206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Santa Cruz Redwoods RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (831) 335-8312
CGID8507

Santa Cruz Redwoods RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   9   10   9   10   7   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$43
We stayed one night and found the park to be delightful. We had a river view site (by pulling in forward) and plenty of space between us and our neighbors. There is an area to wash dishes with clean sinks and both the bathroom and shower were spotless. The walk to the river is a little steep but very nice. They are currently rebuilding the clubhouse and adding handicap access. Staff in the office was super friendly and gave our dogs some treats. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$50
We stayed at this park for eight nights over the New Year's holiday. The location of the park was ideal for visits to Santa Cruz, Monterey, the redwood parks, and the Bay Area. Although many of the sites are close together, our site was away from the rest, and was very private. It was a bit difficult to back our trailer in to the site, but the staff was very helpful in directing us and getting us situated. The restrooms and facilities, although older, were extremely clean and attractive, although the owners should consider adding heaters to the bathrooms; it was VERY cold inside during late night "visits". All of the staff at the park were very helpful and friendly, and the long term residents (there are a few) were also very friendly; we made lot's of friends during our stay. I was a little disappointed that a $11 fee was charged to put a tent up in our site, even though we had plenty of room without encroaching on anybody else's site or space; this is the first time I've ever encountered a fee like this. Typically we stay in campgrounds rather than RV parks, but I would rate this park a "10" with respect to other RV parks I have stayed in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$75
First stay at this park and will return. It is a small park and we stayed on river view site. Site 22 provides a nice view of the river. Felton is close to Santa Cruz and the park borders a state park, which has nice hikes and great grove of redwoods. Nothing fancy, but clean and friendly, with nice camping under the redwood trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$59
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Some sites are close to one another but our site was more secluded. We did not use their restroom facilities so I can not comment on their cleanliness. But the park in general was kept pretty clean. During our stay on Saturday morning they had a pancake breakfast that was very good. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
We stayed here in June with a group of 10 other rigs (group rate). The hosts were very friendly to us and helpful. The sites are nestled in the trees with some facing the river with a nice view.The clubhouse is accommodating with a pool table and ping pong (for groups, there is a kitchen). The Wi-Fi works very well with high speed unlike some others we have seen. From this park, it's a nice drive down Hwy 9 through the Redwoods to Santa Cruz to see the sights. The Roaring Camp Steam train is only a few miles away. There are miles of walking/hiking trails in Henry Cowell state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$55
Well run and exceptionally clean park. Towering redwoods with great access to Henry Cowell SP, Santa Cruz etc. Despite clear warnings about poor WiFi we found the WiFi to be exceptional perhaps because our site (45) was directly below an antenna. Great cable TV with lots of unadvertised digital channels. Excellent clubhouse with deck overlooking the river. Lots of kid and adult activities. A pool would be an excellent addition though. We will most definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$54
We stayed at this campground one night and wish this could have been an extended stay. It is a beautiful campground with a lot of the redwoods in every site. The grounds are well maintained and the showers and bathrooms were extremely nice and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$50
Lovely setting set in the forested hills above Santa Cruz. Spaces are tight, but there are trees in each site that provide excellent shade and a bit of room between your neighbors. We had enough room for our slide out and canopy to operate. Family friendly with a club house with pool table, ping pong and a TV. Right next to a state park with plenty of hiking and mountain biking trails. Staff was friendly. Wi-Fi has been good so far. Restrooms are clean and well maintained. This is as good as it gets for private camping in the state of California, which is generally not very good. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$50
We stayed over the Thanksgiving weekend. I found this park difficult to get into and positioned, very close to neighbors and also the Wi-Fi was very spotty. The manager said it was because of the redwoods but I believe they need another tower. Beautiful area but I would not recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
An incredibly beautiful park with lots of redwood trees. The sites are spacious and the management team is excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$55
This RV park is located in the beautiful redwood forest just outside of Felton. It is also very close to the Santa Cruz beach boardwalk. When we arrived, the managers notified us they had moved us to a new spot, and that it would be easier to park the trailer. I was glad they did because when I saw the original spot I had no idea how I would've parked there. The spots in this park are very tight and although we could get our slide out, we had no room in the front to put our chairs. Also, in the recreation room, the pool table, and ping pong table are very worn out. There is also a card table and a foosball table. They have a nice view of the San Lorenzo river from the deck of the clubhouse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$47
We liked this place! You can tell that there has been a recent ownership change as things are freshly painted and new. New electric boxes throughout, newer picnic tables and the place was spotless. Cleanest bathrooms we have seen. Not to mention that you are in the redwoods so the scenery around the campground is stunning. Places for tents as well as RV's, even the big boys can fit. Very near Felton with small restaurants and stores plus a very short drive to Santa Cruz and beach cities. We would certainly come back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$55
This is our second visit to this park this year. We originally stayed here in May and had a perfect time. See my review in May 2011 for details you should know. Nothing has changed. Still one of my all time favorite places to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
This park is in a beautiful setting in the redwoods and the weather in the middle of July was wonderful. It is NOT in the city of Santa Cruz, rather in the town of Felton, about 7 miles from Santa Cruz on a very beautiful RV UNfriendly road. If you come here take the route that the park suggests. We did and were so glad! The Wi-Fi was great: one of the best we have had in our 2+ years of full timing. The spaces are so tight that we let the manager park the rig for us. The entire staff is very friendly and helpful. We were here in the middle of the summer so there were kids everywhere of course, being kids. The down side of this park is that they allow folks to come in and park at all hours of the night. We were here for 7 nights, and 4 of the 7 nights we were awakened by someone trying to park their rig between midnight and 2 am either next to us or close to us. Pets are welcome and the rule is they must be kept on a 6ft leash. Our 90 pound pooch is always on leash but others don't feel the rules apply to them and either let their dog run around off leash or have them on a leash so long they can get to the other side of the road from their campsite. I was nearly taken out by a dog on a long rope! The managers and staff see this but don't bother to enforce the rules. Overall, it's a nice little campground but we probably won't stay here again during the summer. We may consider giving it another try when the kids are back in school. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$85
Beautiful setting under the redwoods by the San Lorenzo river alongside. Nice clubhouse with BBQs, game room, sitting areas etc., outside gathering spots, nice laundry room, little store, very nice staff. The little town of Felton and Henry Cowell State Park are nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Fabulous park. Right in the middle of the redwoods and next to a river. Friendly staff, good Wi-Fi. The turn into the park is a bit sharp when coming from one direction. Looking forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This is a beautiful RV Park. It's like being in a National Park because of the tall Redwood trees and the river. Amenities are nice, staff is friendly and helpful. For taller rigs, be careful driving on roads to and from this park as they aren't being cut back and may scrape your rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Surprised and delighted that they would supply a fire pit and wood for a minimal cost. Breakfast for $4 a person on Saturday that included pancakes (all you could eat), sausage, eggs, juice and coffee. Wow! A very quiet and welcoming place. I'd stay again. Close to Santa Cruz, Roaring Camp Railroad, Henry Cowell State Park. Great for everyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$55
This place is gorgeous.. huge redwood trees throughout the camp. Feels like you are in the middle of the forest, but you are only about 6 miles outside of Santa Cruz. When we stayed during the week, it was very quiet and you could hear the river down below. We stayed for part of Memorial Weekend, and it was packed and bustling.. but things quieted down during "quiet time", so no complaints here. It's a family place, not a party place. Warm and friendly management and neighbors. Seasonally, the clubhouse onsite offers inexpensive breakfast on Saturday mornings. Verify w/ management or check their website for the best way to drive in. Some of the roads in are extremely narrow, twisty, and difficult to navigate. Also would suggest arriving before sundown because it is difficult to back into the sites (due to all the wonderful trees throughout) and also to level your rig (after all you are on the forest floor w/ all the tree needles and stuff). So, if you can navigate the roads in, navigate tricky parking and leveling your rig, this place is beautiful and well worth the trouble. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$55
This was a great campground. The space was a little tight but it was a beautiful site under the redwood trees. They also had a very nice rec room with all kinds of things to do. Rest rooms and laundry rooms were also very clean and nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
Very nice park. Lots of improvements have been done & it shows! Most sites are level, most have gravel. Very nice staff. They were happy to have us here. Clubhouse is very nice. Good power and free Wi-Fi. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
This is the second time we have stayed here. We love this park. So quiet and peaceful surrounded by the Redwoods. This trip we were with a group and had the use of the group room. It was very nice, clean and had a pool table, ping pong table, big screen TV and plenty of tables for eating, as well as a full kitchen. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We can't wait until we can come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$55
This park was great. The staff were awesome and the park was beautiful. The facilities were very well cared for and the grounds were picture perfect. We brought our scooters (50cc) and took them downtown and out to the boardwalk which worked out great! Would definitely stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$55
Great location, just 1 mile from Felton, very close to roaring camp railroad. Camp manager very friendly and helpful, looks like they are putting a lot of work into maintaining this place. Very quiet, from the lack of noise, could hardly tell any other campers were there! The club house has a very nice games room, the kids enjoyed playing ping pong and pool. I would definitely go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$49
An absolutely beautiful setting in a grove of redwoods. Friendly, helpful staff. Near the Roaring Camp Railroad venue which transports folks to the beach in the summer. 20 minutes to the Santa Cruz Cowell State Beach and Boardwalk. Our pull through site was a little tight maneuvering getting in but once settled worked well. Bathrooms and showers were clean and tidy but quite cold in the mornings. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$50
This is a small, beautiful RV park located in a heavily wooded area in the Santa Cruz mountains. The on-site manager is wonderful! The park use to be for private members only, but is now open to the public. The park is very clean and quiet and very close to the city of Felton and the Boardwalk in Santa Cruz. It is located right next to a beautiful river. The restrooms are very nice and secure. You have to have a pass code to get in. The cable and Wi-Fi worked great. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$75
Our "rate" reflects the "Honeymoon Site", river front and it was gorgeous! Their regular sites run $45-50. They are lovely too! This RV Park has undergone new ownership and many updates. They have a nice group room for groups of 10 or more. It is quiet and so beautiful with the majestic Redwoods all around. We can't wait to return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$50
Nice park under redwood trees - I hate to write anything "not nice" but I must say that the Yelp reviews of the management of this park are correct - it could be that this park has a troubled past and that new owners or management is trying to keep out a bad element - rules upon more rules and email response requiring agreement to rules when making reservations online is 1) troubling and 2) difficult when traveling - although the park is quaint and nice we'd seek out a more welcoming and customer service oriented park when visiting the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
Host are very friendly! Park has excellent facilities, nice clean gas barbeque grills, a river close by, and a beautiful setting under the redwoods. Also has a community house with fussball, pool and TV. A very well maintained park. Stayed a second night despite other plans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
Under new ownership. They are working very hard to make it wonderful, and are succeeding. Wonderful people and wonderful place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
We made late plans to come to the Felton area for our 10th wedding anniversary. We tried to get into Catillion Gardens and another RV park on the same road with River Grove RV park. The other two parks were full and could not take us. We were however able to get into River Grove RV park. Frankly, on a holiday weekend, we were thrilled with our fortune. Though this park needs some more repairs, especially to the cable TV infrastructure, we really enjoyed our stay here. We checked out the other two parks and all three have the ability to make you feel like you are stacked like cord-wood. A large majority of the sites (in all three campgrounds) are one right on top of the other. The tree coverage was best in River Grove RV park. All have paved roads but dirt sites. We would definitely come back here again. Happy camping! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This is an older campground and is showing its age. There are older units on site that looks like people are living in year round. When we arrived the sites were full of fallen branches/twigs and leaves. A very nice family that appeared to be living in the park started picking up those twigs and raking each site. They did a fantastic job and the park looked much improved from the appearance. The huge trees kept the sun away and your'e always in shade, making it much cooler and enjoyable. The cable TV worked great and the free wifi was strong from our location in the park. The manager was friendly and helpful and was on site the whole time we were there. The park was quiet and other than hearing the horn whistle a couple of times a day from the Roaring Camp steam train, this was well worth the money we spent. The Coast 2 Coast rate was $10 plus the $3.00 per day for TV. We could not get any stations on our antenna so the cost for their cable was worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$13
This is an older park badly in need of attention, with many permanent campers with old, poorly maintained camping units (tarps, etc.) The shower rooms were in need of maintenance and a good cleaning, but had good hot water and paper supplies. The sites need improvement and some cleaning as well, but we were provided the use of an adjoining site for our toad as the park was not near full. We initially had some sediment in our water, but once it was run for a while it was good. That being said, the setting is terrific, right in the middle of redwoods and next to the creek down a steep embankment with steps to the water. The Roaring Camp Railroad is nearby with accompanying train whistles and was a very entertaining ride to Bear Mountain. A short distance to Santa Cruz and the boardwalk, etc. The owner was very helpful in providing local information about activities, and the cable was good. We would stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$13
River Grove, Felton, CA -- In my opinion, this campground earns a gracious 4 out of 10 points. In short, this is a tired "trailer trash" park managed and owned by lazy people. I'm disappointed that Coast to Coast continues to retain such parks in its network. Here are my observations: POSITIVES: Nice clubhouse. Excellent setting nestled in tall redwoods. Good cable TV, for $3/day. WI-FI, but intermittent. On-site laundry. NEGATIVES: Numerous old trailers (60's, 70's, converted bread truck) covered with tarps to keep out rain. Tree debris covering decks and walkways (what, no brooms?). Bathrooms dirty and no heat. Sites are muddy (no gravel) and not very level. Electrical hookups are unsafe. Abrasive staff. Normal non-member price is $45/night. That would be a total rip! We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
Super management/owner! He was very helpful with info on things to do and see in the area as well as info on restaurants and grocery stores. He offered us his phone number to call with questions while we were in the area. The sites were small but level and quite acceptable. The grounds are awesome! Unfortunately the bathrooms/showers were pretty dirty the night that we were there. I would use this park again however, and bring my own bottle of bleach spray for the bathroom. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Great campsites among the redwoods, and close to lots of activities. The only problems we had were that the picnic table at our site was falling apart, and the bathrooms were not kept clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
I will certainly stay here again. Very nice overall. Close to the Henry Cowell, San Lorenzo River and alot of shade, and management very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
Stayed here on Coast to Coast (non member rate $45). Awesome place completely in the redwoods. Many sites are very tight for a 5th wheel and be careful navigating within the park. Do not take a 5th wheel (probably not a decent sized class A) south on highway 9! Very narrow and super curvy, but a beautiful drive in a car or truck. The place could use some maintenance and upgrading but it is a beautiful place to stay. We loved it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$43
I was very surprised to find such a wonderful campground right on the San Lorenzo River. You could walk to Henry Cowell State Park and catch the train to either the Boardwalk in Santa Cruz or go the other direction and view the Beautiful Redwoods from this train ride. A must do We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com