224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Kissimmee Prairie Preserve State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (863) 462-5360
CGID8323

Kissimmee Prairie Preserve State Park

Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   6   6   8   10   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$12
There is only one pull through and it was used primarily by tent and trailer campers during our 4-day stay. Super clean restroom/bath house. Don't understand logic of only 30amp in main CG which has the only bathhouse. This section is the "big rig side". The equestrian side has mainly tents and smaller class b/c and trailers. Found this state park nice, restful, and beautiful. Trails were great for walking not biking. Road in/outside was horrible on suspension and very dirty/dusty. However, we love the tranquility and solitude of this park. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$16
Wonderfully relaxing place to spend a few days. Camp Hosts were friendly and very helpful. Make swamp buggy tours reservations before you arrive; they get booked up very fast. Star gazing at night is incredible; no city lights to interfere. Wild life (birds, turkeys, etc.) all around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$8
This is our fourth time in this park. We love the prairie and the solitude. We always stay in the equestrian sites. Make sure to do all your shopping before you arrive. The closest grocery store is a long way away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$9
This park is in the middle of a large prairie in the middle of no place FL. As you come into the park off blacktop, road is 5 miles long on a shell road with lots of dust to drive 10 MPH or less on to keep down the dust. Park has lots of nice trees to park under. You have two loops, one has 30 amps and water and other is the horse loop with 50 amps and water. Shower and bathhouse on the 30 amp loop only. It is a long 3/4 mile walk if you need to go from the 50 amp loop. Sites were level, had a table, fire ring, and trees were cut back so no problem to get in or out of site. Dump station was in correct place. Park has deer, wild turkeys, birds of all types and all walk around day and night. You will see gators as well in this park. Pack up everything you may need as Okeechobee is 41 miles south and the only place to buy anything or eat out. Verizon cell and air card did work but were weak. Rates were for FL senior citizen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$17
We arrived here on a Friday at approximately 11:45 and our site was not available yet. Unbeknown to us, check out is 1:00 and check in is not until 3:00. The previous campers did not leave until 1:00 on the nose. Now this would not be so bad if there was something to do. We sat in the rockers on the porch of the office and waited. Our site was 22 which is located on the equestrian camping area. The site is grassy and large but very little shade. In the summer time this could be an issue. There are sites with full shade but would not hold a large RV on the equestrian area. The biggest issue with the sites on the equestrian circle (sites 21-36) is the composite toilet only. There is one (1) unisex toilet only - no running water (no sink to wash your hands) and no shower. They claim it does not smell but I beg to differ. The family circle (sites 1-20) does have a bath house which appears to be recently built. We did not go into it to inspect. The family circle has more shaded camp sites but sites that would hold a big rig do not have shade. The nearest dumpster for trash (located at the dump station) from our site (22) was a good 3/4 mile walk. They offer no playgrounds for children. As noted by others who left reviews, the park is not near any stores. So make sure you have everything you need to camp. This parks boast about its hiking trails. There are miles and miles and miles of them. Most of the trails are in the open with only a couple locations that offer shade in the hammocks. The trails I walked are in soft sugar sand which makes walking difficult and strenuous at times. Since it is a prairie, the breeze did offer some comfort from the sun. I honestly would not recommend hiking these trails to any of my friends. They do offer a weekend motorized buggy ride at the park, and this is one reason for the soft sugar sand on the trails. As a Florida resident with only a 2 hour drive, I doubt we will return to this park. We love Florida State Parks, but this one has been a real disappointment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$17
We camped in site #24 in the newly renovated equestrian sites that have 50A/water. Site came with combo fire ring/grill and picnic table. Site was crushed limestone/shell. Plenty of room for larger RV's in horse sites. Lots of shade in site. Campground is in the middle of Florida, nowhere near anything. We only received 1 TV channel well w/o SAT. Very little phone reception. Many great hiking trails for horses, bikes or people. We saw deer, burrowing owls, crested caracaras, vultures, and other birds. Beautiful sunsets and clear stargazing. Burn ban in effect while we were here so no campfire, but park does sell firewood. Very nice bath house with washer and dryer. No playground or interpretive exhibits but ranger did come by site personally with a gator skull and fossils. Buggy ride was down during our stay. We would go back for the relaxation since it was quiet and peaceful during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
This is our third year here! It's heavenly. It's quiet, remote and wonderful. We are staying in an equestrian site. They are more open and removed from the main campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
Located off the beaten path, great place to relax and refresh. We stayed here for a week. This is a beautiful prairie. The birding is excellent. It was alligator breeding season and the gators made loud gronking noises in a marshy area along one of the trails. Alligators were not present in the campground area, though I would recommend that you be prepared anywhere in this park for wildlife. We saw quite a few deer. On the weekend, the park was full with quite a few children, with cookouts and partying, so if you're looking for quiet, visit during the week. We enjoyed it and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
A great little campground! We had our horses this time and the paddocks were right across from our site. However, the water had been removed and we had to haul water from the site. Minor inconvenience. It is really beautiful here and looks like what Florida must have looked like 1,000 years ago. There were different prairie grasses, saw palmetto, palm hammocks, numerous deer, turkey, bear, gators, birds, racoons and boar. And you're so far from anything that you'll be amazed at how dark the night sky will become. A local astronomy club showed up over a weekend with their telescopes and let us have a look! Very interesting. This cg is a relatively undiscovered gem, especially for Florida. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$16
KPPSP is a remote place, so bring what you need because the nearest decent grocery or big box store is a 45 minute ride. There is a small country store not far from the entrance but good for only the basics. The entrance to the park can fool you as looking like the office. It's not. Get on the long white road and keep on going for awhile! The seclusion of the park is its main attraction with the journey there finding you kicking up dust on long unpaved roads (good foundation though) and being drawn to the yawning expanse of Florida style prairie. This park is also perfect for star gazers and amateur astronomers as there is little nearby homes or development. There are two camping areas. The family area is first encountered and this is a well used, tight camp loop with 16 RV sites. The sites from 1-14 are mostly shaded under live oak hammock. The best sites are 18 and 20 which offer direct views over the prairie which is quite beautiful in the dawn light. The next camp area is rarely used and a little overgrown with weeds as it centers around a horse corral. KPPSP is widely known for its miles of trails for both biking and hiking and for bird watching. This is a remote place where you have a complete sense of isolation when out on the trails. Otherwise there is not much to do for kids. There is no playground and only a small ranger station/office near the family campground. If you do bring kids, its a good place for them to bike as it's easy to keep an eye on them in the small camping loop. Like all Florida parks, beware the bugs as the rains begin after there winter dry spell. There is a slough right behind the camping loop which is mosquito heaven. The bathrooms are new and fairly well kept with a washer and dryer. Otherwise, this SP is a unusual outpost of nothingness. It's wandering expanse givens one time to amble slowly on trails and have a sense of ownership of the space around you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$12
If you are looking for a purely natural area in which to hike or ride your horse, this would be it. There are no stores there or nearby, so be prepared with food and necessities. The campground does not appear to attract a lot of local day visitors, and there are only 20 full service spaces, so quiet predominates. The 20-site loop has a nice restroom/shower facility; showers are hot, and the big double booths have locking outer doors and inner curtains. Other than the twice-daily swamp buggy tour, you will be entertaining yourself. If you are a bird watcher or photographer, this is heaven. While the roads are not paved, they are hard-packed enough to provide plenty of bicycling opportunities, and there are miles of trails to accommodate off-road bicycles. There are also miles of hiking roads (sand) and trails, but beware: the map provided by the park does not correspond with markings on the trails. We took a wrong turn onto a wide road/trail which we later realized did not even show on the map, and added miles to our hike. There are no short hiking loops; if you want a short hike (read: less than 4 miles), you will need to walk up a trail, turn around and go back. In addition to the 20-space loop, there is an equestrian area with 15 loops having neither power nor water, and one outhouse. Adjacent to this loop is a nice multi-corral area for horses. There were none while we were there, but the loop did have a number of campers. Spaces there are very roomy, with woods behind them. Spaces in the full service area are also nice, mostly shaded. Ours wasn't very shady, but it was on the edge of the place, and we had an unobstructed view of the prairie, looking east. At night we heard a family of coyotes howling at the moon. All in all, a wonderful place to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
This is a wonderful park in the middle of nowhere. Very quiet, lots of wildlife, and dark skies. Only 20 sites have W/E, the other 15 are equestrian sites with paddocks but no W/E. The sites are level and roomy in a grove of live oak in the middle of 50,000 acres of Florida Prairie. Make sure you come equipped with plenty of groceries and stuff because you are about 30 miles from the nearest grocery store. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com