223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Covert / South Haven KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (269) 764-0818
CGID8363

Covert / South Haven KOA

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   10   8   10   9   9   8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2014
$42
Although the rain kept us from discovering anything this K.O.A had to offer, I did notice that the rain pooled on many of the roads and sites. This campground is 7-9 miles from any kind of restaurants or activities. It is a conveniently straight drive up 140 to South Haven though. I would stay here again if visiting South Haven We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$60
Our nightly rate is a bit high because we are a large family with 8 children so we had to pay an extra daily fee for a few of the kids. This is our fourth year at this KOA and the kids LOVE it! It's not perfect, but nearly. Heated pool, great jumping pillow (extra cost), U-pick blueberries on site, and large pull-through sites, some with concrete patios. The price is a little high considering you have to pay extra for all the activities, but the owners are GREAT and always looking to make improvements. You can tell they take pride in their KOA. The only thing that would make this place even better is paved roads only because after a rain or on a humid morning the dirt and sand create quite a mess. Otherwise, a great place to camp, especially with kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$49
All time best KOA we've ever seen. Clean, well maintained with super friendly and helpful owners and staff. Lots to do for the kids with jumping pillow, enclosed trampoline with basketball hoops (my kids LOVED this), great playground, and much more. Lots of scheduled activities as well. Our site was a decent size, quiet and shady. Would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Very nice park. Sites are quite wide and angled. Most have reasonably level gravel drives. The park is surrounded by a blueberry patch which adds interest in late summer. Trees have been planted but they don't yet provide any shade. The location is very quiet and the Wi-Fi reception near the office, where we camped, is quite good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Great park with a great staff! Clean, awesome site with cement pad, large table, chairs, and our own BBQ grill. Will go again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
Nice wide sites. Very clean. We were hit by a severe thunderstorm with over 85 MPH winds the first night. It knocked out power, downed trees, and tore off our 15' slide topper. Even though owner and staff were very busy with trying to clear trees and debris, they immediately helped with removing the damaged slide topper. Staff is very friendly. No power for 48 hours but not their fault. Whole area was out. Even with all that happened, this is one of the best KOAs we have stayed at. Highly recommend to all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Very nice clean KOA and the people are friendly. The only complaint I had was there is no shade. Overall it was great and I would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
This is our first review as well as our first time to stay in a KOA/private campground. We are typically State/National Park kind of people. That said, we found this to be a great stay especially for a quick overnighter. The staff here are plenty helpful & hospitable. There were a few parts of the campground that I felt could have been kept a bit better, but all the important things were top notch. Good electricity and water pressure, clean bathrooms and showers, nice pool, and decent camp store. This one is situated right in the middle of a blueberry patch, so you can go pick yourself some fresh berries. Although this is my first stay at a KOA, I have driven thru 3 of them now. Of the 3, this one has the most spacious sites. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
It is a very clean park with friendly staff. It has a very nice campstore with snacks/ice cream. It is close to state park with nice beach. There are no mature trees and it has gravel roads which make it difficult for smaller children to ride bikes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
The folks that own this place were very friendly and attentive to any needs. They seemed to be out and about building something new for the small people the entire week we were here. If our travels ever take us through this region again, we would definitely stay here again. I have never been a big fan of KOA as we've found most to be way overpriced against the region they serve. With that in mind, we didn't feel pricing here was too bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
The staff here is wonderful. The kids really enjoyed the activities which included a magician. Pool is exceptionally clean and heated. A bit dusty and since it is a newer facility the trees have a few years before they mature to provide shade. Still loved the place and will be back for blueberry picking season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
We really liked this KOA. Sights were grassy but large. You did not have the feeling of being cramped. Good WiFi and cable TV. Beautiful pool, very pretty grounds, and friendly staff. Only down side for me was that it was about 10 miles to South Havens beach. South Haven is a great little Lake Michigan town with a great beach, good restaurants, and great little shops. Loved our stay in this area. We will stay at this KOA again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
We typically camp at state campgrounds, but camped here with our parents who were here from out-of-town. The campground buildings and general areas are very clean and tidy. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our site was in excellent shape. It is obvious the family takes pride in the campground. The store area was very nice; although we didn't get any, they do have ice cream and other treats. My mom said the laundry room was in great shape, too. No complaints at all. Visitors should know that the campsites themselves are in what was probably a farm of some sort. It was a bit muddy in some areas, and the dog area was all sand with some clumps of grass. My doggies were filthy after their walks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$41
The park is always clean and the people are very friendly and helpful. Has blue berry patches surrounding the park and you are able to pick them for a small fee. The pool is very clean and the hayride was great entertainment for the kids. I've been here 3X and will return for weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$42
This is a newer KOA, only 5 years old. Wi-Fi was great, till it rained and everyone used it at once, then it was very much useless, but most of the time it was strong and fast. The kids loved this KOA. Game room, heated pool, pizza service. Owners are very kind. My only complaint is gravel and mud. This would be a top notch campground if there was some paving. When dry it's not an issue; when it rains, mud everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This is a clean nice campground. It was not too busy as it was cold. A very, VERY nice family runs this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
The most friendly owners. Picked the sweetest blueberries. Wide site!! Immaculate and even had the local newspaper delivered to our site each morning. Very quiet at night. Plan on going back again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
We have camped here 3 times in the last year because of this campground's location, not the campground itself. Pros are it is close to South Haven, many pull-thru sites, and a nice pool; cons are it is overpriced for the kind of campground it is, roads are not paved and are very dusty, and owners charge extra for everything. This campground only opened a couple years ago and is situated in a former blueberry field--therefore no trees, no shade. Mosquitoes are terrible, so bad that we ended up sitting inside after dark. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
Typical KOA, at a typical KOA price. We paid $ 43.20, per night, using the KOA ‘Value Kard’ but expect to pay $ 48.00 without it. Now in their second year of operation, all their amenities are new. They have a heated pool, general store, volley ball court, catch and release pond, laundry, bath house, and a halve dozen ‘Kamp Kabins’. The cabins are primitive, in that they’re essentially bunk houses without plumbing. They have large pull-thru’s, with full hook-up, but their shade trees are also in their second year of operation. Situated in what appeared to be a blueberry grove, the management encourages you to, “help yourself”, to a hand full. If you want to pick more than a hand full, they’re $ 1.60 a quart. I suspect you’re seeing what I’m getting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
New campground, well off the Interstate so very quiet. Great heated pool, gravel driveways nice facilities but trees just starting to grow. From July to Sep. pick cultivated blueberries for free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$42
New Park. Needs trees and landscaping but structures there are all new. Pool heated and clean. Very nice people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com