206926 User submitted reviews online!!
Soledad Canyon Park / Thousand Trails was rated 5 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (661) 269-1740
CGID8549

Soledad Canyon Park / Thousand Trails

Camp Information
Sites
992
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   5   2   4   2   3   4   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$3
They are working on the park and hope it gets better. Lot of sites and lot of sites with people that stay there seasonally. Closest Thousand Trails to LA. Bathrooms were in need of repair along with showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$45
They have made positive changes in the power grid. You need to look for new power poles in the site to be sure you have good clean electricity but this is an improvement. They are selling spacious sites with views of the surrounding landscape for full-time living. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$1
We have heard very bad things about this park and where positively surprised. Yes their is room to improve, but it is a ok park. Yes the train runs by close to very close (depending on your site), luckily most of them are electric. WiFi is a nightmare, works only in one lodge in one room, which they do rent out over the weekend and then no access. This is just outdated slow, 2 People on it (no videos) and taking 2-3 mins for a site to load is not acceptable. The children's pool is big, bigger, huge, just please heat it. We where their in the hottest season and it was ~70, brr. of course the adult pool was heated. The adult lodge had the kid games, but no kids allowed??? The park had many trees. Just tons of sites with broken power and nobody willing fix it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$1
I stayed at this campground with my mom in June 2013. This was my first experience with my TT membership and we were so disappointed. The only attractive part of the campground was the entrance. Even though I was greeted by a very rude ranger, if that's what you call this guy. I told him it was my first time visiting and he just said go find a spot and walk back here and give me the number. There are permanent residents who look at you as if you are walking through their back yard. Many of the permanent residences were junky. Many of the sites have no power problems and are corded off. The gravel on the pad is almost gone, there is so much dirt and dust. There were many weeds and the landscape was not tended well. Apparently no one polices the area because there were empty liquor bottles that were on the ground for the 4 days we were there. The other side of the campground had quite a bit of police activity while we were there. This is not a place I will return to. I hope this will not be my future experiences with TT. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$1
The Good: the lodge and Pool/Spa. The Bad: the maintenance from site electrical, slow draining sewer connections, no water pressure at sewer dump stations, over-grown foliage, downed tree's, and the constant trains(cant really blame that on TT though). This place needs some TLC.. Verizon signal OK. Wi-Fi slow and at Club House only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2012
$45
The only reason we stayed here is because our grandparents are old-time Thousand Trails members that can stay effectively for free and we wanted to spend Thanksgiving with them. The condition of the park is terrible, nothing is being kept up, public restrooms and showers were disgusting. Most sites appear to be very off level; be prepared with lots and lots of blocks. There aren't assigned sites, so when you come in make sure water, power and sewer work in your spot before investing much effort setting up, as many sites have issues with one of the three. It is next to the train tracks and a large dog kennel where you can hear the dogs howling and barking through the night. Aside from our grandparents, we hated every bit of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
Listed price is for TTN members. This park is in very poor shape. The electrical system is very poor. Supposedly they fixed it several years ago, but it is worse than it was before they fixed it. Low voltage, sites without power, etc. Main pool is not open in winter. Restaurant is closed. Many sites taken with (junky) permanent people. No Verizon voice or data unless you go to section M (on the Hill), and most of those sites have been taken by permanent people. Same with air TV. I will still use this park as a temporary stopover between Santa Barbara and Riverside, but it is not a good stop for an extended stay. The TTN sign has been removed and it is now identified as an Encore (leased site) park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
They claim to have over 900 sites, however between the leased sites and the sites without power the number is much smaller. Checked six sites before we found one that had good power. Seems like it would be an easy chore to mark the ones without , or low, power. This would shorten the time looking for a site. In spite of the fact that we are members we will avoid this park. There is no enforcement of the rules at the adult lodge and pool. Management has decided it is better to lease the best sites and let the weekenders/members try and find decent power. Wi-Fi is marginal at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$1
Our first time here. Nice big park. Lots of trees and grassy areas. Facilities nice but scattered; need auto or bikes. Electrical breaker kept tripping and shutting off our power. Many lease and extended stay sites in the best locations and now open to the public for a mere $45/night. Not the membership camping we purchased, but it's free camping for us so we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$1
The important issue is power. You MUST check the source at the stanchion before you hook up. There are some open neutrals and some legs have no power at all. There is an upgrade underway, but it could be some time before it is complete. There are lots of sites to pick from. Cell phone connectivity is almost non-existent, but we did have Wi-Fi using our booster in our site. Staff is friendly and helpful and gearing up for a busy summer. The sites are nearly all drive through with perimeter sites back-ins and all easy access. Main roads are asphalt and interior roads packed gravel. Sections M,N,P & Q could be isolated IF it rains and the Santa Clara River washes out the road from the Adult Lodge up to those sections. There are emergency exits to the Arrastre Canyon Rd, just in case. This resort is well maintained and well managed. The reason for the rating level is the problem with the electrical service. There are trails to hike and off site places to explore. Family lodge has a huge pool and play area. We will return when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$70
After reading the reviews on here, I was sure I was going to have a terrible time at Soledad Canyon... quite the OPPOSITE. Our experience was amazing. When we 1st arrived we were assigned a cabin that did not have an AC that worked. The ranger was very helpful and expedient and upgraded us to the Getaway cabins. This cabin was BEAUTIFUL, modern and a quaint little home away from home. We did not participate in any of the activities on site. Rather we went into LA or made a left and took Soledad Canyon Road into Santa Clarita where we purchased groceries, dined out & went to see a film. Wi-Fi was available in the adult center, the gates were closed at night, and cell reception better in some sections than others. Overall it was an excellence experience & a beautiful atmosphere! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$5
This park could use some updating and, as others have mentioned, the electricity is a problem. You need to test the electricity before you hookup. We stayed in section N; there are many sites which are owned, look very nice and landscaped and these are on the outside of the area. The sites are long, level, mostly pull-through and there is a lot of grass and trees between sites. We enjoyed walking around the park which is quite large and there are some trails in the hills surrounding the park. Shopping is a bit of a drive. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2012
$1
If you like the sound of train horns multiple times an hour, 24 hours a day -- this is the park for you! Thousand Trails should be embarrassed to have their name on this park. One half to three quarters of their electrical towers do not work. Security was non-existent, Gate was always open, they passed out the prior month's schedule of activities upon check in because they didn't have a current one due to the fact that the manager was on vacation. The park is mainly for full-time residents who cover their sites with trash and old rusted car parts. Dogs run free with no enforcement of leash rules. We finally found a site with working 50 amp, pull through and level. We stayed 3 weeks but were very glad to move on to our next reservation. We will not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
The direct interior access road to sections N, P, and Q was washed out so we needed to check-in then exit the park and go back to another entrance up on the hill on the back side of section N. Electricity seems to have been resolved within section N since our visit back in October 2010. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$1
We have camped here often in section N (up on the hill) with good satellite and cell phone access. The campground is upgrading the electrical connectivity as some sites no longer provide reliable electricity and have been known to damage rig’s internal appliances. So, follow the instructions that the camp ranger provides to ensure your electricity is good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$1
Stayed here overnight. We had a pull-through site in the N section; site was level, and cell phone reception was great and TV was available by antenna. We enjoyed playing pool at the lodge. Internet reception was very good at the lodge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
Haven't been to a place where you pick your own spot so that was a chore, especially because when we found one we liked and started to hook up, but the power didn't work. Found another and power wasn't that great but worked. Way too many bugs here, but can't blame staff for that. At night the train was very loud and it seems as if they honk the horn intentionally as they roll by the RV park. Woke me up four times. BUT, the amenities are great! Has large pools, mini golf, ping pong, a huge arcade, play area for the kids and more. And, this has been the one place that allows all dogs as long as they are not vicious. Our pit bull is a teady bear and we usually can't take him. Pros win over the cons and we'll be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
Many people told me not to come to this park - it was dirty and unkempt, they said - but I did anyhow and am glad I did. The park could use a little sprucing up, paint here and there, but very few parks these days can say anything different. The park has a great adult pool, immense children pool, lots of family activities, great security, an on-site store and its location, 40 miles north of Los Angeles, can't be beat. Add to this the Metrolink train that stops in nearby Acton and you have a good base for seeing the sights LA has to offer. I would camp here anytime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$0
Lots of permanent residents, great trees, power was iffy - luckily we have built in surge protection. We were on the hilltop in section N so we had good satellite and internet connectivity. Nothing fancy here but worth the Coast-to-Coast rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
I am unsure about the nightly rate as we went as guests with friends who had a membership. This place was truly horrible. Before camping here we had actually considered buying one of these memberships, I am so happy we didn't! The park was filled with groups towards the back of the campground, who obviously didn't observe the quiet policy at night or early morning! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$5
I would have given this location a higher rating, except for mgmt's priorities when it comes to providing accessibility and improvements. I stayed out at the end of "K" section as it was the only location that I could get my Air Card (Internet) to work. "N" section access road had been washed out due to recent storms. When quizzed about when the road would be fixed, managers response was "when it stops raining." Further, "if you do want to park up in "M,N,P" sections, you do so at your own risk" meaning that you have to go all the way around the park to the Emergency Exit gate. If it rains "you may find yourself stranded-unable to leave or return to your RV and have to find alternate sleeping accommodations at your own expense!" Even in an case of a Medical Emergency, crews will NOT be dispatched to help you. You sign a statement to that effect, before being allowed to park out in these sections. Just why this preserve doesn't fix the road or simply CLOSE all access is almost beyond belief. However, for the two weeks I was there, they continued their projects of putting in a very extensive NEW underground irrigation system and building fences around some of the eyesores in this park. Over 75 sites had no working electric or water service down in the "K" section. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$1
I've been a Thousand Trails member for about 1 1/2 years now. When I first went to Soledad TT it was quite a disappointment; however, it is growing on me! First off, it is being improved--fences, signs, grass, trees, paint, rest rooms, and even the electrical problems. I really am enjoying camping there now. Cell service is great in the "N" section, but I like being near the adult lodge and pool under the trees. The "rangers" are always friendly to me, but maybe that's because I'm usually always friendly to everyone. It can be contagious (hint, hint). Soledad is not my favorite TT, but it is worth staying at. Just be sure to pick where you stay. If you have no children, stay where the adults do! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$01
(I stayed with a member and do not know what the rate was.) This park makes me angry. I do not understand how, nearing the end of 2009, any RV park could expect to stay in business while offering zero technology: no Wi-Fi, no internet at the sites, no cable TV. Furthermore, because of the canyon location, we had no cell coverage and no satellite TV. This park is huge but it's a dump. As you drive in, you see trimmed trees and shrubs surrounded by thick healthy grass. Take a good look at that grass because it's the last time you will see it in the park. The roads are rocky and dusty. Road signs in the large park are broken or knocked down and just sitting at the sides of the road. There are no fires allowed though I noticed others with large fires. There were also very loud groups of people there who certainly did not respect "Quiet Time". This is supposed to be a private membership park that costs thousands of dollars to to join, yet it lacks the most rudimentary expectations to "rough it" while away from home. When you are at this park, it is truly roughing it. You will pass one or two RV parks en route to this dump. I highly recommend giving one of the others a try. I honestly hate to see businesses struggling in this economy, but I resented every dollar I spent at this Thousand Trails and I felt highly taken advantage of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$47
Family and I stayed here for a week, we were suppose to stay for 2 weeks. The week we were there the jacuzzi didn't work, we were told there was no ice so we had to travel to store down the road. My children were harrassed by one of the employees in the office everyday the 1 week we spent there. I was very disappointed the week we were there, and don't ever plan to go back. Camping is suppose to be relaxing for families not stressful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$1
Too many sites without electrical!!! Restroom B-1 wasn't working. Had to move again! First time I had to move because the post was not marked as NOT WORKING! Park was looking better but too many things are bad. Went for the Creekside food but was told they kicked the chef out. The current food made us sick. Will not go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$1
Stayed in Area N. Some sites without electrical service but, upon arrival, you are reminded to verify site has power before setting up. They have an ongoing problem with electrical service. Great AT&T cell phone service. Getting Wi-Fi from rig. Main Wi-Fi access is at the Adult Lodge and is great. Ongoing maintenance during this "un-busy" season. Will visit here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$2
There are many electrical hookups taped off and not working. The B-2 restroom/shower were not cleaned the two days we were there. Nice pool facilities with separate family pool and adult pool. With a little work this would be an outstanding park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
This membership park has lots to do for the kids: horseback riding, fishing, climbing wall, mini golf, swimming, and playgrounds. They advertise 477 full hookups and 375 power/water sites. We noticed quite a few electric boxes taped off with electric problems. Our site was supposedly OK, but in fact the power would drop to 103 volts at times, causing our motorhome to go on battery power. We were on the hill in the D section, which is where the satellite and phone signal is best. A portion of the campground was closed, but they were cleaning it up in preparation for the upcoming camping season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2008
$50
I was thrown out of this park while staying with a group of friends. Why? I was accused of "speeding" (8 mph in a 5 mph according to my GPS) by one of their "security guards" who had absolutely no customer service skills whatsoever. I had the audacity to call him on it and he got in my face and threatened to physically drag me out of the park. The park management was unavailable at the time, and have not returned my phone calls, so I have been telling everyone I know to avoid this place, and all other Thousand Trails campgrounds. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com