214868 User submitted reviews online!!
Bolivar Peninsula RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (409) 684-0939
CGID8482

Bolivar Peninsula RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   2   7   6   7   9   9   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$21
We stayed here for a week; the spaces are fairly roomy but there are tons of clover burs that will cling to your feet and your pet if you have one. The wi-fi is only available close to the office, cell service was good if you have your own wifi. There are a lot of workers there but the sites do not look too bad except for a couple. The staff if nice and helpful. It is very convenient to the beach and to the ferry but as we looked around there were a couple of nicer parks in the area. This is a PA park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Nice quiet clean park. Laundry facility, free ice, WI-Fi connection fair. Paid weekly rate of $168.00 plus $20.00 for 3 adults and 3 children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Two nights was enough. The site is pretty with the pond, but there are no trees and there were many red ant nests that were supposed to be dealt with but weren't. The Wi-Fi did not work as promised. The bathroom/showers were in 2 raised trailers. And water accumulated on the shower floors, making it slippery and unsanitary. There was a $2.00 charge per shower. There was no lighting near these trailers at night. The required "beach pass" for $10., was said to be useful for Galveston county beaches as well as the local ones. The closest beach was filthy, with garbage cans overflowing and garbage littering the beach. The pass money was said to help keep the beaches clean, but this one certainly was not appealing. And we didn't find any county beaches in Galveston, it was either pay $8-$10., or park on the waterfront if you could find a spot. (We couldn't). The office person was very pleasant but 5 years after Ike, priorities like proper bathrooms and showers should have been built. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
This park is built around a very large pond and is quite pleasant. We paid the Passport rate of $15, which is available only on weekdays. The top end of the pond is occupied by permanent campers and is rather junky. But there are numerous sites near the office that have full services and free WiFi. Unfortunately, the beach is hard to access. It's too far to walk and if you drive, you need a $10 annual parking permit. It rained hard when we stayed here and the mosquitoes came out of the unmowed clover around our site and tried to carry us away. But tonight we're facing the pond/lake and watching a beautiful sunset. There's a nine-hole golf course down the road that is struggling to survive after Hurricane Ike. The manager said we could play all day for $14, including the cart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$16
This is a nice park for a stopover, but contrary to its website, it does not have cable TV. It looks like it used to, but no longer. Also, the Wi-Fi only works if you are very near the office. Finally, and I found this to be very unusual, there was a charge to use the shower. I've paid a quarter at a few municipal parks, but this park charges $2.00 per person, which I found to be excessive. That adds an additional $4.00 per couple, per day, just to shower. Other than that, it was neat, clean, and the lady in the office was very accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
Campground manager very friendly and accommodating. Campground is making a comeback after last hurricane in 2008. Price is PPA. Nice size sites, good location to Galveston. Not much in the area in March since not great beach weather, but very close to beach. Laundry facilities very convenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
This was our second stay here, & I would stay again. Very accommodating hostesses and had no problem adding on another night to our stay. Nice grassy, level sites with gravel driveways/roads. Off the beaten path -- so not even crowded during Spring Break! Some traffic noise from Hwy. 87. Wi-fi was reliable only close to office area. They cater to a number of workers living in FEMA trailers, though. No frills, but a nice, quiet, comfortable place to stay! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
Rate is PPA weekday. Nice campground with pull-in spots overlooking a salt water lake and we could see barges/ships on the ICW in the distance. Good Verizon signal for Wi-Fi and phone. I wouldn't recommend a pull through site - they aren't on the lake and aren't as nice as the pull-in sites. My only complaint about this area (not the campground) is people burn off the marshes on High Island and when the wind is from that direction, the smoke blocks the sun and stinks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
Very friendly and helpful host. Gave a 10% discount as a Senior, but accepts Good Sam, among others. Site was level and on the lake, which is salt water and is open to fishing. We saw several birds during our stroll around it. Quiet and peaceful although it's just off of the highway. Wi-Fi is a bit weak, but with the use of a USB adapter I had a good signal for my Mac. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
Nice manager, large sites most are around a man-made lake. WiFi ok if you are near the office. My big complaint was that I was charged $2 for a hot shower, AND the water was not even hot. It was tepid at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
The park was cleaner and has more sites than noted. We were in site 22 that was supposed to be a pull through, but trees were planted in the way. It was quiet and the staff was friendly. I did notice that portable buildings that house a laundry and bathrooms have been brought in. The park is centrally located between Crystal Beach and the Galveston Ferry. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2009
$24
This park has great potential, but it is not ready to be opened yet. It has been damaged by the last storm and they are trying to rebuild it. There are a couple problems though - the place looks like a construction site with tractors and bulldozers, and they are not done fixing. There are no bathrooms or showers on site. There is no Internet and no cable TV. The camp is not a walking distance from the beach (well, a hike) as they advertise. With a little bit of extra work they can become a great place, but they opened prematurely. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$1
Call first--we failed to recognize the devastation caused by Ike. This park was literally "swept away" in the 17' storm surge when Ike blew in September 2009. Some utilities have since been restored; the few available sites are all taken by refugees and reconstructors. Perhaps by this summer it will be a traveler's resort again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
This is a family friendly park. It has a pond with ducks that our grandchildren love to watch and feed. The hosts are very accommodating and hospitable. Have stayed here numerous times and have always enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
This park in located in Crystal Beach, Texas: NOT Crystal City. It is located on the Bolivar Peninsula east of Galveston Island. The Peninsula is not an island, but a 30 mile long peninsula that runs from Galveston Rhodes waterway (Galveston Ship Channel) east to Wy 124. Texas Department of Transportation provides free ferry service from the east end of the island to the west end of the peninsula. This park is a bare bones park, but is clean and friendly. They do have laundry facilities and restrooms and showers. They also have a newly constructed Pavilion. We have stayed here several times and will certainly return. The small town of Crystal Beach is a typical little beach town with several good seafood restaurants, and some attractions for the kids, although the Gulf Beaches are certainly the draw. The beach is walking distance from the park, but not a short walk. The park is located right off the main beach Wy 87 running east to west. My final comments are that this is a park to which I will return. It is my opinion that the earlier review did not do this park justice. I've never seen any snakes or wild animals and there are kids all around having a great time camping with their families. I do consider their rates a little high, but this is tourist area. They do offer Passport America although they suspend that discount on weekends and holidays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2008
$28
This campground is located in Crystal Beach, Texas which is located on a island across the channel from Galveston. The island has two names. Bolivar Peninsula and also called North Padre Island, not to be confused with more famous South Padre Island. One must take a ferry crossing the channel to arrive in Galveston. The ferry's run 24/7 between Crystal Beach and Galveston. It's approximately 20-30 minutes crossing the channel each way. Waiting time to board the ferry is dependent on traffic. The city of Crystal Beach is very nondescript, small with few services. There is one main general store that combines as a grocery, hardware, gas-station and electronics store. Prices across the board for food, fuel, restaurants, just about everything runs 15-20% higher than in the city of Galveston. The campground is located right off the main highway running the length of the island. The campground is 15-miles from the ferry loading dock. The website to this campground is misleading. There are 4-photos showing the campground, one photo being of a marina or boat dock. This campground is located no where near the river or the ocean. The marina/boat-dock with the boats in the water are of some other place or campground. This is not part of Bolivar Peninsula RV Campground. The ocean beach is 3-blocks away and the river is far behind this campground. Although the staff are friendly and they do provide all utilities; water, sewer, electric the campground has absolutely no amenities at all. There is one small trailer near the back of the campground with 2-washing machines and 2-dryers. There is no club-house, no swimming-pool, no spa/jacuzzi, no bath-rooms, no toilets, no showers, no cable television. It's absolutely imperative one have a fully self-contained unit to stay at this campground. The sites are gravel and uneven. They do have a small man-made lake but no swimming is allowed. The owners are trying to extend the size of this campground and are building to the rear. There are many snakes located in this area and when disturbed can and will come into the campground area and sun near the lake. I cannot in good conscious recommend this campground. Although it is family friendly I would fear for children with so many snakes and wild-life present. There is absolutely nothing on this island for entertainment. No shopping, no malls, no movie-theater, not even a bowling-alley. One must run over to Galveston for just about everything. Crystal Beach does have some nice sea-food restaurants but they cannot compare to the restaurants located on Shore view Drive in Galveston. The island in and of itself is quiet and peaceful. There are other campground located on this island that offer far better services and amenities than this campground. The island is extremely crowded during the summer time, especially during Spring-Break. The ocean beach being the draw. The beach is hard ground and people can drive their vehicles right up to water's edge. The beach is great for surf fishing or running up and down with an off-road ATV's. I would either recommend staying in a campground located in Galveston or staying at the Triple "R" Resort RV Park located in Crystal Beach, Bolivar Peninsula, Texas. I am rating the Bolivar Peninsula RV Park as a (1) POOR. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com