206677 User submitted reviews online!!
Stone Mountain Heights Mobile Home Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (770) 979-1000
CGID8540

Stone Mountain Heights Mobile Home Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   10   4   7   8   10   4   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$17
Nightly rate reflects monthly rate of $500. Pros: Quiet park with level gravel sites, very friendly and helpful staff, good hook-ups (high water pressure), proximity to downtown Atlanta. Cons: Old park with a lot of potential but major upgrades needed, many low hanging wires and tree limbs, no social activities, no WiFi, no recycling. The pros outweigh the cons and we would stay here again if we wanted to be in the Atlanta area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$33
Very large, spread out park. Huge sites. Many permanents, but clean & quiet. Owners extremely nice. We requested a pull-thru. They had one but said we would have to unhook our car because of uneven ground. My husband has limited mobility, so the owner came out and helped me unhook and offered to help re hook when we left. Gravel sites with cement pad for car. Good WiFi. No cable, but we were able to get quite a few channels on our antenna. Plenty of washers and dryers in the laundry. Large dryers that got clothes dry in minimal time. Good water. Would definitely stay again. Price was discount for multi night stay. Full price was $37.50. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
This is a nice park for staying close to Atlanta. A bit tired but wide spaces and friendly, helpful owners. Pet policy prohibited us from using our exercise pen which was inconvenient. Long term/ permanent residents are restricted to one dog but owner did allow our two dogs. Rate is based on monthly rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$36
A huge park. Yes it has mobile homes and permanent residents, but the place is so big, you won't even notice them. Very clean and convenient to Stone Mountain. Several restaurants close by and a couple in walking distance. Friendly and helpful owners. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
We stayed here one night. We had a pull through site but it was still difficult to get into. The site was gravel and very uneven. The roads narrow, rough and with lots of curves. We ended up having to pull very far forward in our site to get halfway level and then our sewer hose wouldn't reach. We will not stay here again. I'm giving it a 4 star because the staff was friendly. They let us arrive in the middle of the night. Then leave well after checkout. They also have a one pet, 20 pounds or less rule. We have 2 dogs both 40 pounds and they didn't charge any extra for that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
As other reviewers have mentioned this is a mobile home park with RV sites. The owners are extremely helpful and very accommodating. The park is located about 25 minutes from downtown Atlanta and a few miles from Stone Mountain Park. Plenty of shopping nearby. The sites in the front of the park have open satellite access. Plenty of room for Big Rigs. This is the closest park to Atlanta and the west side of town. Much better than the park in Marietta and a lot less expensive than Stone Mountain. That being said there are no amenities other than a older laundry room. Given this, the weekly rate is a bit high. Good place to stay if you are visiting Atlanta and need a home base. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
The owner is working to convert this mobile home park so it accommodates RVs, including big rigs. The sites are spacious and open. The RV sites we saw are very clean and easy to access. The permanent mobile homes are very well kept and clean of any clutter, and spaced out. WiFi is available. As of our stay, they have 5 pull thru sites. Plenty of room to disconnect the toad, though, and park it onsite. A bit tricky to get to the park if you are traveling east on 78. You must pass the park, turn left at next light, find a place to u-turn or turn around, go back to light, turn right, then right again into park. I understand she is in dialogue with GS to be included in the GS network of RV parks. When one considers there are just 3 available independent RV parks in the entire Atlanta metro area, and an unsubstantiated rumor that the city does not allow overnight parking in WalMart parking lots, staying at this park is a no-brainer. The price is right. Very close to the Stone Mountain Park, but not a part of it. Water pressure is very high (100+psi) and a regulator must be used, and used AT THE TAP. We will stay here again, overnight or for an extended stay, anytime. The owner and staff are very friendly, helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$16
As full-time RVers, my husband and I have stayed at Stone Mountain Heights three times now, each visit for several months at a time while we live and work and spend time with friends in town. We enjoy it so much that this is now the only park we'll stay at when in Atlanta. It's incredibly convenient to Stone Mountain Park (just 1/4 mile up the road) and Atlanta proper (just straight down Hwy 78 through Decatur), incredibly safe and secure, unbelievably affordable, and full of friendly and helpful long-termers that we are proud to call our "neighbors." Plus the staff are just wonderful. Every time we return to this family-owned park, they make us feel as though we are coming home. I know some people will tell you to stay IN Stone Mountain Park, but I disagree. Our monthly rent would be half again as much in the off-season and nearly twice as much during high season, plus a $10 a day parking fee. Why pay that when you can stay for less at Stone Mountain Heights. Buy an annual pass for $40, and come and go to the park as you please during your visit? We go to the park nearly every day to jog, climb the mountain, and enjoy the amenities for a heck of a lot less than actually staying in one of their RV spaces. The negative reviews I've seen about this park are posted by vacationers who were expecting "resort" accommodations, but that's not what Stone Mountain Heights is all about. They've got everything we need for our full-timing lifestyle, a great laundry facility, free unlimited Wi-Fi, a pool, safe streets for walking and biking, shaded RV spots, lots of space between you and the next rig, and folks who will go out of their way to help you if you're having a package delivered or need assistance with your awning or have a maintenance problem you can't figure out. If you're looking for a safe, friendly, convenient, well-maintained community in which to full-time as you're stopping in Atlanta, I highly recommend Stone Mountain Heights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
This campground was a 60's mobile home park that is slowly being converted to an RV park. It is huge. Unfortunately there is no cable, Wifi, restroom/shower/laundry/garbage within walking distance of where we stayed. The site was rather rough and unlevel. It appears that they are adding gravel to level sites as they go along so some sites are better than others. They don't give any discounts (PA, Good Sam, etc.). We felt that the price was too high for the amenities. They are close to Stone Mountain, but we would stay in the Stone Mountain Park campground next time even though it costs $10 extra to get in. The difference would more than offset being in the park with the location and amenities. We would not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
This RV Park has been great for a 4 night stay. The people checking us in were knowledgeable and friendly and we were escorted to our large, level pull-through site. The water pressure is the best we have experienced! There are cement patios next to every spot. This park also has mobile homes in it and a great swimming pool. It is convenient to fast food, Wal-Mart, and other stores and is about 17 miles from Atlanta. We recommend RV Park this highly and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Very large mobile home park with a few RV sites. The site was fine but you had to drive all the way to the back of the park to get to it. Next time we're in the area, we'll stay at Stone Mountain Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
This was a pleasant surprise. The campground had large sites that could accommodate any size rig. Staff at the check in was the nicest and most informative campground worker ever. They take Passport America and have a free shuttle to the mountain. Good Water and electricity and plenty of security. some of the nicest campers we met on a month long trip. We would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This is not a typical RV park. It was clearly a mobile home park that is slowly being converted to RV sites as the mobiles move out. As such, there are many permanent residents. The park appeared to be well cared for, and our pull-through site was shady and mostly level. We had a concrete patio and there was plenty of room between us and the neighbors. The only annoying thing about the whole experience were the neighborhood children who thought it was OK to walk through our site several times a day. Laundromat was functional but not air conditioned, staff at the office was very helpful, and we were guided into our site by one of the employees. Trash pick up only twice a week on Mondays and Thursdays; otherwise you toss it in the dumpster yourself. Pool is nice though frequently occupied by kiddoes. Very quiet community. Located very near Stone Mountain Park itself and only about twenty minutes or so from downtown Atlanta. Warning: water pressure here is very high. Don't forget your regulators! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
Rate is weekly. Eastbound on Hwy. 78 (Stone Mountain Highway) you will need to pass the park and turn around at Lowe's on your left one or two blocks down. Park has a pool which appeared to be just about to open. Lots of long term folks and spacious sites with trees, grass and concrete patios. Roads are paved asphalt, and sites are gravel. I do not believe there were restrooms as it is predominantly a mobile home park. We ran our a/c units continually and had no problems whatsoever with the power. I can't say enough about the friendliness of the other residents/guests and staff. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
As previous reporters have stated, it is a mobile home park with RV spaces where mobile homes used to be. Roads are narrow with lots of speed bumps; sites are not level. We have our jacks on the passenger side all the way down lifting the right rear off the ground. Managers are very nice. Takes quite a few minutes to get to a site because of the speed bumps. No direct entrance to park. Have to go down 3 miles to Lowe's to turn around. Park has kids running around, and some guys that look like they don't work for a living walking around looking at RV's. OK for a few days to see Atlanta, then move on. Voltage a little weak. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
The previous post accurately describes this park. It is an older mobile home park, that is gradually being converted into an RV park. There’s lots of space between each site. The electricity was weak at times. The owners are super friendly and helpful. Our rate reflects a two day stay. Stay longer, and the daily rate goes down. If you decide to stay in this park, call and ask for instructions about entering the park. It is fairly easy to enter once you know how to navigate around the highway median. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$17
We came in about 2 weeks ago and were quite pleased. The camp is family owned and they are very helpful with problems. They are working hard at improving the RV sites by putting large gravel on the old mobile home sites. This place is over 40 years old and many of the mobile homes are being removed and converted to RV sites. They have fairly strict rules and seem to adhere to them, for example, motorcycles are NOT allowed in the park. The residents are friendly and it stays quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
This is a beautiful campground. Make sure you get the right directions before you come here, because there is a 12-foot bridge nearby and 3 campers hit it in the last week and took out their a/c units and satellites. GPS will take you the wrong way!!! Take right exit and DO NOT go through the small town. Nice park: beautiful, lots of sites, with benches and fire pits. Most sites arfe a little uneven and there are lots of trees. Do not come in after dark because maneuvering an RV into a site can be difficult. Good Wi-Fi, and beautiful park. I would recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
This is primarily a spacious, well-maintained mobile home community with some spaces converted for RVs. Very quiet. THERE ARE NO SHOWER/RESTROOMS! Sites are very spacious with concrete patios, either under large trees or some in the open for satellite access. Staff is very friendly. Rate is based on monthly rate. Just minutes from Stone Mountain park, and great rate for an extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com