206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Manatee Hammock Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 56 user reviews. Phone: (321) 264-5083
CGID836

Manatee Hammock Campground

Camp Information
Sites
177
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   9   8   9   8   3   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
An earlier reviewer commented on two types of sites at this park. We apparently got one in the "low-rent" side of the park as nothing near us is paved. The sites and the roadway are dirt and crushed shells, littered with live oak leaves; shoes must come off before entering the motorhome. The area is nicely shaded and so stays cool during the day. We are next to U.S. Route 1, and road noise at our site is evident even in a closed up unit. The park would be a lot nicer if the staff would just clean up the junk on sites. Out our window, we see abandoned sewer hose supports, an old washer tub, small chunks of concrete, etc. This county park allows for multi-month stays, so its safe to say that many of those here are seasonal folks. The campground is close to the Kennedy Space Center, the Warbirds Museum, Canaveral National Seashore, and the Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge, so there is something for everyone. The time to be here would be for a rocket launch as the campground is just across the bay from the space center. Traffic is simply nuts here, and it seems worse than in other Florida urban areas. If we were in the area again, I think we'd look elsewhere to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$21
This is our third winter at Manatee Hammock and it is a great place. $21 a night is based on the monthly rate for a premiere pull-thru site. Because it is a county run park, they do not plan activities. The pier has great fishing and you can see manatee and dolphins. It is also a great place to view space launches. We were lucky to see 3 night ones this trip. It is close to shopping and less than an hour if you are interested in going to Orlando. Sites are large and have shade from palms and oak trees. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$17
Enjoyed our stay; went out on the pier and tried our hand fishing; the view is one on the best you will find. Site a little hard to get into because of the trees but plenty of room to the next site. We will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
Rate reflects PA rate. Full hook-ups (50 amp) and cable, good Wi-Fi, intermittent Verizon 4G. Very nice employees. This county park seems to be divided into two sections - one area does not have paved roads and seems to have long term residents; the other (where we stayed) had paved roads and nicer sites. On the ocean with views of Kennedy Space Center. If coming through the area, we'd stay here again, but there really isn't much in Titusville. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
We have stayed here once before and really enjoyed it both times. They have improved the Wi-Fi so it works really well. There are lots of drive-through spaces as well as back in sites. There is shade which can interfere with satellite reception but there are a number of channels you can get on an antenna. Noseeums were bad this year as were ants but we sprayed and that helped. They have rules and if you do not follow them they will ask you to leave. This is a great place to watch rocket launches. You can see manatee and dolphins in the Indian River. It is a well run county park. Price is based on a monthly rate during peak season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Nice state park with a lovely view of the Indian River. We enjoyed walking out on the pier and watching the sunrise. Overnight site was fine. Slightly unlevel and we had to back into the rear corner of the site in order to reach the utilities. Absolutely no privacy between the sites, but we were lucky all of our neighbors were very friendly. You are parking on sand so we found some readjusting of the stabilizers was necessary. Laundry facilities. Very close to Kennedy Space Center. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
We had stayed here two years prior and were disappointed when we returned. The area in general and the campground specifically were more rundown. Infested with noseeums. Lots of fulltime residents and older folks. Will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
The perfect place to stay for a few nights and visit the Kennedy Space Center. Located right off the Hwy1 you will get a pull-through site with full- hookup. No cable TV though. Wi-Fi was good. Sites are dirt and fairly level. Little privacy but not packed like sardines. The Hwy traffic dies down at night, so it's surprisingly quiet. We didn't use any facilities. Would stay again for one or two nights when the next launch is scheduled at KSC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Lovely County Park. The rains came while there for 2 solid days of rain and wind. Quite a few sites were under water. Front desk knew the weather was coming and gave us a site that was as close to flooded as you can get. NO cable. Nice shade. Right on the Indian River with a long fishing pier. Definitely worth a second visit after they clean up the park from the storm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
A very nice county park. Employees work to keep it attractive. Sites are every which way, but there is a degree of privacy even when the place is brimming with rigs. Big rigs may find navigating difficult due to lots of trees close to the roads. Pool is extremely clean. There is a rooster next door who bellows more than just mornings. We stayed as a P/A member for 3 nights and as full price for 2 weekend nights. The store in the office has prices that will astound you. I bought bulbs for $4 that cost $6 everywhere else. It is nice to be treated so well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
Nice park but LOTS of trees, AKA lots of tree debris. Pool was small for park. Sand sites tight to maneuver. Wi-Fi inside rec hall. Would stay there again if we could select better site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
This is a very nice park to stay for a day or all winter. The park Wi-Fi is very weak and you will need to go to clubhouse to a slow speed. The park has people that are very nice in the office, but one employee is a bit lazy and will not work with returning long term campers for sites. One lady just retired and she would bend over backwards to help you with a site. We will all miss her. I will come back and hope we can get our site next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
This is a county run park and we will come back. The sites are roomy and there are shade trees. The heated pool is well maintained as are the showers and restrooms. There is a nice clubhouse with a TV. The Indian River is on one side and Highway 1 is on the other. The noise from the trains and road can be loud but after awhile you don't even notice it. We were here for 5 months and had a great time. There is lots to do in the area and there are several golf courses. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This is a very nice CG with many trees, clean and paved roads without speed bumps. Very good rate and close to Kennedy Space Center. WiFi was weak but over the air TV was fine. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
Lovely place to stay. All shaded sites, with friendly staff. I'd stay here again. Price we paid was due to our 7 people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Very nice place to stay. Run by the county and is a first rate place. Only negative comments I can make is that the Wi-Fi is centrally located in the recreation center (mid-park) but works well if you are there, and that the interior roads are a bit tight. I pulled a 35ft 5th wheel and found that it is passable. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again anytime I was in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$29
We love it here. This is our second time in 3 years. Yes, it's right off of US 1 near a small airport and trains are pretty close too.. The park is well treed, fishing pier, pool, play area for the kids, clean showers and laundry!!! Pet friendly. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
We stayed here to watch the shuttle launch on April 5, 2010. The view was great and the site was good considering this is a public camp ground. The campers here where very nice and the price is very reasonable. Take squirrel food, you will enjoy all the squirrels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Nice shaded sites, friendly staff and a clean pool and camp store. I would give this campground a 10 but some of the sites, like #10 that I'm in, are quite unlevel and required many blocks under the front wheels. They could remedy this easily with a tractor with a blade on it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$27
We had a great time in this beautiful, shady park, BUT it did have one serious problem. Our section of the campground had terrible drainage, and we ended up camped in a huge mud puddle. Our neighbor’s site was even worse. I would have had some sympathy for her, except she kept insinuating that we were somehow responsible for her flooding. She had been traveling and had just returned to find her site a mucky mess. We stayed only three days, but I hope the park staff found some way to placate her after we left. On the positive side, this campground was extremely close to the Space Center, and its view of the lagoon was charming. The place had a lot of friendly kids, a lovely pool, a good road for bikes, but not much playground. We did our laundry here, and it was somewhat expensive ($1.50/washer, $1.50/dryer) but not busy. Oddly enough, the Laundromat was outside: the room had a roof but no doors, just an open wall. The park charged $2 extra per child, but we got a 25% discount for our overall stay because we paid in advance. Our Verizon Aircard worked great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
What a nice campground. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Our site was not quite ready at check-in, the leaving campers were having equipment problems. The staff was quick to get us in to another site and very pleasant about it. The one down side to this park are the few sites next to US 1. If some type of noise barrier could be installed, this would eliminate this problem. The sites varied in size, our site, 121, was very large. All sites are in a wooded setting. Although the park seemed somewhat tight, we had no trouble moving our 36ft TT throughout and into our site. A large grassy area is next to the river and has a volley ball net. Several folks were just taking advantage of it and enjoying the sun. A nice fishing dock extends out onto the Indian River. If you want to see a shuttle launch, this has got to be the spot. We could easily see the launch pads and the vehicle assembly building. The park has late check-out, a real plus. They offered us two times, 3 PM and 6 PM. The cost is minimal. We didn't get an opportunity, on this trip, to use the pool, but it was conveniently located in the center of the park. It looked well maintained and was surrounded by a privacy fence. Next to pool was the community building and restrooms. We really look forward to coming back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Nice county park with good value. Bathrooms were clean, staff was great. My site backed up to busy US 1 so traffic noise was constant but did slow down at night. Lots of trees made it interesting getting into site and it was not close to being level. Seemed to be quite a few long term residents who had developed nice sites. Excellent location for Kennedy Space Center activity. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
Shady sites are a good value for the area. Right across the river from Kennedy Space Center. Big dock for fishing or socializing. Great variety of camping rigs: more 1970's GMC motorhomes than I've ever seen in one place. Minor rants: some sites (including mine) back up to highway 1 that is very popular with Harley's on the weekend. This section also is overrun with squirrels that bite water hoses. I replaced or patched my hose daily. The staff recommended spraying hoses with a cayenne pepper mix. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$21
This is a great place to spend one night or a full season. The park personnel are very obliging and go out of their way to help with all needs. They are very knowledgeable of the surrounding area. We stayed here in a class B PW Van and they put us close to bath house. We will return to this campground in the future. This is a super place to view space shuttle lift off and landing. One suggestion, call ahead for reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
Friendly staff and clean facilities. Sites are nice and fit large rigs. They are working on expanding the Wi-Fi range, it works well by the office. Great spot for viewing shuttle and rocket launches. Can see dolphins and manatees from the shore and the dock. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
We coordinated our month stay around the shuttle launch. Overall, we were satisfied with the campground although we dreaded the weekend crowds. We found them rude, vulgar, and disrespectful of others. The weekenders walked through our site constantly and their children rode their bikes right past us as we sat outside our RV. We were grateful the staff enforced quiet hours. The bathrooms were always clean except on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$39
We made reservations for this park 6 weeks in advance because we wanted to come in for the shuttle launch. When the launch was delayed they sent us an e-mail giving us the option to change dates or extend stay. This was a great park to watch the launch. The park was clean and mostly very quiet. We would definitely stay here again!!! Laundry facilities were small but clean. Very close to Kennedy Space Center and Warbird museum, shopping was close by for groceries. The only negative is the roads are very narrow and you have to be careful navigating around the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This was a stopover for us, one night. It was fine, nice easy pull through, nice host, no problems at all and very reasonably priced. Would use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
The park was nice but the restrooms were always muddy from the rainy weather. They also keep the doors open all the time (no privacy!). The security guard at night was overwhelming and made it very uncomfortable. We complained to the front office, but that did not do any good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Over all the park was O.K. Very rustic. Bathrooms, pool deck, Rec. house and any other common area are dated and in need of T.L.C. It’s a shame because it has a lot of potential. Also there are full time residents there and their campers are very old and unmaintained. In other words, most of the full time campers are in such disrepair that they most likely will have to leave on a flat bed when they do decide to leave. However I don’t think you can find a better place to view the shuttle launch. They have the perfect vantage point from the pier. We were there over Memorial Holiday Weekend. A large group of 13 families. Our biggest concern was the Park Ranger. She put a huge damper on everyone in the camp ground. Not just our group of 13 camp sites. She wanted all lights out by 10. There was no quiet time it was get in your camper and shut-up time. She even told us on Friday night: “I’m going to be even harder on you tomorrow night." Truly it wasn’t just us, she was the scuttle butt of the entire campground. Every one was tucked in by 12 at the latest after constant harassing from the Park Ranger. Will we go back? Most likely not. Neither will the others camping with us. You don’t pay money expecting a good holiday weekend with family and friends to have a ridiculous curfew imposed on you so strictly. Our group ages were 4-64, definitely no wild party here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Great price, great location. No full timers. Municipal campground; staff was well trained and courteous. Bay view of Kennedy Space Center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2008
$33
We came here because it was the closest to the Kennedy Space Center and the Florida campers guide said it was $20 for w/e - not bad, except that when we checked in, it was $33 and the woman behind the counter said "we don't give them those numbers, I don't know where they get them." Strange.. anyways, we chose a site and settled in. My husband went to take a shower and walked over to the closest one only to find it closed for repairs. They didn't tell us. Once he did find the other restroom, there was no hot water, just lukewarm. The offerings at the store are meager. The up side of this campsite are the sites near the water (and the closed restroom) that have a view of the Space Center launching pad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
The purpose of our stay was to view a space shuttle launch. This campground offers an unobstructed view of the launchpad across the river but is in my opinion too far away from the launchpad to be enjoyable. The campground itself is scruffy with too many sites given over to RVer's who appear to be permanent residents living there in old untidy vehicles. There is evidence of dog fouling everywhere. We'd booked in for 4 nights and couldn't wait to leave. This campground has potential but needs to be managed more firmly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
We stayed two nights to attend a meeting nearby. For that purpose, this was satisfactory. Sites are a bit crowded and some "long term" RVs a bit rough. It is convenient and quiet. This was a place to stay, not a destination. If in the area for a meeting or just an overnight, we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
This park is situated right on the Indian River and directly across the river from the Kennedy Space Center. If you are in town to watch a Shuttle launch you won't find a campground with a better vantage point. Streets are a little narrow but still drivable with a large motorhome. The pull through sites are very large but most of the back-in sites are narrow. Park was fairly well maintained and clean. All sites are dirt/grass and are un-level. Lots of trees and the breeze from the river is very nice. There is a good bit of traffic noise from the highway but not to bad. Staff is helpful but not overly friendly. WiFi was available but didn't work well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
We had a nice pull through site. The trees could pose a problem in some spots. The campground was very full over the holiday weekend, but it was still very peaceful. This was a very convenient place for us to stay. The pool was well maintained, as well as the laundry areas. I would stay here again, but I would request a pull through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
We stayed for a space shuttle launch. Great view of the NASA launch area. Campground was very, very full, then virtually emptied out the next day. Be sure to call ahead if arriving after the office closes--we did and had a disaster, because we had to change sites the next day. They do not have any system for after-hours check-ins and the staff doesn't care in general, which is why I can't rate them higher. Very picky about keeping dogs tied/on leash. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$26
We decided to camp at this campsite on a whim. I thought that the campsites were fairly cramped and tight together. The park itself was wonderful was clean and it was easy access from I95 and US 1. The swimming pool was large and clean. There are showers and laundry facilities adjacent to the pool. I could wash clothes while the kids swam. A short walk down to the river led to a dock that had great views of the Kennedy Space Center. This would be an ideal place to watch a shuttle launch. Personnel from office were extremely friendly and reserved a spot for me even though I didn't really qualify (I only wanted to stay one night and they had a 2 night reservation rule). When I showed up, my name was written down and the fee was honored even though it was a verbal commitment. It would be a good idea to bring a bicycle here for children. The road is graded and goes down to the river and the kids liked riding on the grade. Pets are allowed. Be sure to put your food away because the squirrels will eat everything in sight. No fires are allowed on the ground here. You must bring something to elevate the fire. I just used a cinderblock with a tin bucket on top of it. Other people were doing the same thing and were fine. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
This the fifth time we have camped here, but the first time for a shuttle launch. The campground is a wonderful place for watching launches. The campground was very packed, mostly with snowbirds staying long-term. However, even though it was packed, it was fairly quiet. Probably because the average age of the majority of the campers was 60+. The majority of the noise came from the nearby small airplane airport. First time this bothered us at this campground. The reason for the 8 rating is because it was difficult to get a hold of a live person to make a reservation. Had to call many, many times before getting a person and not the answering machine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
We stayed here for a week. The sites are very close together. Our awning touched the RV next to us. WiFi inside the office works great. This is a county park and the office staff do a very good job of looking after the customers. Our neighbor was a young worker living in the park and he and a friend were talking very loud late into the evening one night. I told the staff and they promised I would never be disturbed by him again. They posted a note on his door and we never heard from him again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$24
We were satisfied with the campground for our purpose--to see the space shuttle launch. Not sure what was biting but we had many bug bites on our legs so make sure you have good bug repellent. Also, close all your windows. We got a small lizard in our car. WIFI was down about 25% of the time and would not reach to our site. The lady in the office during the day was very moody and was not at all helpful or concerned when she was told their WIFI was down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
An excellent park overall - the staff is top notch. It is not a luxury park, but does not try to be. It is a great natural Florida setting without being primitive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$21
This campground is a good place to stay to see the Space Shuttle Launch. The staff were friendly and helpful. The WiFi was located at the office/rec room and was not accessible from most RV sites. The park is located in a very densely tree covered area and was fairly hard to maneuver a larger RV in. I would probably not stay here again do to the gloomy trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$24
We camped here to go to the Shuttle launch and Cape Canaveral. It was fine. The pool was not very warm but the laundry worked great. Everybody was friendly and the park was kept up nicely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$24
We had learned from other forums this was a good, if not the best, RV Park from which to watch a shuttle launch. I had also read reviews reflecting low overhead clearance of low hanging tree limbs had caused damage to the roofs of several RVs. On Sat., Dec 1st I read in the paper that a shuttle launch had been scheduled for Thurs, Dec 6th. I called the park and asked if there were any available sites. I gave the weekend manager the size and height of my rig and was told spaces were going fast and that there might not be one available large enough for our rig. She told me she would call me back before then end of the afternoon with any answer. That afternoon I received a call and was informed a site large enough for my rig had been found. This park has a heavy canopy of palms, oaks, “water” oaks, pines, elms, and other trees. After checking in, I walked in front of the rig to ensure we weren’t going to hit any low hanging limbs. The exterior height of my rig is 12’ 09” and there were NO limbs on the main roads that would cause us any concern. I walked the park many times (dogs will do that to you) and observed no sites large enough to fit us (36’ 5er) with any threatening limbs. Seems as if the management has favorably responded to earlier complaints and trimmed accordingly. We expected the park to be full, but discovered it at between 70% and 80% RV capacity. All extension requests were granted (launch kept getting postponed). We found this to be an exceptional park. Sites were spacious and occupants friendly and helpful. The location is unbeatable, as is the $24 nightly tariff (Jetty Park almost 17 miles south is $40 per night..not sure if they charge extra for daily parking). The sites are not paved, but it isn’t difficult to level your rig. You will need “patio” rugs to cut down on the leaves and dirt entering your rig. Although I’m sure rain water percolates quickly, it is probable that a rain storm will make things messy for at least a short period of time. I only observed one poison ivy vine, something I’m allergic to and am constantly on the look-out for. This suggests to me the management has gone out of their way to eradicate. There are a bazillion squirrels that will drive your dog nuts, but what the hey!?! The pool was in use daily. We didn’t use of visit the bathhouse so no review on that. Had no problem connecting to WiFi. Were able to pull in ABC, CBS, and NBC with our rig’s antenna. This is a great park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
Stayed here to witness Space Shuttle Launch. A good place to view launch under the palm trees. The squirrels are all over the place. Be sure to close your car doors, my son left mine open and I later came by and closed it with a squirrel inside. Chewed up some window gasket. Good thing I wasn't getting in when I discovered it. Only reason I didn't give a 10 is no wi-fi except at the office and they were working on lounge so I didn't have access to that facility. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Great campground. Nice pool. A section of the campground was occupied by summer camp kids. They ran around at night and were somewhat noisy. The pool was always full of kids and was not a pleasant place for older campers. The restrooms were not as clean as they should be due to the kids. The management was friendly and helpful, especially in giving direction and making recommendations as to sites and restaurants. The was plenty of shade and the sites were excellent. A good experience and I would go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Nice park. Third time we have camped here. The sites are close together, however. The dock is very nice. The restrooms could use a good bleaching as the curtains are moldy, but it's Florida and mold and mildew are difficult to control. It gets crowded on the weekend, but had no problems with other campers. There was even a large boy scout troop camping, but they were very well behaved and posed no problems to us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
After purchasing our 1st travel trailer (older model), we chose Manatee Hammock for our maiden voyage. Yes the sites are tight and my husband almost took off the side of the trailer before we were at our site but I like the trees and vegetation. Just take it slow. Manatee is on the Intercoastal with a spectacular view of Nasa's VAB building. If you are lucky enough to witness a launch, this is the campground to book! The reason we bought our trailer is because we have dogs. Manatee Hammock is a dog lovers paradise! I would have sworn there was a Shih Tzu convention in town. Fantastic. OK, the details.. The campground is located on US1. There really isn't much around other than NASA. Your close to Playa Linda beach (best beach on the Atlantic). They have a nice lighted fishing pier. All the campers were very friendly. This is a small County park and I prefer this to the "resorts" that make those of us in travel trailers feel inferior. My parents stayed here in their big rig and I don't know how they got it in. It made me a nervous wreck. If your looking for a quiet, friendly campground, I would suggest Manatee Hammock. The only reason I'm not rating it higher is we didn't use the facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
We had a great time at this campground. The staff was excellent and very friendly. We enjoyed the peace and quiet at this campground. We will be going back again next February. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$37
Plenty of trees close to the roads making it difficult to drive, especially during the hours of darkness. I didn't like the fact that they made a copy of everyone's driver's license or ID card in order to stay at their campground. They used the excuse "it's a Homeland Security requirement". The showers were hot, but dirty. Black mold in the cracks and on the shower curtains. The campground is very convenient to tourist attractions and plenty of shopping nearby. We don't plan on returning to this campground because there are so many more in Florida to visit! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$25
A county park; lot of local residents-many tents/pop-ups/young children; beautiful scenery--Cape Kennedy is across bay; park well maintained; plenty of room to walk dog and visit "nature"; fishing pier on bay; all sites are dirt with small patches of grass; about 3 miles from I-95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$22
Contrary to prior review we found this to be a very nice park. The park attendants were friendly, courteous and helpful. Wi-Fi access is available throughout the entire park. In fact, there are at least two Wi-Fi transmitters available. You do not have to go to the game room to use the Wi-Fi. We camped on the far side of the park and Wi-Fi was available inside our motorhome. The park is very shady and satellite TV reception is very difficult. The park does not offer cable TV. The pool area, restrooms and showers were clean. There were some seasonal campers but all units were neat and tidy, no old trashy units. Sites were large and mostly level. The park has a long fishing pier, small boat launch area for canoes and group camping area with covered pavilion. This is a perfect park for watching launches from the Kennedy Space Center which is directly across the river from the park. It took 9 minutes from the park entrance to the KSC Visitor Complex entrance. The highest rate one can pay is $22/night for a non-resident full hookup site. There were squirrels everywhere and a hawks nest with babies high up in a tree. The only reason we rated this a little lower was due to the narrow roads. Trying to manuvering a 40' motorhome through all the trees brought us within inches of scraping trees in some spots. The park needs to cut some trees further back from the turns in the roads for better big rig access. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$33
Campground is very convenient to Kennedy Space Center. Just an eight mile, 15 minute drive to the space center. This campground has too much shade to suite us. Sites were level and size was OK. The worst part of this campground is the lady in the office. She was not friendly or very helpful: in fact she was rude. Campground has free wireless interent service if you sit in the game room by the front office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2004
$22
For this area, this campground would be very tough to beat. A really beautiful campground, with tall palm trees and other shade trees. The sites are tucked in among the trees, so you don't feel like you're camped right on top of your neighbors. On the water end of the campground is a large grassy area, perfectly located for watching launches from Kennedy Space Center, just across the water. The drive to KSC from this campground is about 5 minutes. We didn't explore other things in the area, because the Space Center was all we were interested in. We were told repeatedly that we'd never be able to find campsites in the south half of Florida at this time of year, so a $22 site in such a perfect little park, with plenty of vacancies was a great surprise. Will definitely go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$26
The park is very nice the showers are hot the staff is friendly and the location is good. You are close to the space center and can take the tour, you are also close (within 10 minutes) to many eating establishments and flea markets. The place is rustic and has a great view with water activities and sightseeing as things to do. I would stay here again if I am in the area. Stayed there Thanksgiving weekend 2002. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com