214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Ancient Redwoods RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 77 user reviews. Phone: (707) 722-4396
CGID8562

Ancient Redwoods RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   8   9   10   6   8   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
Intended to stay overnight but ended up staying 4. Great park and very attentive owners. They were extremely helpful in pointing us to the area attraction, Avenue of the Redwoods, and made several suggestions on the best bike routes to take. Their recommendations were spot on. The park, rest rooms, laundry room were spotless. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
Great place. Nice friendly staff. Spacious roads and sites. Easy to find. Quiet. Wifi is excellent. No AT&T which didn't matter. Would return here again. Cute gift shop on premises. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Park is off of highway, no noise. Very open, no shade. Tall trees along south side of park; satellite works well in north sites. Paved roads and level wide sites, with grass between. Just long enough for 37 ft M/H and towed. Wi-Fi O.K., but at times had problems staying connected. Power and water was good, no cell (AT&T). 10 miles from shopping, restaurants, etc. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
Clean, well maintained, friendly people. Plenty of room for big rigs. Ours was 40'. I'd go back anytime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Well maintained campground, with helpful staff at check in. Roads are paved. Pads are paved with long and level pull throughs. Big rig access was marginal, a little tight pulling in and out of our site. It's a small campground, and when we were there in late October, only 6 of the sites were occupied, so it was very quiet, the campground closes in mid November.There was space around the RV, so no need to unhook your towed if you are there for just one night. A few trees and grass between each site, no picnic table. No view as such, but it's in a very pretty setting. The bathrooms and laundry were spotless. WiFi was good but there was no cell. Food stores and restaurants are not close by, but lots of sightseeing is. We would stay here again, it's hard to find a decent place to stay along Hwy 101, and we were very pleasantly surprised with this campground.  We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
This is a small low-key park...no frills. Wi-Fi was adequate, and the place was clean and quiet. Quiet mainly because there were only 6 or 8 other rigs. Spaces are long and wide and quite level. All the hookups work. What else do you want? Oh yes, only one shower for the whole park, but they're at the end of their season and are getting ready to close. At least it was clean. We'll be coming back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
Nice park with good utilities, but weak Wi-Fi. Off season so park was not full. Good location if you want to drive the Avenue of the Giants. Not good for food or shopping. Restrooms were clean but more like a bunker arrangement. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Very nice campground, large sites and the grounds are very neat. Nightly rate includes tax. Satellite dish friendly, no cable TV in park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Park is very new (2007) and grounds and facilities reflect their young age. Very friendly service from the park hosts. Spots are large and easy to park in. If you can't park here, you shouldn't be driving an RV. Has full hookups with multiple options for sewer hoses at each site. Fire rings for everyone and plenty of space for an awning or slide-out. Paved roads and sites. Most, but not all, sites have picnic tables. Bathrooms and showers are very clean, but there are only 2 showers for this 49 space park. We were here in early October and one shower was locked and appears to not have been open for some time, so there was only one available shower. Only one light was operating in the park so bring a flashlight if you're out after dark. Only one toilet in the men's and women's bathrooms which are in a separate building from the showers. Internet disconnects you every 2-3 minutes, then waits about 20 seconds before you can sign back on. We found the lack of facilities and poor internet frustrating for a park going for $38.50/night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Nice place to stay while seeing the Ave of the Giants. Sites are level with grass in between sites. Utilities worked but had rust color water from their faucet for the first couple of minutes after we hooked up. They do need more dumpsters around the campground. Staff was friendly. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
Campground manager and owner could not have been nicer. They even let you pick our own site. Most sites are pull thru's with lots of space between sites. Great place right on the Avenue of the Giants. Many places to hike and enjoy the majestic redwoods. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
Level sites, easy in out. No cell phone service to speak of; you have to go down to the store, and when you find a good spot don't move. Bathroom/showers were clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
This is our first time here, upon recommendation of friends. Great park with a suitable location for touring the redwoods. Large pull through sites, numerous back ins. Park is isolated from any large towns for essentials, so make sure you have everything you need. Limited cellphone service, no cable, but who cares! We came for the peace and quiet and got lots of both. We stayed for a total of 5 nights, already planning our next trip here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
This is an immaculate well-maintained and quiet campground. The laundry and showers were spotless. The sites are concrete with lush grass between them and nice picnic tables. The office staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent for experiencing the breathtaking redwoods and don't miss the delicious blackberries growing all around the park's perimeter. This is definitely a great choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
A clean, well-designed park that is mostly long pull-throughs. Lots of room for our 40 foot motor home and toad. Sites are asphalt, level and reasonably wide. Staff was friendly and helpful. Truly the best RV park in the area. The only downside was that we could not get a cell phone connection (Verizon) and the Wi-Fi was intermittent and frequently down overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
Very nice park on Avenue of the Giants. Paved asphalt roads and level asphalt pads. Grass on both sides of pad. AT&T does not work. Verizon works at Park store/office. A plastic table and fire pit were brought to our site. WI-FI worked well. No shade but surrounded by beautiful trees. Great park for area. Rate is Good Sam plus local taxes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
We stayed three nights and felt we have found a hidden gem! The sites are wide. All the services were in great condition. The staff was the best I've encountered in eight years of RVing. We will certainly stay here again, when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Park is very clean and modern, with paved level sites. Owners are very friendly and helpful. This park is big rig friendly. Located right on the Avenue of the Giants. Great gift shop on site. The giant redwoods edge one side of the park and you can walk out and wonder around the trees right from the park. The park itself has lots of grass, but no bushes or trees to screen sites - it was not crowded while we were there, but if it had been, there would be no privacy between sites. All utilities work fine. Wi-Fi was a bit weak in our area, but our Wi-Fi booster saved the day. The Avenue of the Giants is a beautiful drive, it’s a bit tight for a big rig, but don’t let that stop you. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
We stayed for three nights and enjoyed this park. The sites were large with newly planted fruit trees. The WiFi worked well. The staff was friendly and helpful. The park is right on the Avenue of the Giants giving easy access to this beautiful drive through the redwoods. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
This RV park is located in clearing in the middle of the redwood forest, just off the Avenue of the Giants. Nice long pull throughs and some back in sites, but the peace and quiet are serene. Clean toilets, showers and laundry. This is a good base to hike, bike or drive around the Humboldt State Park redwood forest. Not many towns in the area, so bring your groceries and beverages with you. Nice gift shop in the park. If you want to camp in among the big trees and have all the comforts of home, this is a great place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
We stayed at the park for a few days to explore the Alley of the Giants and do some hiking. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The driveways and the sites were paved, level, clean, with excellent hookups, rest was grassy. Clean laundry, $2 washer, $1 dryer. We liked the park because it was very quiet and the location is great. The only down was the weak wireless. Our rate includes a Good Sam discount. We would definitely come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Paved roads, paved sites, grass between sites. Some back-in sites, lots of long, level pull-throughs. Full hookups. Looks newly redone, trees planted but no shade yet. No cable, but got satellite in pull-through facing away from tall trees toward creek. Cell service not real strong but OK. Verizon MiFi weak but works great with Wilson Sleek booster. Beautiful drive on Avenue of the Giants. Check in was fast and efficient. Great gift shop. Friendly managers. Definitely would come back. Great value for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
We loved this campground. It is not too large, very quite, and the hosts are very friendly. Sites are well spaced and level with nice hook-ups, some have two locations for sewer hook-ups (center and aft). The park roads and sites are all nicely paved. What’s not paved is grass and no dust! Wi-Fi works well but if there are problems, the hosts will help. The majestic redwood forest is just outside the park. Rate reflects Good Sam. We’d stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This park is great, right in the heart of the redwoods, just off the 101 hwy. Big sites, helpful and friendly staff, great views. IF you want satellite get the sites on the second row, facing toward the little creek. All in all a great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
We stayed at this campground for 2 nights as we needed to "clean out" our rig after a 3 month trip before going home. The park was perfect for that. It is on Avenue of the Giants, a beautiful location, however the park itself is open and paved, with long spaces, making access to all parts of our trailer very easy. The hosts are accommodating and reasonable to work with. The Wi-Fi worked very well, however we would have appreciated cable since we do not have a satellite dish. Also we noticed that the water pressure was low, making tank cleaning a bit more difficult. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Nightly cost reflects monthly rate. We enjoyed this park and area. Family owned, nice people. Pay your money at the Gift Shop, and choose your site. All sites paved. Pull- through sites farthest from the office are the longest, and are for short term stays. The sites gradually get shorter as you come back toward the office. Most people try to use every other site when parking, but there is always someone not paying attention. Sites are large enough with some one parked beside you, but very roomy with open sites on each side. If you have a dish, be sure to park in the farthest row from the Redwoods, you will need to aim over them. If you can move your dish around, you can find a hole in the huge trees. Probably. Park is surrounded by blackberry bushes. Yours to pick. Good, free internet: yours won't work here. Verizon network phones will work near the office, they have a repeater there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
This is a very nice RV park located along the Avenue of the Giants in the Humbolt Redwoods. The sites are paved, level and well spaced. The park is quiet even though it is next to the highway. The staff is very friendly and will assist with any problems you may encounter. The Wi-Fi is good, but intermittent at the farthest site from the tower. The only downside is the lack of cable television. Only one local channel is available using an exterior antenna. The use of satellite antenna is recommended if you have one. We enjoyed this campground very much, and the best part was picking the delicious blackberries along the fence. They were wonderful. I would definitely recommend this campground for anyone traveling the northern California coast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Our first time here and will definitely come back. Sites are larger than most campgrounds of this type. We picked our own site and got one of best in the park. Even though I had room to park my truck in front of the trailer the owner told me park in the site next to us and said he would not rent that spot. We had no problem with water pressure as others have said. I did not use a pressure regulator. Verizon cell phones will work at the store/office. They have a hot spot there. The owners of this park are the friendliest people I have ever met at an RV park. When I mentioned that if too many rigs were between me and the Wi-Fi antennas I received a very week signal and slow response he thanked me and said he would call the Wi-Fi company and have it checked out. I truly believe he will do this and was not just giving me an answer to placate me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
One of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at. It is located right in the middle of all the beautiful redwoods. Site were wide; no close neighbor here. Not very full when we were there but that is OK. It is quiet and peaceful. The office is great, very helpful with things to see in the area. No cell phone e service; have to go to the office to get service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
Great park! We stayed during Memorial Day weekend and found only three other RV's. Very quiet and spacious with large pull through sites for big rigs. This is a fairly new park so apparently the crowds haven't found it yet, much to our delight! Owners are extremely nice, and allowed us to pick our site. They also allowed our camping mate to leave his rig parked until 6:00 p.m the second day while we spent the day sight seeing. We will stay here again when in the Redwoods! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$37
Very clean, well kept property! Staff very helpful and allowed us to pick our own spot. Spots are spacious and have grass at every site. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$29
Agree completely with previous reviews. Beautiful park in a beautiful setting. Being so late in the year, we were the only ones in the park. Hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. Verizon service is very low (one of the few places we have found this), sometimes connect, sometimes not. The water pressure is low, but tolerable. Satellite works great as does the Wi-Fi. Will definitely stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This is a great park in an excellent location. Sites are paved and level. Good 50 amp service and water pressure. Utility hookups are easy to use and conveniently located. No cable tv, but that's ok with us because we don't watch tv when we're on the road. Park is located right on the Avenue of the Giants and is convenient to Ferndale, Eureka and the redwod parks. We will be back in the spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Very friendly park. As others have stated, I was also told to go pick my site which is a nice change in how a park does business. If you are looking at the pull through site and want your TV dish to work I suggest a site on the right side. Those are some "tall" trees on the left side. Water pressure is regulated to 35 pounds MAX as required by his building permits. I filled our fresh water tank and used the pump. Be sure to drive south to the "Founders Grove" but in a pickup or your toad only. If you have never driven the Avenue of the Giants the WOW factor will leave you speechless. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Incredible location along the Avenue of The Giants in the Humboldt Redwood National Forest. The park appears relatively new and it's physical layout is excellent with wide, concrete sites. Although there were trees between sites, they were only 10' tall at most and provided no share. However, high temperatures were not an issue as the National Forest's climate is mild and the surrounding giant redwoods keep the mercury at comfortable levels. Staff very pleasant. A great place to stay if touring the immediate area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Pretty darn nice park in the middle of a redwood forest. Right on Ave of the Giants. I would suggest getting here before dark as there are HUGE trees close by on either side of the road going to the park. The Wi-Fi works fine. Which is good as my cell phone did not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
They try hard and succeed at taking care of customers. Park is surrounded by trees and our stay was very pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Large, spacious pull through sites will accommodate big rigs. Owners currently building shower house. Park is only about five years old and interior trees are small but the perimeter of the park is adjacent to a state redwood park. In this area of cool climate the openness of the park and sun exposure is appreciated. In August the park is surrounded by abundant blackberry vines loaded with ripe berries. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
We stayed here a total of 6 nights while on a 25 day vacation. The park is located on the edge of a redwood grove with majestic trees as part of the view. The sites are paved with grass in between. Our site required one block to level our 36 foot fifth wheel. The hosts are great folks, friendly, helpful and flexible. The sign at the gates says, "For after hours check in, pick a site and settle up in the morning." This park is central to the redwood parks, the Lost Coast and touring the Six River National Forest. It is back off the coast so there is no fog. While we were here the contractor arrived and broke ground on the new shower unit. Their coin op laundry facility has 2 washers and 2 dryers. There are 2 large grassy areas for pets to play. The store/gift shop is an adventure in itself. They have many different types of wood items for sale from simple plaques to redwood tables. Store has snacks, beverages and basic quick food items. It was relaxing to be able to step out the door and start on a stroll through the big trees. We had to extend our stay due to the wife getting sick. The hosts said stay as long as you need to and settle up when you leave. We will be back again to visit the area and will stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
RV park on the North end of Avenue of the Giants. Easy in with good pull through for our big 45 footer. Park has all the basics with no grown trees yet, but worked OK for our satellite dish! Perfect for taking the car and enjoying the beautiful Redwoods. They also have a gift shop with many wood items as well as personalized items. Would definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
All I can say is this is a hidden jewel of a campground. No showers yet, but who needs one when you have trailers or motor home? The staff was great and we could not believe how quiet it was. We are definitely going back soon!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
This is one of the nicest parks we have stayed in lately. Very friendly staff, outstanding site layout with paved pads and grassy patio areas. The location on the Avenue of the Giants is excellent for ease of access. Their gift shop is full of top notch redwood products and also has the basics such as ice and munchies. If you are looking for an excellent RV experience in the giant redwoods with quiet surroundings and none of the usual "RV Resort" chaos, this one is for you. We will most certainly return whenever we are in the area. A bit more water pressure would be my only suggestion for improvement. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$29
Lots of room between you and the next motorhome. Bathrooms were clean no showers yet. They plan on adding them soon. There is a laundry room. Beautiful quiet spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
This is a new park, only shade is from the Giant Redwoods on one side. The trees they planted on each site will provide extra shade soon. Has very friendly staff, clear view of sky for satellite, 50amp hook-ups. Eight or nine of the pull through sites are too tight for our 40ft rig, but all the rest have plenty of room. Very clean when we were here, only two others during the middle of October. They are closed November through March for the winter. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Well kept, friendly, quiet, and reasonable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Excellent access to Redwoods. Just off 101 on the Avenue of the Giants, (2 mi south of the Pepperwood exit). RV park is spacious, well groomed, easy egress and entry. Verizon didn't work, but new tower is being installed nearby. Wi-Fi a little spotty. No cable, but with judicious positioning of unit, Satellite worked well for football! No showers. Very accommodating staff. Visited nearby Fer wood and environs. Would return here in a heartbeat We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
This is an exceptional park to stay in the area to tour the Redwoods. The sites have reasonable space with grass. The trees are small so pull-throughs have no shade but there are some backins along the outside that have afternoon shade. The sun is very enjoyable though in this coastal region! The park is immaculate with a nice laundry and bathrooms. The WiFi was iffy but our Verizon cell and air card worked fine. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This park is only 3 years old and if you want peace and quiet this park is for you. This is one of the nicest parks near the Redwoods. The shade trees they planted are still growing but if you park on the side of the Redwoods you will be in the shade. There is internet and it works. The cell service is a little spotty but we could still make and receive calls just fine. The park, bathrooms, and laundry are extremely clean. The owners said they are in the process of building showers. Spaces accommodate all RV sizes. Owners are very friendly and helpful. They have a gift store on site that has been in their family over 40 years with handcrafted redwood items. We will stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
This is a brand new RV park. Good Sam discount. The owners are very friendly and helpful and they toured the park twice a day in their "Log Truck" to check on guests. This is a beautiful and very quiet park with lots of room between the sites. All sites are asphalt with grass between sites. Wild blackberry is everywhere and you just pick and eat. The giftshop has very high quality redwood gifts at very reasonable prices. The park is about mid-way on the Avenue of the Giants and there are many things to see in the area. I would have rated this park a "10" but there is no TV reception and no cable TV available. Cell phones do not work, no matter what carrier, so be prepared to be out of touch. In an emergency, they will let you use their land-line phone. Very pleased with everything else in the park. We stayed here in a 40 footer. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
An alright place to stay if you want no frills close to the redwoods. No cable TV or Wi-Fi. Parking lot style with no shade trees. Nice little gift shop. Very dark at night so check in early! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Very friendly staff, spacious store, excellent facilities technically. The only mark against is that there isn't any shade yet, but that's only because they are new and the ornamental plum trees, etc. haven't filled out. Favorite campground with my kids because the pavement is new and smooth everywhere, which is perfect for scootering and biking! The park is right up against the redwoods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Pleasant surprise. Large sites (stayed in a 38 footer), friendly and helpful staff and centrally located to coast and redwood sites. Poor reception for Verizon, can get good reception at Founders Tree location. Good satellite TV reception. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
A great park. Quiet and in a beautiful area. Verizon phone and broadband was not very good. The owner directed us to a site that picked up Direct TV with our dome perfectly. The sites were large and well maintained. Planned on two or three days and ended up staying 8. Would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$47
Spent 3 nights. Owner and employees were friendly and helpful. Park was spotless and well maintained. This is a new RV park, but it will grow into one of the best, I'm sure. Owner has planned well. Would highly recommend this RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We only stayed here for one night but would definitely stay here again. Did not see showers if they had them, but their restrooms and laundry rooms were extremely clean. Staff here was very friendly and they had a nice gift shop on the grounds. It would have been nice to have a few more shade trees in between the camp sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
This is one of the quietest parks we have ever stayed in. It is nestled among giant redwoods, however, the park itself is open and sunny. Sites and roads are paved with well kept grassy areas between sites. WiFi is strong and free. There is no cable TV, so bring your satellite dish if you have one. Also we could not get phone service on our AT&T I phone. Laundry is clean and brand new. A really nice place to stop and enjoy the redwoods and other attractions of the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
This place is a diamond in the rough. It is unfinished do to permit issues with the county that have remained unresolved for a couple of years as I understand it. Nice level paved sights with ample space in between with well maintained grass. Owners were great and operate "The Immortal Tree" on the same sight and offer a nice gift shop as well. The only reason I rated it a 9 is because they don't have showers available due to the permit issues. The bathroom was spotless and the laundry room was clean and the machines worked great. An added bonus is there was not a live in in sight. I would stay there again and would highly recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
Very much a work in progress. $31 is with GS discount. WI-FI is quick but sometimes spotty. Great owners. Wonderful gift shop with many items made by the owners. Wide sites, for a private campground, though laid out angled car-park fashion. 50/30amp power & aft or center sewer. A new campground well deserving support. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Fantastic setting, the owners are easy going and the nicest people you could know. Very easy to navigate, and this has to be the quietest place I've ever been to. The sites are big and there is ample space between. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This is a new park. It's not complete but what is done is first class. Make a point of visiting the gift shop. It's a good one and not over-priced. Trees are just babies, so no shade, but the park is surrounded by trees. Redwoods on one side and a mix on the other. Good for satellite systems. Owners are super friendly and helpful. When this park is done and the trees grow up, it will be a really fine park. It's certainly a good one already. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
Went to this park on reviews on this site. It is great, hosts and owner were most cordial and willing to help with any questions or problems. Sites are level and clean, restrooms spotless, (no showers still), which did not bother us. Great base camp for touring the area, and owners told us all the best places to see. Overall a nice quiet, restful spot. They are planning a lot of additional features which will only add to your camping enjoyment. 2 thumbs up! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
The jewel of the Redwoods. Amazingly nice, large pull through asphalt spaces. One of the quietest places we have been to. No cell service but excellent wi-fi. Plenty of room to maneuver and generous size spaces. We spent 3 days here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
What a great find. This park was exceptionally clean, the owners/managers treated us like royalty. As soon as we were parked they checked to see if it met our needs, if they could be of any help. This was the next to the last night of a 34 day, 5,000 mile trip and it was, by far, the nicest and friendliest place we stayed. When the newly planted trees mature some, this will "the place" to stay. Our thanks to this family business! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
I reviewed several campsites before picking this one. It is relatively brand new and being upgraded. The owners/managers are very nice and willing to help with anything they can. They want to make your stay enjoyable and it was. The sites are set up nicely and the bathrooms were immaculate. Showers are not yet in, but will be as I understand it. This RV park sits right on the very edge of the redwood forest even though not among them. New trees have been planted so shade will be no problem in time. Actually one can back up directly to the forest for more shade. The gift shop is beautiful with many things to see. We had a real nice time here. There are many sights to see in the immediate area as well as driving up the coast. It will be my next stop when I return to the area. Nice, quiet, and peaceful. Can't ask for much more. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
This campground has paved sites, paved roads, large sites, clean new laundry, no showers right now but having to go through CA state red tape. Very friendly people and set in the middle of the Redwoods with lots to see and do. Wi-fi was okay, no cell service, satellite worked very well from site. This is a pretty park and new trees have been planted so there isn't really shade right now. We spent four days here and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Ancient Redwoods is a lovely campground right in the middle of the gigantic redwoods of Humboldt State Park. The owners were friendly and helpful with directions in the planning of our tour of the redwoods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Ancient Redwoods RV Park is fairly new: three years old. The park is the quietest we've stayed in and the owners are great people. The sites are large and accommodate big rigs with ease. The park is still under construction so right now, there are no showers. The laundry facility is small but very clean. Wildlife still transit through the park and Avenue of the Giants is easily accessible. Go in late July and early August for wild blackberries: they're all over the place. If you want a quiet, reasonable, clean park with great owners, go to Ancient Redwoods. We'll be back again!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
A new and undiscovered RV park located on the Avenue of the Giants, about 5 miles north of the most scenic and popular sections of the park. We stayed for 2 nights a few days before Fourth of July, and were the only ones here on the 2nd night. Very nice owner and staff, easy pull through sites with room for our 31 foot coach plus toad, very clean and well maintained. Park is basically an open meadow with paved sites and no trees, which could be considered a plus or minus after spending all day hiking in the shady redwoods. Low water pressure and no cable, but we got a strong satellite signal from a portable dish when parked in one of the middle pull though sites. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is a fairly new park that is on its way to becoming a great place to stay. They do not have showers yet but are working on it. The restrooms and laundry room were clean and nice. It would have been nice if the laundry room had a coin machine. The sites were nice but the trees in the resort were young which isn't a huge deal considering you are in the middle of the forest. The drive in and out was a treat. We loved the office and store. It was full of all sorts of unique treasures. We hope the management will continue to grow and develop. We would love to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
What a find! Totally new and still in the process of being finished and the greatest location. From the perspective of large motor home owners (40' to 45'), this park can accommodate the longest rigs and their tow cars. Paved parking pads and wide grassy areas between sites make these some of the largest sites we have found in California. Owner was extremely accommodating both over the phone and in person. Great place to park for several days while visiting the Humboldt Redwoods as well as the surrounding coastal area. Bikers will love the level roads and access to riding on the Avenue of Giants. I would give this campground a 10 if not for a few, unimportant points - water pressure was low and unfinished areas. If you are looking for recreation, you can definitely make your own..it is all around you at this fantastic park. The beauty of the flowers, trees and river made Ancient Redwoods feel like the Garden of Eden. Definitely recommend this park and would return in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Park was new in 2007. Long paved pull through sites with good hook ups in right locations. No shade yet, but very quiet! You are 5 miles off Hwy 101 so no traffic to bother you. Camp in the redwoods in the Redwood Highway. Bathrooms are spotless and are individual rooms with sink and toilets, but NO showers yet. (Has to do with lengthy process to do anything in California). The owner is very nice and also owns a huge and beautiful gift shop on premises. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
Excellent facility - clean and in a fantastic area. Showers would be nice, but the restrooms were extremely clean and bright. Cable would also be nice, but a few local channels could be picked up over air. The owners were very nice and couldn't have been more accommodating. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
Good for an overnighter. All paved, level sites with full hookups. They need to water the grass and newly planted trees once in a while as they were brown and dying. No showers or restrooms in the RV section yet (maybe 2009?). There are outside public restrooms at the Gift Shop. Free Wifi, no cable. Nothing here for kids to do. Very quiet at night, we were glad there were two other RVers staying nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
This park is centrally located in a small clearing on the Avenue of the Giants with easy access to Hwy 101. Very quiet with an interesting gift shop. The sites are spacious, and all have 50 amp service. Free Wi-Fi that worked well. Couldn't receive satellite connection from my position near the front of the park, but those in sites at the back had no trouble receiving a signal. A great, friendly staff with ambitious plans for future development of the park. Laundry facilities were spotless. Would rate higher if showers and other amenities had been completed, but would definitely stay here again. Very comfortable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Nice new clean park. Will be great when the trees grow up a bit. No showers. Located in an open spot within the "Avenue of the Giants". Friendly staff. Easy pull through sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
What a great little place in the heart of the Redwood Forest. The owner Dean and his daughter keep this newer park immaculate. There is a new laundry and a great gift shop and grocery store. We stayed a week because it was so pleasent there and we felt like we were at home. There is NO cell service, but we did not mind being out of touch a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
A new park about 2 miles north of Redcrest on the Avenue of the Giants. Owners of the gift shop built this park which has just opened. Open from May through October. I was the 2nd rig at the park this year. I was the only one in the park. Big sites. Portable restroom and showers. No trees so satellite TV was great. Pool cell phone service. Wi-Fi is adequate; uses HughesNet. Avenue of the Giants was closed just north of the park so take exit 667 not 671 from 101: the downtown Redcrest exit. Nice gift shop and friendly owners. Worth a stop. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com