220367 User submitted reviews online!!
O'Bannon Woods State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (812) 738-8232
CGID8393

O'Bannon Woods State Park

Camp Information
Sites
281
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   9   7   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
We have stayed here three times in the past. All three times were enjoyable. In the past we were able to attend the Wyandotte Cave guided tours, but the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has closed nearly all the caves in the state in order to protect bats from a disease that is killing them off. However, the tour through Indiana Caves was well worth the price of admission. The sites vary from very level to very unlevel, but most people did not seem to have extreme problems getting them level. The sites in the "A" portion seemed to be the most level. The restrooms were dated, but clean. Trails were poorly marked so that could use improvement. The water park was very nice especially with two grandkids in tow. We were there during the 1850's haypress demonstration and pioneer village reenactment which was interesting, but can't take the place of the cave tours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
The park was very scenic. We stayed at Site 35. When reserving it, we were told that the site was level and that slide-outs were allowed. Upon arriving at our site to set-up, we quickly realized that those statements were not accurate. Our site was not level by any means. In order to level out our 30' travel trailer, we had to lift the camper almost 6 inches just on the door side of the camper to make it level from side to side. Since we have a slide out, due to the trees, we were not able to back all the way into the back of our site. As a result, the steps of RV were not the asphalt pad. There was at least 20" between the ground and our bottom step. This made it VERY DIFFICULT to get in and out of our travel trailer, especially with our 90 pound German Shepard, who had to be lifted up and down the steps each time. It was also dangerous for our 5 year-old. I do NOT recommend this particular site to anyone with a slide-out or a larger RV. It may be okay for pop-ups and for primitive camping. On a positive note, the campground was very nice and the staff was very polite and friendly. The State Park itself has an extremely nice pool with waterslides, kiddie pool, splash area and a nice-sized regular pool. The admission for the pool is only $2/person, which was more than worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
This was a nice state park. Our site was in a wooded area yet had enough space to set up with slides without a problem. We explored the park and visited the nature center. Both the center and the people that work there were wonderful. The pool was great. Very clean with slides and a little snack shop in a large sitting area. The park has many trails. This is a nice place if you want peace and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
We went here over the Labor day holiday. Even though it was full the park did not seem too crowded. The staff was great and were there to ensure you have a great stay. Don't miss the pool, it was great! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
This was our second early spring trip to O'Bannon Woods. The trail hiking was superb. However, just like our visit last year, we had trouble with the park's 30 amp power being inconsistent and fluky. And, check-in was a a bit of a mess. Here's a suggestion: let campers register and pay, then return with their site selection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
This was our first stay in our new trailer and we really enjoyed the quiet and peaceful surroundings of O'Bannon Woods. We were back in the 200's of the campground well away from the high traffic areas of the park. One draw back from that is that for the first time in my camping history (or that of any of my family and friends) we had a theft at our campsite during the night. Someone came onto our site and stole our bug light. This kind of dampened our spirits for a few, but we moved on and had a great time. The pool is a wonderful get away, BUT, GET THERE EARLY in order to even get a chair! The park was not at 100% capacity yet the pool was almost standing room only. The water slides were fun for both young and old. Some of the campsites would be tight for backing in large rigs, the roadways are a little narrow, and some trees could be removed for ease of parking a rig. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will return for camping fun, but we will definitely lock up our bug light! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
O'Bannon Woods is a large campground, but the sites are packed close together with little landscaping between. We were here early Spring with few other campers around, but can guess it would feel crowded in the summer. Campsites are quite small: 35-40' concrete pad with a picnic table crammed next to it. We saw fifth-wheelers that had to park their truck in a second site because the pads are so small. Most sites are not very level. Communal water faucets are scattered around the campground. Direct water hook-up is not available. Despite all these drawbacks, we truly enjoyed O'Bannon because of the wonderful hiking trails, two of which can be accessed from the campground. Rocky Ridge Trail was especially spectacular with its unusual rock formations and numerous springs. We will return here to just to hike that trail! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
This CG has 4 sections (A,B,C,D). D section is for horse camping. Each section has a bathhouse. If you like to camp in the woods this is the CG for you. They have over 20 miles of trails, and looks like the pool is not much older than a year or two. The reasons for not rating a 10: you still have to pay a fee when camping (extra $7), and for some reason the water in the showers could not be adjusted: too cold or too hot. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com