218863 User submitted reviews online!!
Great Salt Plains State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (580) 626-4731
CGID8522

Great Salt Plains State Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   9   9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
The only reason for the 9 not 10 rating is no sewer, but most state. parks don't have sewer. Great view from back window of RV, backed up to river where pelicans, cormorants, egrets, ducks and other water fowl are busy catching fish. In November, Sandhill cranes are here in the tens of thousands on the lake by the Eagle Roost Trail (at the Nat'l Refuge north of the state park). Sites are widely spaced, cement slabs with fire ring and free-standing grill, water and electricity only, but there is a dump by the entrance to park. In the fall the trees are beautiful colors. We stayed in site #5 and had pretty good cell service, but most sites don't have decent service. Site #20 is closest to the dam where all the pelican action is. We will definitely return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
First 2 weeks of November major bird migratory path is Great Salt Plains Lake and Park. We saw thousands of Sandhill Cranes, also 3 mating pairs of bald eagles in park, saw 5 immature eagles and heard owls regularly, couldn't see them. The lake is very low and has silted in and needs to be dredged, but the wildlife still love the lake and there is a lot there to see and enjoy. The campground is excellent but lost on two points: no cell (which is really not their fault, but you need to know AT&T has no bars), the dump station fills up fast and drains slowly, so be careful here. Otherwise the park was fine, nice concrete slab that are level, good electrical and water hook ups, park is clean is crowded on the weekends and park rangers are evident and available. You park your RV and the park ranger will come by and get the fee for your RV. I would stay here again (we plan to come back when the birds migrate through again.) We parked in the River Road We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
I wasn't too clear on where to go and how to select and pay for a site. Had to ask a camper who said "Just pick anything and the ranger will come by and take your money" and he did about 15 minutes later. Quiet place but be careful of the goathead/bullthorn stickers on the ground. These things are off the chart in sharpness and difficulty in removing. Watch your step. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
We stayed here for one night and found the park very clean and easily accessible. We would stay here again. Great location for watching the migration of the whooping cranes or the Sandhill Cranes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
I enjoyed this campground which is situated along the spillway and stream run off of a large dam, creating the Great Salt Plains Lake, that you could hike about. The sites are paved and nicely spaced with some trees. Clean bath and hot showers. Pleasant ranger to talk with. Most fun thing was to watch the cormorants and other water birds fishing in the runoff waters will sitting in a chair at the edge of the campsite. I was amazed at the huge size of a fish one cormorant flipped about and swallowed slowly head first. Off the beaten path, but we were heading west from Bartleville to northern New Mexico, and the scenery in May along the Panhandle of Oklahoma was very interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
We agree with previous poster that this park is a long ways from anywhere, but it was very quiet and peaceful. RV sites were spacious, level and well-maintained. Only 2 pull-thru's. Great view of the water coming over the spillway of the dam. Great fishing at the spillway as well as the lake. Walk your dog on the road because grass is full of stickers! Bring plenty of groceries; it's 20 miles to nearest grocery store. Office staff and rangers are very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$15
Located approx 8 miles north of Jet, OK in the middle of nowhere. Oklahoma has different fees for the site depending if the site is "preferred" meaning it is on the river. NO cell phone or over-the-air TV reception, weak WTX. We don't fish and that means not much to do. Lots of bird viewing, some hiking. Some days there are Air Force trainers flying overhead from their field across the street from the park. Come stocked with provisions as limited groceries are in town but fuel is available. Roads to Jet are not the best but passable. Used to be a place for selenite crystal digging but digging is no longer allowed due to discovery of glass bottles from WWII filled with some type of nerve agent (I believe - call for info). Quiet and peaceful. Folks in the office very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com