223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Bay Bayou RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 82 user reviews. Phone: (813) 855-1000
CGID831

Bay Bayou RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
279
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   6   10   10   8   10   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$48
Nice dog parks. Great staff. Try to arrive before dark. Maneuvering space a little tight. Keypad security for entrance. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$48
We stayed two weeks. This time of year there were many residents for several months -- many of whom were repeat visitors. Clean, attractive, and well managed. We would stay here again. We paid weekly winter rate of $335. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
Rate reflects the $189 weekly special. Really nice friendly and helpful staff. Many "permanents, but well kept trailers. Great grounds, super Wi-Fi, easy access to Tampa, Snook fishing off of campground docks, relatively quiet. Cleanest AC'ed restrooms I've ever seen. Good rules for every one. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$47
This is not a bad place. Forget the water view on the site. There is some water during high tide, but not worth the walk. Nice staff. Decent space between sites. Big problem getting into the park, if you have a big rig and are towing. There is not a lot of room right after you pull in for you and your tow-we had to unhook. The sites have patio's. Some sites have gravel, but most are just dirt and you need to vacuum every day unless you love living in a dirty place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$44
This is one of the best run campgrounds that we have stayed in, over our six years and many thousands of coach miles. Super pet friendly and usable water on two sides. It is near the race track and supermarkets. A very nice pool. The "workout" equipment however, is in the community room and was not conducive to our use. There is a YMCA nearby. We stayed for February. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$42
We stayed here for a few weeks while my husband was working nearby. We really liked this campground. They have quite a bit of shade and river access if you like canoeing. They have a nice pool, laundry facilities, and clean restrooms and showers. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the park is nearby shopping and restaurants. The sites have concrete patios, but the parking is on dirt or sand. We had problems with ants despite the maintenance crew applying pesticide to control them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Rate indicates a mid summer stay 3/pay 2 special. This is a well run, mainly snowbird park: well maintained and quiet. Our site was grass with a concrete patio, some were improved with stone/shells. Wooded sites, enough so that we did not even attempt roof mounted satellite TV. Cable works very well: 40 channels, including HBO. WiFi worked well, as did our Verizon, ATT, and Sprint data worked well, as did Verizon and Sprint voice. Very nice pool area and clubhouse. A few supplies in store, but they do sell ice cream. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
One of the best maintained parks that we have stayed in. Shady sites, excellent wi-fi, cable good. Small lakes and fountains around and waterfront to creek. Two dog runs, both with hot bath available. Bathrooms are spotless. Really good facilities, and pools that are meticulously looked after. Rate quoted is the Spring "Special" of $199 per week. Location is quiet and close to shopping and restaurants. Short drive to Tampa or beaches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$56
Very nice park. Large helpful staff. Very well maintained. Very nice facilities, large pool, workout area, pool table meeting rooms. There are a large number of permanent or long term residents, but so far, all are very friendly to transients, with plenty of sites available. Sites are very large and range from dirt with grass, to sea shell gravel. Although they are mostly 90 degree sites, the streets are not that narrow, and the plastic posts that someone mentioned slip right out of a ground socket to ease backing into. This was told to us at check in. Backing in with my 37 ft rig was quite simple as sites are large, especially with the post temporarily removed. Only complaint is that there is but one trash dumpster site near the office, and the park is very large, requiring many people to have to drive their trash to the site. Most people drive in and out during the day anyway, so it isn't really a problem. Rules are normal, and there is no feeling of being watched for violations. Very pet friendly. Many longer term people have even added decking and beautiful plant arrangements and lighting which add to the overall homey feeling. Many sites have large trees nearby which makes satellite TV difficult, although there are sites where it is OK. I was able to park forward enough to miss the trees for satellite reception. Someone mentioned bad cable TV, but ours was excellent as was our friends who were in a site nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2012
$50
This park is way over priced for what it is. The streets are paved which is nice, but the sites are a mess especially when it rains. Some are shelled which does help but many are real fine black sand. It does have a beautiful pool area & a nice club house. The gardener does a great job with the landscaping all over the park. The downsides are that the washing machines are not kept wiped out, some of the sites have become permanant homes for people that collect too much junk on their site, and the park rules are only for chosen people. We have traveled quite a bit, & we have never found such rude people in management as in this park. They do not want to be bothered with your concerns & are very unfriendly. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$50
This is my first time at Bay Bayou and I must say that this park is one of my favorites in the area. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the park is filled with big oak trees and there are little flower gardens planted throughout the park which made me feel like I was at home. The sites themselves are all very large and spacious, I had a premium site right on the river and it was perfect since my husband loves to fish. The staff and the guests are all very friendly and even my dog had a great time playing in the dog park. I would recommend this park to anyone traveling through or staying in the Tampa area! I will be back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$54
Very nice park. We stayed here in class A for several days. I love the mature trees everywhere through the park and in all sites, very beautiful. All the staff was nice and I really enjoyed the lending library. The evening security let me in late to borrow a game and was really nice and welcoming. Clean, pleasant and really a lot of work in keep the park well maintained and landscaped. We thought it was great and would definitely come back. Many long term residents but the really nice kind that create pretty gardens around their units, etc., and enhance the beauty of the park. "Entrance road" does have a few lower hang branches but that is a HWY department thing and not in the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2012
$53
4 words. NOT-BIG-RIG-FRIENDLY. I have a 38' Class A 30Amp motorhome, and I have excellent spatial orientation, and it was a pain to back in. Sites are at a 90 degree angle to very narrow roads. It would have been fine, but they have these poles that are right next to road (which don't correspond with the site number), which won't allow you to do a smooth back-in. The road leading up to the CG is a very small pocked marked road, and the parking lot in front of the office is so small that is was barely enough to hold my MH and toad. There is a number code gate to get into the park, it is at small car level, but you will have to jump out if your in a MH to punch in the code to get into the park. The hookups are in the middle of your site which is fine if you have a less than 30 foot camper. You nose will be level with the road if your our size. The roads are narrow, the concrete patios rise about 5 inches from the ground with is a mixture of sand, dirt and sparse grass. While I was there one smaller MH came in a tried to park in one of the spots and after 5 tries left the CG. I also let the ladies at the front desk that I had 2 large dogs and asked for a quiet spot with a bit of grass . After asking 3 times they finally gave me a spot which seemed on their map to be a good choice. I was heamed in on all sides by motorhomes, with very little space for my babies to go potty, we were also so far from the doggy run (I couldn't find it even after I did a drive through later on) that is wasn't worth the effort. Also sites are either 50Amp or 30Amp. And the sites in the outlying areas with space for big rigs are 50Amp only. Wish they would have told use this fact before we came. There are your typical Florida mosquitoes, but in addition there are a ton of Thrips who's itchy bites started in the afternoon and didn't let up until the wee hours of the morning. Cable is a joke, totally fuzzy, I got a better picture with my HD TV. Internet is better when the office is open, slow at night. A lot of mold in the area, so my allergies starting acting up. Definitely not worth $53 a night (even with Good Sam Discount). Laundry is adequate though it could be cleaner. Also this park tends to house long term annual people, pulling it it seemed my transient status was a novelty rather than the status quo. Mostly TT and small 5th in this park. And the morning that I left, I opened my kitchen sink to find that ants had crawled up my outside sewer hose and through my grey tank into the house. Ick! Shame on Woodalls's for the 5 star rating, this place should be 3star tops. Want a 5 Star go to "The Great Outdoors" in Titusville. Not this CG. Never going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$58
The sites here are very nice - although they aren't pull throughs, they are of good size and a reasonable distance from your neighbor. Every one I saw was nice and level and had a concrete patio. The pool, clubhouse, bathrooms and laundries are all very modern, well maintained and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
This is a very, very nice campground. Great pool, cleanest restrooms and showers that you will find anywhere. Wi-Fi is adequate, not lightning fast, but good enough. We had NO problems with bugs. They spray 3 times a week. Maybe they are worse at a different time of year. AND this IS Florida, tropical: duh! Much bigger lots than many other campgrounds in Florida. Don't wander far off paths with your dog: sticker burrs and beggar lice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
My wife and I stayed at this park from August 29th through October 1st, as we were looking for homes to buy in the area. This campground does not have the water view like the website advertises. Because it sits next to a bayou, there are LOTS of mosquitoes that will bite you even if you are wearing bug spray. It was so bad, that we could not go outside to grill out or use the swimming pool. People who camp here are miserable and unhappy. This was evident because most people were very unfriendly. Because the rates are very cheap during this time of year, there are lots of undesirable people in this park. My wife did not feel safe camping here! Our bikes were stolen one week after arriving and I caught someone attempting to steal my grill during our last week! Watch out for charges on your credit card too! Two weeks after leaving this park, the park manager slapped a $216 electric charge on my card for one month of service! I don't even pay that much for electric for my house! Stay away from Bay Bayou RV Resort! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Very clean and well maintained park. Level sites, many with shade and grass. River and creek run on 2 sides of property and we camped on the river for 2 months. There are restaurants and shopping all around. Have camped there several times, and we will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
I loved the place. I stayed there for several months. It is quite large, and most everyone is extremely friendly. As someone said while I was there, "everyone here is nice, and they all seem to love dogs." That is very true. They have a nice fenced in dog play area that has a heated, elevated tub, that makes washing your dog very easy. There are many people that have year long leases (which are at a great per month price). The bathrooms and showers are INCREDIBLY CLEAN. There are several ponds, that are filled with little fish, that attract many types of birds. A Muscovy duck had babies while I was there, and they stayed behind my camper during some days. They were so cute and fun to watch. There is a beautiful river and marsh area that have docks with chairs for relaxing and fishing. I spent a total of 20 minutes fishing with a lure. I got three really strong hits, but I was unable to hook anything. At one section of the river that has a dock, you could catch blue crabs every time that you threw in some chicken liver or gizzard. The ones I saw were not real large, but I expect some larger ones are out there. The sunsets over the river are amazing. I had some sunflowers that I was growing in a large pot. I had to leave before they were fully grown, so I gave them to the very nice lady who manages the landscaping. She re-potted them, and is going to find a good spot for them. They are annuals, so I look forward to seeing them, or the next batch at some point in the future. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
This is a nice park. Easy check in and during the summer they have a buy one night get one free special. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
We stayed at Bay Bayou R.V. Resort for a couple of weeks. At first we were happy there. We had a small travel trailer on a site right on the river. We got a small gazebo, lots of people there have them. After being there about a week we were told we couldn't have our belongings inside the gazebo. We went back and forth with management, we explained that lots of other people had them. Why were we being singled out? We were then told we had to leave the park if we didn't like their rules. Meanwhile we saw tenants with lots of belongings, tenants doing mechanical work on their cars, dogs left unattended, and so on. The office staff were never friendly from the start. We spoke to lots of people there, they almost all said the office personnel were very rude and unfriendly. We will never stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
For the Tampa area it's the nicest for the area. However, that may not be saying much given all the RV parks in the area are older than dirt! So, at least this one is RV only, no park models, and mostly full-timers. Water, sewer, electric services are good, staff friendly, bugs plentiful, hence the name Bay Bayou. Do not come in at night with a big rig! Trees are low on Memorial Drive and at night you won't be able to see them. We cracked an AC cover coming in even though we did during the day time. Our rate was on a summer special. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
First let me note that in regards to the August 2011 review, we are not miserable nor unhappy with our stay at Bay Bayou. My husband and I moved to the area in May. We chose Bay Bayou because it was close to the city and seemed nice, but also because my conversations with staff before I arrived were always pleasant and helpful. We weren’t planning on staying more than 2 months, thinking we’d look for a place once we got used to the area. However, the folks here took us under their wings (we’re young, 38 and 42) and treated us very nicely. By the end of the second month, we had decided to stay the year and save some money because the rent is very affordable. The GOOD: Park is kept up nicely and it’s clean. We’ve been in two sites, both were level and easy to get in and out of. 80% of the sites are large, with most 28+ feet wide and quite a few 36+ feet and wider. Sites are grass over sand, with some shell on a few sites for driveways (we had extra shell put down for décor) or patio areas. Dogs are lovingly accepted here with only the real requirements that you clean up after them and they aren’t mean or a nuisance. Dog park is completely fenced in with chain link and there’s a warm water tub to wash your dogs in. They care about security and if you have an issue, they take it seriously and act on it. No one that we know of has had anything stolen. People have been in the park for years and still love it here, adding to a sense of community. There are 3 ponds in the park that are very pretty, and there’s a bayou around the park to fish in off the fishing dock, or watch the sunset/sunrise off the viewing dock. There are plenty of laundry rooms and bathrooms, all of which have been spotless when I’ve used them. Although there are some older men on staff who will not give us the time of day, the women all seem to be very nice to us. Someone mentioned undesirables in the park. I have yet to meet the people they are talking about (and I hope they aren’t talking about us) but most people keep to themselves, and if they aren’t overly friendly, they aren’t overly mean either. At night, come 8 o’clock, you wouldn’t know anyone lived here because the place is quiet – very quiet. The BAD: There is a halfway house next door that freaks us out a bit, even as former foster parents in NJ, with the older teens walking up and down the road at all hours, but we feel safe here none-the-less. The entrance to the park is very tight for larger units. We pulled in with a 26’ U-haul towing a car and a pickup towing a 30’ TT, and neither of us a problem with trees, the circle or the gate. However, elderly people ritually pull in here with HUGE RVs and buses, and they’ve hit everything in their paths – from the garden accessories to signs to the gate to other vehicles, etc. For your own safety, stay out of their way. Park rules say that you can’t use your screen room as “storage” and that upsets some folks who don’t want to buy plastic storage sheds/containers or pay for a storage area (we pay for a storage area anyway, so it doesn’t offend us). Bugs were an issue for us closer to the water, so we moved to an interior spot, and although we’re not bug free, we don’t have the issues the negative posts complain about. (We frequently sit outside to cook, eat, play cards, listen to music or let the dogs hang out. And remember – this is FLORIDA.) That said, they fog here 3 times a week and you need to watch what time you are outside cooking/eating dinner because it will interfere with that. We have found the pool water to be very buggy at times in the evening, but they come and clean it up the next morning (or you can use the net to do it yourself). The electric can be a bit expensive, but no more expensive than any of the other parks we’ve seasoned in, and you have to remember you’re air conditioning a leaky box with little or no insulation (and again, you’re in FLORIDA). It does drop under load though, and has shut our AC unit off so watch the pets if you leave for the day. WI-FI is very bad (in both spots). We paid for a phone line to get internet because I telecommute every day and I couldn’t get and stay online without having to pay Verizon for internet access. Water pressure is very high and you need a regulator because without it, you’ll end up with leaks like we did. The WISHLIST: Cable is provided (for free) through DirecTv through the clubhouse dish, but more channels would be nice. Dryers need to have time added to their cycle or be serviced to get clothes dry. Every week, I bring home damp clothes from the laundry rooms (and we can’t hang them outside). Instructions need to be given to some of the older male staff on how to be polite and more friendly. Some of them can be downright rude. (I’ll update if anything changes.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
This is another old park primarily set up for full-timers in trailers as well as mobile homes. RV was scratched on way in and out by low hanging branches. Not designed for Motorhome; forced to unhook tow to get in and out. Sites are shell only and very narrow/uneven. Was assigned spot next to dog park if you can call it that. Hurricane fence with holes under it; not mowed and waste container overflowing - had not been emptied in at least a week. Classify it a dump; will never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
We have stayed at Bay Bayou RV Park each November and April for the past 5 years on our way to Naples and on our way home. We stay in a 40 ft class A coach. The park is just north of FL 580 (known as Tampa Rd from Oldsmar towards the west, and known as W. Hillsborough Rd east of Oldsmar, FL). We prefer entering from Memorial Hwy via Countryway Blvd from FL 580 which allows us to make a left turn into the park. The entrance way involves circling a tree to park in front of the office. We disengage our toad at this point. When leaving, we engage the toad within the park and make a wide right turn onto memorial Hwy, which is just really a two lane side road. The reality is that there are not many RV parks in this area and we visit relatives just a few miles to the west, so it is a matter of convenience. I like the park because we choose a site that allows us to use our satellite TV antenna. They also have cable TV at no extra charge. They have 50 amps and full hookups. No pull throughs. The roads are paved and wide enough for two coaches to pass but we have never needed to do this. We make a reservation and they facilitate late checkins via their 24/7 security persons. They have several laundry buildings and restroom buildings, which we do not need. They also allow fishing from one corner of the park. Daily papers are available at the clubhouse. Yes, they have many camping units that appear to be “in place” but there are also many day/weekly/monthly sites. They have a nice swim pool and club house and many activities. Also a pool table. The staff is friendly and helpful. We have stayed at another park in the Tampa area and although it was adequate, we prefer this one. The park is quiet with few children. The dog run mentioned by another reviewer is in a remote corner of the park behind their maintenance area and should not be a bother to anyone. The people here are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$50
Very pretty and clean park. The entry is BAD, we had to unhook and back up to make it around the corner. The office looked at me like I was crazy and said not even the 44 foot motorhome had ever had trouble, they couldn't imagine why we did in a 34 foot. I see now in other reviews that others do have trouble. Be careful at the entrance, not sure how a motorhome park gets by with it. We probably would not stay here again unless needed the good location between Tarpon Springs and Tampa again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$56
The park was clean and well maintained. The staff friendly at checkin and allowed us a late check out. They have a very nice size clubhouse with a library of books, CD's and VCR tapes, exercise equipment, a pool table, live music certain nights. The pool besides being clean has a Tiki Hut for use with a gas grill area. The sites along the river were nice and there was a dock to fish from and one dock to relax. Very nice shade trees. We stayed in a 45 foot RV with four slides and had plenty of room if we had been 55 feet. No issues with the electric even using 3 air conditioners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$62
We absolutely loved this park. There are activities planned every day...line dancing, sewing, bingo, barbecues, ladies/men luncheons, movie night. We haven't met an unfriendly person yet. Most sites are big rig-friendly and there are palm trees on most of the lots. Fogging is done three times a week to keep the no-see-ums under control. The pool is big, well-maintained, 3 to 6 feet in depth and has a whirlpool area. The park had a Mardi Gras dessert buffet (no charge), ice cream floats and sundaes ($1-2), barbecues ($3),campfire with snores, and breakfast for supper. . The staff always greet people with a smile. It is impossible to say anything but that this is certainly a 5/5 star resort.10% discount for Good Sam Club or AAA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$58
Sites are large and level. Wi-fi is secure. Convenient location. Road noise from busy highway across the river is only detractor. Staff is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$43
OK Park. Entrance is tight as you enter then make 270 turn around a center island. It is an older park with many trees and crushed stone/shell sights. I looked all over the park and never found the site with palm trees, clear view of the sky, and pavers as shown on the web site. It is over priced for what it is. Probably would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
While the park is nice to look at except for the fact that there's never any grass (just sand) unless you plant your own. The management, staff and security watch your every move and pester the heck out of you for the smallest reasons, even if you park too close to a tree or park on a neighbor's lot when they've given you permission to do so. Too many people work in the park and in the office which raises rates enormously because they all stay there for free. I've stayed in numerous parks of equal size and none of them require that number of workers and the parks are relaxed and well managed. So discouraging for a park with a great location and friendly residents. Many have been driven away due to rate hikes and discouragement with the staff. So Sad!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
We've stayed here several times, for visits of up to three weeks. It's a very nice park with fine amenities, and we've always found the staff to be pleasant. It certainly has the cleanest bath/shower rooms I've ever seen in an RV park! Pool has always been excellent as well. Wi-Fi works well but is not fast. Verizon phones are OK here. About 3/4 of the park appears to be seasonals but they have never been territorial or overbearing. This park is not cheap, but you can save a few bucks with the weekly rate. Excellent convenient location to all services, beaches, Oldsmar Flea Market (2 miles away), restaurants, etc. Gated entry and nighttime security, too, although it's in a good neighborhood. Most spaces are shaded. Although most of the guests are 55+, it's not age-limited and we always run into a few people with well-behaved small children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
This is one of the cleanest camp grounds I have stayed in. The only issue was the cable TV, weak signal and not many channels. I would bring your own Directv system if you have it. They had wireless internet that was good. There was plenty to do in the area, heavy traffic and roads were busy. Nice people in the campground. We would go again and would recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$65
The rates on their web site are NOT the rates you get when you pull in. We stayed for a month and got a different rate each week, each higher than the last. The park was very nice, lots of shaded spots, good dog walking areas. There was quite a bit of bickering and gossip going on in the club house with the staff. We were not welcomed as well as the older travelers, so we did not fit in at the pool and weekly events. Overall it was a good stay, but we will look elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$50
Great heated pool. Some sites face or back on bayou, river or ponds. No see ums (biting midges) were getting nasty, but they fog for them several times a week. Lots of activities at clubhouse. Many seasonal residents but NO park models and NO old rigs are allowed, so it has an upscale feel. Great Wi-Fi (really works about 95% of the time).Outside staff (guys) are really nice. Office staff (women) are a bit grouchy, there were some politics going on about seasonal rates going up and lots of people complaining, some people pulling out mad too. Great dog walking area. LOTS of posted signs with rules, but no one seems to be overly focused on enforcement! Night security drives around in a golf cart. Ask for a site away from busy street at south end of the park, much quieter along the west side. Lots of nice shaded sites on perimeter backing on river. Water tastes not so good, but is likely safe. We bought drinking water however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
Overall this was a really nice campground. There are quite a few long term or full time RVers and people were very friendly. The campground is nicely laid out with trees and a few ponds, so it is very attractive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$50
We have wintered here for the past 4 years. The management and maintenance folks are friendly and professional. The park is clean, with a wonderful pool and clubhouse. There are ample clubhouse activities for all. The location is quite good for restaurants and recreation. The sites all have concrete pads. The only rap on the park is the infestation of 'no see ems' - a small, hard to detect biting insect. The park works hard to control them, but nature says it's a losing battle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$65
This rv park was ok. But seeing that the rate is going up, it's too much for us. Anything you want you have to pay extra. The number one problem here is too many workers. They get everything free here, rent, electric, propane, money for wash and after 24 hrs of work they get paid. So the rest of us seasonal visitors have to make up for this by raising the prices this coming year. So we are moving on like a lot of others are doing. The old saying is "You got to give a little to get a little bit back". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
We loved this park! We stayed for the month of December. The sites are good sized with lots of shade. Most sites are grass/gravel and all had a concrete pad. The park grounds crew is always busy and the park looks like it. It's very well maintained. The park roads are paved with blacktop and rain water drains very well. The bath houses are meticulously clean and there was plenty of hot water with good pressure for showers. The pool is large and heated. We used it whenever the sun would shine and it warmed up to 60 or so. There is a very nice clubhouse area with regular adult activities. There are a lot of snowbirds who participate in the activities. They formed a band and played for the New Year's Eve party: a fun time had by all. Included Wi-Fi worked well and cable TV, also included, had a good channel selection. The park is close to shopping in Oldsmar, Safety Harbor and Clearwater. Our cost reflects the monthly rate. Electricity is additional. We definitely plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2009
$56
This campground brags about their rating with Woodall/Good Sam. Well they must have paid for that rating because it just doesn't match. This park is not one of the top parks in the country; we stay at enough of them to know. We paid premium prices and they stuck us in the back of the park. My view out my front door is the maintenance area where all day long they are running equipment and making all sorts of noise. I usually love to sit outside but the view of all the junk makes me sit inside. If this was the only site available, then fine but this park is only half full. There are a lot of permanent residents. Some keep their sites nice other do not. The one behind us prevents us from opening our back blinds since the view is all their junk. RVers beware. The cost of this park isn't worth it by a long shot. On the only one good note I could find, the pool was nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
We love this park. My husband and I are both in our 30's but we are not rowdy and follow rules so we have had no problems at all. This park is very clean and well kept. The sites come in all sizes and are, in general well shaded which makes for a nicer stay during the Florida summers. While the majority of the people are older than we are, they have all been very nice and welcoming. It is not like some of the typical "trailer park" RV parks. It has a RV resort feel but there are a lot of annual residents. They do watch to make sure you follow the rules and it is true kids are not allowed. We don't have any kids so it is not a problem for us and actually very nice because we do not have to deal with other people's screaming kids. If you are looking for a family park, this probably isn't the place for you. However, it is by far the nicest park in the area and has tons to offer. Fishing pier, scenic pier, dog park, pool, pool table, bingo, sundaes on Sunday, rootbeer floats on Saturday and tons of other fun activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
Sadly we were disappointed in this campground and left early. We had high hopes after reading the Good Sam and Woodall ratings. The trees hang so low at the entrance to the park that they ripped off our solar panel and broke one of our rooftop ACs. When we showed it to the ladies at the registration desk they said there was nothing they could do and that I should call Hillsboro County to complain because that was county property. No help whatsoever. Every single item we inquired about was met with discontent. In addition the water hookup was broken and had obviously been mis-repaired more than once. They offer kayaking, but did everything possible to try and keep our two 18 year olds from going. I agree with a previous reviewer I too believe we were mistreated because we were not seniors. This may be a good park for seniors, but if you do not fall in that category steer clear and save yourself a lot of hassle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
The park staff were not only rude to us, but found ways to kick us out early. We planned on staying but they treated us like crap, i think it's because we are young (in our 30's) and not 50 plus like all the other residents. They would not allow my children to stay with us, even though when we paid our deposit, there was no mention of kids not being allowed. The speed limit is 5 1/2 mph, the staff and their friends ride around on their golf carts going atleast 8-10 mph, yet, if you even go 6mph in your car, then you are in trouble. It's ridiculous! We were definitely discriminated against. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$48
Loved this park! Everyone was friendly & helpful. We were very impressed with the cleanliness & upkeep here. Rates also very reasonable for what was offered. We especially enjoyed meeting the owner on several occasions & having him so approachable & attentive as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$48
We stayed in our motorhome at this Resort and we found it very friendly and accommodating. The different laundry areas and showers were very clean. The maintenance staff were very helpful with questions and making us comfortable. We will recommend this Resort to our family and friends. Our next stay in Tampa will be at the Bay Bayou. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$44
The park has very large sites and is heavily treed with Oaks. The sites are natural with concrete patios. The pool is beautiful & the clubhouse is large and there many activities while I was there. The staff is very helpful and the bathrooms are very clean...It is very quiet & peaceful even though it is only 10 minutes from the Tampa airport. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
This is our first stay here, and there is a lot to like. The sites are large, lots of shade, nice pool and clubhouse area, and the campground's location. That said, those trees providing shade also make backing in to sites a challenge, and they are messy. The grounds crew does a lot of raking. They spray/fog every other night, but the noseeums are still present and biting. The free secure Wi-Fi is not the fastest, but adequate for email and general surfing. There are several laundry locations, machines in good working order and for $2.25 your laundry is washed and dried. They have a designated pet bedding washer. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are lots of snowbirds here. There are only a few permanent type trailers, and most sites are nicely maintained. We will return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$53
Their Internet connection is wireless and speed runs from 125k bps to 900k bps. A normal dial up speed is 56k bps and cable is normally 5000k bps. Theirs is slow and drops out several times a day. The park is infested with no-see-ems and you end up with bites on face, arms and legs in a very short time. They are expensive when you consider you either stay inside or get bit. The customer service leaves much to be desired. They dictate the rules and appear to be trying to drive people away. Shan't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2009
$50
Stayed here the previous 7 years. The park used to be a customer oriented park with good service. In my opinion and based on observation it has gone down hill since the new owner bought it. This year is the last year for many of the long timers. It appears that there is little concern for anything but money. The internet is terrible. There are four access ports all operating on the same frequency. Lots of drops and interference which lead to slow connections. The owner seems to not want to support the marketing advertisements. Read the other recent reviews. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2009
$53
I think the employees have all sent a review for this park because the owner is wondering why they have got such negative reviews. It seems that all the reviews are 5*s . Please stop blowing smoke up our skirts.Be more attentive to the costumers and less involved with giving a false impression. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2009
$52
What a dump. I really can't say anything nice about this place. The grounds are filthy, and the place is surrounded by a swamp. (They call it a bayou; I call it a bug and mosquito infested swamp.) This was my first visit to this campground, and I was made to feel like a definite outsider by the regulars camped here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$42
We stayed at Bay Bayou, Tampa area for few months this year. "No-see-ums" were so bad you had to spend most of your time indoors or away from the park. Wear complete wash and wear. If you hang a blouse to finish drying, there is a note or staff person telling you it is not allowed. Not sure if they want repeat business or people staying one night. All the residents appear friendly, can not say that about the staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$54
Great park. Come prepared to enjoy yourself. Lots to do activity wise. Great people both clients and staff. If you don't enjoy yourself, it is your own fault. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$44
We've been a Bay Bayou for the last 6 seasons. It's true, there have been some ups and downs, but overall, we truly would not stay anywhere else. Not only are the facilities, i.e. bathrooms, showers, pool, etc. exceptionally clean, but the "PEOPLE" at the park are truly an extended family. The Owner, Office Staff, Maintenance and other personnel have never failed to address a problem we have had. True professionals! The leaves, bugs, etc. are a very small price to pay for this piece of paradise in Tampa. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Bay Bayou RV is an oasis! The Managers aim to please as many people as possible. Everyone goes the extra mile to assure everyone has a safe and enjoyable stay. The clubhouse is a "bee-hive" of activities. I've enjoyed the Line Dancing Classes, Sewing Classes, Quilting Classes, Water Aerobics, Crocheting Classes, Ladies Mystery Luncheon, Parties, Block Parties, Dances and Special Holiday events. We were also able to participate in a Trip to the Hard Rock Casino this year, which was marvelous. The park also sponsored several trips to the Tampa Bay Downs Horse Race Track along with other various activities. The entire Bay Bayou staff is exceptional. The office staff is friendly, courteous, and helpful. Sometimes they can not always give customers directions, but they all try their best to give the most accurate information. All the employees are marvelous from Maintenance, Security, the gardener, kitchen staff, and the fabulous entertainment director. Bay Bayou has a close network of friends, community activities and volunteers. The members of the park have banded together to organize and perform in the band at most of our social functions. Bay Bayou RV is like a home away from home. The amenities are too many to mention: such as very close distance to shopping, gas, groceries, movies, etc., etc., etc. We love Bay Bayou and have already made our reservation for next years' season as well as the reservations for the Carnival Cruise that is scheduled for February 2010 at an exceptional awesome price. Thank you Bay Bayou staff! Everyone has made me feel right at home and they are now all part of our extended family! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$52
This is the most beautiful and friendly park I have stayed in Florida. Wonderful restaurants and shopping very near. Any kind of entertainment within easy drive. Lot of in house activities in the winter. Clean park and friendly staff inside and outside. I stayed in this park all winter 2009. Great in-house band also. I will be returning for winter 2010 also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$52
We stayed at this park for 2 months. It was our first time to visit this camp or any other RV park in Florida. It didn't look like the pictures or video. It advertised cable TV, but it wasn't available at our site. Thank goodness,we had Direct TV. We did not have a patio or cement pad or driveway, which it advertises. When we arrived we were just told where our site was and we got lost. It's hard to turn around when you are towing and driving a 40 ft. motor home. We finally found our site. There was a dog park which we liked. The problem was every time we walked to the dog park, we were eaten up with No-see-ms. My legs,arms and head were covered with bites. The park was not well taken care of. There were some pretty trashy looking areas where permanent residents lived. The staff, except for one lady, were very rude and seemed not to care for people renting sites. After numerous conversations with others, I got the opinion that it used to be a very nice area, but has gone down hill in the last 2 years. People that have come for several years will not return next year. We are included in that group. After receiving an extremely high electric bill, we were convinced we would not return. We know we were overcharged, but did not argue. Others told us they had to argue and did get the electric cut more than one half of what it was originally. I would not give anything in this camp a good rating except the people we met who were staying there. We are senior citizens and are not easily disappointed. It is way over priced compared to other parks, and no good emenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2008
$56
We stayed here during Christmas holidays. Campground convenient to all Tampa attractions. But we came back one evening and a note on my door saying no clothes lines aloud. My clothes line is the kind that Mount's on the rear bumper we try to conserve on electric. I guess they don't care about that!!! I would under stand if we had a line going through the trees. Not very polite customer service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$48
Been here before and the grounds keeping is not what is was a couple years ago. seems like the do not know much about neatness and upkeep.from what people have said there that they have been through several changes of management. Hope the owner knows what a good management team is and knows how to keep them. We probably will be back because of family in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
Convenient to Tampa attractions, airport, shopping and restaurants, quiet and nicely treed. Nice pool and clubhouse. Excessive biting insects made enjoying outside difficult. No site trash collection, and dumpsters far removed from camp sites. Management cordial to adults but suspicious and negative about children. Questioned us about the whereabouts of our grandchildren when they were not visible (they were at Busch Gardens for the day). We understand that this is primarily an adult park and that children may not leave the camp site to ride bikes or play without the immediate presence of their adult supervision. This is strictly enforced. If there were a better choice in the area we needed we would use it while traveling with children or during insect season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$50
We stayed here last year for four months and were very satisfied. This park has many things going for it. The facilities including the clubhouse are excellent. The location is attractive, quiet and safe. Services including the Tampa airport are close. We stayed here for the entire winter season this year as do a majority of the residents. Unfortunately the park has deteriorated in too many ways. For the most part, the problems are a result of ownership or management decisions. For the second year, the WIFI service has been spotty to unavailable on some sites. The laundry room equipment was and to some extent still is sub- standard. The improvements that were made were too little and too late. Maintenance staff which consisted largely of work campers last year has been cut back. Not only are the sites receiving less attention but the park has lost some of its best customer-service people who used to be "on site" daily and in touch with the residents. While the basics have not received adequate attention, thousands of dollars have been spent on unnecessary decorative items. For many, this has been a source of anger and frustration. The bottom line is that management has lost touch with the customer and appears not to care. On a positive note, the front office staff has been excellent despite facing daily complaints that they were not in a position to resolve. A large number of loyal long-term customers will not be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2008
$37
We discovered this Campground via the internet. They need to change the name to " Bay Swamp ". Although it is very clean, there are very few people sitting outside. Why? Because in the few days we have been here we have been bitten alive. When I asked if there was a campsite away from the bugs, a staff member said that this is a "Bayou". I did not find it amusing and mentioned that mosquitoes carry disease. Her reply was " tell the State of Florida ". We tried to find another RV Park, but because of Spring Break we were unable to move. We will not come back. Simply put, they can take us off their Christmas Card List. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$38
This is the first RV park we have stayed in Florida. The park is very clean, quiet and friendly. The only issue we had was when we arrived the site we booked was not large enough for our motorhome. The staff was very helpful and professional in accommodating us. Bathrooms and laundry facilities were very clean. We would like to thank our neighbour for being such a gracious host to us and our kids. The no-see-ums are pests but they do fog them. We would definitely return to this park. Thanks for the hospitality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$42
The park was well maintained. Some sites had leaves that had not been raked and removed. There appeared to be numerous permanent motorhomes here. Apparently from other reviews there are complaints of too many large dogs being allowed, however it was not a problem from my point of view. There were a few large breed dogs but all seemed well behaved. I guess it all depends on whether you are a pet-lover or not. The buildings were kept immaculate. The laundry building I used was clean but the machines were aging. It appeared to be mostly retired people staying here. All in all it was an OK place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
This is the second year we have spent the winter months here. The location is excellent. Sites are very spacious with concrete patio and picnic table. Lots of old trees. Bathrooms are the cleanest I have ever seen. Laundry equipment is old and unreliable, but in gradual process of being replaced. Nice large clubhouse for activities, but all in one large space. I give this park a "6" rating for the following reasons: DOGS! Too many, too big, and not always picked up after! In 2+ months the leaves (from large Live Oaks) were not raked a single time. The new lady manager seems to convey the image of a den mother looking after her elderly residents and she knows what is best. If the above 3 issues were corrected this would be a very highly rated resort/park. But after 2 seasons here, we probably will winter someplace else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$52
Nice Park for Tampa area. Paved roads in most of the park except new area.Nicely landscaped with older trees. The laundry machines are older and dirty. Restrooms are extremely clean.Lots of local workers stay the season here. Newest manager lets in way too many units with 2 to 6 dogs, also too many units with 1 or 2 big type dogs, the 6 ft lease law is a joke here. Not unusual to be sitting on your patio and folks walk by and let their dogs do their business on your grass or under your rig. Would stay here again but hope the work on their issues. We stayed here a week in Feb. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$39
This was a good facility in Tampa, Florida, but it was a bit pricey compared to other parks I've stayed in. The staff was helpful, and the stream nearby was peaceful and pretty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
We spedt 6 months each winter for the past 4 years at Bay Bayou. Bay Bayou RV Resort is located near Tampa, Florida in Hillsborough County, at the top end of Tampa Bay near Oldsmar. The campground has approximately 250 sites. The west side of the camp is mostly 30 amp service and the east side is 50 amp service. All the sites are very large and most sites can accommodate any size RV, including the largest buses with 4 slides. All the sites are level and have full hookups including electric, water and sewage and telephone service from the local phone company if you choose. Most sites have a concrete pad and every site has a picnic table. We love the location of Bay Bayou, which is only 5 miles from the Tampa Bay Airport and about 10 miles from Tarpon Springs. A wonderful selection of great restaurants are nearby as well as many excellent golf courses. Tampa Bay Downs horse race track and driving range are just a mile away. Lazydays RV and Camping World is only 30 minutes east on I-4, and many wonderful beaches are 30 to 45 minutes away. Bay Bayou's new owners have made many changes that have greatly improved the campground. The new million dollar club house and pool are absolutely gorgeous. The pool is shaped like a Mickey Mouse head and one of the ears has a built-in jacuzzi too. There are two new buildings in the middle of the east and west sides that have laundry and shower facilities. The laundry and shower facilities are all new and sparkling clean. The camp has all paved roads, so there is no dust when campers come driving through. During the winter season, Bay Bayou has many covered dish dinner and other events. The owners even provide a free turkey and ham dinner for the major holidays. The people here are really great. Unlike many Florida campgrounds, this one is focused on providing services for the RVer who spends at least part of the year traveling. Nearly all the permanent park models have been removed and now traveling RVers comprise 95% or more of the people who stay here. That's really nice as there are always new people coming and going and many new friends to meet every day. If you have a satellite dish on the top of your RV and must have a clear shot of the southern sky, realize that most of Bay Bayou’s camp sites have trees. This can make getting a clear shot a challenge. If you have a movable tri-pod, you won’t have a problem. Of all the sites at Bay Bayou, the sites in the southeast corner have the fewest trees. Of all the campgrounds in the Tampa Bay area, we think Bay Bayou is the best. The "daily" rate we quoted is based on a 6 month lease. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$48
We were somewhat disappointed based on the reviews on the RV Park Reviews for this site and the CG's website. We would not call this a 5 star as Woodall's did in their 2007 review. The spaces are a little close so not much privacy. Backing in a 40' rig was tight. The location is cutoff by water from nearby establishments so it may take 25 minutes to get to a location just a few miles south of the CG. Otherwise an OK park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$40
Large park sites, clean grounds, has 5% old trailers that need to go soon. Lots of no see ums, they are spraying to try and control them. Major problem is with DOGS- people seem to use extremely long leashes on their dogs, dogs are walked under your RV- Urinate on your car wheels - even saw a park employee let her dog go on a classic car wheels several times. We love dogs but people need to see the others side- I do not appreciate the constant flow of dogs all day long being led by my site - using the restroom while we eat at our patio and the downwind smell from the light post and trees is terrible. They do have a nice dog walk area but dogs go where the owners take them. This is becoming a problem at most parks . people are inconsiderate - especially here and management is no better as they allow the long leases to continue without enforcement- One lady in the office even has her husband bring the dog in there for treats which she keeps in the office -it says no dogs in any building. If you read this and have dogs please think what it looks like from someone else's side at any park you visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$45
This location has very spacious sites with an outstanding club house. There are many activities planned and the facilities are as clean as you will find anywhere. We were very pleased with this location and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$32
An attractive park but with some negative features. The biggest downers were no cable and a limitless supply of no-see-ums. It's impossible to be outside, even in the daytime, without covering yourself with bug spray and even then, you get bitten. The permanent residents have obviously been here a while and have been allowed to bend the rules quite a bit. A number of them have made their patios into another room, complete with recliners, refrigerators, fishing gear, boots, clothing, and sometimes trash. There's no trash pickup and the dumpster is at the very front of the park so those in the back sometimes let things pile up for a while before making a run. There are also some very large dogs in the park, well over the 30 pound rule, though none are aggressive. The park does have WiFi but it was up and down every day for the whole month we spent there and doesn't reach all parts of the park. The sites at the back of the park have lovely water views but horrendous traffic noise. The bathrooms are cleaned very well in the early morning but have no bath mats so you step out of the shower onto a muddy floor for most of the day. Still, the park is beautiful, the spots range from very shady to open, the pool is fabulous and very well maintained, there are lots of planned activities if you're into that sort of thing, and both the guests and hosts are very friendly. The price is fairly high, though, for a declining, bug-ridden park with no cable TV. They are remodeling the newer part of the park in the summer of 2007 according to the staff, and adding another pool/shower/laundry, so there may be lots of construction to put up with in the coming year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
Nice Park, new pavement roads. Big Rig easy. This "Resort" is starting downward and we hope it takes aturn the other direction. Too many old rigs left year long which are lacking maintenance and take away from the parks beauty. No parking in many sites for your tow vehicles. Trees have taken over the sites . They allow too large a rig on most sites so they have to bother other sites to park and the perms have too many vehicles per site. Great park to stay just worried about its future as many parks are getting older. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$41
My family went to stay at the bay bayou for 5 days. The website was were nice but when we arrived at the campground it was not what it looked like from the website. The campsites were dirty and the concrete slabs were filthy and cracked and the picnic tables were dirty as well. They do not allow pop up campers or tents but will allow a nasty trashy camper pull in and stay. I don't understand that at all. Next to us was a nasty fifth wheel with tin foil on the windows and a nasty deck attached to it. This was called a resort, it is a retirement home for snow birds not for young people with children. It was not a friendly environment at all. Even the people who worked at the camp ground were unfriendly. You look out of the campground and there was trashy trailers on the main road nothing what the website shows. It was nasty. Our 5 days led to only 3 days. We left early because we could not stand to look at it anymore. We did not even get reimbursed for the days we did not stay. They say only 30 pound dogs and there were bigger dogs their then that, like German shepherds. We were told we could not bring our English bulldogs with us. This is not a resort for vacation people. 95% of the people at this campground live there. I do not recommend this to young families or people who like a friendly environment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$45
This is a friendly Park. Some permanent residents but they all make you feel welcome. The Staff are helpful. There is a beautiful swimming pool, very well kept as is the whole of the recreation complex. The roads within the rsort are in good condition and even though there are plenty of trees they are kept well trimmed, so no problems navigating the resort. Highly recommend and will be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$40
Stayed here for 6 months. Stay away from the spots near the front at the entrance, the traffic on the street in front of the CG is very loud and lots of sport bikes ride down there at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2005
$25
The sites are grassy with a concrete pad for the picnic table. The restrooms and laundry rooms are extremely clean. Most sites can handle a 38 ft rig. The sites are very spacious. The grounds are very well kept. They do have some full time residents. Our only complaint to this park is they do not have cable tv. We will most definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$39
Bay Bayou is a nice gated community campground on the west side of Tampa. It is located in a residential area and close to shopping centers and the beaches. The people running the campground were super, making sure everything was okay and offering assistance. Nice shaded sites with large oak trees. Majority of sites are pull throughs but there are several sites next to a large pond where big rigs can parallel park. The only draw back was there was no cable TV. Wi-Fi is available and is free to use. Nice large swimming pool and hot tub. Recreation center has nighly activities such as line dancing and movie night. Would definitely stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$34
Bay Bayou RV Resort is located in Hillsborough County, at the top end of Tampa Bay near the town of Oldsmar. The west side of the campground is mostly 30 amp service and the east side is 50 amp service. All the sites are very large and most sites can accommodate any size RV, including the largest buses with 4 slides. All the sites are level and have full hookups including electric, water and sewage and telephone service from the local phone company if you choose. Most sites have a concrete pad and every site has a picnic table. We love the location of Bay Bayou, which is only 5 miles from the Tampa Bay Airport and about 10 miles from Tarpon Springs. A wonderful selection of great restaurants are nearby as well as many excellent golf courses. Tampa Bay Downs horse race track and driving range are just a mile away. Lazydays RV and Camping World are only 30 minutes east on I-4, and many wonderful beaches are 30 to 45 minutes away. Bay Bayou's new owners have made many changes that have greatly improved the campground. The new million dollar club house and pool are absolutely gorgeous. The pool is shaped like a Mickey Mouse head and one of the ears has a built-in jacuzzi too. There are two new buildings in the middle of the east and west sides that have laundry and shower facilities. The laundry and shower facilities are all new and sparkling clean. The camp has all paved roads, so there is no dust when campers come driving through. During the winter season, Bay Bayou has many covered dish dinner and other events. The owners even provide a free turkey and ham dinner for the major holidays. The people here are really great. Unlike many Florida campgrounds, this one is focused on providing services for the RVer who spends at least part of the year traveling. Nearly all the permanent park models have been removed and now traveling RVers comprise 95% or more of the people who stay here. That's really nice as there are always new people coming and going and many new friends to meet every day. If you have a satellite dish on the top of your RV and must have a clear shot of the southern sky, realize that most of Bay Bayou's camp sites have trees. This can make getting a clear shot a challenge. If you have a movable tri-pod, you won't have a problem. Of all the sites at Bay Bayou, the sites in the southeast corner have the fewest trees. In addition to the daily rate, Bay Bayou offers discounted weekly and monthly rates. Of all the campgrounds in the Tampa Bay area, we think Bay Bayou is the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2003
$30
Although this park was physically attractive, I had a very bad experience with the managers. My dog was seriously attacked by a German Shepherd that belonged to a long term tenant, and was off leash despite the campground and county rules. At first the campground manager said they would cover the vet bills. But the dog owner lied to them and told them it was my dog's fault. (Right. A poodle attacking a Shepherd, or giving him his leg to bite.) The manager's wife got nasty with me and refused to do anything. I tried to file charges, but I was unable to stay until April. In Florida, if you cannot show up in court, the judge throws the case out. So needless to say I would NEVER set foot in this place again, and I do NOT recommend it to anyone else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Very friendly and convenient location. Large recreation center, activities planned nightly. Park is not a family park, children would be out of place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$27
What a pleasure it was to visit this beautiful park, the staff was so helpful and pleasant.I would recomend everyone who visits Tampa to stay with them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Staff very friendly. Pet friendly. Sites are decent size with grass. All are back ins. Some residents, but seem to be friendly to "outsiders". Location is hard to get to but in residental area and close to most areas. Would stay there again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com