206486 User submitted reviews online!!
Millpoint Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (309) 231-6497
CGID8529

Millpoint Park

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   6   1   8   4   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Very nice owner. Secluded and quiet location. WiFi worked very well. Water was murky - would not recommend ingesting it. Experienced some scary thunderstorms and rising river levels. Probably a nicer park in drier conditions. Price was quite reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$13
Pretty much agree with some of the others. A very pleasant owner and responsive. A quiet place it seemed, even on Labor Day. Get the key or have the shower opened if you need it. I bet it does get wet in big rains or early spring. Very mature park but pleasant. The rate is Passport America. They charge an extra $3 for electric (for a 30 amp class C). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$13
The location is about 10 miles north of I-74. It is easy to locate following the directions in the PA book. The sites are gravel or sand and require some leveling. The showers are located in the double wide trailer they use for an office. Be sure to ask for a key as they keep the door locked. The owner and crews are working to update the sites and are pouring concrete slabs and upgrading power to 50 amps. They will provide 50 to 30 amp adapters if needed for a deposit of $25.00. We would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$13
Based on previous reviews, we decided to come to this CG for two nights. First of all, there are NO signs. When we called, the gentleman said he would meet us at the gate. When we arrived, he escorted us to a site: wish I could post pics. We were very disappointed and dismayed. Yes, they have had a lot of rain and the water has encroached over many sites from the IL River, but from what we could see, the sites weren't that great to begin with. We wanted to leave, but we were stuck. We couldn't pull around because of the mud to exit. No matter what we did we would have to remove our toad, so we took off our toad and backed into a site with the idea we would stay one night. There is a water hose with a water filter attached and that is attached to the water spigot in the ground: that's your water connection. The owners are very nice. We were just very disappointed, as we had based our stay on previous reviews. With PA, we paid $13, but we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$13
What a nice find. After seeing the prior review we were not sure what to expect. But as we were led back to the campground sites we got a pleasant surprise. As reviewed, the CG is behind a trailer park and is actually on a flood plain. Very, very quiet and scenic here, barges on the IL river which can be seen right from inside our motorhome. We had a nice big long pull through with 50 amps, water and sewer. Breakers are located up on a pole and the electric has been upgraded recently. Our site was good, but a couple of the pull through had some grade to them. The hookups would be better on the opposite side for motorhome's so on these sites, you might want to go in backwards. Great value with Passport America. TV via batwing was pretty good and Verizon cell and broadband were both very good. Visit Full Throttle for a nice happy hour spot, just below US-24 on IA-116. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Millpoint has a lot of potential. We are fairly new to RVing so maybe I'm still learning what is good and not so good. Visually, Millpoint Park is quite nice. It is on the Upper Peoria Lake (which is fed by the Illinois River). It is woodsy and the sites are comfortably far enough apart. That being said, we have a 43 ft motorhome and negotiating the unpaved, sandy/rocky road to the site was a bit exciting. Also, we had to have the owner come and use his tree trimmer to remove low hanging branches that hung perilously close to the RV as you are driving on their road. The owner was extremely accommodating and was there the minute you called his cell. There is no store or main office. The campground is nestled in among a trailer park like a subdivision. The owner dropped off a picnic table because the sites didn't have them there. There were no firepits. We did enjoy ourselves but it was a little different than some of our other RV experiences. We would probably return if we had business in Peoria again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$13
We paid the Passport America rate. Some sites have side-by-side hookups, but the CG was less than 25% full and the owner spaced the rigs so no two were next to each other. Off the beaten path and bumpy interior roads, but delightfully cool under tall trees with the Illinois River on the edge of the CG. Owner very helpful. Really needs better signage. Without our GPS, we would not have made it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
We were directed to this campground by the 2008 Passport America Directory. There were no signs . . . none at all. Not on the highway and not on the local roads leading to it. In fact, there was not even a sign at the entrance! When we hesitated at the entrance, were were waved in. It is a beautiful setting. Mature deciduous trees along the banks of the Illinois River with many birds in evidence, including many red headed woodpeckers. However, there were no washroom facilities at all. Also, there had been water troubles due to recent spring flooding and we could not use the water hookup even for bathing in the motorhome. This campground is very out of the way but, despite the water problems, which were surely temporary, and the complete lack of washroom facilities, it was a very pleasant environment. If you do not have toilet/showers on board your RV, consider this place no further. The infrastructure is a bit worn too but our electric and sewer hookups worked fine. Despite the overall seediness of the place, the peace and quiet and the birds made our stop worthwhile and we would seek this campground out again. In fact, it is one we enjoyed a great deal more than other more complete campgrounds. As for finding it, well, here are the directions from the Passport America directory: I-74 - Exit 95 and go north on route 116 for 5 miles, and then exit north on route 26. Then go 3.4 miles to Millpoint Road, go west 7/10 of a mile to campground entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com