219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Millpoint Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (309) 231-6497
CGID8529

Millpoint Park

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   3   6   7   6   1   8   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$13
I agree with the other reviews that the owners are friendly and the campground is quiet. The roads are dirt and can be muddy after a rain. The Wi-Fi is so weak it is useless. The water is extremely bad. DO NOT put it in your fresh water holding tank or it will turn orange. You must have a water filter to get some of the orange out of the water. It also does not taste very good even after using a few filters. We only drank it in our coffee maker. The workers are not very conscientious when cutting the grass and destroyed our sewer and water hoses. The owner was made aware and did not to replace them. I am thankful they did not kick up rocks when cutting the grass and break a windshield. The sites are gravel and grass so flying rocks are a hazard. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$13
In many ways this is an unrecognized jewel. It is a Passport America park and our rate reflects that. They are also a Good Sam park. The park is rustic because the roads and sites are a dirt material; however, the sites have 50-amp power, water and sewer. The sites are heavily forested with large, old trees. Many sites are at the edge of the Illinois River used by barge traffic. That traffic is on the other side, approximately ¾ mile away so you hardly hear the tow boat. About the only thing you hear are birds in the day and frogs at night, otherwise it is very quiet. Due to trees, the satellite options are very limited; however, Verizon service is 5 bars. They offer Wi-Fi, but in our area it was too weak to use because our site was at the back of the park in relation to the office. The owner is very friendly and most accommodating. Many sites are pull-through and able to take any size RV and toad/trailer you might have. If you are trying to find your way in using a GPS, show your destination as Millpoint Road. Some GPS’ don’t show Ash Road within the park. I suspect that there are times when the Illinois River is in flood stage and it is possible this could impact the park, so call ahead if there is such a possibility. We stayed for 8 days about 50’ from the water’s edge and would return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$13
Very nice location right on the Illinois River. Staff are very helpful and friendly. This rate is a Passport America rate. Very quiet and family friendly. Pet friendly. Sites are gravel and roads are dirt but adequate. Took a little more leveling than normal but had full hookups (electric, water, sewer). Also had Wi-Fi though a little slow. We were unable to get any signal on our satellite dish probably because of lots of shade trees. We were able to get a number of channels with just our antenna. I have AT&T phone service and it worked fine here. Didn't use the showers so can't comment on that. Would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Very nice owner. Secluded and quiet location. WiFi worked very well. Water was murky - would not recommend ingesting it. Experienced some scary thunderstorms and rising river levels. Probably a nicer park in drier conditions. Price was quite reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$13
Pretty much agree with some of the others. A very pleasant owner and responsive. A quiet place it seemed, even on Labor Day. Get the key or have the shower opened if you need it. I bet it does get wet in big rains or early spring. Very mature park but pleasant. The rate is Passport America. They charge an extra $3 for electric (for a 30 amp class C). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$13
The location is about 10 miles north of I-74. It is easy to locate following the directions in the PA book. The sites are gravel or sand and require some leveling. The showers are located in the double wide trailer they use for an office. Be sure to ask for a key as they keep the door locked. The owner and crews are working to update the sites and are pouring concrete slabs and upgrading power to 50 amps. They will provide 50 to 30 amp adapters if needed for a deposit of $25.00. We would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$13
Based on previous reviews, we decided to come to this CG for two nights. First of all, there are NO signs. When we called, the gentleman said he would meet us at the gate. When we arrived, he escorted us to a site: wish I could post pics. We were very disappointed and dismayed. Yes, they have had a lot of rain and the water has encroached over many sites from the IL River, but from what we could see, the sites weren't that great to begin with. We wanted to leave, but we were stuck. We couldn't pull around because of the mud to exit. No matter what we did we would have to remove our toad, so we took off our toad and backed into a site with the idea we would stay one night. There is a water hose with a water filter attached and that is attached to the water spigot in the ground: that's your water connection. The owners are very nice. We were just very disappointed, as we had based our stay on previous reviews. With PA, we paid $13, but we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$13
What a nice find. After seeing the prior review we were not sure what to expect. But as we were led back to the campground sites we got a pleasant surprise. As reviewed, the CG is behind a trailer park and is actually on a flood plain. Very, very quiet and scenic here, barges on the IL river which can be seen right from inside our motorhome. We had a nice big long pull through with 50 amps, water and sewer. Breakers are located up on a pole and the electric has been upgraded recently. Our site was good, but a couple of the pull through had some grade to them. The hookups would be better on the opposite side for motorhome's so on these sites, you might want to go in backwards. Great value with Passport America. TV via batwing was pretty good and Verizon cell and broadband were both very good. Visit Full Throttle for a nice happy hour spot, just below US-24 on IA-116. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Millpoint has a lot of potential. We are fairly new to RVing so maybe I'm still learning what is good and not so good. Visually, Millpoint Park is quite nice. It is on the Upper Peoria Lake (which is fed by the Illinois River). It is woodsy and the sites are comfortably far enough apart. That being said, we have a 43 ft motorhome and negotiating the unpaved, sandy/rocky road to the site was a bit exciting. Also, we had to have the owner come and use his tree trimmer to remove low hanging branches that hung perilously close to the RV as you are driving on their road. The owner was extremely accommodating and was there the minute you called his cell. There is no store or main office. The campground is nestled in among a trailer park like a subdivision. The owner dropped off a picnic table because the sites didn't have them there. There were no firepits. We did enjoy ourselves but it was a little different than some of our other RV experiences. We would probably return if we had business in Peoria again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$13
We paid the Passport America rate. Some sites have side-by-side hookups, but the CG was less than 25% full and the owner spaced the rigs so no two were next to each other. Off the beaten path and bumpy interior roads, but delightfully cool under tall trees with the Illinois River on the edge of the CG. Owner very helpful. Really needs better signage. Without our GPS, we would not have made it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
We were directed to this campground by the 2008 Passport America Directory. There were no signs . . . none at all. Not on the highway and not on the local roads leading to it. In fact, there was not even a sign at the entrance! When we hesitated at the entrance, were were waved in. It is a beautiful setting. Mature deciduous trees along the banks of the Illinois River with many birds in evidence, including many red headed woodpeckers. However, there were no washroom facilities at all. Also, there had been water troubles due to recent spring flooding and we could not use the water hookup even for bathing in the motorhome. This campground is very out of the way but, despite the water problems, which were surely temporary, and the complete lack of washroom facilities, it was a very pleasant environment. If you do not have toilet/showers on board your RV, consider this place no further. The infrastructure is a bit worn too but our electric and sewer hookups worked fine. Despite the overall seediness of the place, the peace and quiet and the birds made our stop worthwhile and we would seek this campground out again. In fact, it is one we enjoyed a great deal more than other more complete campgrounds. As for finding it, well, here are the directions from the Passport America directory: I-74 - Exit 95 and go north on route 116 for 5 miles, and then exit north on route 26. Then go 3.4 miles to Millpoint Road, go west 7/10 of a mile to campground entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com