223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Chugach State Park: Eagle River Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (907) 694-7982
CGID83

Chugach State Park: Eagle River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   8   9   9   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
Nice state park with paved roads and sites. Camp sites are very large and offer privacy. This park is 15 minutes from about anywhere in Anchorage. Park was well maintained with a dump station and fresh water available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
This State Park is the closest non-commercial campground to Anchorage – about 12 miles. It is a great alternative to the Anchorage commercial parks if you don’t mind dry camping. There are no hookups, but there is a dump station (extra fee) and water fill. We arrived with full fresh and empty waste (always a good idea when traveling in Alaska) so did not use these. It was not clear but it looks as if the fresh water may be hauled in and has a 25 gallon use limit. It has a four day stay limit. Arriving is a bit of a turnoff as it is across the street from the Anchorage city landfill and next to a correctional facility. However, neither of these had an impact on our stay. What did have an impact is the road noise, as it is right next to the very-busy highway. Since it was cold and rainy when we were there, we kept our windows closed and it was OK. It would be hard if we had tried to sleep with the windows open. The sites are well separated and have vegetation to provide some privacy. Some of the sites are unlevel, but most are OK. Half of the sites can be reservable and half are first-come. We had not made reservations, so picked an empty site. It was never clear to us which sites were reservable and which were not. There are camp hosts, but they are sequestered in a separate space and were not a presence in the campground. It was fairly calm except for the Fourth of July celebrations with fireworks and music, which the camp hosts seemed to make no attempt to control. Our Verizon phone and data plan worked very well in the park. We spent our four day limit and would stay here again if visiting Anchorage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
Very nice campground, dry camping with nice overflow area. Very woodsy, good access to Anchorage. Definitely a come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
Very well manicured park with paved roads and campsites. Easy access from Anchorage, good TV and cell phone reception. No showers and clean pit toilets. Very busy on weekends due to being close to Anchorage. Most campsites well spaced. Very close to Eagle River and King Salmon fishing allowed on certain days for 1 month after Memorial day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
Sani Station - $5. Four night stay limit. Nice, treed campground. Quite (even though it is close to highway). Clean sites. Well maintained. Great campground near Anchorage. Some level sites are available. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
Great base camp for visiting Anchorage (12 miles) or the Eagle River area. Beautiful hiking trails all over the area and some rafting. Some road noise from Glenn Highway about 1/2 mile away, but barely noticeable most times. Four night maximum stay. Good paved roads and large, widely spaced paved campsites. Potable water and dump station. Fire rings and picnic tables. Firewood available: $6. Excellent TV (antenna), cell phone, and air card (3G) reception due to proximity to Anchorage. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
Excellent campground just 12 miles from Anchorage. Just off highway 1, so there is some road noise. Right on the Eagle River. Good access to Eagle River Nature Center and trail system (highly recommended): 12 mile drive. Close to Fred Meyer and Wal-Mart. All sites are paved and pretty level. Dedicated sites on the river for tents. Really good choice for quick access to Anchorage. Very well maintained park. No running water except at the dump station. 4 day limit: more than enough time for Anchorage chores. Good 3G access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
We were very pleasantly surprised with this campground. The sites are pretty level, paved, private, and clean. Even the overflow area was nice which had many campers when we were there. After touring 5 campgrounds in and around Anchorage we chose this one because of cost, convenience and locale. We stayed 3 nights. Great walking/hiking path along the river. Would be a 10 if it had electric and water. Use of generators is not a problem. Camp host is on site. Cash or check only. $5 for dump. Would stay again in a heart beat. Get there early as it fills up its 57 sites early. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
As most reviewers have stated, this is a wonderful alternative to the campgrounds in Anchorage. Anchorage is only 15 minutes away so the distance isn't a problem. The sites are large and easy to back into. This is the only park we would stay in close to Anchorage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
This is a very good park to avoid the hassle of Anchorage. It's near the highway on a paved road on the Eagle River. Many sites have views through the trees of the river and rapids. This was a good one night stop for Anchorage to get supplies from Costco or Fred. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
We camped here in our 45' coach and had plenty of room.There are all paved roads and all paved sites. There is an excellent dump station, fresh water, lots of space between sites. There are beautiful trees, some sites on the river, fire rings, picnic tables. One of the best campgrounds in all of Alaska. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
This is a great base camp for visiting Anchorage, as it's only 12 miles from Anchorage. There is a 4-day stay limit. About 1/2 the sites can be reserved. All roads and sites are paved. There is lots of shade and room between the sites. It's very well kept and clean, with a host on site. There is also a few river sites. Our Verizon cell phone worked well here. As stated there are no hook-ups. They do have a water fill and a dump which is $5. even if you are camped there. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
This park is only 12 miles north of Anchorage and 1 mile south of the town of Eagle River. Reservations for 1/2 of the sites can be made. There are paved roads and sites, fire pits, tables. The dump fee is $5 extra, even if you're camping. This includes the water fill. All sites are back-ins. It is open May through September. The stay limit is 4 nights. There is whitewater rafting on the Eagle River running through the park. There are short hiking trails and a campground host. This is a very clean and well-kept park. The sites are generous size with vegetation for privacy. Our 40' motorhome fit easily. From Glenn Hwy., take Hiland Rd. Exit Mile 12. Follow signs onto frontage road along the east side of the highway for 1.4 miles to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$15
A park with limited amenities, but situated in a lush forest which made for a quiet night's stay. Registration and payment is self-service (i.e., honor system). There are two central dump stations and one 500-gallon potable water station for the entire campground. The site charged $5 per dump usage, but is reasonable given the relative low-cost of staying overnight. Classic campground bathrooms--no running water--just a seat over an open pit. We found this site to be a convenient one-night stopover on our way up north, but staying longer-term in a MH would be a challenge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Nice State Park Campground - fairly secluded sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2000
$15
Clean, all paved campground near Anchorage. Few amenities, but a great base camp for sightseeing nearby Anchorage or other south centeral Alaska sites. Part of the state campground system. Although no sites are actually right on the river, it is a very short easy walk away. Bears are a fairly common site in or near the campground, in spite of the fact that it really is in a city area. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com