223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Chehaw Park Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (229) 430-5275
CGID850

Chehaw Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   9   9   8   8   9   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Nice shaded campsite. Cool zoo there. We had a bad time since we were so close to a bunch of brush and trees and had a hard time fending off the gnats when we tried to cook. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
Very clean and spacious wide open level sites with a few tall pines. Packed sandy drive through campground. Attentive camp host on first site. Bath house/laundry is concrete block without screening in showers with open decorative blocks which admit bugs. Park is large and has animal preserve/zoo. Park is gated at night but often has events in pavilion adjacent to the campground when the gates would be open to the public after dark. Albany has local broadcast television which has a good signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
Large level lots. Not a concrete campground. Personnel was very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$28
Private facility, not a government associated park. Fantastic. This place has everything that I look for: quiet, convenient, lots of room (largest spaces I have ever seen), tent campers are separate from RV campers, plenty of room for kids to play games. Other attractions include: BMX/Mountain bike track, fishing, walking trail, bike trails. Definitely staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$28
Wow, what a great campground tucked out in the country. We were looking at a place to overnight, and found this place. Wi-Fi works great. Sites are nice and level. The only reason, I didn't rate it a perfect 10 was because there is no cable, and the access roads are a little tight with a big rig. All things considered, would highly recommend this place as a spot to spend a few days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Chehaw State Park is the highlight of Albany, GA. The campground is undergoing upgrades and improving accommodations for larger rigs. The Native American Festival was held the weekend of 14-15 and the check-in process was sort of ridiculous; however, I understand it was probably one of their busiest times. The staff is not familiar with the campground and we were told we would only have 30 amp service in site 19. Luckily, we were greeted by the nicest campground hosts who expertly guided us into the very tight site 19 (which is 50 amp) for our first few nights. Later, we moved to site 4, which is full-hookup. The campground is heavily treed and very serene. Lots of biking/hiking trails, activities and the zoo was fantastic! Wi-Fi was terrific and there is a fire ring at every site. We did not utilize the convenience station. $20/night for electric & water; $28/night for full-hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Name, address;Chehaw 105 Chehaw Park Road Albany GA 31701 229 430 5257 Date;3/25/12 Staff;Register at entrance to park, zoo,pond, plus other things in city park. Staff was very busy and check in was not to smooth, took about 15-20 minutes. They were very busy and only one person to check you in and collect fees for other events. But friendly. Price;approx $20 for electric and water., $28 for FHU. We had 50 amp electric. Site description;We had what was called a pull thru, but we had to back out. There are about 40 sites, 16 listed as pull thrus, some were. There were about 10 full hook ups. We had a lot of room, on site 16. Sizes of sites varied. The sites were laid out between the large pine trees. Must shade. The road into the campground was very dusty, as it was packed dirt. Could be a mess if it rains. We parked on grass. Amenities;The campground had nothing to offer other them a large site, fire ring, peace and quit. Although there were a lot of other activities in the park, they were away from the campground. There is a bath house with clean but not modern showers. Flush toilets. Laundry;There was one w/d in the bathhouse. Phone/Wifi/TV;Our Verizon phone had 3-4 bars. There is wifi with a good signal. Lot of trees for satellite, but we moved our Tailgator around and got a signal. Dog friendly;Yes, acres to walk a dog Night Lighting;Very dark. Only light was at the restroom. Comment;Nice if dry for an overnight stay or short visit. We would avoid if there is rain or they had a recent rain. The wifi I believe is new. There was a antenna just aside of us. It had yellow ribbons making it location. May have just be installed. Our wifi finder showed 4 lights, the highest rating. We didn't use it, so can't comment about its use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
Rate reflects Senior rate. This place is a gem! We hoped to get into the USMC campground but no one answered the phone. So we figured on pulling a night in Wal-Mart. But coming from the west, it was too close to the road for the wife. Wal-Mart on east side of town would have worked. We saw the sign and took a chance. It was late and a security guard pulled up and helped us register. He got us to the campground (winding road was not that bad) and into our site. We leveled up fairly easily. Hooked up and then headed to showers. Restrooms were clean and adequate. Same for showers. Only issue is they have screen doors into bath/laundry facility and screen door into bathroom, but in shower, they have that funky brick work that has openings to the outside with NO screens, so bug get in anyway. Campground was almost empty, it was quiet at night, and we got the rest we wanted. Might want to take a little more time and visit the zoo or restaurant next time. Knowing of this spot, we'll spend the money for a good night's safe sleep next time we are in the vicinity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
The full hook up sites have sewer connections so this may be an upgrade to the campground since the last review. Very nice campground with beautifully maintained wooded areas. We will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Totally agree with the other reviews: it's a little gem. Our criteria for "gem" is whether we can sit outside (shade, grass, space between sites) comfortably and exercise our dog easily. Love the tall pine trees and enormous spaces (and empty sites) in this park AND the $18 fee. However, if you want clean, tidy bathroom facilities, this is not your place. That's why we appreciate having our own if the CG's facilities aren't up to snuff. But lovely natural setting--very state-park-like. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$15
This was a beautiful and quiet park. The roads getting in are a little tight and we had to remove our CB antenna to keep it from hitting their Christmas lights. The large playground is wonderful for small children and the Animal Park is within walking distance of your site. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
This park is one of our favorites. It is a hidden treasure. It is perfect for kids of all ages to enjoy. Inside the park you will find a zoo, a BMX track, and one of the most awesome playgrounds you will ever see! The campground itself is just a pine grove with hook-ups. There is a pavilion in the center that large groups can reserve. It is not far at all to civilization and a Wal-Mart! This is the perfect place to take the family. We have been every year in February for the past 4 years! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$15
Park is very underused. Some 30amp hookups not working, but 50amp were OK. Nice shade. No fie rings or grills. Some sites have concrete picnic tables, some have wooden tables. Parks does not take reservations, but almost never fills up. Very good value. The parks has lots to do. Albany also has some things to see. Will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Park is very nice. Sets on east side of Lake Chehaw, fishing, wild animal park (zoo), small train ride on about a mile of tracks, bike trails, nature trails, boat dock, and has a very nice education center you can rent for large meetings. RV park has a lot of Ga. pines trees. Very low noise in park. Roads around park are new blacktop, roads into RV side are poor and need gravel. The play ground for kids is the best one we have every found. This place has things for everyone to see and do. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com