220443 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Colorado City State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (325) 728-3931
CGID8403

Lake Colorado City State Park

Camp Information
Sites
128
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   1   4   7   7   7   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
A great state park gem that has been abandoned by the local since the lake is drought stricken. If your idea of a relaxing time is no crowds, open spaces to let the kids roam while you read your book, this state park is for you. You can tell it had its heyday when the lake was accessible, but don't let that keep you away. We were glad to stumble upon it by accident and are already planning our return trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
We stopped in here on our way to Ruidoso NM and it's pretty much like I remembered it, dry and desolate. I really wonder why the state keeps this park open, we arrived on Saturday afternoon and there were 2 other campers in the entire park. I guess the lake being so low is keeping people away. Anyway, the site we got did have a fairly large tree on it, the staff said it was the most popular site. The sites are spread way out, ours was a pull through (#49) and fairly level side to side. Electric and water were fine. We scoped out the bathrooms and showers: they were spotless as usual. Park is very quiet. Not bad for a stopover, but it's about 6 or 7 miles off of I-20. We'll probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$23
The rangers at this park are very friendly and helpful. We practically had the whole place to our self due to the fact that the lake is so low because of the drought in the area. The area is typical west Texas with mesquite trees and scrub brush. The sites with water and electric hook up are easy to get to, as is the dump station. This would be a great place to use for family reunions because it has such wide open spaces and the day areas are not fully utilized. It was very peacefully and a great place to get away from it all. I will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
Rude, lazy, and unhelpful staff. Unlevel pull through sites. Even when park has 5% occupancy, the staff assigned the campsite right next to others. Grounds are covered in cactus and prickly plants so pets can only walk on asphalt road. Dangerous low weight limit bridge from I-20 south to park on west side of the lake. I recommend accessing park from east side of the lake even though staff gave west side directions, if you must stay here. Wi-Fi never worked. No ice available to purchase from ice machine at the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
Park managed well. Restrooms not up to very high standard. Was told and saw review comment that there was Wi-fi, but there was none. People in office were no help and just said maybe we just weren't in a good spot. Our "pull through" site was not very level and more of a driveway. Park completely empty but all five occupants were placed very near each other and could have been spaced much farther apart. We would not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
This is a bare-bones park that served us well for a single night passing through. The rate reflects $22 for the site (including electricity) plus $8 for 2 adult entry fees. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$11
This is a well maintained state park, our rate reflects a Texas State Park Pass ($70 this year) which is a bargain. The facilities we very well maintained, we had a lake front view. The power plant on the lake has closed and the formerly warm lake waters that used to provide abundant fishing has now dropped so low that the boat ramp is 30 feet from the water. It's a shame because it's a very nice park with very few visitors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
This state park was well kept and well staffed. The park staff was very friendly and patrolled the park regularly, even at night. The sites were mostly level but the driveways were a bit overgrown. Power and water at each site was working well. The bathrooms were very clean, and while they were a bit dated, they were well maintained and had plenty of hot water. There were no shaded sites, but just about every site had a couple of small trees with good shade for the afternoon. The lake was low, but the swim beach and one fishing dock were still very usable. The playground was extremely dated (think 1970s vintage), but the kids don't care. The hiking trail along the lake was decent and fun for the kids. Overall I think this was a good state park to visit, but not necessarily a repeat for us. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$23
Our 11th RV site on this trip. My overall rating of 6/10 is the lowest rating on this trip. Very remote with not much to do. Wonderful weather sunny mid 60's to mid 40's. We found a great "hole in the wall" Mexican Restaurant (Mi Ranchito), Great Food. Restrooms were reasonably clean but had no hand soap, only water and a blow hand drier. The sites are level and maintained, however they are covered with Sand Spurs". We spent a lot of our time pulling the spurs out of our dog's paws. The parks is will patrolled. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$11
The price we paid reflects the Texas St. Park pass coupon. Texas State Parks charge a per/person daily entrance fee in addition to the camping fee ($15/night at this park). We purchased the TSPP for $60 which covers the per/person entrance fee and gives you 4 coupons each good for 50% off the 2nd night's camping fee. We camped in the Rolling Hills Loop which had limited lake views, and water/electric hookups. The Lakeview Loop has lake frontage but water-only hookups. We had the whole park to ourselves with the exception of one other camper on the first night. It was very quiet, just crickets and coyotes. Rangers made regular rounds and were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
The night we were here, there were only 3 rigs in attendance. Couldn't see any of them. Located only about 7 miles from I-20. VERY quiet and DARK! Nicely laid out with paved sites and plenty of room between them. Very friendly rangers. Locked at 10pm, open at 8am. Verizon 3g coverage for internet, AT&T Edge coverage for cell phone. Only down sides: very little shade in summer, outdated restrooms and showers w/no shower curtains. Worked ok though and was clean. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$23
We just stayed one night. It was the only RV park that wasn't full from Odessa to Colorado City the night we came through. We came in after dark and left as soon as they opened the gate so we don't know too much more than the basics about the place. They lock the gate to the park at 10:00 pm and open it at 8:00 am. (We arrived at 9:45 after 12 hrs on the road. Just made it, whew!) Sites were level but no shade. They had picnic tables at each site with coverings on them which was nice. The park is quiet and secluded but not far at all from I-20. The only negative is that there were no shower curtains in the men's bath house. (why? not sure.) Don't know about the women's. There is a dump station but no sewer hookups. The cost was $15 for 1 night at 30 amp back-in site and $4 admission per person. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com