224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Zooland Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 77 user reviews. Phone: (336) 381-3422
CGID8340

Zooland Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
148
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   8   9   4   7   8   6   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Park not well cared for. Litter all around. Large ruts in roads. NO level sites. Unless it's an emergency we will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Office staff was friendly and helpful, and check-in was easy. The site was big enough, but was very unlevel. Wi-Fi was completely unusable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Nice park with shaded gravel sites. Many sites available but we were assigned one just in from a road, but not too much night traffic. Staff was friendly and grounds were well groomed. We stayed a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
Great place. Lots of families. Very full when we were there making it quite festive, happy! Nice bathrooms/showers, lots of supplies in the store (though they were out of fat wood and fire starter). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
If you're planning on visiting this CG before June 2014, you'll have a 10 mile detour that you must follow. When making our reservations, they failed to mention this. Luckily, we followed the signs and made it there. After arriving and setting up, maybe we weren't so lucky after all. We had two adjacent sites. One was muddy to the point of the leveling jacks sinking into the ground. It was also 4 feet away from the trailer next to them. I asked the lady in the office why we were placed in such poor sites when there were dozens of nicer sites. She said the sites we were on were usually fine. Usually? If making reservations, try asking which site you will be on and see what they say. I moved to a site for better satellite reception because they don't have cable and March Madness was on. It was very un-level. The sites are narrow and our neighbor's sewer drain was 6 feet away from our trailer. Luckily, that site remained unoccupied. Wi-Fi is so weak that I had to use my cell phone as a hot spot. I spoke with other campers who also mentioned that nothing was said to them about the detour. This could be a nice CG if they leveled the sites, spaced them out more, and taught their employees something about customer service. We won't bother staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
I've camped here on two previous occasions and this was the worst visit for me. As others have mentioned, the place is a mudpit whenever it rains. There is standing water all over the water/electric sites. The bathrooms were very dirty and the one by the store was closed. With an 85% full park, that's not good. The Wi-Fi was useless and there was no a/c in any of the buildings. Guess I've always stayed when it was cooler. On the positive side, they did have a DJ and fireworks, staff was friendly, and the store was well stocked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
There are many sites, but ours was muddy. Very easy access and friendly staff. It is convenient to Asheboro and the Zoo. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Our main complaint about this campground is that the sites are pretty unlevel. When we checked in, we were told what site they wanted us on. After about 20 minutes of trying to move the motorhome to get a good level reading, we went back to the office and requested another site. The site we requested was one we had driven around and spotted; one that looked more level. Since this was during the week and they had allot of vacant sites, they said we could move. The office personnel were very accommodating. This site also was quite un-level. (We are not new to this setting up business, by the way.) Otherwise, the campground has several good things - a pond, a river , trails, a little golf course, playground, and a very nice green space for walking. There is allot of road noise if you are in the sites with 50 amps. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Nice little park and very clean. Many good points but several bad. Wi-Fi is a joke with the response to fixing it, "It's always like that." Four washers and four dryers. Two washers work. One dryer works. It sits right up against a country road with very loud traffic to the point where at night you have to have all windows closed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
Rate quoted is Coast to Coast and we stayed 4 nights. Campground has lots of amenities for adults and children. Check with office for road detour information. Campground roads need some repairs. Many uneven sites, and not much gravel on some. Office personnel are very friendly and try to be helpful. Decent store in office. Quiet surroundings, especially with the road detour. The Wi-Fi worked great for me most of the time, but not so good for my husband (we were near the lodge). Very nice lodge with small and large room for activities and a huge deck. Would give this a 10 with good roads and level sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
This is our first trip to Zooland but definitely will not be our last. A great campground. Owners are making an effort to keep it clean, neat, and friendly. During our check-in I changed my site to a full hook up site. Water/Elec sites were too wet for our taste, they were very accommodating. The extras are too numerous to mention. Close to Zoo and Asheboro. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
We returned to Zooland Family Campground for our annual Halloween Camping Trip. The Campground was completely full, so we camped in the tenting area (with water and electricity). The campground activities for the weekend were enjoyable: pumpkin carving, costume contest, trailer trick-or-treating, haunted hayride, and a dance. The hayride did leave something to be desires and the DJ needed more diversity in the music. The new owners have really made some improvements over the past year. The bathrooms were redone and very clean (we marked down our rating because the women's shower did not have hot water). The putt-putt was nicely refurbished, as were the playground and jump pillow. The kids truly enjoyed the activities and play time. Again, I highly recommend Zooland for people looking for a weekend get away, a visit to the NC Zoo, or for a Holiday Activity weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
The manager of this park is super helpful and very pleasant. The campground has many things for the kids to do. There is a fishing pond, jumping pillow, playground, basketball court, pool and a nice sized game room. It rained almost the entire time we were there so our children only got to use the basketball court for a short time and they also went to the game room. They said it was better than any of the other campgrounds we had gone to. We stayed in a full hook up site and weren't able to get Wi-Fi but we were able to pick up about 16 television stations with our antenna. The roads are gravel so my kids were also able to ride their bicycles during times of no rain. Overall my family loved the campground despite the rain and we will be returning soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
The back-in sides are grassy and shaded most of the time. The pull-through sites in the middle are back-to-back with the camper on the other side. They're 50 amp and they cost more, so I decided on the back-ins. The sites on the lower level are bigger then the sites with the full hookups. They have two dump stations and close to both loops so dumping my tote was a breeze. The only two things I didn't like about this site was that it was very unlevel so bring your leveling blocks (all of the them) and the trees are awesome but block my satellite feed. They don't have cable! The pool is nice but a bit on small side. The jumping pillow is great and my kids even got me on there. They have mini golf and movies on Thursday and Saturday night. I'll come back and stay here but next time I'm going to choose one of the lower level sites near the other end so I can get a clear view of the southern sky. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We were very pleased with Zooland. We stayed in the lower sites (back-in sites) which were more spacious than the pull-through section in the upper level. The restrooms and showers were clean. Pool was clean as well and the playgrounds for the kids were thoroughly enjoyed. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We love going to this campground. Every time we come they have great activities. The owner has done a lot of work on this place over the past year, and boy, has it helped. The only issue I have had is that the full hook-up sites are not as level as I would have liked. Other than that we have a winner. We have camped here for Halloween, Summer, and weekend trips. Nice shaded areas, and friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
As others said: lots of improvements, putt putt was especially nice. They are still doing a few updates and the new sewage treatment plant has eliminated the smelly septic system. Will return soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
First time staying here and was pleasantly surprised. Restrooms updated, office staff very helpful and the lower "meadow" sites, even though there was no sewer hookups, were very nice. Upper sites with sewer are closer together but nice. New owners are striving to make this a great location and it shows. Only suggestion would be to make sites a little more level. Will be returning soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$27
The new owners have made several improvements since last summer. The bathhouses have been renovated with all new everything. The putt putt course has been rebuilt, nothing special, but it is new. The pool appears to be in a state of repair and they are re-doing the jumping pillow. The FHU sites are nothing to write home about. Not very level as they're on a hillside and weren't graded and they're gravel and dirt. The sites by the creek are W/E only, but by far the nicest. Very grassy and roomy and in some shade. I believe they've replaced their electrical and pump station. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$31
Nice campground. Wi-Fi spotty. Restrooms/laundry just redone. VERY NICE. Staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
We stayed here so that we could visit the NC zoo and also to see some fall colors in the Piedmont. It is a beautiful area, and the zoo was awesome. Overall, I would give this park a high 7 as it is currently, but it is very apparent the new owners are making rapid and extensive improvements since they took over in June. I could foresee a grade of 9 in the not too distant future. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campground was clean and very pretty, with some great hiking trails along the river. There is a nice catch and release pond as well. The bathhouses are a bit messy right now, but that is due to the ongoing renovations. The only issues I had with the park are minor and more due to the "geography" of the park, and are out of the control of the owners, who obviously care about providing a nice camping experience. First, there is a fair amount of road noise if you are in the full hook up section rows near the edge. Also, I felt a bit like I was at Myrtle Beach, as our awning almost extended into our neighbor's site. Not all of the pull through sites are this narrow, but many seemed to be. As the park was not full, I thought management could have spread folks out more. Also, the sites are not very long. With my 38' rig, it was almost jutting out the back of the site, and I could barely parallel park my truck in front without being in the road. Last, there is a decent slope in the full hook up area, so bring your leveling blocks. Otherwise, nice park, lots of activities (putt putt, bocce ball, pool, volleyball, and more), and great staff. I would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
We came for the Halloween weekend with two other families and had a wet, but enjoyable weekend. We camped in the upper loop by the fishing pond and enjoyed a beautiful view from our site. The activities were family-oriented and we all had a great time. We do try other campgrounds, but keep coming back to Zooland because it is so nice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
We tent camped here during Columbus day weekend for 3 days and had a blast! The jumping pillow was huge and fun. They were in the middle of a lot of renovations like a new bathhouse and mini golf. The grounds were well kept and bathrooms were very clean. Some of the sites were not level which made it challenging, but all the sites are big and roomy. As they have only taken over since June, I expect this place to be awesome the next time we come in the spring. The employees there are very nice. My trailer stand broke as we were hooking up to leave and I asked a man mowing the lawn if he could loan me a tool to raise the stand. He gladly walked all the way back to the maintenance building and got a wrench and helped me hook up the trailer. He had a lot to do, but took time to help us out. I will definitely come back and tell others about this place. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$44
We thought this park was difficult to find but when we did find it, it was excellent. We arrived after business hours but, because we had reservations, the manager had left us some information and our site number. Although we stayed only 16 hours (it was just a stopover), the park was extremely clean and neat. There were a couple of large playgrounds for kids. The rest room and shower we used was dated but quite clean. Apparently, we missed a brand new rest room and shower. Wi-Fi was perfect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Very disappointed that there's no cable. That's half the reason we stopped here during MLB playoff season. Also, no RV washing as they're on a well. Other than that, it's a nice area with good level sites. Slightly narrow sites but not too narrow. Wi-Fi is good (we're on site 14, close to the "Lodge") We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$23
Excellent large park. Plenty of grass, trees and water. Fire rings, very pet friendly. Wonderfully friendly staff. Wood for sale. Store has most everything you need. Laundry facilities. Very quiet and peaceful. Close to NC Zoo which is a must see. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
Rate reflects C2C discount. The park has some improvements and they are doing more. Managers were nice and helpful. Former members here so very familiar with campground. Improvements on roads would help but it is hilly so that is an ongoing problem. Our site was pretty level requiring only one board. We will be back for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
After coming home from work on a beautiful Friday, the kids asked to go camping. We packed our tents and headed for Zooland. The lower loop was closed for winter, but we were permitted to tent there since we did not need water or electric. The campground was quiet and all facilities were open except the pool. We enjoyed the jump pillow and walking around the creek area and hiking trails. A wonderful one night get away! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
We came here for a 3 day weekend. Nice park, nothing' fancy but the rural setting and feel is great. Manager is very nice and makes sure everyone is happy. Nice pond to fish although nothing was biting or I'm just a lousy fisherman. Some buildings could use some updating but other than that a nice, quiet weekend. We would return to stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
The weekend we stayed, it snowed and dropped to 29 degrees. The office was closed when we arrived, but the manager was still there waiting for us. Very friendly. The site we got was fairly level and was wide enough without encroaching on our neighbors. Water pressure was good, they were equipped for cold weather. It was too cold to enjoy the amenities offered by the campground. i.e. fishing pond, game room, and store. The place was clean and well maintained. This is a great campground to visit the area attractions such as the NC Zoo and pottery studios in nearby Seagrove. We will be returning in the Spring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
Really a great little park. First the cons: hard to really find something bad to say, but the bathrooms and showers are in the middle of being renovated and look a little rough, but clean none the less. The lower loop is almost all grass sites and the one we were on was on a hill forcing us to park sideways. The pros: Great folks on the staff. There is a couple from CO running the park for the bank. Very accommodating folks. Good Wi-Fi reception from where we were. Very little road noise even though it's next to a road. They still serve the free Saturday morning breakfast: pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, coffee and juice. The price was with no discounts. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
This park is a Diamond in the rough.It's currently in foreclosure after what looks like some mismanagement. At one time someone put a lot of thought and money in this campground. The people running it right now are great and even serve a wonderful free breakfast on Saturdays. Showers/bathrooms are being updated and are clean and large with a decent laundry. It is well laid out with modern utilities and many fairly level sites and some that would take some work to get level. Would be worth the effort in my book. Park Wi-Fi was fast most of the time and Verizon Air Card was not Broadband but decent. Cell phone service is weak though. We have AT&T AND T-Mobile and had to go out to the entrance road to get a signal. We spent 5 days here and if we didn't have reservations down the road We would stay longer.I hope someone polishes this Diamond and brings out the potential this park has.We would come back again and again. The above rate was Passport America for the 5 days they allow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
This place was a most welcome surprise. Well kept, well run park. Large sites. Has "Upper" and "Lower" sections. Upper has mostly 50A FHU; Lower has 30A/W, but no S. Great walking paths through the woods. Go visit and help a good campground stay in business We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
The previous reviewer was spot on. Nice park with great potential and a bargain at the rate. The park is divided into two areas. The upper area is next to the road along side the park (a bit of traffic noise but, not bad). These sites have E (ours has 50A)/W/S. The "river" sites are indeed by the river. The river is small and currently not flowing. These sites have E (not certain on A)/W but no S. The park has better than average WiFi and a reasonable chance of catching a satellite. The two bathroom buildings are clean but, old but, plans to upgrade. Staff is excellent! We are very happy with the value for our money here. For certain, a hidden gem. Come. Spend some time. Help a good park survive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
We selected this place after a bad experience with another local Campground. We found this place to be very nice, with friendly staff. It is a nice setting, well spaced lots, and many activities. Our site required very minimal leveling, just rolled the left tire on 2x6. We were treated to a free breakfast by the Park on Saturday, WOW! This is a great place for families, or anyone for that matter. We would recommend this place to everyone! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
From what I was hearing, this campground is in receivership. The staff are setting up for the new owners, which would be GREAT. Plans are for removal of many of the trees and stumps that dot the campground. Level the sites and add gravel. Update the pool and the bath houses. My site was ok, not exactly level, but livable. Sewer was further from the hook ups but just required an additional length. Planned activities were numerous: fishing, horse shoes, karioke, breakfast and games for the kids. Well thought out! The Zoo is several miles away, but location makes it easily accessable in 15 minutes. This is one that wants to make you return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
What a wonderful campground! We visited for our daughter’s 6th birthday and were greeted with a sign by the entrance wishing her a great birthday. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The restrooms, showers, pool, and campsites were clean and well maintained. The activities for children are what attracted us and did not disappoint. The mini-golf was rustic, but fun. The kids enjoyed the playground and jump pillow. The pools were small, but there were two of them. There were hiking trails by the river that were also well maintained. While these facts alone warranted a 10 rating, it was the little details that made this a wonderful campground. A camper breakfast on Saturday, the reasonable prices in the camp store, hand dipped ice cream, friendly staff and campers, and the attention to detail. We will be going back, if up to our children, it would be this coming weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Wonderful park and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful view of a pond across the street from our campsite and a shady lot. There are a lot of things to do for both adults and kids. Also the NC Zoo is nearby. We will definitely return here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience. The new owners are amazing. I haven't stayed at this campground before these new owners, so I can't say what it was like before, but I can tell you that these people made my family feel at home. Everything was clean, operational, and efficient. When we arrived I wanted a site that would be Wi-Fi accessible and they gladly changed my site # to accommodate me. Thanks so much for a fantastic trip!!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
It's been two years since we camped here, but am glad we gave the new owners a chance. We opted to stay in the water and electric sites which are located in the grassy area of the campground. The new owners were very friendly and offered a "campers appreciation" breakfast on Saturday morning. Our kids enjoyed the pool and the jumping pillow along with walks to the on site pond. We were surprised that we received the wireless internet at our site considering how far away we were from the office. The NC Zoo is also only 10 minutes from this campground which was our primary reason for visiting. We plan on visiting again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
I stayed at this campground Memorial day weekend with my family and it was great!!! The new owners were on site. I met them at the pancake breakfast: they had really nice people. I had heard from other reviews that there were old, long-term people here that didn't like kids. They must be gone because the campground was full of kids having a great time swimming, bike riding, fishing, and jumping on the big jumpy pillow. This place is one of the best campgrounds I ever stayed at. I recommend camping here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Nice park and pool. Good family activities. Sites VERY close together. Store closes early. Buy everything you need before you come. Very remote, no stores close by. [This park closed earlier this year and reopened as Zooland Family Campground on May 28, 2010.] We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2010
$1
The day we visited, this park was officially closed due to foreclosure. The receiver for the federal court was on site, and as far as we know at this point, this campground is closed. Before including this campground in your plans, make sure you call and verify the status. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Our family has camped here many times and enjoyed everyone, but on this occasion the staff MEMBER seemed to be tired and ready for the summer to end. She was grouchy in the store and the volunteers seemed to "own" the park. All in all this is a great place to bring the kids, but I think this time the timing was off or something because the morale of the staff and host of volunteers seemed to be down. We left midweek before our vacation was finished so we could enjoy a better atmosphere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$13
We came to this campground because it is a Coast to Coast park. Check in was OK although the lady wasn't friendly and didn't go out of her way to help us. The site was OK, we had one of the better sites. We chose a site on a row that is reserved for camping three days or less. Many of the interior roads were pretty badly washed out. These sites were fairly level and had grass, although one site was standing in water after it rained. The majority of the full hook sites are rocky and very unlevel. Many sites seem to be permanent sites. The pond is catch and release only, which is OK. We paid for an extra night so we could enjoy the pool on Sunday afternoon. The pool was locked and had a closed sign. Would love to have known this in advance. The office is also closed on Sunday. The sites without sewer are in a valley that has lots of grass. These sites are level and very large. It had several campers there. I was not very impressed with the bathrooms. I took my grandson while we were packing up. It wasn't pleasant - bugs everywhere and no air except for a box fan. Luckily we don't use the campground bathrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This campground has VERY friendly staff! We were going to stay a week, but extended it to 2+ weeks so far. The pool is medium and not heated but otherwise it is clean and refreshing. Good fishing in the pond. Lots of activities on the weekend especially for kiddies, 2 and 4 legged. Sites are a little tight where the full hookups are, but manageable. The sites are pretty level, and drainage is good, with good interior roads. Dinners on Fri., and breakfast on Sat., and ice-cream socials Sat. afternoons are well worth the donations. Everyone is very friendly here. We do not have Coast to Coast membership, but if we would buy one we would make this our home park! VERY NICE PARK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
We camped here Father's day weekend with some friends of ours. We have stayed here a few times before because we bought a package at the Camping show and received 20 nights for $20. The campground itself is OK. The full hookup sites need a lot of leveling but its been this way every time we have been there and we go anyways, just have a lot of levelers. The pond is good for fishing, the pool is clean but small. Our main gripe here is the woman working in the store. We could not connect to the WI-FI, nor could anyone else we spoke to and she told us it was our computer, as well as everyone else's. She said hers worked just fine. Then we went to get some ice cream and she said they had not ordered any for the year. It's the middle of JUNE, when do you think you should order ice cream? We had a golf cart with us and when we arrived at 6:00 pm the store was closed. The store woman stopped us while riding around wanting to know if we had proof of insurance and why we didn't have a sticker for the cart. We told her if the store had been open, she would have all this information. This lady is extremely rude, the WI-FI is terrible, too many permanent people, and NO WAY I would buy into this campground. We will go back to use some more of the 20 nights but after that, unless they replace the store employee, we would not go back. There are many other places to choose from in this area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This is a solid campground and the current owners seem to be making a lot of improvements and upgrades. We camped here during Memorial Day weekend and there were quite a few activities planned for Saturday. One nice amenity is a cook-out on Friday night so that those just arriving don't have to prepare a meal. There is a small fee for this (I think $4 for adults?) On Saturday, they also offered a hot breakfast buffet with a wide variety of fresh fruit, pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, cereal, yogurt and more -- $4 for adults and $2 for kids. The bathrooms were clean, but a little rustic. Not bad overall -- most people camp in motorhomes and 5th wheels/travel trailers, so we rarely saw anyone in the bathouses even though the park was at capacity. The pool was nice but small. There was a jumping pillow that the kids (including our daughter) seemed to enjoy. DJ dance party on the huge deck on Saturday night that was also a lot of fun. We stayed in the section with partial hook-ups and it was more spacious than the full hook-up section. We took a sales tour of the campground and were encouraged to join. The cost was around $1750 for the first year with $300 maintanance fees every year thereafter. This is a bit steep considering the location and what they have to offer, but $35/night is very reasonable. We might visit again in the future after more improvements are made. This campground has a lot of potential and a very friendly, helpful staff. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$10
There are lots of family activities, a Saturday breakfast and a lodge. Some sites need leveling and the lower area of park does not have sewer. Free Wifi if site is close enough to antennas, more range needed, but free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$10
Sites were very small. You can choose your own site, but we didn't know the park. Many sites are very unlevel. The nicest sites didn't have sewer. They had lots of activities going on. The pool was nice and not crowded. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Brought the family to this area to visit the NC Zoo. This is a very nice park with decent pull through sites. Many things to entertain the kids. Jumping pillow a top hit. Cookout and breakfast were good and cost a minimum. Quite and relaxing with a family friendly attitude. Staff were very helpful and friendly. One of the nicest stores I have seen on a cg of this size. Cable would have been nice but worth doing without for this stay. We plan to be back for their Christmas festivities! I would camp here again,any time! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
The web site is very misleading. Lots are very unlevel and there are large tree stumps and rocks on the full-hook-up sites. Some of the staff lack a lot to be desired while a few of them are very friendly & polite. We had made reservations for 3 sites for 6 days and were told that we could not get a refund for any reason. Should have known then not to book with them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
We arrived to the campground for a week stay and was disappointed from the beginning. The sites that were assigned to us were horrible. They weren't close to being level. It took a car ramp to park my travel trailer on to even come close to leveling it. It took my brother-in-law 4 packages of leveling blocks to almost level his trailer. The lot that was assigned to my father-in-law had a recently cut stump on it. Some of the staff members were constantly rude and even refused to speak when spoken to. The putt-putt course is not as is appears on the website. It appears that it was built where a parking lot had previously been. My kids told me that another child had found a live frog in the swimming pool. I will never spend any more of my money at this campground; definitely a learning experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
I purchased this campground membership less than 6 months ago from a prior member. In the contract that the new owners signed, it states that there will be no maintenance fee. I just got a bill from the campground for $150.00 for maintenance fees. I would like to know of anyone else that has this kind of contract, for a class action suit. The letter threatens to pull our membership in coast to coast if we do not pay it. This is totally against the contract. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
This was our 3rd time staying at this campground. Improvements are continuous, the most recent being freshly graveled roads. We are looking forward to future stays! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Camping experience there was good - not great. Sites are not level, Wi-Fi is very weak. No cable. Direct TV reception is good, Dish Network is tough to lock in. Sat AM breakfast was excellent. Friendly members and staff. For $30 a night, it is a good deal. We were initially given a free night for taking the sales tour (one hour). However, we joined under promise in contract with new owners that we'd have no maintenance fees for life. Just got a bill for $150 in fees. They changed the rules. This is not a bad place to stay, but be very careful joining. They'll tell you about a water park coming, and several other campgrounds that you will eventually have access to. Turns out they've been saying that for quite a while. Only count on what you see. Expect a contract concern in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
I'm not sure that the person who reviewed in April was at the same park as we were. We had a nice pull through will new gravel roads to the site (#4). Site was fairly level and drained well as it was raining when we came in and rained all afternoon and evening. Lots of things for kids to do. We will definitely return when we are in the area. Not the road from 220/I-74/73 could use a lot of work, but that has nothing to do with the park. Cell phone is a little weak, but we did get broadband service with the air card. Friendly people at check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
We stayed here this past weekend. Great breakfast for a reasonable donation. There was entertainment, a DJ played oldies music. Beautiful park with nice staff and very helpful camp hosts. Will stay again when we have a chance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
This is about the worst RV Park we've stayed in during the past five years. The roads are extremely rutty and rough, the sites are unlevel and dirt. The place is a virtual swamp when it rains, and is dusty as all get out when it is dry;. On most sites, you could put all the rock they've put down in a child's beach pail. They call themselves a "resort" and that's like calling a Days Inn a five star hotel. They require you to pay for your full stay in advance when you make a reservation, and advise you that there are no refunds for any reason. When you get here and see the park, you understand why. Although the place does have decent Wi-Fi, only one word can appropriately describe this park: Dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
This used to be Zooland RV Resort. We really enjoyed this campground. There is a lot to do, and there will be more once the renovations are complete. There is some washing out of the roads, but overall they are OK. Very family friendly, with lots for the kids to do. The store and all the buildings were equipped well and well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
Gravel road & sites, nearly level, friendly staff, many improvements & expansion underway (additional sites, ball field, outdoor theater), very close to NC Zoo and Seagrove Potters; good value for above average campground. We'll camp here again soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This campground is growing in size. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
A very nice park, with updates on-going. A little crowded, but could get rig in w/o too much trouble, few truly level sites as all full h/u on bare ground (no gravel much less say pavement). At very edge of cell phone range and no wifi at each site (yet ?). Loved the Sat. morn breakfast, weather chased me away from the bonfire. Would return anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
This campground has the potential to be; not just nice, but a wonderful place to camp. The North Carolina Zoo is only about 10 minutes away. The resort has been there a long time and is a membership resort that will accept non members as long as they have sites available. The resort is being updated and additions made. We heard they are adding over 30 new full hookup sites. The bath houses were clean but no soap or papertowels were supplied for handwashing and my wife said the ladies room lack tissue paper in several stalls. The reason for our overall rating was the unpaved roads inside the campground. The dust was really bad and made the time there uncomfortable. We felt that they were making amenity additions in the wrong order and paving the streets should be first on the list. Most everything at the sites was dirt. very few sites in the full hookup area had much in the way of grass. The water and electric sites were the nicest and much larger than the full hookups. We would stay here again but would hope the roads were paved. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
We stayed here for a quick one night stay on the way to Virginia with our old travel trailer going to pickup a fifth wheel. There was no one in the office when we arrived but we found someone who helped us get a site. We picked a site that was fairly level. The bathrooms were old concrete blocks but clean. This campground appears to be a really big resort area for the summer with a huge area off to the left when you enter. I don't think our camper would fit down there, and it may be more for small units or tents. No complaints from me. That night the temperature dropped down to 27 degrees and I had disconnected the water hose but forgot to drain the water out. TIP: drain it out...we had to put our hose in the camper to defrost before we could use it in the morning.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
Staff was very friendly and helpful, but the sites were extremely close together in the section where we camped, which is the area with sewer hookups. Incidentally, the price is the same whether you get full hookups or just water and power. There is no cable. The full hookup area was pretty dry and dusty with absolutely no grass. The water-electric area was extremely grassy and the sites appeared farther apart. The campground is a private resort that takes non-members. We considered it an average campground that was over-priced by about $5 per night. It is very convenient to the N.C. Zoo. While responsible drinking is allowed at your site, we discovered that the county in which the campground and zoo are located is totally "dry." You have to bring your own or drive to another county to purchase libations, if you're interested in that type of thing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
We stayed at this park for the location and because we had purchased a "coupon" at the Greensboro RV Show. The restrooms were dated but always clean. Additional sites were being added but all of the work was done during reasonable hours and did not effect us. We have been traveling for almost a year now and this is the friendliest park we have visited. The people there treat you like family and you'll hate to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$8
Park was in good condition and they are continuing to upgrade. Baths and showers were very clean, pool was nice. The people running it were very friendly and helpful. It is a membership campground but takes others also. Less than 10 minutes fro N.C. Zoo and about same to K&W. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
This is a very nice campground. At the time we camped here, the owner had just purchased the property and was in the midst of improving it. We went during the Halloween festivities -- trick or treating was a blast. The regulars really went all out decorating the campers and adults and children alike were dressed in costumes. There was a costume contest and decorating contest. The atmosphere is very friendly. We had a very nice time here! We look forward to going back again when we visit the Asheboro Zoo. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
Arrived after heavy rain. There were puddles and mud. The showers, toilets and sinks looked like they had not been cleaned for a long time. We were disappointed to say the least! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$28
We had a very nice time camping for the weekend at Zooland. The staff was great and the breakfast each morning in the lodge was fantastic. My son loved the game room, putt putt, hiking along the stream and biking. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2004
$28
This park is so much better than it was 2 years ago. The new owners are really working on improving it. The pools are very nice and clean, and so were the rest rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The had activities the whole time we were there, which included playing with waterguns, ice cream social, free game room, big bonfire for everyone. We really enjoyed it. It is very much a family campground now. They will eventually be a membership only campground, after all of the construction is finished. It is also just minutes from the zoo, which was great too! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
What an improvement!! We stayed here several years ago and it was ok. But we stayed here again Labor Day weekend 2004 and WOW!! The new owners have made tremendous strides in improving this campground. The roads are in good shape, the store and office are in great shape and the planned activities for families were lots of fun. They are moving to a membership type campground but it is worth it if you camp alot. Would recommend campground to anyone, and will be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$22
This park was great for the family! Everyone in the office was great. The campground is older, but they are doing a great job fixing it up. They remodeled one bath house and it is clean and quite modern. They have a kiddie pool as well as a regular pool, game room, mini-golf, play ground, basketball, etc. In July they will have activities directors to keep the kids occupied. Something will be going on every Thurs-Sun. It was a great time for the entire family but will be even better once they have planned activites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Even though Zooland is only 3 miles off the highway there are excellent signs to guide you. We arrived after dark and the owners had waited for us. Because of the dark they took us by golf cart to try and survey the terrain (before maneuvering our motorhome over unfamiliar ground) then offered to help guide us into the site. They even checked the voltage on the electric before we plugged in!! What a wonderful welcome! You can see the effort being put into clean up. The bath/shower/laundry are very clean - new shower curtains and benches in each shower area. The park was almost full with two rallys being held in the park this same weekend. The office/store is clean and they serve good ice cream (try the bunny tracks flavor). Sites by the small river are for now really only for tents but are being cleaned up from where they had been allowed to get overgrown. Fringe areas around the grounds had also been allowed to get overgrown and unuseable by the prior owners. You can see by the large pile of tree stumps and brush how much effort the new owners have already put into clean up and renovation. Sites have tall pine trees around them; some are in the open. Sites are not paved and somtimes a bit uneven so be sure to let them know the size of your unit. All site are either full hookup or electric & water. Pools - one for adults and a small kids pool - do not open until Memorial weekend but each area was clean and tidy. The pools were being given a fresh coat of paint. Part of what looked like the old tennis court has been transformed into a pleasant playground and basketball court. There is also a nice horseshoe area, a community firepit and an enclosed shelter/rally hall is available. Putt putt golf is simple and clean but in need of a little decorating and pizzazz. Even with the park being fairly full there were no problems with noise, children or pets. Many times the owners came around checking and stopped to have a friendly word with campers. The only reason we didn't give this park higher marks is because of the still on-going brush clean out and renovations...but, you can really see how these owners take pride in running a wonderful campground - given time it will only get better and the ratings higher. We will most definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Under new ownership with very nice owners. They have lots of plans for this older CG over the winter months. The bath houses were clean but very old, they plan on gutting them this winter and starting over. They have made many changes in the office/store and you can see the effort/money being put in. The sites are a bit tight but not too bad. The pool was small but nice and it was clean. For what is there now it is over priced but we did like it better than the other CG's in the area that we drove thru. If you are going to the NC Zoo. This is a good spot to spend a night or two. They also have free putt putt that was just rebuilt. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
An older campground, but very nice. Large pull through sites under tall pines. No paved sites. Very quiet. Many tent sites available also. Restroom / Bath house could use some remoldling, but were reasonably clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com