220552 User submitted reviews online!!
Trail Ruts Golf Course and Larson Park Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (307) 836-2255
CGID8513

Trail Ruts Golf Course and Larson Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   6   8   6   5   6   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
The person at the registration was very friendly and helpful in pointing out local attractions. She then told us that if the RV parked next to our assigned site was using the 50 amp plug on the shared post she could lend us an adapter for the 30 amp. We lucked out that the 50 amp was available because the temps were to be in the high 90’s and we wanted to be able to run both of our ACs. We discovered after our first day that there are no dump facilities at this campground. I guess that I should have read the older reviews about that. Naturally, their website makes no mention. There are no pull through sites so, if you’re looking to use this as an overnight stopover you’ll have to back in and unhitch because the sites are just big enough to get our 40’ motor home in. The scenery and proximity to Register Cliff are nice extras. Did not use the restrooms and we had very good Verizon reception. Apparently, they don’t enforce the pets on leash rule as there were several dogs running loose the three days we spent here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Great RV park off of the beaten path. This was our very first experience with a motorhome, and staying in an RV park. The people that we dealt with were very helpful, and courteous to make sure our stay was enjoyable. This Trail Ruts Golf Course and Larson Park Campground sit down very close to the Platte River and have several areas to ride bikes to see the historic Trail Ruts for the wagon trains that traveled the Oregon Trail many years ago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
This is a good overnight spot to see the local attractions. We had one of the 2 shady sites available, which faced the 9th hole of the pretty little golf course. There is also a good size creek along the backside that you can walk along. The common area is nice and green. If you had to park further down, you would be very close to your neighbor. Good place to walk the dogs, sites level, our Sprint phone/Hot Spot worked. They do have 50 amp now. No sewer. The National Guard training facility is just down the street, so that is what keeps this little town going. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Very nice place for an overnight. Would have liked to stay longer to play the 9-hole golf course. Nice big shade trees. Grills & picnic tables available in common area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
There's no sewer at this park, but it was still a bargain for one night. We arrived early and saw the Trail Ruts, Register Cliff and Fort Laramie. Our Sprint phones would not work but our Verizon Air Card did. They said Verizon was the only game in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
You can't beat the price! Water and electric hookups only, and no dump station. All spots are back-in on dirt/gravel parking spaces. The spaces are very close together. The night we were there, all the spots were occupied, so there was no "elbow room". There is a small community grassy area with picnic tables behind the parking spaces. Check-in is at the golf course clubhouse. Great location for visiting the Trail Ruts State Park and Register Cliff. We also went to Fort Laramie National Monument, which is 10 miles up the road. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were willing to do whatever they could to make our stay pleasant. We had great views of the golfers approaching the 9th green. I'm sure they appreciated my kids' noise while they were chipping and putting! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
This park was undergoing repairs on the bath rooms and the showers. Still it was a welcome oasis after a day traveling. Water pressure and electricity were good. The park is directly across the street from the 'Oregon Trail Ruts' historic site and only a mile from Register Cliff. The city golf course is adjacent and the green fees were reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
This park was the second city park we have used. You basically get what you pay for – the cost is $15 per night for water and electric. If you stay a week, you get a substantial discount. The water spigots in some sites did not work and from what we have been told by other visitors, have not worked for at least two years. Maintenance on the RV park was not a priority. The priority was the golf course which was next to the campground. If you plan to see some of the surrounding sites, this is the best location and the cheapest. It is quiet at night with hardly any train noise. The golf course is one side and the North Platte is on the other. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$15
Rating based on comparing to other city parks. Not a full service campground. This is a city-owned campground located right on the Platte River next to the city golf course. 15 sites, but they would be very tight if all 15 were used. We were there with 6 other TT and 5th wheels, and had plenty of room. All sites are back-in, but very long for any length. Parking mostly on very well manicured grass. All sites very level. 20/30 amp service good. Water at all sites, however they were working on a couple of hydrants repairing winter freeze damage. Nice location, as it's right on the Platte River, and across the street from the Historic Oregon Trail Ruts location. A nice walking trail takes you from the campground to the Ruts about 1/2 mile off the road. Off of Highway 26 through town, turn south on Wyoming Street for one mile. Follow the Oregon Trail Ruts signage to park on left. Check-in at the golf clubhouse. Open only April through October. No sewer hookup or dump station. Nice stopover point for the night, but if they've got a lot of other takers, the sites will be very tight. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com