220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Bonito Hollow RV Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (575) 336-4325
CGID8392

Bonito Hollow RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   9   10   10   9   7   8   3   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
This park is located in a beautiful setting along the Bonito river. The sites and roads are gravel, most of the FHU/pull through sites require blocks + jacks for leveling, utilities are located at the front on some sites and many face each other, some so close that only one may put awnings out. W/E sites seem a better bet but are relatively short. Restrooms are clean but basically unfinished, showers have a very small changing area with no clothes hook or seat. Laundry room is a dark utility area between restrooms with only one washer and dryer (one oos) and very dirty. We managed to get satellite but cell service (Verizon) poor and their wifi in and out, minimal at best. The campground area is clean and well maintained and quite pleasant. A few dogs (some from the staff) wandering around off leash which made walking our dogs difficult at times. Unfortunately this seems to be one of the nicer campgrounds in the area, though did not visit any within the Ruidoso city area. If you decide to stay here strongly recommend you drive through and select a suitable campsite first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32+
Very beautiful setting, clean campsites, so relaxing! The Owners and Hosts extremely helpful. We go each year with 3 to 6 families for our special weekend and have a blast. My Husband and I just spent 3 1/2 days there this past weekend by ourselves and it was so very relaxing. We are already planning our next camping trip! On Holidays they have special things to do with the kids. If you're in the area you should stay here-it's worth it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
We were really pleased with the looks and condition of the park. The sites have plenty of shade and are easy to enter. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We checked around several other parks in Ruidoso and could not find a better value. The park is recovering from a fire about 1 year ago and the owners are doing a very good job in rebuilding. You could not tell there was a fire. We would definitely return to the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Our first RV adventure ever was a stay in the Bonito Hollow RV Park. We had a great time and will return. We had a stream-side space with shade and plenty of room. This is a large spread out campground with friendly people, lots of shade and a big park-like space for walking the dogs. Very nice staff, they helped us back in and delivered some firewood. WI-FI was spotty, but with the beautiful location we didn't miss it. There is no local TV reception or cable, but there is a nice trail along the creek so who cares! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Bonito Hollow is a great place. It is a campground and not just a parking lot for RV's. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful and always available. We have been going to this same campground every summer for the past 5 years. The campground now has a brand new bath house with nice showers and restrooms. The new pavilion was going up while we were there and should be complete now. We heard about a lot more improvements that will be occurring this summer. There is a big playground area for the kids with a volleyball pit and other games. We always take bicycles for our kids and they love riding down to the river or to the playground or just around the "block". They always make friends and we love that aspect of camping at a campground like Bonito Hollow. We set out a hummingbird feeder and enjoyed watching our pet hummingbird guarding "his" feeder and trying to run other hummingbirds off when they tried to drink "his" nectar. We will definitely be back and I'd recommend this campground for families that have anything from a tent to a big motor home. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$39
Drove up from El Paso, Texas and visited for four days/three nights with another couple and all of our dogs (four total). We made reservations for two sites which the staff worked hard to place us side by side. Though the park is still recovering from a devastating fire last year, the owners make this park a great choice. The staff is working hard daily to recover and is gaining ground on getting back to 'full force'. Everyone associated with the park went out of their way to accommodate us and make sure we were happy with our sites. Their presence around the sites kept a full house in order and at peace. The newly renovated bathhouse, which includes washer/dryer is first class. Construction continues on the cabins which were lost in the fire and it'll be great to see the projects completed. We are loyal fans of this site and will continue to frequent the site. Stream is almost at full flow and the developed walkway is a nice area to let the dogs play. Only complain of this park is the abundance of dirt and dry grass areas, however, that is attributed to Mother Nature not providing any rain. Thank you to the wonderful staff at BH for making us feel welcomed as you always have in the past. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Owners are doing a great job of updating this park. It is a clean and quiet park. Owners and employees very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
This is an older campground under new owners who are working hard to refurbish it. Expect improvement with each visit. There are pine trees throughout the park. A stream runs through the park. Sites are gravel and level. It is about 1/2 full hookup and 1/2 water+electric. Deer and turkey roam around the park. A mountain fishing lake is nearby. Downtown Ruidoso is about 7 miles south. The town of Lincoln where Billy the Kid roamed is nearby. Since the park is in a valley there is no phone service until you are back out on the highway. There is free Wi-Fi. We spent 11 days here and it was a pleasure getting to know the owners and camp workers. This will be a destination campground for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Park staff seemed to be overwhelmed by the holiday campers. There was no communication to campers on activities that were planned at campground. Sites have been redone and are now extremely close together. Our group of 7 RV's were not situated together although we reserved before the RV's that were next to our site and we asked to be together. Very disappointed in overall experience. We will not be going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$19
We were looking for a nice place to spend our 1 year anniversary and we definitely found it. We had never been in the area before and chose Bonito Hollow basically because it was pet friendly. I was not sure what to expect, but from the time of booking our reservation throughout our stay the customer service was great. They were willing to do a romantic getaway package for us at our tent site even though they normally only do them in the cabins. We arrived a little after they closed, but they were still more than willing to help us get settled in and brought us firewood to get us going for the evening. One of the owners let us borrow a deck of cards without hesitation and even insisted I take it. The grounds itself are really nice. It is nestled in a really pretty area surrounded by the beautiful mountains and trees. My favorite is how clean they keep the bathrooms and showers! The tent site was perfect and the owners were awesome. I am a customer service guru and they really hit the mark here. I would recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Have camped in this park many times over the past few years and always enjoyed it. When we arrived on this trip, our reserved site was occupied and the site description we had been given when making the reservation was totally misleading. Campground owner was extremely rude and told us that since we were upset it was probably better we did not stay. This park is going downhill in my opinion. Only redeeming fact is that the seasonal workers are extremely friendly and helpful: it was one of them that recommended where would could stay late on a Friday night. We will not be staying in this park in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
A return trip for mom, myself, and the dog. We really enjoy this camp ground for it's beautiful scenery, and for the nicest owners and employees you could possibly ask for. Always there to help, always working to improve and beautify the place. Very clean and well stocked rest rooms with showers and washers. A handy store on premises, picnic tables and fire rings at each site. Nice area to walk your dog, and pick up bags conveniently provided in the walking area. Security drives around after 10pm to be sure everyones right to a peaceful night is enforced. Short drive into Ruidoso. Unfortunately due to the drought, the stream was completely dry, but there are always the mountains and the occasional deer meandering through. We camped in a tent trailer, so I can't speak to the ease of leveling one of those houses on wheels. We will return as often as possible. Best place in the Ruidoso area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We spent the long weekend here, and were treated royally by the friendliest staff we have ever encountered during our 53 day road trip. We did not miss cable TV nor cell phone signal availability. As well as us Canadians, it appeared all of the residents of this wonderfully cozy camp were considered friends by management. It is a beautiful area, just far enough away from the tourism of Ruidoso, but conveniently close enough for shopping and browsing around. The climate was refreshing compared to the heat wave ravaging the rest of the state. We'd recommend this park to anyone. Thanks again to Bonito Hollow for a great holiday experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
I feel I most respond to the negative remarks in the July 2011 post. It appears we were at this wonderful RV Park at the same time. We have been visiting Bonito Hollow for over seven years and have never had a negative stay. We have enjoyed the times spent with the previous owners, new owners and different work campers throughout those years. We try to come out to Bonito Hollow at least three times a year. I just want to clear up some of the remarks addressed by the July 2011 post. The water issue was addressed as quickly as possible and free bottled water was provided to all campers. It was one of those unfortunate and unexpected things that happen. Our family took the time to talk to the large group of tent campers, who were from a church group from El Paso, Texas and Las Cruces, New Mexico. This group had organized activities for all the kids during their stay. This fun caused kids to romp around the park and enjoy the horseshoe pits, volleyball court, hiking trails and their own organized games. I'm sorry but I see nothing wrong with kids romping and enjoying the outdoors. We had no problem running our AC, coffeemaker, TV, kids game system, patio lights, and satellite radio, etc. Campers enjoyed the cool evenings cooking out and some enjoyed listening to music be it whatever language. Our group enjoyed playing volleyball, horse shoes and hiking trails throughout the week and the wonderful company of owners and all their staff. They have continued to improve this park and we are looking forward to visiting again in August. If you want to enjoy a wonderful camping stay there is no place like Bonito Hollow. Please take time to read all the wonderful reviews and remember this is a family oriented RV Park, with kids romping, families laughing and having a wonderful time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
Rate reflects non pull through, 30 amp, no sewer. Park is under new (maybe 1 year) ownership. Owner seems a little confused. Park needs some upgrades. Our power was virtually non existent (couldn't even run a ceiling fan), water did not work for two days. Tons of tent camping meaning little munchkins everywhere. And noisy: loud, very loud Mexican music at 7:30a (of course office doesn't open until 9 am). Location is very pretty and pleasant but unless you want tons of kids romping around, you should think twice. Work campers did a good job and really seemed to care, but word is that at least some have left. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Pros: It was quiet during the week. We were not there on the weekend. Large spaces, some designed so that two RV’s could have their awnings together. It is close to the National Forest. This place would be great for family reunions. Cons: The entrance is a little tricky. This was and still is a place for a lot of tent campers and lots of children. No local TV stations, No cable, but satellite reception was fine. Internet service is to the front half of the park only, No cell phone service (you are truly in a hollow). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
You MUST visit Bonito Hollow!!! The owners and staff will blow you away with their hospitality, attention, flexibility, and friendship. We live in Roswell, NM and were looking for an escape close to our hometown due to gas prices. Bonito Hollow is just 1.5 hours from our front door, but it is a WORLD away! The park is tucked against a hillside in a wooded (pines, cottonwoods, oaks?) canyon just a few short miles from Bonito Lake. The view from the park is 360 beautiful mountain views covered in trees. Access to the most beautiful hiking in a 200 mile radius is just up the road: streams, meadows, challenging or easy trails, signs of bear, deer, etc., and beautiful! The park is laid out kind of like a big oval with a road that circles the perimeter. There are large, flat, full hook-up spots all through the middle and small cabins, tent sites, and unique hook-up sites around the edge against the treeline. We stayed in one of the treeline sites tucked between a few of the cabins. Amenities include the "bath house" with showers and laundry facilities, playgrounds for the kids, volleyball court, and a beautiful stream that wraps around the "front" side of the entire property. There is also an office with a small store stocking some basics for your convenience. There are a lot of improvements taking place at Bonito Hollow. This is the first full season for new owners. They have been investing lots of time (and money) to make the park a place that my family will return to again and again. During our entire stay there was constant, quiet, park improvement activity going on. About the people: from the moment we showed up, the owners and staff took us under their wing. Our original site wasn't quite set up for our hook-up arrangement so they helped us find a spot that worked. My daughter's bicycle needed air in her tires and the owner happily aired them up for her (her hero!) Dumb Dad (that's me) forgot the fishing gear: no worries! they lent us some gear so we could spend some quality time at Bonito Lake watching everybody else catch pretty trout. Owners would drop by from time to time with "Tango" the resident labrador to check in on us. the "artist in residence" at Bonito Hollow is transforming the park into a magical land with amazing and humorous wooden bears, huge mushrooms. We spent a wonderful evening with this artist as our guest for dinner as he regaled us with tales of his adventures in life! We have our reservation already in for Memorial Day 2011! Can't wait to get back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$29
We chose Bonito Hollow after staying two previous nights at another Alto campground (Ruidoso area). I had so many memories of camping in the area as a child, and so wanted to relive those moments. We stumbled onto Bonito Hollow after visiting the lake and can honestly say the owners Gary and JoAnn and the whole crew at Bonito were icing on a cake that was perfect in every way. Our site was nestled under tall pines at the base of a gorgeous mountain and within steps of a crystal clear stream. The grounds were tidy, the campsites allowed for plenty of privacy and elbow room and the store was stocked full of goodies and useful staples...not to mention some great rental movies and illustrated apparel by none other than Newbern Taylor. what a gentle soul and great conversationalist.. We arrived as total strangers to this slice of heaven and left feeling like family. After driving around the area and eying every campground within ten miles of Ruidoso, we knew we lucked out. if you're in the area, nothing comes close. By the time we headed back to Texas, every spot was filled! We look forward to seeing all of our new friends again soon! thanks Bonito Hollow. You have officially stolen a piece of our hearts! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This was a return trip for us this summer, and we can't say enough about the park and all the helpful people, owners and employees at Bonito Hollow RV Park. Clean and well stocked restrooms and showers, and a convenient store on site. A bit of traffic noise during the day if you choose the river sites, but the beauty of the area, the deer meandering through the CG, the 9 beautiful trout I caught in the stream, made that a minor annoyance. We camped 2 nights. Love this place! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
I feel I must respond to the negative comments in the August, 2010, post of Bonito Hollow. From the time the posting was made, I feel that we were probably in the park about the same time as the contributor. We did not have any problem with annoying noises, i.e. babies crying, loud music etc. This is a family-oriented park and yes, there are children playing, adults laughing, people cooking over campfires, etc., but that is what camping is all about--people relaxing and having a good time. We give this park a 10! Owners and staff go beyond the norm to make your stay pleasant. And, if campers are being bothered by too much noise, etc., during quiet hours, it should be reported. This park has activities and encourages everyone to participate. We stayed here in a motorhome and had no trouble getting our rig leveled. We will definitely return and suggest that anyone wanting to stay in a beautiful park and have a great time should come to Bonito Hollow. Don't let the negative comments influence you. Read all the other positive comments. You'll love Bonito Hollow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
After reading all the excellent reviews before trying out Bonito Hollow, we thought we would really enjoy our stay here. We did enjoy the scenic beauty of the CG, and appreciated the very friendly and helpful staff. However, most of the sites were too close together and not level. We had our hitch almost on the ground and were still not level. If you enjoy screaming children, crying babies, loud "adults", amplified music from other campsites, campfire smoke, encroachment from neighboring campers and their guests onto your site, and noisy late arrival RV setups (after 10pm), then this is the place for you! The WiFi signal was very weak, and those sites with sewer tended to require an uphill hookup. We won't be coming back here, but will return to Little Creek in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We live in El Paso, Texas and have been regulars to Bonito Hollow Campground for approximately seven years visiting three to four times a year. We had heard that it had changed ownership and we are pleased to announce that the new owners and staff are just as wonderful as the past staff. We visited in June and July of this year. Our July trip also included our family which included four trailers, a small family reunion for a week. One of the owners was wonderful and made us feel like family. His staff and family are good people and after hearing their plans and projects for this park it will definitely be one of the best family oriented campgrounds in Ruidoso. Park host have wonderful events set up during the weekends for kids and adults (boat races on the stream for kids with boats made of recycled materials, bon fires, washer tournaments and even karaoke). It is a wonderful place for kids to explore and be kids and for adults to be kids again. We took full advantage of the volleyball area, horseshoe pit and fishing in the stream. We enjoyed all the wildlife in this area (Deer, Hummingbirds, blue jays and even Tango). Nights around a camp fire is definitely a must, to include snores and campfire games. This campground is only a couple of miles from Bonito Lake and about twenty minutes from the main town of Ruidoso. Cafe Rio a must for good pizza and salads. This campground has pull thru spots and also more secluded spots against the forest area some are steep and four wheel drive will sure help especially if it raining. Wonderful tent sites near the river and forest area, clean restrooms/showers and washer and dryers are also available to all campers. Bonito Hollow is the definitely the best family campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Awesome, 8 day stay! Camp hosts are phenomenal, friendly and would do anything to make the stay great. Beautiful RV park with zen, mountain atmosphere, wildlife, and the most gracious people. Rustic to full hook-up. Close to city, but away from hustle-bustle. We camped for 8 days, could have stayed 8 months! Dog friendly park. Bonito Creek runs through park. 1/2 mile from Bonito Lake. Hiking/fishing galore! Not one thing I would change with this park. We've already made our reservation for next year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
We live in southern NM and wanted to find a park where we could get out of the heat for a few days. I looked at so many parks in Ruidoso and for some lucky reason settled on Bonito Hollow. I learned that it had changed hands and two very polite and helpful brothers and their wives had taken it over. We had a lovely site that backed up to the stream, the camp host backed my camper in for me, as I'm new to the game. If mild traffic noise bothers you, sites against the mountains are available, but we did not find the traffic a problem. We had shade, and a great place to walk our German Shepherd along the stream, hummingbirds all around us. If you just want to hang out and enjoy the quiet, there is a volleyball net, horseshoe pit, and fishing right at the stream. I caught 6 trout over my 2 night stay and into the frying pan they went! The restrooms and showers were clean and well stocked. There is a store with ice and the basics on site. It's like you have some conveniences, but still feel like your out in the country. For those wanting to tour the city of Ruidoso, I believe it's a quick 15 minute drive. In closing I cannot say enough about the camp hosts. Just kind, helpful, bending over backwards to accommodate you. We'll be going back every month! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
We had the best time ever. The people who own the park and the work campers were just great. We enjoyed the bon fire, and being able to have our own fire at night in our fire ring. It was very peaceful and quiet. No TV, no cell phones, and little internet. Just enough to let our family know we were OK. Loved the little stream running through the edge of the park. We'd stay there again. VERY CLEAN bathrooms and showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
I stayed for three nights at this park. We found it very crowded but expected that at time of trip. They were very helpful working with us to select a site rather than just assign something. We stayed right by bonito stream and our two small children enjoyed the wildlife and outdoors. We found the price very reasonable and would suggest selecting a trailer site on the outside perimeter so you can see more. We would recommend this site and will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Lovely place - quiet, shaded. No extra amenities, like Wi-Fi or cable, but you can't expect them in the hollow! We had an uneven site, so be sure to bring enough levelers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Overall, we quite enjoyed our stay here and will come back. They have 2 washers & dryers and several showers, although for the shy folks, be warned that there is no private dressing area. A couple of tiny hairs in the stalls but nothing to fret about and the toilet and floor area were nice and clean. There is a small store in the office, which closes early. They DO have ice and wood. NO cell phone reception! The strangest thing was that the owners said they only had a couple of spots available and after hours only posted about 3 sites available for late arrivals without reservations (self-serve); BUT the place was virtually empty!!! And we had a hard time getting hold of them by phone ahead of time to make reservations, so we just showed up. Then they acted like they hardly had room for us. This was on a Monday, and there were NO others tenters at the time and only about 4 RVs. They said we had to leave by Friday. Even when we left the place was still only 20% full, so go figure. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com