223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (831) 667-2315
CGID8469

Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park

Camp Information
Sites
218
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   8   2   1   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
Lovely park. We visited in March so not all the camp sites were open. We got the last spot as this is a really popular park. The sites are between the trees so there is a degree of privacy between sites. Our site felt wide and there was a table and fire pit behind our RV. There is a creek that runs by with beautiful clear water. The restrooms were as one would expect from a state park, basic, but clean. There were flush toilets. There is also a small shop at the entrance plus you can buy firewood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
We weren't that impressed with the Rangers. On entry there was no information given about the need to purchase shower tokens and when I bought a trail map I wasn't told of the trails that were closed due to the Dec fires. RV camping is limited in the park. We had site #180 on the main loop - don't expect to be amongst the redwoods. There is a one way system that directs traffic the wrong way. Every RV was having to enter and leave the "wrong" way. We advised the Ranger whose response was "oh well that's camping". It would be very easy to change the one way and would have saved some people terrible parking problems. The best RV sties, which are amongst the Redwoods, are 138, 140 (the best) and 141 on the main loop. The shower tokens are $1 for 5 mins (beware...more like 4 mins) and the fixed temperature is reasonably warm. But, because the shower head (in the ladies) is so high (7') it is a cool mist by the time it hits you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
$35 for regular site (RV and Tent same price), on the river $50. Dry camping only with free dump station at the entrance. A really nice state park. Sites are close together. Friendly staff and rangers. Laundry and showers pretty clean considering the amount of people using them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
This was a great park to stay in. Beautiful redwood trees and a river running through the park. Great hiking trails but dogs are not allowed on them. Quiet at night and you could here the river. Some spots were close together and with kids it could get noisy during the day. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Parts of the campground have some very nice sites located in the older growth woods, but seem to be mostly sized for tents or small campers. Our site 159, did accommodate our 32 footer, but was basically a gravel pull-in lot with no appeal. Not worth the rate charged compared to other places we have stayed. One section of the campground is closed due to a landslide. Newer bathrooms/showers look nice but were far from our site. Did not check out the older ones. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2009
$
This park (camping and day use) is closed and will be for a minimum of several more months due to a fire last year. Pfeiffer Falls and all hiking trails in the area are also closed. (I did not stay at the park since it is closed, and the 1 rating is only to alert you not to go to this park without confirming it is re-opened.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
I really liked this park and its easy to see why it is so popular. Seems really tight for larger rigs but for smaller units what a jewel. The wifi only works close to the concession store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Paved interior roads. Each site has picnic table and fire ring. Water spigots throughout campground. Most spots in dense shade. Campground store with laundry facilities though now store open only on Friday and Saturday. Many spaces far apart allowing for lots of privacy. Only a few spaces have asphalt pads for parking rig and most spaces require some leveling. Interior roads good for hiking and bike riding. Wi-Fi available from AT&T at $7.99 day. Information says should be 150-200 feet from Visitor Center. I got Excellent signal morning after arriving and paid fee and logged on, though far away from Visitor Center. Log-on lasted for about six hours and could never reconnect. Some of smaller spaces designated for tents though tents are also allowed in spaces designated for motorhomes. Restrooms throughout campground ranging from fairly modern to rustic that appears to be a throwback to bygone years. When there about 50% occupied and very quite and peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
Would recommend. Can be cool and damp. Lots of shade. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com