206563 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Gates Cottages and RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (828) 685-8787
CGID8377

Red Gates Cottages and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   9   7   9   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We stayed at Red Gate for a month while looking for property to purchase. The manager/owner was the sweetest lady. It's a no-frills campground, but clean and tidy. Most spots are shaded by large trees. Plus they recycle. Great location across from a winery and minutes from downtown Hendersonville with cute shops and cafes. Around 20 minutes to Chimney Rock. We plan to come back here and stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Stayed at this campground one night, and it was one very long night. This campground is nothing like the website depicts! It is occupied mostly by long term residents that have been there for quite sometime. The owner was very nice. The facilities were scary., not kept up and in disrepair. The pond appears to be very dirty and not kept up at all. Wasn't a quiet, serene place in our opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Red Gates RV Park and Campground was so relaxing and beautiful. They have a large lake and we took one of the boats (they provided) out on the lake to do some fishing. It was wonderful. They have a shuffle board court and other fun things to do. The owners are super friendly and even had a big 4th of July cookout for everyone at the park. I was so surprised. The bathrooms are always clean. There is a laundry facility on site as well as lending library for games. We were only here for the weekend but will definitely return for a more lengthy stay now that we discovered this gem. If you want to visit Western North Carolina, this is the place to stay. If I could add one thing I think it would be a walking trail in the woods around the property. That would have made it perfect. I walked my dogs on the road through the property, but I'm a hiker and could have used more trails (of course, there are plenty of hiking trails I discovered around the area!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
I was a bit suspicious that this is not listed in any big guide and then that were no reviews listed in two years, but went ahead to give it a try. Yes, probably over half of the sites are permanent or used on weekends with the rigs stored on the site. The "pond" and "beach" are not useable. We had the last empty site, and while very large, it was tight getting in, but someone helped direct us. The bathrooms and showers were basic, but cleaned. Laundry had one washer and dryer, but was fine. The campground has trees, shade and lots of grass. Good picnic tables, but no fire rings. I will say we had a bad rainstorm while here and it washed out part of the road into the park. The owner had a back-hoe and leveled it IMMEDIATELY, conscious of the importance. The location is excellent, about 10 mins. from Hendersonville and 30 min. from Asheville, close to shopping and grocery stores. Would definitely stay here again. Good Wi-Fi, got 6-7 stations with our antenna. Just nothing fancy. It was pay for six nights, get the seventh night free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
We stayed here for two weeks and enjoyed every minute. Brown rabbits hopped around, lots of birds flitted about and sang, and it was very, very peaceful. The camp manager was extremely pleasant and helpful. The only downside was no Internet access, but we went to the library to use their's. We had breakfast at the Fireside Restaurant and Pancake Inn one morning; it was excellent and only about 2 miles from the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Even though this is a small park, it is one of the best we have found in Hendersonville. This is a family owned and operated park, and the whole family is very concerned for their campers and makes us all feel like family. Yes there are some rules, but they are there for all of us. If your looking for a 5 star resort with all the amenties, you need to go elsewhere. This park is quiet,friendly, secure, laid back and wonderful and don't miss the campfires and potlucks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
There are 20 sites, 11 of which are permanent. The park itself is very nice with a small pond for swimming and fishing, but the owners are relentless. They come and check to see who is there and charge extra for visitors. I think they even check to see if you have broken any blades of grass. One owner is called the camp Nazi. I could not get out of this park fast enough. We felt like intruders the whole time we were there. The few waterfront sites they have are tied up longterm. No facilities for children and other than the pond, none for adults. The only thing really attractive about the park is the location We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com