219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Winter Island Park Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (978) 745-9430
CGID8538

Winter Island Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   7   9   9   7   8   10   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
This was not a bad place to stay for touring Salem, Boston and Concord. The sites were small but for the amount of time we spent in the park it was okay and all the neighbors we encountered were friendly. The electric hook ups were behind us and you had 2 sites together on the electric box so one would have to have a super long electic cord. The water was like the last reviewer said behind the camper hanging along the fence. There was a lighthouse, and day use beach with wonderful views of the water. The bathrooms were a concern when we got there and wasn't sure how it was going to be sharing them with the beach people and all the other campers but never saw anybody in the shower when we went and they were always clean. We did experience a lot of rain on the 4th and had about an inch of standing water on the ground but it wasn't a problem. We never did use the dump facilites that were at the sewer plant so can't comment on them but that was probably the biggest drawback of the park. Would probably stay here again though if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Being the closest park to Boston, it's just an OK park, nothing fancy at all. We were only able to get a 30 amp spot for 2 of our 3 days there. Had to move on the third night. Bear in mind that this is an old military facility that has been abandoned and now turned into a public boat launch, and a 50+ vehicle day use parking area. An RV parking facility with RV spots lined around the perimeter of the parking area, as well as having turned an additional empty field into RV parking. Your water supply is an above ground 1 1/4" ABS plastic line strapped to the 8 inch timbers around the perimeter or tied to a cyclone fence. The "store" has basically nothing of any use unless you need a soda or charcoal briquets. Check in Staff was there and emotionless. There are no sewer connections at any of the sites, nor is there any sewage dump on site. They send you offsite about a mile away to the Salem Sewage Treatment Facility to dump. We went there only to find that you have to drive up to the fence, pick up the phone, and call someone to let you in. The entry is a single lane entry angled at a 45 degree angle opposite the way you come from the campground. So if you have a large unit, you have to drive into Salem, turn around, then enter the facility. When you leave, you have to do the opposite, drive through Salem, turn around, then back to the park. Huge hassle. Overall, if we had a choice, we would stay elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
We enjoyed staying at Winter Island. It is a great choice if you want to explore Salem and Boston. We had a 30 amp waterfront site which had a lovely view of the harbor. In general, the campground was peaceful but be aware that it has a launch ramp and the boats are launched starting at 5:30 am. Also, the park has many public functions taking place at the pavilion and function hall. On Friday evening, a graduation party took place at the function hall which is at the end of the 30 amp waterfront sites. It was very loud and the party guests did not stay at the hall but walked through, around and into our site and we were parked four campsites away from the party. The campers at the closet site were very unhappy. Fortunately, the hall was only used one evening and the functions on Sat and Sun were lower key and over by 6 pm. It is very easy to bike to the historic sites of Salem. The House of the Seven Gables is only 1.4 miles from the campground. They also have kayaks rentals on site and a lovely small "Waikiki" beach. We enjoyed the lighthouse just off the parking lot and poking around Fort Pickering. One of our fellow campers did have a problem with a skunk that ate all the corn they left out overnight. The 30 amp power was not that strong. (ie: you can't run a microwave and anything else.) The Verizon service worked well. We hope to visit again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Nice comfortable quiet place to stay while visiting the Boston/Salem area. The rate reflects staying 2 nights in the field and 2 nights on the harbor. It is a small but popular campground with beautiful views of the harbor. No Wi-Fi at the site, good air TV channels, nice staff. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
We stayed in Space 12 for 6 nights in a motorhome. This space was on the end so our side windows and front windows had full views of the bay, just feet from the water. I don’t think I would have loved this park if we didn’t have this spot. It’s a funky campground and just an asphalt site but you can’t beat waterfront camping. The location is very convenient to Salem attractions and an easy, inexpensive train ride to Boston. The Salem Trolley picks up in the parking lot, but we would skip the Trolley. It was a waste of time to wait for it for the hop on – easier to see the city on our own. The National Park Service Visitor Center is the best place to learn about the history, as always. Lowell National Historic Site is only 34 miles away and well worth a side trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
This is a nice public park and we are giving it a high rating because of the atmosphere and the beautiful view we had from our site 16A waterfront site. The campground shares its boat ramp and restroom facilities with the park. The restrooms were regularly in need of cleaning. They tried to keep up with keeping it clean. We were actually kicked out of the showers at 8pm one night because they wanted to mop the floors. The boat ramp caused a lot of noise that we only noticed on Sunday starting around 6am. Also the park seems to have a skunk problem. We were sitting outside after dark enjoying the water sounds and a skunk ran right between our camper and the next one and scared us right back inside our trailer. We did see a skunk the next day in the weeds so it is definitely a problem and not just one random sighting. We did like this camp and think the it has great potential if they stay on top of keeping their restrooms clean and figure out how to keep the skunks out! Definitely pick one of the waterfront sites. Those are the best! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$56
We camped here for 2 nights in very hot July weather in a 32ft motorhome with a family of 5. We had a lovely spot by the boat ramp and a 2 min walk to the beach. The park is on the Salem trolley route so it is very easy to get into Salem on the trolley or by taxi (about $8). Went into Boston on the ferry returning late at night on the train from North Shore. Camp site is a level "car park" type.The water/electric hookups were great. Dump truck can be called for $30, and it came on time. Wi-Fi was OK although the best signal was found near the office. Staff were really good and very helpful. Showers/restrooms suffered a bit from having so much use and had a lot of sand of the floors.This was by far the friendliest park we stayed at with everyone congregating to watch the sun set and rise over the lighthouse. I would definitely recommend this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
We stayed at Winter Island over Memorial Day weekend it was great. Easy check in the staff was always visible and the park was kept clean. Definitely will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$47
Sites are marked off within a large paved area just at the water's edge. Reasonably level with a few jack blocks and adequate room. This park would be excellent, if it had sewer, which is available at the next door treatment plant dump station about a half mile down the street. The access to this park, which is within Salem is via streets that are difficult and narrow for a big rig, and the park appears at the end of a 1.5 lane paved road just when you think you are lost. The view is superb; the harbor is at your windshield. Probably wouldn't stay here again, because it's so difficult to get to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Nice park. We were here during Salem's "Witching Month" October. Really a lot of fun. Walked to restaurants, although the food was good, they were kind of dumpy. The Park area we were in seemed like a temporary set up. But it was nice and quiet. No sewer hookup, but municipal dump down the road. Very friendly staff gal. And Salem was a riot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
Lot of positives and negatives about camping here. We had a great time but it is not for everyone. Good things: Has a beautiful waterfront view of the marina; nice areas to walk and lots of benches to sit on; good electrical; level site; hot water in the showers and heated bathroom/shower; you are a five minute drive from the Salem Ferry that goes to Boston. Negatives: You are camping in a parking lot next to a boat ramp; there is noise from people putting their boat into/out-of the water at all hours; sites for trailers are narrow (MH sites were wider) and not well marked; shared utility pedestals mean the hook-up could be on the wrong side (our electrical reached; water hose did not); bathrooms are run-down and the showers were grubby (bring your flip-flops); expensive for what you get. We would definitely return but I can understand that some people did not like it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
We love this park! Very unique, as for the waterfront sites you're in a parking lot. There are other sites on grass (with groundhogs!), but we couldn't imagine staying there. It's just such a different camping experience. Lots of beaches to walk to, very crowded on nice days, but room enough. Met some great locals. The office staff don't really help with any questions, not sure what there problem is. Close to Salem - Witch Town - which is a really cool place. The Engine House for pizza. House of the 7 Gables a must. Witch City Consignment is fabulous shopping. Our cat roamed freely and did run into a skunk on the beach, but no harm. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
I know I am rating this parking lot very high, but the location makes up for all the problems that are here. It is just a paved parking lot, but if you choose the ocean spot, not the field ,you back right up to the ocean with a light house outside your front window. It really does not get any better than this! Down side, no sewer and hard to get into the one available. Route into the park is through very narrow roads and hard to navigate, but worth it. We were on the end of the power source so had a lot of fluctuating power. Pickering Fort is located inside the property and an old Coast guard hanger so history in right here. Trolley will pick you up right in the park and give you a tour of Salem($). We would stay again for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
A very nice spot right on the ocean, except that the ocean front sites are just lined spaces along the edge of the boat launch parking lot. Site 12 had plenty of room for our 37' fiver with three slides and the heavy duty truck. Very helpful staff. Easy access to Boston, 10 minutes to commuter rail terminal, 50 minute drive into downtown in non-rush hour. Watch out for: One: The streets in Salem are the worst we have seen in any city in the US! We expected narrow and twisty, we did not expect huge bumps and potholes, manhole covers 2" to 3" below the level pavement, etc. Both coming in and leaving the inside of the fiver looked like we picked it up and shook it, in spite of going 20 MPH most of the way through Salem. Two: The directions from both Mapquest and the campground website send you down a city street with a 2-1/2 ton weight limit! Any of your RVs weigh less than 5k lbs.? Follow the truck route to the next light and turn right, it will put you back on track. $47 is for 50 amp, ocean front. Other sites cheaper. If you are staying out later than 10 PM ask for the gate key. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Great spot to Tour Salem, or take the ferry into Boston. Camped Thursday through to Sunday. For us, it is the most unique spot we have camped in. We were basically on the macadam parking lot by the boat ramp. Our girls 17 and 12 were totally enthralled. We were at site 16a, right on the beach. Down a set of steps to a beach behind the RV. Two small beaches, one larger available for beach-combing and swimming. Tidal pools to play in as well. Views of beach, Salem Harbor, and Lighthouse from the RV. Showers were usable, clean, but could use some updating, and paint. The area that is the campground is public access, so be forewarned. No place for fire rings or campfire. Gates are locked at 10pm to the public. Would stay here again, my girls can't stop talking about the place. Would Score a 10 if they had sewer and better shower facilities. The location is the best part about this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
This campground was exactly what we expected, and more. We knew going in that there was no cable TV, no sewer hookups, and no Wi-Fi, so we expected to "rough it" a bit. We didn't expect the historical significance of the park or the fabulous views from the shoreline. The sites were fairly level (unless you were in a tent) and actually spacious enough to pull out the awning (every RV and travel trailer had theirs out). The field would be the best place to stay if you have children, because the paved spots get a lot of traffic from all the boaters (this park is city owned and is multipurpose). The staff was friendly and helpful, and the camp store was spartan-- it did have enough if you forgot something important like a toothbrush. The park is very close to Salem and a couple of trolleys do go through the park. We were recommended by the park to use the red trolley, since it arrived every hour. The playscape is very nice for the kids and the park has its own beach, which is for the public, but might as well be a private beach for the campers, since there are so many other beaches around the towns there that are easier for the public to get to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This isn't really a park, more a place to park. Sites were painted lines. Level enough but very small (looked like long parking spaces). Not enough room to open an awning or even fit your picnic table between sites. This place is great if you are there to see the Salem site. Convenient to those. trolley comes in and out. Great views and nice walks. Sits right on the ocean and sailboat inlet. Nice new play scape for young ones. No activities at all. No fires. Gate is locked at 10pm but a 20$ dep. gets you a key for late nights. Heard horror stories of staying on the pavement near the water. Recommend the field, little quieter. Take end sites however to give you more room. Bath house was small and typical state/city park bath house. Dump station outside gate. Very easy to get into and use. Good for the price if using it for the reason stated above. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
The only reason you would want to stay here is to be close to Salem or the area surrounding Salem, which is exactly why we stayed here. We were given a back-in site in the parking lot, although there were other grassy sites in the park. However, those grassy sites did not look very level, so we were actually happy to have a parking lot site (this is a very small campground and they pretty much squeeze people in wherever they can). There is no privacy here as the sites are close together and you are literally in a parking spot. But the place quiets down by 10 pm and there are no lights to disturb the night. However, people are up and about early in the morning, especially since the parking lot sites are next to the boat ramps. We stayed here on what is most likely their busiest summer weekend - 4th of July. So I was pleasantly surprised to find very little wait for the showers. Overall, the showers were as clean as you could expect given how busy the campground was with tent campers. The only thing I did not like about the showers is that there is no privacy when you are taking off your clothes to get into the shower. You have to leave your clothes and towels outside the shower itself and this is open for everyone to see you. There is no dump station at the campground itself, but just a few seconds down the street there is a dump station at the local sewage facility. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$55
Great view of the ocean, but that is it. The water view sites are in a parking lot, and they can not be used if there is a function in the function room. Good for tent camping, with some sites in a Revolutionary War fort. Dumping is off site at the sewer plant. We will not go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com