223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Hillsborough River State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 47 user reviews. Phone: (813) 987-6771
CGID832

Hillsborough River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   8   7   8   7   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
This is a very pretty state park with an older feeling campground and some strange layouts. Many of the sites are fairly close together with little visual separation. It was not crowded during our visit, so it was not a problem, but I would not want to camp there during a busy period. We had water and 50 amp service even though most sites around us only had 30 amp. We were able to find a hole in the trees for satellite, but most sites would not work for satellite. Our Verizon phone and data worked well. There are washers and dryers. You can put together a nice bike ride by combining the Wetlands trail in the park with some trails in adjacent Dead River Park and John B. Sergeant Park. There are also a number of nice easy hiking trails. We enjoyed our visit and would visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$12
Very nice park, shaded campsites and clean restrooms. They even have a swimming pool that opens Memorial Day. Plenty of hiking and biking trails, canoe rental and a cafe store. The cafe serves breakfast reasonably priced and really good. The site rate reflects a senior discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
We stayed here while attending the RV SuperShow at the Florida State FairGrounds. Our site (#58), easily accommodated our 42- foot motorhome. There is some separation of this site and the left-side neighbor, but there is only a log separating this site and the next door site to the right. There is a somewhat sharp curve on this loop near site 49. It is a little hard to navigate if the occupant of site 50 has vehicles parked into the roadway and on the grass, as was the case when we arrived. There seemed to be absolutely no enforcement of parking rules here. Also, on the left side of the above-mentioned curve are palm trees which have sharp growth that could damage some taller RVs if the driver gets too close on that side. Most sites here are backins. Sites 51A and 106 are 30amp pull throughs; Site 51C is a 50amp pull through. Showerhouses were always clean and well stocked. The one on loop 3 is newer and had latchable shower stalls, each with a small dressing area. Shower houses also have laundry machines - $2.00 to wash and the same for the dryer. One member of the check-in staff had an overly-stern manner, but everyone else at the campground was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$24
What a nice park! We got everything we wanted there: nice hiking trails, beautiful river for canoe, quiet (except for some rigs that can't live without their AC!). Location is convenient for visiting other parks and attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$32
This is an old facility, but nicely maintained. The spaces are pretty close together, with little vegetation to shield one site from another. The roads throughout the three campground loops are narrow, but navigable. The river nearby improves the value of the park. Showers were hot, restrooms were clean. Sites are packed dirt and in wet weather turn into muddy parts. Large trees adjacent to some sites make back-in difficult. Overall a nice park, but with a few shortcomings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
We just finished an eight day stay at this park and had a great time! This State Park has the biggest pool I have ever seen in my life, and given our summers here in Florida, it was a delight! For those into hiking, there is no limit to how many miles you can put in on the various trails, with the longest being just under 12 miles on the Ft. King trail. It should be noted however, that during the rainy season, like now, portions of some trails can be flooded and you might get your feet wet. When all else fails, the loop road around the park is paved and makes an excellent walk of about two miles. Go early in the morning or late in the evening and you will see quite a few deer, and if you are quiet, a bobcat or two. There is a restaurant/snack bar located at the pool, and both are open from 9am to 5pm seven days a week. They are about a five minute walk from the campground loops should you choose not to drive. Restrooms are dated but well maintained, and the Park Rangers and Hosts are courteous and helpful. I was not in all the restrooms, but in ours in Loop 1 we did not have a separate changing area outside of the shower stall. The restrooms are cleaned frequently throughout the day. I should also note that even on the weekends the park is full but quiet and pleasant. This is one of the quietest state parks we have stayed at, and you are not sitting on top of your neighbor. Almost all the sites we saw were in full or partial shade. This was our first time staying here, and I picked site 105 as it looked to suit our needs for two vehicles and 27’ TT. I was not disappointed as the site is big. Now is when I should point out the difference between loop 1 and the other camping loops. Loop 1 is by far the wettest if there has been a lot of rain, and as luck would have it, site 105 is the worst of all. After two multi-hour downpours on back to back days, we had 6 inches of water at our camper steps, and it took two days to dry out. Actually, it took two days for the water to go down and give us somewhat firm mud. This, by the way, is not mentioned on the camp website. We didn’t let it interfere with our fun and simply used a combo of the camper steps, step stools, and the eight foot picnic table to reach firm ground. In defense of the park, they offered to let us move, but because of bookings, it would have required two moves during our stay, and I didn’t want to deal with that. The water in no way hampered the enjoyment of our stay, but for some this I am sure would not be acceptable. Campers offered to pull us out when we left since the space between the loop road and the front of the camper was ten inches deep in mud. I thanked them but assured them the Suburban would pull it out just fine, and it did. We won’t discuss the ruts we left, but the park was going to bring in a tractor and work on it. Enough of that; now I want to mention insect repellent. Bring it! If you plan on hiking the trails or a trip on the river you will have to have it. Being a Florida boy I can tell you not to be fooled if you come to the park during the dryer winter months because there will still be mosquitoes, just a few less, trust me on this one. If you like campfires, the Ranger Station sells excellent wood for seven dollars a bundle. The camp store probably has the most limited selection of items of any park I have stayed at so pack carefully and make sure you bring what you need. If not, you will have to drive a while to get to a grocery store. In addition, this is not a tourist area so the attraction is the park and river. There are not touristy things to do outside of the park. You can rent kayaks and canoes at the store but I have to say they are priced way out of line. For example; A one person kayak (which is the only yak they rent), is fifteen dollars an hour! If you have your own, bring them if possible. Canoes are a bit more reasonable, are two-person, and the better bargain. It just seemed rather odd that I could rent a two-person kayak for the day, at Sugarloaf Key in the Florida Keys, cheaper than in a Florida State Park? You can also rent bikes, surreys, and so forth. Last but not least, the pool is four dollars per person unless you are camping, and then it is included. This does not include a chair with umbrella which has to be rented. There are limited free chairs, and you can always bring your own. I was also surprised that by just raising our batwing antenna, we were able to receive a multitude of digital channels. All-in-all we had a great trip, and if nature is what you are seeking like we were, you can’t go wrong. I do suggest avoiding loop 1 if possible during the summer and 105 altogether. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
We had site #109. This was our 5th stay in this park.Do not believe RA when they say it will fit a 35 ft anything. This is a site for popups and tents and very small RV's. We had to caddy corner ourselves in this site as there were no others to move to on a holiday weekend. Site was very unlevel as well. We had a picnic table and combo grill, with water and electric. Barely any TV due to many trees. Our mi-fi didn't always work probably due to the distance away from town. Pool has been remodeled and is nice but there are only 10 chairs unless you rent one. The store has gone downhill, now only carries very basic necessities. No more griddles in the table for the make your own pancakes. No free guided canoe trip on Thursdays. But you can rent surreys and golf carts at store. They were way overpriced though. There is a Fort tour on weekends for $2 pp. And the tram comes around on Friday nights for a tour of the loop around the park. On Saturday nights they give a ranger program in park. Dump station is up a hill so be careful when using it. Made it hard to hook up car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$24
Nice place to stay for a few days of hiking, canoeing and just to relax. Some sites are not level and in the area of site 12 is a very narrow turn with a tree. The tree has the scars to prove its done battle with many a travel trailer and motorhome. We were in site 12 and because of the turn and tree, it was difficult to get the trailer into the site. The web site says its 35 foot deep: good luck getting something that long into the spot. We had a 30 foot unit and its was tons of fun to get it backed into the site. Staff was very nice and friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
This was a great park. Large swimming pool is available from 9-5 pm daily with no extra fees for campers. Camp store with snack bar and Wi-Fi access. Sites were good, some areas are difficult to maneuver around due to trees close to road. Restrooms were OK, in one section of the park the restrooms were older than in the other. Nice river for canoes or kayaks that you can rent at a fairly reasonable price. In the summertime some sites get flooded and are closed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
This park is loaded with hiking trails and is very well taken care of. When a violation was noticed and reported to the camp host, it was taken care of immediately. Awesome pool facilities with food service & store. Must watch for alligators near the river especially with pets. Very quiet and relaxing park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
This is a great park like so many Florida state parks. Wonderful in the winter to camp. Lots of hiking trails along the river. The river is a good place to canoe . You can rent canoes, bikes and golf carts at the park store. Most all the sites are shaded and can be difficult to get satellite but I managed. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$27
Very welcoming staff on check in as was before on our first visit. Park was very full during the week due to the RV Supershow going on in Tampa, so need to make reservations very early to stay at this time. The weekends are always full to the max. Wi-Fi now available at the cafe that has been re-done. Though I do miss the old camp store/cafe with the eclectic gift store and grill tables. It is now more like a big empty room with tables and chairs and no character. All you can eat fish and chips on Friday at $8.50 a person includes fruit cocktail, and sodas. Though the fish was just "square fishsticks" and nothing special, was still nice to just walk to lunch that day. Pool was once again closed (as usual) but we don't use anyway. Wish this park would follow the example of many others, and put crushed lime stone in the sites. They are all dirt surfaces and can get very muddy and messy when it rains. Beware of some sites that flood. Lots of shade trees here, which is nice in summer time, and the river is great for canoeing. One really bad thing about this larger state park is the one single dump station, which is needed by all due to no sewer hookups. On Friday morning there were a bunch of angry campers lined up all down the road to use it. On Saturday when we left, there was no line: since the dump station was overflowing with sewage and could not be used. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
Lot's to do here. Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, tour of the fort. The camp store serves up some good meals if you don't want to cook. The pool is under repair and closed, but that isn't for us, so no problem. Supposed to reopen late July. Most all sites are shaded or partially. Ours was level. Plenty of space between sites, shrubs on most for some privacy. Facilities were clean, but Loop 2 area's can use updating. Staff is friendly, park is clean. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Nice campground. Just wish the pool would have been open. Website said they were hoping to have it open for Memorial Day. When we arrived, ranger said it would be July 1st. Nice shaded campsites. We stayed in 27. It backed up to a trail so when we were sitting outside there was lots of traffic (bikes and walking) right in back of our rig. We took one of the bike trails on the map and accidentally found a road which lead to a county park (Dead River Park) and also another county trail called the "Old Fort King Trail". That trail was very well marked and led back to SR 301 just south of the campgrounds entrance. We did the Fort tour that the Ranger led on Saturday at 2:00. It was informative but lasted almost 2 hours and it was extremely hot. We left a suggestion that during the summer months they may want to do it earlier in the AM. Nice concession area with pizza, salad bar and other sandwiches. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
The Hillsborough River SP campground is one of our new favorites. The sites here were spacious, clean, well-maintained and there was plenty of privacy space in between each site. Unfortunately, the mosquitoes were swarming when we were there in April, and the huge clouds of mosquitoes were rather intimidating so we chickened out of kayaking on the river. We went through a couple of cans of repellent and we burned a campfire every night (the park rangers sell some excellent firewood) so we still managed to have a great time. We don’t care for the lack of sewer at Florida State parks, but bathrooms at HRSP are well-placed and close by. There is no private dressing area in the showers, but the bathrooms are clean. The pool was being renovated when we were there, but it promises to be another great attraction of the park once it’s finished. There’s a small restaurant at the pool, but the food was nothing special. The nature trails are just beautiful, but we had to speed through them due the mosquitoes. But we’ll definitely return later in the year once the mosquitoes settle down. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
This campground exceeded my expectations. While I do prefer state and national campgrounds, this one was exceptional. The campground was clean, sites were fairly private and spacious, and peaceful. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
Found nothing wrong with this campground. This is an excellent place to camp, very shaded, clean and overall great camping. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$11
This is a very nice park about 15 miles NE of I-4 & I-75 in the Tampa area. There are a lot of activities available. The very huge swimming pool closes about Oct 15th and re-opens about May 01. All types of camping are supported with many big rig sites having 50AMP and water. The sites are partially or mostly shaded and are wide enough to support slide-outs and awnings. This is one of Florida's first parks and is of historical significance because of the Seminole Indian Wars of the mid 1800's. There are 3 camping areas, all well cared for. The roads are paved. The sites are level and of crushed stone and hard packed sand. Sr. Fl. residents pay 50% of fees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$13
The rate is $24/night less 50% for Florida Senior Residents, plus tax. Great park, personnel, facilities and activities. Don't miss the 1.5 hour tour of the re-constructed Fort Foster. I pushed a standard wheelchair about 300 yards through the woods, but could have driven up to the back of the fort and had a shorter walk. Watch out, there be Seminoles in those woods! We stayed at Site 19 which was one of 16 in a loop around an open recreation area area with showers and restrooms. We value privacy, shade and space in that order. Based on that, here are our site evaluations. In the loop, Sites 17, 19, 25, 26, 27 were very good. We felt Site 28 was the absolute best with 17 close behind. There is a path between 17 and 18 to the main road where it is about a 300 yard walk to the cafe, camp store, and a 1/2 acre swimming pool with three lifeguards. Sites 29 to 36 are near a canoe launch. We would take just about any site in the Rivers Edge Campground (1 to 78) preferring the sites noted above and sites 50, 52, 56, 68, 69. We did not look at the sites in Hammock Circle-82 to 114. Television reception was great with just an antenna. There are plenty of trails, picnic areas along the river, rapids, the pool, fishing, canoeing and kayaking. This is one top 3 of the 20 odd Florida parks at which we have stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
This is a great value for what you pay for. The park rangers are top notch, friendly, helpful, and willing to stop by to talk. Met some wonderful fellow campers on our walks. Even though it was a weekend, it was very quiet at night. Rangers patrol constantly, and even saw officers coming through on regular basis. Felt very safe. The newer bath house was large, clean, with plenty of room for your articles. Real doors, lots of shower hooks, plenty of hot water. Gets very busy on the weekends with only the one newer bath house in the middle, and a much smaller and dated one on the opposite side of Rivers Edge. Hammock circle had only one bath house, which had to have been even busier. Sites are not very private, and could use some landscaping in between them. Would recommend sites in the Rivers Edge campground, as the Hammock circle sites are much smaller. When we walked through that campground loop, every site in that section was filled. They were packed in like sardines, by early Friday afternoon. Our loop in Rivers Edge had only 8 sites empty that night. Sites are dirt and "natural", but wonderful paved roads kept the dust down. Choose your site carefully, as some looked liked they flooded when it rains. Had a great time canoeing on the Hillsborough river. It is truly beautiful. Pool was closed and is open only from Memorial Day through Labor Day, but one ranger mentioned they were trying to get it open all year round with hoping to add new solar panels. It was very hot when we were here, and I am sure there were people that would have loved to use it, as we would have like to. Cute cafe, and gift shop. Lots of great hiking trails, but our "Florida state bird", the mosquito will eat you alive as soon as you step into the woods. Huge playgrounds and picnic areas were very popular with the day use crowds on the weekend. With 114 sites filled and only one dump station available, we were up early on Sunday for our exit to use that facility, and were the only ones there with no waiting. Would not want to see that place by check out time. We will happily return again, but not on a weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
We kust spent the weekend here, our first time at this Campground. It was neat and clean, and everyone was friendly. Sites were not very private, close together but some were better than others and most definitely a family oriented environment. There are bood activities, bike and hiking trails. (Warning to those hiking - use bug spray, there were lots of mosquitoes and bugs in the woods, not bad at the sites.) The pool was not open and would have been nice since it was soooo hot. My husband used the bath house and said it smelled and was not as clean as some of the other State Parks. We would go back again and take grand kids when the pool is open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
Most of the sites are close together, the site beside us had a camp fire and the smoke filled our HM. Our site was flooded with water when we had 3" of rain in 24 hours. With the rains the water level in the river was higher than the past few years. It was great for the canoe. Lots of wildlife in and along the river. The road in the park has been upgraded with a bike lane, great for us with bikes. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$19
This is one of Florida's first State Parks. We have camped here before but over 20 years ago. This park has been improved since then but still retains its rustic beauty. Sites are grassy/dirt but fairly large. Pine, oak and palm trees surround sites. Good access to the very beautiful Hillsborough river and launch facilities are available for canoes and kayaks. Enjoy this natural beauty!! Our site, #3 did have 50 amp service, but maps and internet specified 30amp so info hasn't been updated. Enjoy the trip to the old fort, or just bike or walk around the many miles of trails/roads within the park. Since we were here off season, the swimming pool was out of service. We will definitely come back to enjoy 'the REAL Florida!" We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$24
I hesitate to rave about this park because it's so hard to get a reservation in-season, but in a word, it is terrific. The rangers are very friendly and helpful. There is currently a problem with the swimming pool but, other than that, the facilities are excellent. And you can even make yourself a pancake breakfast at a table in the canteen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
OK lets start with the good, the park is beautiful. The evenings were quiet even tho there were some young people camping near by. We were in site 34. The sites were close togther, the back of our trailer was no more than 4 or 5 feet from the people behind us. The are doing a lot of road work and as mentioned the pool is out of service and has been so for months with a broken pump. Government repair time of course a private owner would have had it fixed in a few days. The number of restrooms was very inadequate, there were only two on our side of the campground. One is old and has essentially non-working showers (little water flow) and the other new one was a long hike away. The river is seemly contaminated with E-Coli and there is no swimming but there are no warning signs posted. I almost never give less than excellent reviews to Florida State parks, but this one needs some work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Excellent camp ground. Beautiful nature, river and lots of things to do. Nice general store. The pool was closed and roads were under construction as the prior post states. The camp sites in the loop we stayed were wonderful. Our site was a pull through site which was huge and shaded. It was close to the bathrooms and play ground for the kids. I do agree that they need more then one dump station. We waited 30 min prior to our departure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
What a great campground! Beautiful scenery, large, well shaded campsites and lots to do. There are several hiking trails, which can also be biking trails as we proved. While we were there they were repaving the campground roads and the pool was closed, so we didn't really get the full experience. One complaint we have is that there is only 1 dump station for a park this large and we waited in line for nearly an hour on Sunday morning to use it. Otherwise this park is great, probably the nicest state park we've stayed at. They have canoe and bike rentals and a large general store with a cafe which is very convenient. We really enjoyed ourselves here and look forward to returning once all the road work is done and the pool is open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
What a beautiful park! The natural woodlands and early morning campfire smell reminded me of my younger days in the Boy Scouts. Don't expect anything fancy - just basic sites (some paved, some not) in a pine forest next to a small, lazy river that is shaded by old moss-covered Live Oak trees. Canoeing on the river is a must - bring your own or rent from the park. Now the bad news - this park should not advertise that it can accommodate Big Rigs. I almost made the mistake of taking my 45' Class A into this park. I think I could have gotten into only 1 of the sites and would have then been forced to back out 50 yds to the main road. Luckily, I drove over in my Jeep first to check it out while parked at Lazy Days. I recommend this park, but only if you have a class C or smaller RV. The day I was there, most people camping were in tents. "We did not stay in this park". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
If you like "Old Florida" camping and a fun alternative to resort camping, you will really enjoy this park. It's like going back in time to the 60s', no internet, etc. There is canoe rental, wonderful nature trails with no bugs and a very good chance of getting a picture of an alligator. They are there if you watch for them. Only bugs were found by some fisherman that received some no-see-um bites while fishing near dusk. A fantastic swimming pool that is still down because of broken pump unfortunately. Staff is very friendly and park is exceptionally clean, there is a cafe and gift shop on site, but you are 7 to 10 miles from most services, so need to have groceries on hand. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
The Rangers and hosts are very friendly and always willing to help with advice. The sites are hit-and-miss on being clean. Some are quick to flood when it rains. Due to the lower rates you get a lot of a different type of crowd. It's not Disney, but it's nice. There is swimming, hiking, biking, kayaking, canoeing, and a restaurant/gift shop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
This a beautiful state park. The sites are shaded by tall pines. The bathrooms are older but very clean. There was a boil order on, so we chose not to hook up to the park's water, but other people did. Also, they were doing a prescribed burn, so some areas of the park were smoky. And the pool, which looked very nice, was closed. Recreational activities include hiking, nature trails (saw armadillos, deer, water birds), biking (close to a bike trail), and canoeing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
We spent our Christmas in this beautiful park. The leaves had shed and made a wonderful carpet in our campsite. We enjoyed riding our bicycles on the paved roadways and walking to the banks of the pretty Hillsborough River was a pleasure. The pool wasn't open, but is huge and the small store/cafe nearby were well-stocked. We enjoyed the quiet environment and would return again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
This State Park is very nice. The campground is very wooded. The camp sites are a combo of sand and dirt. It rained while we were there, and some sites got flooded. I felt sorry for the tent campers, they got washed out. They have very nice hicking trails. We saw gators and snakes. They have a large swimming pool there with the center of the pool being about 5 feet deep. Nice, peaceful and quiet park. We will go there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Great camp ground, Very large flat sites. Great staff, more then willing to help and answer question. Very clean showers and rest rooms. Plenty of things to do, make sure you do the Fort Foster Fort tour. Large pool get crowded during holiday and weekends. During the week there is no crowd. Will go back very soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
We camped here for just three nights with our three young children. There is a huge, shallow pool that is a short bike ride away from the campground. It does gets very busy on the weekend with people visiting the park for the day. However, it is so large and was well monitored by staff to ensure it was not over crowded. There is also an eat-in snack bar and gift shop which has many camping staples if you forgot anything. Our campground was very large and private. We enjoyed use of the fire pit with our nightly campfires. It was a short walk or bike ride to the canoe launch. I highly recommend bringing a canoe or kayak, or renting one to explore the Hillsborough River. There is so much incredible vegetation and wildlife along the banks of the river. We would definitely visit this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$12
We really love this park. The towering live oaks and palmetto make you feel that you have gone back in time to old Florida! Floating down the river in a kayak or canoe is one of the most peaceful experiences you can find a few minutes away from Tampa and Orlando. The campsites vary a lot in size and accessibility - so read the driveway length notations carefully. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Excellent State Park. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great pool. Many walking trails along river. Sites are varied in size and will handle most any size rig. We love this park and have stayed here several times. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
A wonderful state park with large, spacious sites. There are many trails to explore nature, a very large swimming pool and gift shop. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
We went camping here for Thanksgiving. The site was very spacious and very woodsy and shaded. A very beautiful camping area, with lots to do. Hiking, bike riding, canoeing and swimming pool (only 3 feet deep). We camped with a group of friends and there was a volleyball court that was a blast to play. There are two camping areas, right by each other. The one we stayed in, the bathroom/shower building needs to be bulldozed and whole building rebuilt. I used the bathroom/shower in the other camping area. That bathroom/shower building was nice. I can't wait to camp again at this place. I was very impressed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Had site #107 a PT. Sites are dirt with a lot of leaves covering the ground. Campground was installing new water spigots during our stay so some sites were torn up. Men's bathhouses in loop A were ripped up as well, women's was OK. Each site has water and fire ring/grill, with a picnic table. Loop A has a slide and 1 swing in center of loop. Last time we were in site #76 across from a brand new bathhouse. The power was intermittent and there were only 20 people camping in the park the week we were there. Hopefully that problem has been corrected by now. Nice trails to bike or walk. Large pool that is finally finished (it took about 8 months to fix) pool water is very cold (think spring water). Park now allows animals in all loops. There are fort tours and a free canoe trip with a ranger. Restaurant with pancake grills and ice cream. LazyDays RV store and camping World close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
Nice state park with a variety of sites. Some were very small and unlevel and others were large enough for a 40 footer. Huge swimming pool and wonderful trails in the park. Most of the sites are sand and could cause problems for some vehicles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$28
Nice park, sites were not that close together. We stayed a site 19, a little close to the restrooms and entry road. We will try to get 23-26 next time we stay. Overall a nice state park. Was not crowded at the time we stayed. Will call this one a "keeper" and log it in the file. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$21
We have stayed here a number of times and would highly recommend this park. It has big, beautiful, shady sites and staff is friendly. There is a big pool to swim in, canoing, and hiking trails. There is a tour of Ft. Foster across the street. The only downside is the pool has an additional fee per day to swim. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$22
Park is very close to Tampa and very busy just about all year. I would suggest trying to get reservations. We lucked out for one site for one night. The sites are quite tight close together. There were tons of kids on bike, skateboards, etc and going and coming in the restrooms area. We later found that it was 'vacation week'. The laundry facility was very clean and reasonably priced. Restrooms were older but clean. This is fine for a night or two, but too busy for us. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$19
We loved this park. It has a HUGE pool, canoe rental, bike rental. Mountain bike trails, several, and hiking trails, several! We did NOT canoe from this CG although you can. We launched elsewhere and the scenery is just beautiful. It has 2 separate areas, one for pets and one for no pets. We will definitely go back again. Clean bathhouses, nice camp hosts, fire rings and we had a great shaded site. There is a rec room also. We will definitely go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
A really beautiful state park with lots of shade trees. The river is really exceptional and canoes are available to rent as are bicycles. There are hiking trails, Fort Foster, fishing, and a huge pool. Fire rings at every site. Some of the sites are a little tight because of the amount of trees, but don't let that stop you. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$15
For a Florida state park, it is pretty nice. Any shortcomings are redeemed by the fact that it features some of the only river rapids in Florida, though they're very short and full of alligators. The old suspension bridge was a hit with the kids. Campground was a little rugged but reasonable for a slightly roughing-it choice. The pet loop was prettier than the main loop, plus not on the river banks (i.e. alligator banks). Many families and seniors, so don't be scared of it. Great playground equipment throughout park and the pool is as nice as you'll find at a resort hotel. Location is nice about 20 minutes from Busch Gardens. Don't expect class-A service from park personnel. Main park amenities are a bit far from the camping area for walking and biking is restricted, so you almost have to drive around inside the park. Also, be prepare for the "real Florida" outdoors experience -- no manicured lawns or sprinklers here. I can only give it a 7 as compared to fancy private campgrounds, but it deserves a higher rating if compared to other state parks that I've seen in Florida. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com