223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Blanco State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (830) 833-4333
CGID8422

Blanco State Park

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   7   9   10   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$23
Beautiful park. There is only 1 or 2 pull-thrus. Most are back-in. Lots of shade. We could see the river from our site. Very level, good electric and water pressure. This park stays full, so make reservations early. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
A well kept park that is very quiet and peaceful during the weekdays. Power was good as well as water pressure. Wi-Fi worked very well. We would stay here again if we were in the area. Staff friendly and helpful. Sites fairly level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$17
This is a well-maintained, scenic, little park. It has a lot of shade trees, and the facilities are convenient and clean. The river is a short walk from the camping area. We arrived on a Sunday, and the day-use facilities were packed with people, some of them loud and confrontational. The RV camping area had no such issues. We will stay there again, but most likely not on a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
It is a beautiful, quiet park only 45 minutes from San Antonio and one hour from Austin. If you wish to tour Hill Country, this is the place to be. The staff are incredibly helpful and the sites are inexpensive but nice. The Wi-Fi is a bit weak unless you are close to the washroom. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$23
We had purchased the Texas State Park annual pass for $70 which gave us four 1/2 price camping nights. Without the pass, there is an additional day use fee of between $4 and $8 per person per day which makes the camping rates at the state parks too high. Our site was #6, a FHU 50 amp paved back in site. There are some low hanging branches to watch out for in the park. Sites and roads are tight for big rigs. There was free wi-fi available, but it was quite slow. This is a great location for visiting Hill Country attractions including the Johnson historical sites. Swimming is available in the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
Beautiful, well maintained state park. Many mature trees and the Blanco River flowing clear and cool make this park a definite place to return. There are many examples of the work of the CCC during the Depression. The hiking trails along the river are as tough or as easy as you want. The RV sites are "back in" graveled, and level. The roads in the park are well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
Excellent park, clean, well kept. Sites are smaller/closer together than what we normally experience at Texas State Parks. Park staff very friendly. If you fish, check the calendar for dates when the river is stocked. We just happened to be there the day after it was stocked with Trout...the kids had a great time catching their limits. Would definitely go back, it is probably a great place to go in the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Park staff was very friendly. Sites were level and had a covered picnic table. The Blanco River could have used a little more flow on it but the drought in Texas has been bad. Water was still very nice and not very far to walk down to the river from our RV. I would recommend this park and we will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
Love this state park. Wonderful, huge,paved sites under gorgeous live oaks. Covered picnic tables, campfire pit with grill at each site. You are not on the river, but it is an easy walk to the river and to walk up and down near it. Restrooms are in great condition and are kept spotless. The showers have plenty of pressure and hot water. Area is quiet, but you can walk to many fine dining places in 5-10 minutes. We will definitely be back. All the full hook up sites are very good, but I like ours best which was site 7. Sites 2-5 seemed to get afternoon sun and were hotter while 7,8 and 9 stayed in shade the entire day. The only bad thing I have to say about this park is that there were not any hiking trails to speak of. But for a campground experience it was tops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
The rate is with a Texas state park pass so we did not have to pay the per person entrance fee. This park is on the Blanco River and you can walk into town, though it is a bit of a hike. Park is nice, but the spaces are a little closer together than many state parks so more of an RV park feeling than a state park so marked it down to a 9 from an otherwise 10. Restrooms were up to date and clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
Great place to stay the only negative I have is the 14 day limited stay and we had to park our tow dolly in a parking area because there was not enough room at the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
This is a great State Park. This was a second visit to Blanco SP. All of the sites here are nice and well spaced. The sewer hook is extra nice. It had just rained so the river was really flowing. The park rangers had also just completed a very nice bird blind for all of you birding fans to enjoy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$10
This park is immaculate, not so much as a scrap of paper on the ground. The grounds are manicured and the showers and restrooms are spotless. This is my first State Park visit, but if they are all as nice as this one, I'll be back many times. An annual pass for $60 gets you and all in your vehicles in, free plus coupons good for 4 nights of free camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Very neat park with awesome frontage on the Blanco River. Swimming and relaxing in river suitable for all ages. Restrooms very clean. Friendly staff and park hosts. Best trip yet this summer. 2nd summer trip and we will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$23
Park is clean, like all Texas state parks we've stayed in. The town is small but not far from several larger towns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$17
Lovely old campground built by the CCC: flowing river, huge sites with all the amenities, strong and free Wi-Fi, walkable to town/restaurants, quiet. Free fishing (and loaner equipment), some good geocaches, convenient to lots of interesting touring. As we drove around the area, we saw a lot of parking-lot CGs, and we were so happy to be at this nice little state park. We will definitely stay here again next time we pass through Hill Country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Camp ground was very small and the water was not swim-able We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Clean, well run, friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$12
This was our second stay after visiting briefly last year. The rate reflects the monthly rate of $375, which is an increase from last year and is not justified by the park services. A nice park, with large live oak and spacious sites, fairly quiet, and friendly park hosts. Each site has a concrete pad and picnic table, fire ring, and lantern post. The river is stocked with 6" trout and fishing in the park is free, with loaner rods and reels at the office. The free WiFi was not usable during the entire month. Water pressure is very high, and the water is very hard. The town of Blanco has a few restaurants (try the bowling alley pie), and a supermarket is located a mile south of town. A very nice stay, but there are less expensive monthly rates with better services elsewhere. We'd stay short term here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$21
I guess I'm the fly in the ointment. We came to Blanco State Park to fly fish, as Texas Parks and Wildlife Department releases trout in the Blanco River in December, January and February. There were so many great reviews we found no choice but to book a site in the park. This is a good place to camp if you are only passing through; otherwise, not if you are staying. I gave it a 6 only because it's nice enough for an overnight. The last reviewer was right on with the friendly, helpful staff including park host. The sites are dusty (not paved, mostly asphalt that needs resurfacing) and very skinny between concrete curbs that line the parking space on both sides. The park has more of the feel of a nice RV resort where you have space between the other sites but you are definitely in the mix and can see every other camper. The bathrooms were less than desirable. There is a combination lock for the showers; however, when I started to key in the numbers, the door just pushed open. The shower curtains were very mildewed and only hung from a couple of hooks. The bathroom portion was stifling hot, and the shower room was so cold I couldn't get the water hot fast enough. The shower head needed Teflon tape on it because the water spewed everywhere. When I'm on the road, I like a nice large shower compared to my nice, but small shower in the 5th wheel. We're here for 5 nights and the rest of our showers will be in the trailer. In the winter months you can stay for a month which ties up otherwise nice campsites - I still like the old 2-week rule. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
Stayed here a week during Thanksgiving and enjoyed the park. The water is down due to drought conditions so fishing is not good. I would consider this a great summer park but there is not much to do in the winter especially with no fishing.Great host and very friendly staff.Sites are a bit close together. Park has Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
Beautiful area with the most helpful friendly staff i have ever encountered. The sites (dusty and small) are not as good as some other Texas State Parks but definitely worth a stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
We had a great experience at Blanco State Park which is located in Blanco, Texas about 60 miles west of Austin. The park is probably the smallest state park (about 100 acres) we have visited in Texas. All of the sites appeared to be shaded and level. There are two camp site loops. Sites 1-10 are all full hookups. Sites 11 - 31 have some full hookup and some water and electricity only. On the 11-31 loop, the sites on the inside (11, 12, 14, 16, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 31) are full hookup. We camped on site 27 which was level and shady. All of the sites are spread out so you have a fair bit of distance between you and your neighbors. All of the facilities at the park were very well maintained and very clean. I spoke with the park host, Alton Bell, and he said he had been the park host each year for about 3 to 6 months for the past 9 years. That says a lot about the park and its employees. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back again. Since the park is small and close to Austin and San Antonio it is usually booked so make your reservations well in advance of your stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
This park is phenomenal. Sites are large with plenty of elbowroom between you and your neighbors. Each picnic table is under a shelter which makes making meals in the Texas sun much more enjoyable. Smaller children may like swimming in the concrete “pool” that is next to the dam, but do yourself a favor, and go down about 300 yards west from the bridge and on the south side of the river is a great place for children of all ages to play in the water, from toddler to teenagers, the water varies in depth to accommodate all. Kayaks, canoes and tubes make this a great place to camp; there are several stores within walking distance in case you forget something. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
The park is an excellent getaway, no matter what time of year you go. We enjoyed bike riding through the park. The sites were spacious and very private. The restrooms/showers were very clean. There are lots of trees for shade. This was our third time there in less than a year. When we camped there during the summer the kids enjoyed the pool and the river. The staff is extremely friendly. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
This is beautiful state park on the river on the south end of Blanco. The full hookup sites are arranged in a large loop with lots of huge live oak trees but with a center clearing for satellite dishes. Power, water, and sewer are available in the loop and in some of other sites. Beautifully landscaped with fire rings, volleyball court, and no-license required fishing. Quiet, with lots of birds and very little traffic noise. The park staff was very friendly. Nearby is the LBJ home and ranch, and shopping and restaurants are all within an easy drive. Get the Texas Parks Pass ($60/year) to avoid the daily entrance fee of $3 per person. A great place; we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com