. Many issues have now been settled and addressed. The owner is implementing improvements to the park while maintaining things the park is known for. Yes, the reputation for the “ best burgers in the valley” is still being preserved while friendly smiles and waves make this park one of the best. Owner welcomes all to drop by and visit with him and his staff whether its to just say hi or to make a comment or suggestion. Lots of activities are scheduled daily or weekly for everyone to enjoy. The well maintained golf course is open to the public with weekly scrambles being the norm. The pool is cleaned daily and ready for use by residents. Large lots are maintained regularly. We currently stay 4 to 5 months a year and look forward to many more seasons. We love the friendly community and welcome home attitude feel of this RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Over the years, we have stayed in many RV parks throughout Canada and the United States. Having experienced many parks in the Rio Grande Valley we have chosen this park to be our winter home. We arrive at the park in October and leave in April. What impressed us most about the park was the people. We could stay anywhere but it is the people that you are with that makes a home a home. The park offers many activities and lots of things to do. One only needs to make choices and sometimes there are too many choices to make. The pool and hot tub are most welcome on the days when it is sultry. We golf and the 9 hole course on the property has allowed us to do this right in our 'backyard'. Having read some other reviews we wonder if we are reviewing the same park. We would highly recommend this park whether you are there for a short time or for a winter getaway from the cold of the north. Congratulations to the management for taking a less than optimum situation and making the park the awesome place that it is. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$7
I am back here only because of medical reasons and I am a 6-in, 6-out lot owner. The golf course is now a semi mowed field, no Wi-Fi. The water gets turned off at night but not every night. No explanation for that. The rest is about the same. Hopefully the courts can settle this matter this coming week on 9/8/11. Will post again if anything changes for the better. Rate also reflects being a lot owner otherwise it is $17.50 per night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
We chose to stay at this park as we traveled east from Arizona. One of the things that drew us to the park were the activities provided and how friendly most of the people in the park could be. Yes - the park is under new ownership - we have had the good fortune of meeting the new owner and are excited with what is being planned for the park. Texas has had a hot dry summer and no doubt when the rain comes things will green up quickly. We all know that unless one plans on watering regularly then the best course of action is to not water at all so that the roots grow dormant until the next watering. Looking around the area it would appear that many parks have been affected by this severe drought. We look forward to visiting the park soon - remember a park is only as good as the people that choose to stay there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$7
This park is going through some legal issues, the two owners cannot agree on how to run this park. The current management is very unprofessional especially the so called manager. Rates will be going up, electric already has, services will probably be cut back, no Wi-Fi now, pool is cleaned only when you say something, the golf course is in good shape considering the drought and it is being maintained under the old management, trash blowing around is either mowed over or ignored. Probably will not come back until the problems are solved. If I hear that things have changed I will post back but this looks like a long drawn out legal matter and the only losers will be the people staying in this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
Rate is daily rate for 30 amp back-in site with PA discount. Roads are paved, though a lack of maintenance is showing. All sites are back-in. No shade. This is one of those parks that has the word resort in its name, and depending on what that word means to you, either it is or isn't. Nice big hall in the center of the park, four or five activities planned each day, decent sized sites and security gate. As usual, the Passport America sites were in the least desirable spots, in this case alongside the front fence backed up to the main road outside the park, so motorhomes face the afternoon sun and 5th wheels get to view the street. The other sites in the park face east/west. We found nothing remarkable about the park, good or bad, and the Passport rate makes it fairly inexpensive to check out for a few days, and since the park was only about 2/3rds full in mid February, there were decent sites to move onto if you wanted to stay for a longer period of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$17
Passport America rate is $17.50 but we were renting from friends who have an extra site on a slab with 50 amp service. This is our second stay and feel it is one of the better places in the Mission area. But we do prefer Florida over the RGV. It is windy and dusty here, plus English is a second language here. This park has a big hall and golf course, the hall hosts functions during the winter and the golf course hosts an open 9 hole scramble twice a week which is great fun. The Wi-Fi is great, they do have some road construction going on now. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$17
This is a very nice and very friendly park. The only downside is the distance from other activities in the valley. We will return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$15
This a terribly overpriced park.The restrooms away from the rec-hall are in bad shape! One is little better than an outhouse!The "core" group are friendly to each other but that's all.They will hardly acknowledge anyone else. The wi-fi is good but no cable. If you don't know someone here you better go someplace else. It is only convenient to Bentson bird park. Town is 2 or 3 miles miles away We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$15
Rate appx. paid $395 mo. plus electric for the two months we spent there. Rates are going up for next winter. This is a great people park, everyone very friendly. We had spent two nights in Mercedes before driving into this park, couple in the office were wonderful, marked off a bunch of available sites, we were checking one out and two people came over to say hello and welcome us. There is also a little 9 hole par 3 course here. Not the best, but good for the short game. They had scramble tournaments every Monday and Friday mornings where you drew for teams. Great fun. We would go back again. One thing about this whole area through, great weather, hardly ever rained, but windy and dusty. It is this whole area of the country is like that though. The owners have many upgrade projects going on. Three new Wi-Fi towers went up while we were there. Plus they added heat to the pool. A bathhouse is planned, along with new pavement on a couple of roads. Nice place to winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com