220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Downstream Campground COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (701) 654-7440
CGID8368

Downstream Campground COE

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   8   9   10   9   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$9
Excelled COE park, very well maintained with paved roads and sites. Our site was quite unlevel. Rooftop dish worked as we chose a site with open SW exposure, there are lots of mature trees as most COE campgrounds are. Verizon cell and hotspot worked good. Beautiful park, be sure to get good instructions to CG as it's off the beaten path and well worth it. $9 was senior price with national park America the Beautiful card discount, other wise $18/night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$9
We loved this park. The sites are huge and grassy with lots of shade but there are sunny sites as well. Loop 1 was older and a bit tight but loops 2 and 3 are much roomier. Weekends are packed but during the week things are nearly empty. Mosquitoes were a problem this year due to lots of rain but they do spray for them weekly. Great hosts! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
Very nice campground. Water and dump station available at fee booth. Golden Age Access rate is $9 for electric site. Primitive camping also available for $12.00 ($6.00 Golden Age). Can walk to the river. Fish cleaning station and boat ramp about a mile away. Busy on weekends with regular/local family campers; sparsely populated during the week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
The campground is located below the dam so not near water but the scenery and wildlife is beautiful. Loops 2 and 3 are big rig friendly. Loop 1 is tight. Nicely spaced sites but check for distance to water hookups if staying more than a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$8
Wonderful location, as typical with Army Corps of Engineers campgrounds. It's early in the season, so we were alone in the campground, along with host / gate keeper. We prefer true recreation areas over commercial, packed in campgrounds, so this suited us well. Definitely would recommend to others. Facilities were clean and well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
Excellent, spacious and shady. All site are back-in and have electricity only. Water and dump available at entrance. 14 day limit. Campground open from early May through end of Sept. Very busy on weekends, lots of available sites Sunday through Thursday. About 70 sites reservable thru reserveamerica.com. About 30 electric sites and 15 primitive sites available on first-come, first served basis. Golden Age Access rate is $8.00. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$8
Large three looped Corp of Engineer campground with tarmac paved drives and sites. Clean and fairly new bathhouse with hot showers. Genial host. Lush grass well mowed. Missouri River runoff from the huge Garrison Dam right by campground, but high grass between mowed camp area and the sandy high river banks. The grass is infested with ticks according to host. Very large National Fish hatchery near entry to campground with tours. With Golden passport $8/night; a "Bargain Joy". Camped in a class B Roadtrek. As usual, Corp of Engineer campgrounds are a true bargain and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$14
We camped here in mid September of 2009 in site #56. The sites are very spacious with many having nice shade and most level. We were able to get satellite TV, but not local. We got 3 bars on our Verizon cell and broadband for our computer. We agree that the water spigots were not working properly. This is a great place to camp and we would come back if in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$7
Very nice CG. The only thing that would make this CG a 10 would have been if they had water at the sites. We were able to fill our water tank at the entrance which got us through the week. There are water spigots throughout the CG but the one closest to us was missing its handle. With no water at the sites, they should at least have all the spigots working properly. The restrooms were very clean with good pressure and hot water. We had no problem getting our satellite tuned in even with the large shade tress which were nice. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$7
This is a very nice park. There are four loops for camping; first loop is first come first serve (we arrived Tues, and it was full by Wed. am), second and third loops are reservable, and fourth is "primitive" for tents. Sites have electric service but no water. We ran a 75 foot hose to the spigot to fill up with water, then disconnected it. Sites are spacious with plenty of shade trees. We were there over July 4 and were just about the only non-North Dakota folks there. Nearly every site had two vehicles, a camper, and often a boat. Lake Sakakawea is a very popular fishing location. Guests were very quiet, friendly, and pleasant. There is a national fish hatchery you can tour, plus the Garrison dam itself offers tours Thurs-Sat. Be sure to bring your camping needs with you as there is precious little in the area for shopping. The Audubon National Wildlife Refuge is near, as is Knife River Indian Villages NHS. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$15
The only reason we didn't rate it 10 was the lack of full hook up's. This is a really nice park with great shade. It would be nice if they would work a little harder on slowing some of the other visitors down, but you can't put the blame on the volunteers for poor behavior of "guests". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$14
This is a beautiful campground. The sites are far apart with lots of shade trees. There are paved pads for the campers. The grounds are very well maintained. Very clean showers and bathrooms. Two great playgrounds for the kids. Very quiet. We loved it! Only drawback was no water hook-ups, but you could fill up and dump your tank at the entrance of the campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com