219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Nevada County Fairgrounds RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (530) 273-6217
CGID8557

Nevada County Fairgrounds RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   9   10   9   9   8   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This is our second year staying at the park while attending the Draft Horse Classic. It can be muddy in spots after a rain storm, but we will definitely be back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Enjoyed our stay. Wifi strong, Verizon worked.No TV Pet friendly Plenty of tall pines for shade.Check for Satellite spots. Not much shade there. Friendly staff. Quaint old Gold mining town. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
All in all a great find. No Memorial Day weekend crowds. Pleasant experience. Quiet campground with a beautiful pond. Ducks and geese live at the pond, and look for the turtles! Kids under 12 can fish the pond too. Nearby amenities were plentiful. Great launching pad for Nevada City/Grass Valley exploring. Only negative is the $10 extra charge for a picnic table. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
Rate reflects power and water only site, perhaps a pre-season rate. Points only lost for grass, in the water/power area, not cut and not done in a long time. Also no picnic table or fire ring. Great CG otherwise. We came to the area for a rodeo and stayed an extra night just because the CG is so pleasant. Unexpected bonus was strong, fast Wi-Fi, no additional charge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
We stayed here for the Draft Horse Classic plus several extra days. Great place to use as a base for exploring the surrounding history of the area. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Don't let the other reviews scare you: this is a beautiful campground. We spent two nights there and loved it. Tall pine trees, Wi-Fi, dog friendly, great hostess, and all of this in a serene setting in Grass Valley. There was one pot hole that we saw in the park, and it was in our camp site. Roads were graded and smoothed out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We LOVE this campground and have been here many times and will return again. Yes, it's dirt and gravel, but it is the most gorgeous setting in the pines. We had a level and large site with full hookups and plenty of room for our tow and outdoor seating. We were able to get satellite as we were not right under the trees but did get shade in the afternoon from the tall pines. I love walking my dog here. Plenty of room & the fairgrounds are open to the public too. VERY peace and quiet & good access to Hwy 20. Roads are dirt and gravel but maintained. We stayed a week & wish we could have stayed longer. Staff in the office was helpful and friendly. It's not fancy but very peaceful and a great price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
After reading some of the previous ratings, and after walking around the park, I wondered if I was at a different location! Perhaps the management has changed, but what I found was a park located in a meadow setting with a small irrigation canal and lake. There are a number of trees around so a camper has a choice of being in the sunshine or finding a shaded site. The restrooms and showers were older block construction (this is fairground property), but the showers and restrooms were clean, swept, and dry. Showers were free and upon check in each camper is given a lock combination for the facility. Parking is on gravel/dirt (remember this is a fairground parking lot!) but we found dried forest grass at our campsite. One can buy a newspaper at the park office but anything else can be obtained in town which is close. Good value for the money, easy access and this is a park we would come back to again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
We stay here when we visit relatives in the area. It is the most beautiful fairgrounds, but very poorly maintained, which is a shame. The sites are not very level, and there are potholes everywhere. Wi-Fi is available, but very slow. There is no cable TV and satellite reception is impossible because of the trees. The staff is friendly, and this could be a lovely RV park if anyone would take an interest! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
This was our 2nd year in this park. Stayed 5 nights (to visit relatives in Grass Valley) and would have stayed longer except the campground was to be closed for an up-coming event. I would give it a '9' or '10' if the campsites were better maintained. The same ankle-busting pot-holes as a year ago, and remnants of someone's campfire on the grass (ashes and burnt debris) from who-knows-when. I didn't think campfires were even allowed in our spot: especially given the drought the trees have suffered in recent years. The fairgrounds are well-maintained and have a Disneyland appearance, so we can't understand why the campground appears to be somewhat neglected (trash, dog waste, pot-holes, etc.) We would definitely like to return in the future. It's a beautiful spot, with nice people working here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This nice and friendly park, is surrounded by tall pine trees. There is a nice fish pond right next to the sites - I walked around it several times with my two preschoolers. Showers and restrooms are very basic but clean. Two showers+restroom buildings exist, one near the main office and one more remote, close to the "dry camping" (i.e. water and electricity but no sewage) area. The ones next to the office are fine. The other one is very old and has no hot water. We had a good time and will be happy to come again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Our second time staying here. Appears to be neglected, access roads had huge potholes, bath rooms were borderline clean, grass not mowed. WiFi good but slow (128kbps down/28kbps up). Great water pressure, good power. Very busy park with fairground events almost every weekend. No playground or kid items, no pool. There is a small pond where kids under 12 can fish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
Beautiful scenery as park is in the tall trees adjacent to the fairgrounds. Friendly host. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Very disappointed. We have stayed here in the past and were happy with the park, but they have let it run down. The sites are not level and there are pot holes throughout the park. It is convenient to Grass Valley and our needs but we hope they put some work into the park. The Wi-Fi was okay and the park does not have cable. The park has the potential if only the county and state put some basic maintenance into it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
This is much nicer than most fairground RV parks. It is more like a campground, surrounded by aromatic tall pines. The full hookup sites are in a large open area, so they have no shade in the summer. Large pull-through sites, with strong 50 amp power. We were parked about as far from the office as you can be, and their Wi-Fi signal was strong and fast, much better than the Verizon signal there. It had rained heavily for a few days before we arrived, and the sites were a bit muddy. There was no danger of sinking in, but it was messy. There is a pet rooster that roams the park. They even have a metal "Protected By Rooster" sign. That's cute until the sun comes up and it starts crowing under your bedroom window. There are really nice chainsaw sculptures scattered around the park. It's an easy walk to the Fairgrounds buildings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
This was a great place to stay. Very beautiful, not what you would expect for a fairground RV park. Very woodsy, can be a little tricking getting in and out if you are not experienced. A gentleman helped us, and he was very nice and extremely helpful. Even though a somewhat busy road was along the front, it was very quite, and relaxing. This is a RV campground that others could benefit from, on cleanliness, and overall helpfulness. I would for sure return here over and over. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
I would not call this a parking lot by any stretch. Nice, level, long pull-throughs; the full hook-up sites have few trees (get #40 or 41 for shade), so it is hot in the summer afternoons. The water-electric sites are in the pines. The restrooms and showers are clean. We are staying 6 nights, and so far we are happy with the park. A bonus is the location very close to Grass Valley and Nevada City. Also, the fairgrounds have something going on most of the summer, and it is an easy walk (or drive) over to the events. There is a horse show this weekend, and a Ham Radio field days. We have good free Wi-Fi and cell service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
This campground is one of the most beautiful campgrounds. During the fair the grounds get pretty trashed but before this and after this the campsites are quite nice. The area has much to offer in activities. Although it says there is no waterfront there is a small bass lake that I have taken my kids to. This campground is maintained and is very beautiful. It is more campground than your ordinary RV park so this makes it especially nice. You will love the quietness. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
This is the most convenient place in the area to stay if you're visiting Grass Valley as its just a couple miles from downtown. The fairgrounds are one of the nicest in the state with tall pine trees, grass, and walking paths. You can stroll the grounds pretty much all day/evening. There is a nice big pond/small lake adjacent to the grounds for walking as well. The sites themselves are nothing to get excited about. Basically a parking lot under the pines with hookups. No grass or tables on the sites. We were there when it was relatively quiet, but I would hesitate staying here if there is something going on at the fairgrounds (draft horse classic, grower's market, fair, etc.). It could get crowded and VERY dusty. Check the website's calendar or call ahead. Still, not bad and I would stay here again for its proximity to Grass Valley and Nevada City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
We stayed 2 days in the full-hookup area. Basically a parking lot. Heck, we stayed in an electric (30-amp), water site under tall pine trees. 20 degrees cooler, and $3 cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
We enjoyed staying here, though there isn't much to this campground. However, it's a beautiful area and right next to the fairgrounds, which we were able to walk through even though there wasn't anything going on at the time. They were preparing for the fair near the end of our stay, and it then got pretty crowded with some interesting fair vendor types! It was peaceful and comfortable and a good location if you are interested in visiting downtown Grass Valley. Staff was friendly. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com