220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Sands RV and Golf Resort (55+ Park) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (760) 251-1030
CGID8467

Sands RV and Golf Resort (55+ Park)

Camp Information
Sites
520
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   3   10   9   7   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
The only aspect of this park that kept me from rating it as 10 is that it is located on the north side of the Palm Springs area where the winds are sometimes brutal. If one could be sure that there would be no wind storms it would be a place to spend the entire winter. Maybe we're just wusses. Apart from the wind issue, this is an excellent RV park and good for overnight or long term. The pool and spa/hot tub are both good as are the showers. We were there at the end of the snowbird season and invited to the wind-up dance. Great fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$26
Rate based on monthly rate plus electricity. We asked for Internet when making the reservation, were told it works fine at all sites. Not so. It's Tengo and in our site it didn't work at all. We had to walk to the pool area. Sites are spacious, but with the set up of the hookups in the middle, there is lost space. Hedges between the sites for privacy. Sites not too level, need to fill up gravel. Well maintained, nice pool and spa area. Only 2 showers for the ladies, dated but clean. The guide to our site was very friendly, the receptionists gave us more the feeling of a doctors office. Nice 9 hole golf course. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$33
The rate reflects our first time stay 9 nights for the price of 7. The staff were very friendly and helpful apart from the guy who showed us to our site and he was rather grumpy. We would have given a higher overall rating if the Internet had been better but it was not good although it did improve a little by the end of our stay. It was TengoInternet, which we have used often and is usually good, the staff although friendly and helpful in other ways did not want to help sort the problem and said to contact TengoInternet, which we did not want to do. There are many park model homes but all nicely attended. The sites are all back-in but wide and we really liked the hedging between sites, which gave great privacy. There is a very good nine hole golf course and a driving range, pool and two spas and clubhouse, good library and games available. There are lots of organized events but no pressure to join. The Sands is situated fairly convenient for visiting Palm Springs and Joshua Tree National Park, which was the main reason for our stay. We would certainly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$42
If you like sitting in a wind tunnel then this is the place for you. The sites are OK but fairly narrow due to the positioning of the electrical and water hook up. Your rig will end up being in the middle of the lot and therefore wasting space on both sides. The Tengo Internet is very poor and the park is at best 1/5th full. The golf course is very nice as is the pool . The staff are very friendly and helpful but the park is old and could use a facelift. The gym isn't state-of-the art and could use new equipment. The dog areas are good with nice grassy runs suitable for larger dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$21
This is a special monthly rate, plus add elec (ours was $85). Very nice place, really geared to the long-season rv traveler. Mostly Canadian folks. Many daily activities scheduled. Only downside is the wind; we would have a couple of good days, then we would get cold wind blowing as much as 10-30 mph! Ugh. Beautifully maintained. 9 hole golf course, and really nice pool and hobby/meeting room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$46
Would have given it a 10, if it wasn't for the tight sites. Though hubby had no problem backing in. Loved the palm trees separating each site, and the view was awesome. It was our first time to the area and the park is convenient to everything. Very clean and neat, with awesome dog areas. Golf course was a great warm-up course. We will definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
Overall, really good park. Sites are "square on" to the road which can make it difficult to park up. Facilities are very good and plenty to do if you want. Tendency to focus more on "permanent" residents rather than overnighters, plenty of park models on-site. WI-FI can rate from excellent to virtually non-existent dependent on number of sites filled. Pay particular attention to re-booking and/or refund policies if you intend to stay here or return here before you commit as you may get caught out as some friends of ours did. Won't be back again as very cold and extremely windy this season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$23
Rate is based on monthly discount plus metered electric (11 cents/kw). Stayed for 5 weeks. Friendly residents. Large majority are park models, with nightly rv sites spread among the park. Interior roads are narrow..,making backing in to your site a challenge. Our 40' fifth wheel took a fair amount of maneuvering to get it right. Power posts/water etc are dead center in space..about 5 feet into your site, which makes it even more of a challenge to set your rig just right. Lots are really designed for future park models. Each lot has a palm tree in the front corners of each lot making it even more of a challenge..but we made it without damage. Bear in mind that Desert Hot Springs is in a wind tunnel. It can be very windy here, when the wind hardly blows just 20 minutes down the road in Palm Springs proper. Quiet park. Security patrols. Gated. Pool is great and comfortably warm. 2 jacuzzis. Great public rooms, billiards, game room, banquet hall(s) and plenty of activities if you wish to participate. Golf course was good and fairly priced. Stores/food/fuel etc all within the area albeit California prices which are high. We would return if coming back to the area as the price is reasonable compared to parks in Palm Springs/Indio, Coachella valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
This is a very nice park, very friendly staff and helpers. A lot of nice people here for the winter. Dog parks (they do have a couple) are very nice. The pool is nice and large and 90 degrees. The two large hot tubes are 97 degrees and 104 degrees. the entire grounds are always nice, clean, tidy and spotless. They have many activities to participate in if you chose to. Sites all have nice tall hedges between them and are about 50' long x 35' wide gravel site with concrete parking spot for truck or toad. Streets are blacktop. Beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. The Wi-Fi works good from anywhere in the park and they have cable included that has about 75 channels. The rate is based on monthly stay as we will be here for 2 months, many of the people here stay 5 or 6 months. WE WILL BE BACK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
Superior facilities: golf, pool, spa, laundry, and the cadillac of dog parks with huge fenced in grassy area. Sites were tight: short and narrow with large gravel and fairly level. Nice hedges along both sides of site for some privacy. Wi-Fi was very good but park was pretty empty. Water pressure very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
This is a GOLF and RV resort, with beautiful 9-hole course plus tennis, pool, horseshoes, putting green and pool tables. We just held rally here for 17 coaches from Tucson and the park was wonderful!! Cooperation & assistance from management was excellent, and the sites were all together and very nice. We had sole use of a full-service kitchen/TV/dining hall that was the best we've used anywhere. I would give this RV park the highest recommendation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$41
This is a nice place. It is close to Palm Springs but away from the crowds. Very nice people at the front desk. Lots of snowbirds and permanent residents. The spaces are large but hard to back into because the streets are not very wide. The pool and golf course looked nice, although we didn't use them. We did use the laundry which was just fine. There are some cute restaurants in Desert Hot Springs and be sure to go on the wind farm tour. Overall, a good value for the Palm Springs area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$22
Beautiful park in a great area, only minutes to Palm Springs. Good water pressure, level sites, each site separated by hedges from neighbor, plenty wide for sitting out & BBQ. Lots of Canadians camp here, very friendly people. Sites are a little tricky to back into but once there, you will love it. Great heated pool and two hot tubs, which are little used. Has on site golf course, although we don't golf. Rate reflects monthly rate. Hope to get back here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
We stayed here for the month of January and really enjoyed this park. The Wi-Fi was fantastic, much better than anything we have had in the past. A big plus is the fenced dog park. It is very large and grassed and we found it to be very clean. The biggest drawback at this park is the sites. They are very hard to back into and the power posts are in non friendly positions which cause you to have lots of wasted space. The golf course is wonderful. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There are lots of long term residents and they were extremely welcoming. There is only one washroom and shower building but the exercise walking there in the wonderful sun is well worth it. The garbage is on the road in so is easy to stop at. We would definitely return to this wonderful RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2012
$37
I cannot recommend staying at this RV resort. First problem is the sites are very difficult to back into. Second, the loud music across from the resort went on some nights to 11:30 pm while we were there. Third, the wi-fi via Tengo Internet which this resort uses is very poor. If you have used Tengo in the past you've probably had bad experiences. Fourth, there is one small shower facility for the entire park. Finally, Desert Hot Springs, where this resort is located, is quite a distance away from the Palm Springs / Indio area. We burned a lot of fuel traveling back and forth each day. In the future I would pay the extra money and get a resort within the Palm Springs / Indio area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$46
Things we liked about the park: gated security, host assistance with back in to a very tight, small space. Things we were disappointed in: restrooms and garbage were a long way from where we were located. This is a large park, and there is one place you can use the showers or empty the garbage. Lots of long termers here. We also noted that although the rules about cleaning up after your dog sounded strict, there was a lot of evidence that they were not enforced. We were backed up to a small space on a quite busy road. Think we would explore another park in the area since we do not golf. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$39
3rd time back at Sands. This place gets better each passing year. Checked-in, host escorted me to my site. After a short setup, I was ELATED at the Wi-Fi performance!! Netflix worked perfectly in HD. Enjoyed the dog park, but passed on golf this visit. Park is good enough to stop back on the way up north, so we will golf in March. Excellent course if memory serves. Overall the atmosphere is great. 55 plus park, so lots of fun people to meet. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
Mixed thoughts about this park. Some nice recreational facilities: a short golf course, pool, exercise room, pool. Very popular with snowbirds. However, RV sites are tight and difficult to get in. Had no room at side of trailer. One restroom only for over 500 sites. We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$40
Roads and sites are paved. Good utilities, Wi-Fi, and nice staff. Sites are narrow with hedges between each site. Pretty challenging to navigate and back-in a 45ft. MH. Many camp models and permanent living with the RV sites mixed in. Probably try another Park next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$39
GREAT park with GREAT people. Family owned and managed. Pay for a week (7) days and get 9 days. That is 2 days free. Close to Palm Springs and shopping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$32
This is a great park, especially if you play golf. The landscaping is very nice and the setting is quite pretty. This being the winter, the place is full of snowbirds. Many of them are from Canada and other cold places. The seasonal folks are very friendly to the overnight people and the park models and other RV's that are here permanently are well kept. The Wi-Fi is free and works great. The hookups are fine. The sites are fairly small and only back ins. Also ours was not level since the road was sloped. Passenger side was higher than driver's side even with leveling blocks. Since we were only staying two nights, we chose to put up with it. But if you are coming, bring plenty of leveling materials since many streets appear to be slightly sloped. If there were pull though sites and the sites were more level I would give this park a 10. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$32
Hedges between the sites allowed for max privacy. Beautiful clubhouse and activity rooms. Pool was wonderful: enjoyed the water aerobics. So many interesting activities although I didn't participate in many. Biggest and best laundry room I've ever seen. Beautiful golf course, can walk to it. Liked the mix of RV sites and Park Models: some are rentable. Had family staying in one, while I was in an RV site. Very convenient for all. I am a solo traveler and felt completely safe in this park. Gated, security patrols at night. Friendly and helpful staff. Can't say enough nice things about this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
The resort was great, the gym facility excellent, grounds very well kept but quite a small pool given the size of the park. The sites were small but adequate room for outdoor living. Would return to this park if it were anywhere else. The winds were constant for the 9 days we were here with the exception of one day. We were first time visitors so paid for 7 days and got 2 free. Staff friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
Our rate reflects a monthly rate. We enjoyed this campground. Though the campsites were fairly close, there was a hedge between each site and we hardly saw or heard our neighbors except when we were outside and talking with them. Did I feel squeezed, certainly not. Did I have privacy, I certainly did. This resort revolves around golf and the course always appeared full of players, well groomed though I do not play golf. There is an exercise room, a pool, tennis courts, several dog walks (washes between streets) a very nice clubhouse with a game room and another quiet room for reading or computer work. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the grounds crew kept the place nicely groomed. It is an active campground with people biking, walking, golfing, etc. We loved seeing everyone always about. There are several active hiking clubs and organized hikes at least twice per week. There was a nice mix of park models, monthly and seasonal renters and clubs. Would we go there again, in a New York minute. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
We received a 3 month special rate. Pool area was very nice as was the club house buildings. Doggy park was excellent - huge, gated with grass. Sites were an odd setup because electric, water was in middle of site with tall bushes on sides. The wind was horrible and rattled RV several days a week. The park was very isolated from fine dining and shopping about a 30/40 minute drive but grocery stores were nearby. The park needed to have better winter entertainment. Not enough dinner type (with cost) get together or potlucks. Needed more Saturday night dances not like New Years Eve which ended at 10:30pm and had a horrible band. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$21
We love the Sands RV and Golf Resort. The golf course is being well maintained and you can walk it which makes for good exercise. The pool area is lovely and we enjoy the water aerobics as well as other fun events they provide. There is something for everyone at the Sands. Friendly staff, comfortable club house and friendly people who stay there. In 2011 it will be our 6th winter vacation at the Sands. Thanks Sands for a lovely winter place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
We spent 4 months in this park. The amenities are very nice. Has a well equipped exercise room, nice pool and 2 large hot tubs, beautiful game room and lounge. Golf course, but we don't golf so can't give a good evaluation for that, but it looked well maintained. Has a beautiful, 1 acre fenced, grassy dog park. Has nice staff. The sites are fairly small for big rigs and the wind can be troublesome. Of the 4 months we were here, March and April were the worse for wind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$37
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Friendly people. Nice golf course, pool table, clubhouse, pool and laundry. Wi-Fi could have been better and would have given a higher score if it was. Showers clean but the room was cold in the morning. Nice privacy hedges between sites. We will return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2010
$42
This is not an RV resort - this is a trailer park. The sites were ridiculously small - I've stayed at many places across the U.S. and have never seen any this narrow and shallow. In order to reach the power and water we were backed in so far that I could reach out and touch the rig behind me. Of course, we were still almost on the street - the very narrow street. The staff was no help in backing in our travel trailer telling us that they had no experience in doing so. This was a wretched experience for which I was charged a very high rate. All of the facilities were at the very front of the Park - over nighters were all placed at the very back of the grounds. It would have been necessary to drive 1/2 mile in order to use the pool and spa. Unless you enjoy being on top of your neighbors or you're interested in purchasing a park model, I can't recommend this park to you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
This park is okay, if you are here for the amenities that they offer. These desert resorts are all pretty much the same. We were doing other things in the area and just needed a place to spend a couple of nights, and it worked well for that. Their after hours check-in needs some help. A resident, coming in at the same time, let us in the gate but there was no information, map or directions left at the office. We finally unhooked our jeep and drove around the park until we found security. The gentleman was very nice and helpful, but the site we were assigned in our reservation was occupied. He helped us find another site and about two hours later we finally got settled. The sites are not very level. We needed blocks under our jacks. They are also extremely tight for a big rig to get in and out of without clipping trees or other landscaping. The park is quiet, clean and well-maintained and the staff was friendly. It met our needs, but I doubt that we would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$28
We stayed here for two months in an upgraded or premium site. We had a nice view of the desert and mountains from the rear lounge of our 5th wheel. Sites are private separated by hedges. Standard sites back up to each other, but are quite wide. The park was in very nice condition, well maintained by a friendly staff. The golf course was in excellent condition and the Pro-Shop was very considerate. The pool and spa were very nice and well maintained. A very pet friendly park with lots of places to walk the dog. We will stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$37
This is a very pleasant park. We planned to stay for three days and ended up staying a month. The spaces are not overly wide but are very private with tall hedges between sites. Lots of areas to walk the dog and even though I prefer full size golf courses, this course was a pleasure to play. Typically the RV sites are in one section of the park and a bit separate from the park models. The WI-FI is free through Tengo but is the reason I wouldn't give full marks to this park. The WIFI connection was, at times, quite erratic (perhaps 10% of the time) and given that I need the service for business, I found this some what frustrating. Lastly, we never felt any less secure here then at any other park. Having said all of that, I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$32
We loved this RV Park! We were originally booked in for 2 weeks and extended our stay to 2 months(Feb. & Mar. 2008). The park is nicely landscaped with lots of palm trees, plants and places to walk dogs. It has a great swimming pool/spa and recreation complex, too. The 9 hole golf course is very nice and reasonably priced. It is a very quiet park as it is well off I-10, yet it is only a 10 minute drive into Palm Springs. The park has free Wi-Fi at all sites, and cable TV is available. All the streets are paved, and the sites are gravel and fairly level. Tall shrubs separate most of the sites so there is some privacy. We found the sites to be quite normal in size and never felt we were crowded at all. We have already booked for another 2 month stay in early 2009. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2008
$33
Nightly rate shown is based on a weekly rate. This is a nice park with a golf course. The sites are small with bushes separating the sites. Our 40' motorhome just fit in the site. The site is sand with a small concrete pad. The concrete pad is on the wrong side of the site so you are walking in and out of the RV through sand while you have a concrete pad for your car on the other side of the RV. The resort is gated with a combination. That security did not work since the back gate was left unlocked and there was a theft from our site one night. I would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com