223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Petersburg COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (706) 541-9464
CGID852

Petersburg COE

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   8   7   10   10   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$24
This is our second time staying at this park, it is beautiful. We had a lakeside full hookup site with great views and abundant wildlife. The staff is friendly and helpful. We have a 37' 5th wheel and had no trouble maneuvering in the park. Recommend coming in via route 150 from I-20 instead of going through town. There was too much traffic, tight turns and traffic lights coming through town. Route 150 is a nice easy and smooth ride to the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$12
Absolutely lovely! Our site #19 had a private patio on the water. Can't believe how big the sites are! Shower house also has a washer and dryer to do laundry at a reasonable price. Our Verizon signal was spotty, but our Verizon MiFi worked fine..go figure :) Can't wait to come back to this campground. Our nightly fee was with Senior pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
Stayed two weeks in this lovely campground. Huge, level sites with fire pit & picnic table. We camped in site 4, which could have fit at least another rig in it and boasted 180 degrees of lake view. Loved the remote feeling of this campground. Very well maintained. Only wish the dump station was more convenient or they had full hook-ups. Otherwise, a really wonderful place to camp, fish, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$12
Excellent experience. We camped at site #74 and were right on the water. The campsite was level and spacious. There was wood all around for a campfire. The site has a large picnic table, fire ring and a table for the grill. Very nice. The only issue was getting down to the campsite from the road. It was winding and steep. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$11
Would rate this park higher but 60 amp service is undersized. With just the microwave on the voltage drops from 114 to 106. Cannot get anywhere near 50 amps without circuit protector cutting off the power. We were in site 33 with beautiful view. Sites on the other side would have a view of the sunset. Lots of Wildlife, Squirrel, Ducks etc. Too bad there is not a US fishing license as I understand the fishing may be good here. Fishing Pier quite close to this site. Rate is 11 with Old Fogie discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
We camped here in a 30' toy hauler mid-week. This is another excellent COE campground. Most of the sites are pull-through and are very well spaced to allow for privacy. These are the largest pull-through sites we have ever seen and our site,#32, had the trailer positioned at least 60' off the camp road. Restrooms and showers were cleaned twice a day and were very clean. Showers had plenty of hot water and no push button showers here! Electric and water service worked well. The only downside was the lake is 16' below normal level. Nearby is an excellent visitor center located next to the dam. This is a good location for exploring Augusta. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
Love this campground. We come here at least 4 times each year. the sites are huge and very clean. the lake access is wonderful for swimming, boating and fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$12
Park just increased rate for waterfront sites to $24, the few non-waterfront sites are still $22. We listed the Access Pass half-price rate we paid. VERY nice COE campground. The sites are very spacious, nicely spread out, well maintained. Creative use of spur driveways to place several sites away from camp road. Campsite drives and sites are gravel; campground roads are paved. Water at all sites. While campground is heavily treed, the sites are nicely trimmed and posed no problems for our very tall 45' coach. Decent Verizon signal, but not good everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
Great park a little off the beaten path. Beautiful waterfront sites with easy access, wide roads and nice pull through sites that have generous spacing and lots of trees in between. Cell signal and Verizon air card worked. Friendly staff, lots of wildlife. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$10
Spent a long weekend here while waiting for a replacement tire for our rig. Campsites very clean. Some trimming of greenery wouldn't hurt. Good 50 amp service. Some pull-thru sites require skill to navigate, but that's SOP of COE parks. Will certainly return! Rate shown is Golden Age Passport @ 50% We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
My wife had a conference in Augusta, GA, so we chose this park because it was the closest campground to Augusta. We enjoyed it very much. The campground was quiet, and most all campsites are on or very close to the water. Unlike most Corps of Engineers campgrounds, this one has hookups. We enjoyed hiking along the shore of the lake where we noticed a HUGE number of small animal tracks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
This one of my favorite places in Georgia. The sites are well secluded and right along the lake. Privacy is almost guaranteed for all sites. Well run park and close to Augusta and a favorite German deli we like to visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We stay here at least twice a year, and love it each time. The lake is low,because of the drought,so fishing is kind of slow. Great place to go boating. Most of the campsites are shaded, and well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
We had BIG electrical problems. 50amp plug only had one leg and was putting out 140 volts. 30 amp plug was putting out 145 volts and both kept blowing our surge protector. We left. Beautiful park though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
This park was beautiful and much more than I had expected! It was clean, quiet, and there was easy access from our campsite to the lake. The only problem we had were ants. They got inside the camper very quickly. Other than that, we had a great time and would definitely go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
This is our favorite campground. Mainly because it is near one of our grandbabies. But, also, it is clean, has large sites, is on the lake, and is well maintained. We stay there usually twice a year and really enjoy it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
Beautiful campground on J. Strom Thurmond Lake. Most sites are near the water and have great views. We had site #85 and loved the quiet location and water access. We have a 30 ft class A and we fit in the site but this site wouldn't take a much larger rig. The site was sloped somewhat from left to right. All of the sites were clean and raked (including the fire pits) and the park overall was really nicely kept. Folks at check-in were very friendly and capable. Two minor negatives were that the drinking water seemed to have a lot of particulates and the bathhouse near us was closed for some work. We really enjoyed the dam and the COE visitor center. The dump was well situated with easy access. Great park, we hope to visit again some day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$16
Nice campground run by Corp of Eng. It has a swimming beach,boatramp, and lots of lakefront sites. The only thing missing is sewer hookups. We stayed 3 days and had no problem with noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com