206628 User submitted reviews online!!
W.P.Franklin North COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (239) 694-8770
CGID834

W.P.Franklin North COE

Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   10   10   10   10   5   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$12
Another fine COE site. Beautiful grounds and right on the canal. Gravel patio and concrete driveway. Only one washer/dryer and that wasn't handy. A lot a channels on the antenna and clear view for satelite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
WP Franklin Locks was a phenomenal campground. There are only 30 spots and, at first glance, they look a bit close together. However, most of the sights offer pretty good space and they are easy to get in and out of. There is water/electric at each site with a convenient central dump station. The camp hosts were incredibly nice and they had all kinds of suggestions for us rookie campers. Plenty of parking and easy in and out if you have visitors in the area that want to come by for a BBQ or something. Very clean restrooms and a spotless laundry facility as well that takes credit cards. All sites have water views. We were in site #10 which was right on the point and looking out at the Caloosahatchee River. Phenomenal. Each campsite has a fire ring, charcoal grill, and little covered picnic table enclosure. Wonderful campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$24
This is a very nice, very clean campground - concrete parking pads and gravel area with covered picnic table. Almost all the campsites are waterfront, except for a couple of non reservable sites. There are trees but many are not larger enough to shade campsites. More shade in the older section to the east of the entry. Bathhouses were spotless - there are 2, one is smaller and older. There is a boat ramp and fishing pier - some locals do come in to fish. During the winter season, this campground fills with many snowbird retirees, who stay 2 weeks, then move to Ortona Locks. I recommend reservations during this season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
Park has nice level, paved sites. Can watch boats go through the lock at the adjacent Okeechobee waterway. Most sites are waterfront. Rate reflects Golden Passport 50% discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
Fantastic park for the money. Was $24.00 night, but if you have a "Golden pass" for the over 65 generation, you have a deal at half that. We have 3 years to go yet to get that deal. No WiFi or cable TV, but we had great reception on our digital antennae with all major networks. Dump station was convenient, and with the small size of the park, was never backed up to use. Concrete paved parking spot with stone/gravel "patio" which was a nice convenience. Great little covered picnic table at each site. Every site is waterfront, with the exception of the 4 "pull through" sites in the middle, though they could still see the water. The best sites are on the South side, and the very best (most coveted) site is #10. We have already re-booked in this site for September. We had site #14, which was still really great, with a huge "patio" area. Took a tour of the area and crossed over to view the locks on the other side. Really nice Lock Masters, who all had a lot to offer with information. Took a great canoe trip down Telegraph creek, which is a true south Florida back swamp treat, complete with lots of alligators, birds, and a Llama farm! Saw many eagles at the camp site also. One thing that bothered me, was a camper that was too lazy to walk the 200 feet to the dumpster, and over stuffed the small inside bathroom tissue receptacle with 2 large bags of household garbage. I am glad that all of my fellow RVreview members would not be so inconsiderate to do such a thing. Garage dumpsters are there for our convenience. One of my favorite traditions is called the morning "dumpster tour", of which was to complete a morning walking tour, while feeding the dumpster and the recycle bins at each park we stay at, with morning coffee in hand after breakfast. Try it, you will like it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$12
Army Corp of Engineer Park that is an island in the middle of the Caloosahatchee River near Ft. Myers. FL. Stayed here for 14 nights and loved... it. Although no recreation director etc. like the private FL parks, we enjoyed the spacious sites - all but 3 are waterfront. Very scenic, clean, well kept. Now I can understand why it is so difficult to get a reservation at Corp parks. Great bicycle riding thru residential areas that have a ranch atmosphere with horses, etc. Restaurants, Wynn-Dixie grocery store within 15 min. Tried Maine's Best Seafood Restaurant - very good. A great park!!! with scenic views of the locks and yachts coming and going up and down the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
This is a beautiful location for a campground, surrounded by water no matter what site you are in. The sites are not too close together and they are level. The campground is very well maintained and the staff rotates; ours was very friendly and helpful, especially when we had to extend our stay because of a tornado warning on our route north. The only negative is the lack of sewer hook ups which is not a factor to us on a short stay. If being on a river surrounded by many species of water fowl including eagles is something you enjoy, this campground is worth the trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
The sites are very clean and level. The park is designed for two activities. You can either read or fish. There is nothing else out here. You are far from anything else, so bring all that you may need! I must add that the check-in staff was less than pleasant. Don't ask any questions or for any brochures. Just park your rig and stay out of their way. It was clear they couldn't care less about helping you. My reason for the five is the lack of activities and the staff's attitude. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$12
This park is near Ft. Meyers, which is part of the Lake Okeechobee and the Okeechobee Waterway – first western lock. $12 with golden age pass. There are 30 sites with water and electricity and 8 boat sites. This campground is about ten miles off Interstate 75 and located on the Caloosahatchee River. It has exotic vegetation and tropical atmosphere. Every site but the two middle ones are on the water - either the salt water side or the fresh water side. Nice breeze even though today was over 90. All sites have a cement slab with covered picnic table, water and electricity, and fire pit. The lock is there but boats coming through the lock take place up river. There is a recreational section that is across the river but the drive around is about 8 miles but there is swimming at the recreational section. The campground has a dump station, hot showers, public phones, a fishing pier and picnic tables around the park for campers only off their sites. This is a very peaceful campground with very nice hosts. Our site was on the point between the split of the river – very nice. At night there was a full moon and with the lights from the lock and boat docks it was beautiful. It was so nice to sit outside late at night and just watch the moon’s reflection off the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
Campground is in Alva, not in Tice. All sites have 20/30/50 and water. All sites are paved and all but the 3 PT's are on the water. All have stand up grills and fire rings as well as covered picnic tables. Each campsite has gravel throughout, so no dust or leaves. 2 bathhouses, updated and very nice. 2 picnic shelters 1 at each end for campers use. They both have fire rings, large grills, water and electricity as well as at least 2-4 tables in them. No shade in park, most trees are very young.There is a boat ramp in park and 8 boat sites to camp in. We had site #11 a PT. We could see clearly the South park on the opposite side of the river. Park had picnic area and beach, boat ramps and playground and boat locks. It is 12 miles to get there from North campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$8
This is a Army Corp of Engineers park outside Fort Myers (part of Tice) Florida. Park is on a small island in the Caloosahtchee River and part of a lock and dam system. Price is $16.00 per night, or half if you have a Golden Age card. Lot of people come here to fish and use power boats. Sites are very nice and clean. No noise here. We plan to return soon. Park has two pull-through sites and rest are back in. Sunsets on river are great to view. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com