223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Otter Springs Park and Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (352) 463-0800
CGID8354

Otter Springs Park and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   9   5   9   9   4   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$21
If you want quiet and solitude, this is the place to be. We just planned to stopover for the night, but plan to stay at least one more day, maybe more. In Feb, this seems to be a very under utilized place. Very nice inside screened pool, 2 washers, 2 dryers at bathhouse next to pool. There may be others. $21.75 with Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$21
County park has a great staff. Clean & uncrowded. No screening between sites, so if the park were full neighbors would be uncomfortably close. Great biking trails. One mile hike to the Suwannee, or paddle down the Otter Spring run. Price reflects buy 6 nights get 1 free; next time I will join Escapees for 50% discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
We've been visiting this park for the last 3-4 years, because you can get into it, unlike our state park. The park is rural, and off the beaten path but, we like that! They have been steadily improving it. The road is now paved, and now they even take credit cards. This is real camping in rustic Florida. And yes, there are bugs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$16
Great campground! The only negative I have is the fact that roads are not paved so campground was very dusty while we were there. Nice indoor pool, great hiking trails that are well-maintained leading to the Suwannee River. Springs are pretty with lots of birds including Pileated Woodpeckers. We will definitely include this park in our list of favorites and will camp here again. Rate reflects a Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$21
This is a campground within a county park, and we used it as a base camp for four days. We arrived when the narrow entrance road was being repaved. Extreme care had to be used in order to negotiate a motorhome around construction equipment. Once we took a look at the place we would have turned around and left had it not been for the repaving project. We were trapped, so we decided to stay. The majority of the loose, sandy, grassy sites are very tight. They are tight because of a back-in and pull-in arrangement with a side by side utility pedestal. We think the place would feel very crowded if just half full. The unmaintained very narrow access roads are packed sand and are dusty when dry. The sites are beneath the canopy of tall trees with a few openings. So there is plenty of shade. We had a site allowing us to get satellite TV, and Verizon 3G reception was very good. Otter Springs is a short walk away, and we found it not to be good for swimming. There is a large screened heated pool within the campground. It is an excellent facility for swimming. The recreation building is run down and non-functional for any practical purpose. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
We signed up for a month. After being here for just a week, we have extended and will be staying for 3 months. We are very impressed by the cleanliness of the park, the bath houses, the pool house, etc. The recreation building is stocked with books/magazines, exercise equipment, etc. The park is an easy 2 mile ride to the Florida Nature Coast Bicycle Trail. There are numerous hiking trails down to the Suwanee River which are well maintained and proved to be great for birding. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
We just returned from a five day/four night stay. This is a county, Gilchrist park. It appeared the main road leading into the park has recently been paved. Upon check in, the staff was friendly and offered information on upcoming events in the park. The park is very well maintained. Many of the sites are pull in. There was still plenty of room to unhook and move around. There are trees everywhere, but had we had no problem negotiating with our 36' travel trailer. The heated pool was a big hit with our kids. We are already making plans to return. Note, if you use GPS to get to the park, it will more than likely lead down a bumpy dirt road. There are some low hanging branches which can be navigated. It is best to stay on CR 232 until you get to the sign marking the park entrance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
The term "resort" seems to be an overstatement. There is rarely anyone at the office (though a phone number is posted). I wasn't the only one puzzled upon arrival. I finally found a maintenance man on a golf cart to help me. While he was driving me back to my car after finding a site, we encountered four large RVs that had evidently just arrived. The driver of the front one asked him, "Where am I going?" and the maintenance man said, "Well, where are you headed?" and the RV driver, clearly put out, said "I don't know! There's nobody at the office!" No way to know what sites are available. The maintenance man took me to my car, parked outside the empty office, went in and got campground maps for everyone, and went back to help the RVers. FYI, just pick a spot: if it's empty, it's yours. There is a pool, but the door is locked (at least in March, though it was 75 degrees out), with a sign on it saying that if you want to swim, find an employee to unlock the door and uncover the pool. Many of the sites were visibly unlevel. Campground residents were oddly unfriendly (with the exception of the maintenance man and a volunteer employee). There is no check-out time on their rule sheet. I asked the volunteer about that and he asked me when I wanted to leave? He indicated that as long as it was before dark, it was fine. The dirt section of road that you must traverse is hard packed sand: after 12 hours of rain, it stayed firm and flat. The problem is the short distance of pavement between the dirt road and the "resort." The best way to avoid potholes so deep you could fish in them is to drive with one side's tires on the grass next to the road: you'll have to switch sides halfway there, but it will be mostly smooth for you. The spring was flooded so I can't rate this place for scenery. I imagine it is very nice. I was in site 101, which was level and would have had a nice view of the spring, being on the outside loop. Given all the great campgrounds in the vicinity (Manatee Springs SP, for example), I will not return to this one again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$26
Excellent value in a very scenic, peaceful spot. Nothing is paved, so we had anxious moments pulling in along sandy roads. We also studied the sites carefully to choose a spot large enough for us. There are a few sites that will accommodate big rigs, but the lovely trees make access a challenge. Recently acquired by the county, we felt they did a good job of operating the facility. The large indoor pool was exceptional and the spring is lush and a treat to see. The bath house was old, but clean. Laundry facilities were housed under a covered porch and were very old as well. We would stay again, after checking on number of sites available for big rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Very nice. Nice pool and park. Lots of snow birds, but we can see why, it is very peaceful. Recently, Otter Springs Park & Campground (formerly Otter Springs RV Resort) has been purchased by the Swannee River Water Management District. They are in the process of changing and making it better from what the full-timers told us. Overall a great place to stay for adults or families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Very nice will be back. (800) 883-9107 We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
This campground was at one time a wonderful place I am sure. It is a little on the down side now. We were there in the absolute slow season for sure. Mainly long term campers. Staff was very nice, Wonderful indoor pool and nice lodge for events. The actual springs nice, but we didn’t swim as there were a lot of town kids there. There is a mile unpaved road leading to the park. We didn’t have any trouble on the road though. No cell service, no Wi-Fi, Overpriced for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
Ideal spot for nature lovers! This is a remote get-away location. There are spacious woodsy sites, with paths for walking or biking. Fabulous indoor heated pool. Laundry facilities are minimal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Nice quiet place to hear nature, lots of birds and squirrels. Some seasonals, beautiful pool in screened room. Two springs in park. Access to Suwannee River down a nice country walk. Huge recreation building for reunions with wrap around porch.Great for families to get together. In the country down a mile long dirt road, but once you get there youll love it. Nice people run the campground. Nine miles to a WalMart, McDonalds, KFC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com