214623 User submitted reviews online!!
Ferryboat Campsites was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (717) 444-3200
CGID8525

Ferryboat Campsites

Camp Information
Sites
287
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   3   7   3   8   5   7   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
We had a large, level, grassy site. The showers were clean with lots of hot water. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$21
The view of the Susquehanna River is beautiful. The sites are level, adequate size, 30 amps, FHU and gravel/grassy. The road into the camp is gravel and provides easy in and out to the highway. No road noise. No pool. The price reflects Passport America. Many permanent campers and a large selection of daily sites. Office doubles as small store. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
We stopped at this campground in our RV for one night. It has a very nice setting on the Susquehanna River. It is a very old campground and facilities are in need of upgrades. Restrooms and showers are old and not in good shape. While we did not use it, lady at desk told us that internet service was spotty. Cable TV service worked fine. Sites for transient campers are small and close together. This park has a lot of seasonal campers and it appears that they cater mostly to them. We used PA discount-without it, would not have been happy with the price for the quality of the park. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$41
The campground has a nice location on the river. The sites themselves are not that great but mine was level and I had a view of the river. I was only traveling though and only was looking for a place to spend the night. The fee was high for just a quick overnight stop. I think this might be nice if you wanted to spend a few days. I still think it is pricey. I have camped all over out west and never paid anywhere near this much. The east coast is high priced for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41
I came here with my 9 and 12 year old. When we arrived, the staff asked if I knew my site number? They did look it up for me and sent me down the road. Luckily, a seasonal helped me find the spot. There was no picnic table (requested one, never delivered). The power went out repeatedly during our stay. The office accepted the power outage as normal. I would not return to this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Great campground! Spacious, waterfront sites with concrete pads and lots of foliage. Be careful: my GPS brought me in from the East and assumed that the ferry would be a good match for my motorhome. The Ferry holds about two cars and wasn't compatible, but the drive around was only about 45 minutes. We sat on the banks of the river every evening and watched bird, animal and boat activity. We camped here during the week and it was quiet and well-spaced but I've heard it's jam-packed on weekends. The $23 rate is Passport America and is only available on weekdays; on top of the rate is a $4 per day energy surcharge. Credit cards are not accepted nor are checks for PA; however the staff found ways to say "yes" to resolve shortfalls. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Nice enough during the week, but the weekends are bumper to bumper. Very tight! Many tents. WiFi was free and worked well. Although it was ok for a couple of days, probably would look elsewhere if coming this way in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
We stayed there during the fall foliage. The staff were nice and helpful. I scouted out the first site they recommended and it was too tight/small for our longer 5th wheel so we ended up in the new area which was was like parking in a football field (no mature trees). The sites were grass and we had some difficulty getting traction the day we left due to an overnight rain. One of the highlights of staying there was the Millersburg Ferry that made trips across and back the river every hour or so. Prices were modest, but well worth it to see the foliage from the middle of the river. Do not be concerned about the apparent initial look of the Ferry itself...it is near new and the water is only 3 feet or so deep. The main part of this campground is older, but does not show the severe wear like some. Many of the sites in this area are occupied by permanent campers/rigs which does have the advantage of fewer people in the campground on weekdays. The sites in this part of the campground are tight and parking larger rigs/5th wheels there will have to be planned with a walk through just to make sure. The area in this part of Pennsylvania/Perry County is beautiful and we enjoyed driving the back roads. We would return to this campground, but there are others in Perry County with 20 miles of this one that would be our first choices. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
Had great sites with a view of the river but were not river view lots. Nice level sites. Internet is very fast. Watching the ferry pick up people is very interesting. Everyone is very friendly. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
A group of us got two sites side-by-side for a 4-day stay - two campers and three tents. The folks in the office were very accommodating about the extra people that came to stay on our sites - overall, very nice people to deal with. The proximity of sites to the river is good (but keep in mind as others have noted - only seasonals get 'waterfront' camping). River access is excellent, from three points in the campground. The bathrooms were clean but antiquated. The kids with us had a blast despite the lack of a pool. Overall, I agree with others here that it's an average campground in an above-average location. The views of the river and surrounding terrain are excellent. We would consider returning, all agreed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
I suspect that regional ratings differ greatly. A 9 rating to me would include at least neat level gravel sites and maybe concrete or blacktop pads. The sites where we were are grass and squished mud under the weight of our tires. We were able to level. 50 amp service was not available. WiFi has been installed but the repeater in our area was not working. I would return, but without the delusion that the campground is anything more than average. We stayed in a motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
Very nice park along the river with a ferry crossing inside the park. The park has a lot of seasonal campers they have all the river sites the only sites they don't have are the club sites that is where we stayed. The staff and people who live in the park are very nice. Main road in park is paved loops are gravel sites are grass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
We were looking forward to visiting this campground because of the riverfront (Susquehanna River) location and the Millersburg Ferry, which lands in the campground. The ferry schedule notes that it runs weekends in May and begins daily operation in June. On the first weekend of May, though, the ferry was not ready to run. We were camped in the second row -- the riverfront sites are reserved for seasonal rental -- and did have a nice view of the river since we were close to the ferry landing. The ferry landing is a decent boat launch for fishing boats, canoes and kayaks but the other three launches are marginal and really need some work. There is no parking available at the actual launches and little parking at the ferry landing. The campground is 40 years old this year and is showing its age in some areas. The shower houses were clean enough, with the exception of the hand soap dispenser that was leaking on the counter at the sinks, but are very dated. The changing areas in the showers are very small and the showers are annoying push button type and only run about 30 seconds per push. The air hand dryer ran just a few seconds before shutting down. We were disappointed with the sites available for overnight camping. Width-wise the sites were OK but the camper behind us was about 8 feet away. There is nothing to delineate the sites; it reminded us of a tree-shaded parking lot. The "cap" for the sewer hookup on our site was a rock. Since our camper doesn't require sewer, we were left to search for a flatter rock to seal as much sewer odor as possible. All camp sites are gravel and are close to level. There is no handicapped accessibility. The store/office is built on stilts about 6-7 feet high to keep it above water when the river floods. The shower houses each have a step at the door and would be too tight for accessibility. The campground has about 285 sites but only about 70 for overnight. Almost all of the seasonal sites were well maintained, but the shear volume of them made it feel more like a trailer park than a campground. Admittedly, we prefer state parks with their more private sites and understand that private owners are going to maximize the number of sites, but it would be nice to have a bit more privacy from neighboring campers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
Really nice campground. Our site backed directly on the river with a wonderful view. Millersburg Ferryboats leave directly from the campground and take you across the river to Millersburg PA. Bathhouses are clean, cable TV works well. Rec hall and camp store are well stocked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com