218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Tallahassee East / Monticello KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (850) 997-3890
CGID829

Tallahassee East / Monticello KOA

Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   1   6   5   2   2   2   6   1   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
It is an ok place to over nite but not for any length of time. Dirt roads were rutted and I wouldn't want to be here in a heavy rain. Staff friendly enough but kind of disinterested. Many permanent campers. Power seemed to be adequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Do not stay here. This place should not be called a KOA. The grounds were not maintained and the dirt roads had huge pot holes. The pool was filthy and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in 6 months. The playground equipment was broken and filthy. The permanent residents were shady looking and we felt uncomfortable leaving our travel trailer. This place was part mobile home park and the permanent structures were in disarray. We should have trusted the other reviews but they were so poor we thought they were true. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$42
This park is right off I-10. The sites are all dirt and there appeared to be several permanent residents. It is just OK for one night stay. No Wi-Fi. WiFi is available if you want to go sit in the check-in area. One recommendation would be for the KOA sign to be larger and in a more prominent location. The sign is easy to miss. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
Not great. We used it for a one night stopover in transit and it did the job, but it was dirty (no pavement anywhere), Wi-Fi only in the office, and no cable. Access off interstate 10 was easy 5 minutes. Bathroom and shower was clean. Some washers/dryers were newer than others but all worked well. It will do in a pinch, but you are going to get your tires muddy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
Stayed four nights in a motorhome with slide-outs. Overall, this is one of the least appealing KOAs we've stayed at. Although the location was convenient, we will not stay here again unless absolutely necessary. Pros are: (1) convenient location close to I-10; (2) pull-through sites had plenty of width for slide-outs and length for the toad; (3) although sites are shaded, we were able to get a satellite signal; (4) good Verizon coverage for phones and jetpack. Cons are: (1) campground runs along I-10 and road noise was an issue--we could hear the traffic inside the coach with the A/C running; (2) no paved sites and although the sites are reasonably level, the roads were bumpy. Very sandy and the fine sand gets everywhere if you're not extra careful. (3) grass needed mowing. (4) Pool was old and unappealing--did not look well-maintained. (5) no cable TV (6) no Wi-Fi at sites--in office only. (7) Visually unappealing--there appear to be a number of older, poorly-maintained RVs which appear to be "permanent" scattered around the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
Office Staff was friendly. Sites were level. However, several sites (empty) had garbage bags with trash overflowing. And the hookups are at the rear and quite a bit distant from the site. Barely had the ability to connect electric, and water hose was barely able to connect. Didn't even try to connect to the sewer. Weeds / grass combined with sand and ants all over the campground. Only one section (permanents?) had grass and was mowed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
We were very surprised that KOA has not improved this campground. This is the most visibly dumpy campground we have stayed at with no amenities, i.e. cable, WiFi, that are commonly available at most KOA's we have stayed at. This KOA looks like a residential campground with very few travelers, at least when we stayed here. We had no problems other than we did not venture out as there did not seem to be anything to venture out to. As we only stayed 1 night, in and out, that is the only recommendation I would give for this particular KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$47
The park staff is very friendly and keep the grounds very clean, considering it's age. They welcome you with fresh desserts, and serve a light breakfast in the morning. Sites are easy to access. We felt that the one night stay was not worth the price, so will only consider staying here again if they lower their rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
We stay in lots of KOAs while on the road. We thought we had stayed in the worst KOA ever, but this made it a tie. Location is good. Although it's adjacent to I-10, it is really about 2 miles around in a loop to get to the campground. Access road is pretty good. Staff was friendly, but really disorganized. All of the roads in the park are a mixture of dirt and beach sand which is somewhat soft. In some spots the roads are just mud. The sites are the same dirt/sand mixture and the dirt gets tracked into the coach. Electric was okay. Since the guy next to us had 3 filters on his hose, we decided to use our on-board water. The sewer connections are just slabs of cement with a cement plug. The dump station was inoperable. There are lots of KOA Kabins, and port-a-potties at the end of each row (like in a construction zone). It appears the sewer system is failing. Many of the campers seem to be occupied by full time occupants; and those campers are mostly in awful shape. The one next to us even had his Frosty the Snowman decoration up in April. Some appear to have been abandoned. Another had a wet recliner on a deck along with an old freezer. It looks like the owner and family live in a number of trailers at the end of the property. There is a "stage" which is an old TT with the slide out removed and the "stage" lined with old tarps. Picnic tables are dirty and broken. Lots of old burned charcoal and dog waste laying around. Ants everywhere. The pool was empty. There is a playground which we did not check out. No where to walk your dogs except down to the swampy west end of the campground. The tent area was just a field with a couple of faucets in it. The folks at the KOA headquarters never inspected this place. The park looks pretty good as you go by on I-10, but it is a mess. We could not get out fast enough in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This is not the best campground, but it sure beats nothing. If you have kids, I found there is nothing for them to do. The map says there is a game room on the far end of the CG, but we could never find it. The road, sites, parking, pet walks, all can not be differentiated from one another. The laundry doubles as Wi-Fi lounge without seating. Breakfast waffles were good, staff nice, owner was absent. It is a great place to stay for the night, but I would not plan on more than one night. Shade was available, but not for my site. Signs to CG very confusing as they took us 2 miles down a dirt road full of potholes before we found another sign that indicated that the CG was nowhere near the GPS location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This park is adequate, but tired. It is odd that some things are very shabby, and some show an attempt to clean up. The pool is a good size, but was murky. The sandy-dust in our site was very bothersome. Many trees were shedding limbs that could have damaged RVs. There are lots of what appears to be long-term residents. Either the campground has been allowed to deteriorate, or it is in the process of being brought back. This is a $20 campground that is over-priced. The clubhouse looked nice, but we did not use it. There is no Wi-Fi or cable. It is an OK one night interstate stop, but does not meet the KOA quality we have come to expect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$38
Met our needs. No cable, Wi-Fi in game room worked well. Restroom old but clean and very functional. Nice wide, long pull-through sandy site. Would stay here again. My voltage protector kept shutting me down. Friendly and helpful staff. I-10 noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$38
Grass Sites, big enough for a big rig and toad. Escort to site, very friendly at front desk. Dirt Road, so go slow. Just a couple of things, on the koa.com website they stated they had wifi and cable, they do not! Our site in the back had 20/30/50 amp, ample space for our 2 BIG dogs to nose around. Just be careful of the fire ant hills. I stepped in one that was in the middle of a bunch of clover. Air Channels not bad, but few, and gets scrambled is you have a neighbor with satellite. Check in/out very flexible. The few rules they have they don't enforce. They do offer a light breakfast and afternoon coffee/tea. If you have allergies to dust/mold stay away. And the sewer was odd, when you look down the pipe you could see stagnant water, but when you dumped the level didn't change. Very odd, and very unsanitary in my opinion. Way overpriced for what you get. Should be $20 tops not $42 (before KOA discount). Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$31
Nice pull through sites are level. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only thing I didn't like was the sand on some of the sites. Although your RV is parked on hard dirt ,the area next to your RV is sand and dirt and makes for a mess in the RV. I would stay here again, though, as it was quiet and good for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$36
This park is very nice, but needs some attention paid to the interior roads, which are very rough dirt. Parking pads were un-level grass. The showers were very clean and up to date. On the plus side, a complementary continental breakfast was included during our visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$36
Convenient to I-10. Some road noise but quite tolerable even when sitting outside. Friendly polite staff. Free coffee and pastries in the afternoon and free continental breakfast in morning. Escort to your site. Interior roads are dirt and dusty just go slow. Sites are grassy somewhat level. Good overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
Site are level and office help friendly. That's about it. No Wi-Fi at your site. No cable. Roads are dusty. Way overpriced even for a KOA for what you get. Don't let the 2 mile drive fool you. You end up right next to I-10 and all the road noise. Sites are not taken care of at all. Weeds over 2 feet tall abound. We are on our way home and it was convenient. Will stay someplace else next time even thought it's just for one night. Why don't campground owners understand that Wi-Fi at your site is important? Having it in the office is very inconvenient. In addition to lugging our computer up there, we would also have to bring our printer, road atlas, huge campground book, etc. that we use for investigating various areas. We feel there should be a different designation for Wi-Fi available at your site vs. in the office or overheated laundry room. This should not be a KOA or else they should lower their prices significantly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
Friendly staff in office, nice guest lounge, free breakfast. Wi-Fi only good in the welcome center. Grass had not been mown for for at least a week. Sites were not raked. Lots of old dirty rigs, must have been extended stay. Pool was open. It was not worth the price. At $25 a night it would have been acceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
Good place for an overnight at $20. For $40 I expect much more. Sites and roads are all dusty dirt. In the rain this would be a mud hole. Access is great with plenty of room for turns. Sewers are the old hole in the ground type. There are many very old and unkempt permanent rigs. We're talking rags hanging in place of curtains, acres of mildew, and been here since the 50s. Close to highway but quiet enough with air on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
We stayed three nights. A very peaceful stop on our extended trip west. While the roads were dry and dusty, it gave the park a nice "country" feel that I found very relaxing. Probably I would not have been so happy if it rained. We had Belgian waffles for breakfast and fresh-made baked goods in the afternoon. During our stay the staff put out pie, brownies, cake and cookies. There was a nice sized book exchange. While there was no cable TV and only an internet hot spot, our satellite TV and Virgin mobile internet worked pretty well at our site, which was level and shaded. I was able to do some bird watching around the perimeter of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$36
We arrived at this park after a heavy rain. The roads are not paved or graveled and were very muddy with lots of big puddles. Fortunately our pull through site did not have any puddles. The pool was dirty and green and the promised breakfast was not set up at the appointed time. The sun came out for a few hours on our second day here and someone in a big truck started driving around pulling a drag trying to smooth the road. All he accomplished however was to spread the mud over all the dry spots making the roads even worse. We did use the laundry room though and it was nice and spacious. If you have pets be careful as there are fire ants at this park. We felt the staff was a little distant and not especially friendly. The park might be a nice place to stay in the spring or summer but we wouldn't stay there in the winter again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$40
We stayed here for one night on our way south. We were a little disappointed, the wireless internet is only available if you go to the game room. There is no cable so I guess you are OK if you have satellite. The roads are not paved, nor are the sites. We wouldn't stay again, it would be extremely messy if it rained, it was cold so walking to the game room was difficult in the dark, the uneven dirt was hard and lighting was poor. They could use some improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
The staff was very friendly but the campground was muddy and standing water everywhere. Washers/dryers did not work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
Yes, the roads are dusty and uneven, but it was dry when we were here. Rainy weather would make it muddy, however, that being said, it is a very nice campground. They are very accommodating. There's a great laundry, pool, shade, and playground. It's about 26 miles to "downtown" Tallahassee. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We stayed at the Tallahassee East/Monticello KOA and were very pleased overall. The cabin was clean. The club house is relaxing and well kept. Hands-on owners are overly friendly and easy to deal with. Nice pool and wonderful playground! They also offer a free breakfast daily. Very pleased; will stay again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
This is not the place to camp in inclement weather or arrive after sundown. We did both. The mud was awful almost got stuck twice. Finding the assigned site in the dark would have been impossible without following the caretaker who was on an ATV. None of the sites seem level and auto levelers in the mud seemed pointless. The daylight revealed 3" mud ruts behind the tires of the motorhome. The pool was dark green almost as though they were going to turn it into a cement pond. A friendly staff can not make up for a poorly maintained facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$35
We stayed here for a week, it is not as bad as some of the comments make it look. Yes the streets are dirt and the sites are dirt. But, you have to realize that dirt is all there is here, you're in the panhandle of Florida. The staff were helpful and the park was clean. The bathrooms were old but clean and the laundry was excellent. Don't believe that you are going to find any parks on I-10 that are any better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
The couple at check in were the only good thing this park has going for it. Wi-Fi did not work at all. Thank God it didn't rain the mud would have been unbearable. Roads were very rough. This is the worst KOA I have stayed in since going on the road 10 years ago. Next time I will forgo convenience for travel and stay in Tallahassee and drive to Monticello. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$38
We paid more tonight than we have for a long time at a KOA and it is way down the list in quality. Dirt roads ... very little grass ... mostly sandy sights. When we arrived, they were trying to gather up leaves for disposal, except they were creating a huge cloud of dust which covered everything in the way the wind was blowing. Facilities are clean, but aged. Very close to the interstate highway, so road noise is quite evident. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$39
I set up a 3 month extended stay with the owners of the park and paid for my first month. Eleven days into the stay the owners came to me and told me that they do not like to rent the cabins by the month because they make more money off of them by the day and that I had to leave the cabin. She offered to move me into what they call park models. This single wide was nice but nearly twice the price. The other was a 20 foot trailer that had been left open to the elements and had a smell of mold. I told the owner that I was happy where I was and had paid her. If she wanted me to leave she should refund me for the entire month. The next day her son tried to hand me an envelope with an unknown amount of cash and told me to leave. I agree with others here; go anywhere else, this place is not worth your time or money. The Wi-Fi only works in the office; you can not get it anywhere else. It is actually hanging on a pole that is leaning over with a Tupperware dish (that has partially fallen off) to protect it from the rain . The pool is drained and full of black water. They say they will refill it in the spring. The lake is actually a run off pond and looks highly polluted. They wont let you swim in it, but they still post pictures of people catching fish in it. There are so many run down trailers that look like they have been there for years that the place seems to be like a cheap trailer park. I never felt safe and I am glad I am gone. They claim they have 24hour security, but I never saw any security patrols in the time I was there. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
We pulled in and then pulled right out. What a dump. Can't believe this is a KOA. First the sign says it's .2 of mile off the highway. It's actually more then 2 miles off the highway. It's sand , mud, overgrown grass, run down campers. Wife did not feel safe staying so we left. Lots of junky campground on the Route 10 corridor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
This park is in need of some tender loving care. The grass/weeds were in excess of a foot tall. Looked like the only thing getting maintetance, was the office area. The roads and sites are all sand and in need of some pot hole repair. WiFi worked ok. Pool area was clean. Also most of the RV staying in the park were long term. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
A great park, clean & friendly. Huge laundry facity & fabulous clean low chlorinated swimming pool. Free breakfast with custom waffles, danish, juice & coffee. No cable TV, but great homey rec room/library. New fish pier on lake. Bathrooms were beautiful too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$38
This campground is a bunch of sites scattered in the woods on sand and mud. The sites are fairly level by luck not by design. The hookups are a long way from where they need to be if you don't want to unhook your tow car. It took me 35' of water hose to connect. The sewer was impossible. The bathrooms may be clean but are very old and used. The swimming pool was empty. This was also very very old. The dog walk was mud and puddles. This is another old, overpriced KOA. They should lower the prices and forget the afternoon tea. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$34
Much better than most KOAs. Restrooms/showers were immaculate. Tea and pie in the afternoon, and continental breakfast. Very friendly staff. I woiuld have given it a 10, except that it had no cable, and I thought the tip jar at the continental breakfast was a bit tacky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$32
Nice, clean, friendly, quiet. Plenty of room in our site. The free snacks were a nice welcome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$32
A nice park right on the interstate. Not really in Tallahassee despite the name. Heavily wooded with mature trees and lots of shade. Mostly pull through sites on grass with gravel roads. Sites are more spacious and farther apart than at most KOAs. A good number of long-term residents. Wi-Fi service is slow and limited pretty much to the office-game room area. Office hours are somewhat limited and we found that an inconvenience as they were closed when we arrived in the early afternoon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2006
$32
Nice park close to I-10. Good for an overnight stay, wouldn't stay more than that. Staff friendly. Would rate higher if it had paved sites/roads. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Camped here 6/9 & 6/10/06. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. Had our reservation in order and had cookies, tea, coffee available at no charge. Campground was clean (although some construction is going on at the back of the property)as were the Bathrooms, showers,pool and laundry facilities. The office had a Kampstore with a nice selection of things you would need including Videos for rent. Game room and common areas for watching TV and reading were available. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2004
$25
Stayed there one night stop was a very clean park with nice friendly folks running the place. Baths were clean. Would stay there again. This park is 20 miles east of Talahassee We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com