224153 User submitted reviews online!!
Bernardo Shores RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (619) 429-9000
CGID8564

Bernardo Shores RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   9   10   10   9   10   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$60
This park is a spotlessly clean, well laid out park with easy access to major roads. It is an "adult" park and has few amenities. Does not have showers or restrooms but does have a laundry with new, clean machines. Each site is huge, with parking for two vehicles in addition to the RV. The site also has room for a free standing canopy and other picnic gear. We had our own Wi-Fi so did not use the park's but it was offered free. 4G signal is very strong in the area for both AT&T and Verizon. For those campers not having satellite local TV reception seemed to be popular. Very pet friendly. Lots of restaurants and provision stores in the area. Easy access to all San Diego Destinations and Mexico. It is possible this park will become condos in a few months but that is not certain at this time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
This is a wonderful park, well run with an excellent staff. If you need showers and bathing facilities, this park is not for you. No pool, but who needs one with the 0cean so near. The sites are huge and the utilities excellent. The wifi is good, but can be inconsistent at times. Great location and near any San Diego area activity. It is a very quiet park, perhaps the quietest park we've ever visited. I only hope they don't convert it to condos as was rumored during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$31
One of the best parks we have stayed. I would give it a 10 but for the lack of showers, toilets, and pool. You must be self-contained. It is gated and enclosed with a concrete perimeter. Water pressure is high and recommend a regulator. Spacious sites are separated by hedges, are crushed rock, adjacent to a concrete patio. Very quiet, easy access, and close to everything you could want to do in the San Diego area. The young man who manages the park is fantastic and very helpful. About a 15 minute walk to the beach pier. We stayed one month. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$33
We loved this place so much last summer, we came back for a month this winter. Access to Coronado, where we spent most of our time, is superb. As a matter of fact, don't think of this park as being in IB, think of it as being on the bay in Coronado. A bit of exploring uncovered an easy, safe bike ride to the Bayshore bike path from the park. A dinghy-less couple we met from England, raved about the public transit, which has a stop just outside the park. They used it to tour San Diego. A few miles inland, you'll find the very upscale Otay Ranch Town Center. This is the very nicest outdoor mall ever! Bernardo Shores is the perfect location for the San Diego area. And the icing on the cake? It is adults only! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$56
One of the best campgrounds we know. The sites are huge, really long spot to put your rig, 2 parking spots and a cobblestone patio to sit on. Full hookups and Wi-Fi that actually works! Putting green and driving cage. Best location! Minutes to Coronado, easy access to San Diego attractions, walk to Imperial Beaches and public transit right at the front door. We would certainly come back, but maybe on a monthly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$46
Certainly not inexpensive, but a very nice CG in a good location at the southern tip of the Silver Strand as it joins Imperial Beach. All the sites are wide and will easily handle your rig and 2 vehicles. Every RV is parked on a gravel pad and each side is paved and bricked. Weather here is wonderful and if you are doing the SD area, it is a fantastic location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
I'm very tempted not to write a review of this park. But because others chose to let the secret out via this website, which is how we found out about it, I will also. This is pretty close to the perfect park for us. First off, it is an adult park. To me that means parents can't pull in and defend they and their kids's right to infringe upon mine. My grandkids can and will visit, and I will use the opportunity to demonstrate and remind them of good citizenship. Our site is a premium site, but all appear to easily be wide enough for yet another RV in the site. Fortunately, management went for quality as opposed to maximizing profit. RV's park on gravel adjacent to a concrete slab for parking the tow vehicle/toad. A very nice paver patio is also provided. RV's are parked at a right angle to the interior roads. For me, that necessitated driving over a portion of the concrete pad. I've stayed at other parks where this could have resulted in rubbing the sidewalls. Not here. The gravel is essentially level with the pad. This and the placement of the hook-ups reflect a concern for quality. The park is gated, which I like. A recent stay at a different very nice resort saw our neighbor's bikes, chained to a table, stolen during the night. Exercise caution entering the park the first time. Initially it looked to me like there was only room for one rig to park for registration. That isn't the case, but do be careful. The day after our arrival, we attended the weekly Saturday morning donut and coffee get together. I'm not a social guy, but was immediately impressed by the welcoming sense of community. The portion of the bay that the park is next to, a wildlife refuge, might have water at a very high tide, but it is really a wetlands area. The lack of a pool, showers and restroom help keep overhead down. As does the lack of cable TV. I seriously doubt if the clientele here misses any of those amenities. The hedges that separate the sites, are definitely not going to impede satellite reception. A few local English channels are available over the air. Lots are available from south of the border. For an empty-nester, it doesn't get any better than this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$29
Rate based on monthly stay (30 nights). This is a lovely, clean, well laid out RV park with wide, deep sites. All RV pads are gravel and there is a separate concrete car parking area and large bricked patio. Sites are private as they are surrounded by lovely hedges. We had site #73 (north facing) which gave us a nice view of San Diego Bay right from inside our motorhome. A large number of sites offer a view of the Bay as they are terraced. If you love to walk or bike this is definitely the park to stay at as the Bayshore Bikeway is a short ride away, and from here you can ride the Silver Strand all the way to Coronado or all the way to Chula Vista Harbor and even downtown San Diego. Imperial Beach is also just a mile away which is a very nice public beach. The park staff are very friendly and helpful. I was most impressed to learn that they refund the cost of laundry debit cards ($5 cost) as well as any money left on your card when you check out. The free Wi-Fi worked very well. There are no amenities at this park except for the golf putting, chipping and driving cage but with so much to do in the area this wasn't a problem for our one month stay. There is a great grocery store within walking distance, and Costco is just a 15-20 minute drive. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$29
Best in San Diego! This park is simple, neat and tidy. Great bus access up to Coronado Village. Beach is a short walk away. I stayed here for 3.5 months while house hunting. It definitely felt like home. All the people are great. Summer months, the place is packed. In the fall the crowds thin out and it's quite easy to make a reservation. I do not suggest kids be brought for extended periods. There's nothing for them to do. But short visits, especially if the kids are 4 or under is no problem. Just run your plans by the management. OH AND DID I MENTION, THE SITES ARE HUGE! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
As others have said, this park is immaculate and the sites are some of the largest/nicest I have seen in 6 years of full timing. Even though they label themselves as an "adult park", they DO allow kids here. There are just no amenities to entertain them. Also interesting that they have a special section for guests with pets. There are some negatives here. First, if you look at photos and see water lapping against the edge of the park: don't expect it. We have been here for 4 months and this part of the bay has had no water to speak of. I think they are doing some wetlands reclamation just to the north. Second, with the nearby highway I was expecting some noise, but not at the level that it is. Every morning starting around 5am, all the navy seals on their Ninjas and Harleys go blasting north to the base. It then continues with noisy bikes and cars throughout the day. If you are outside, sometimes you have to stop talking until they fade way. Third is the helicopter noise. This is from the training base nearby. This comes and goes, I guess depending on where they are in training, but it can go well into the night, even the wee hours. For a short stay all the noise can probably be overlooked, but for an extended stay it gets a little old. Why stay, you ask? Well, for prime season in San Diego, it is a nice park with huge sites and a good value. The rate quoted is based on their monthly rate for a premium site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Important: This is a adults-only RV park, so if you're RVing with kids, it's a non-starter. Beyond that, it is a very well-kept park catering mostly to long-term permanent and seasonal (summer) tenants. There are virtually no amenities offered beyond a (very nice) laundry room and a doughnuts-and-coffee social on Saturday mornings. They don't even have a bathroom open to guests. The park is gated from 5pm to 8am and we felt safe and secure here. If you're a bit of a free spirit, you probably should look elsewhere. Registering here includes signing every page of a three-page list of rules. The sites have a concrete pad and parking area and a brick patio and are very clean. The rate shown reflects the monthly rate divided by 30. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$50
Worth a 10 but the lack of cable TV was a minus. The previous reviewer said there are 60 channels on the antenna but only 10 were in English and not much to choose from. Beautiful large sites and everything immaculate. There is a small activity room where they served coffee and donuts on Saturday morning. It is gated, fenced, and very secure. Enjoyed the golf facility. Helpful and friendly staff. It's a good location for exploring San Diego area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
Wonderful park! We stayed here 2 months so price shown is the prorated monthly rate. This is a family owned park and it really shows pride of ownership. Everything is kept immaculate and there are zero junk rigs in the park. Spaces are HUGE. Wide enough for your rig and two additional vehicles side by side by side. Patios are a combination of concrete with a 15x12 (approx) brick sitting area. Many residents set up a small cabana is this area. Many sites have their own small storage building. Hint: Ask for a site where your living area faces north and you will have an amazing view of the Coronado bridge and the city skyline. The park is terraced so everyone has a view if their rig is oriented properly. Laundry facilities are excellent and there is a putting green and two large golf cages for tuning up your swing. Rate shown is prorated monthly rate. There is a greasy spoon called Don Panchos just outside the park that has absolutely fantastic food. Don't miss it! The San Diego Bay Bikeway is just outside of the park for walking or bicycling (we did the 28 mile loop around the bay in 5 hours.) No cable but easily 60 antenna stations. Wi-Fi is pay as you go which is my only negative. Imperial Beach pier (good fishing) and shops are about a mile away. The park is 15-20 minutes to Balboa Park and downtown, less than 10 minutes to Coronado, and about 10 minutes from the border. We'll be back next year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
All previous reviewers were spot on. Sites are wide, well designed and clean. The park wasn't too full when I was here and something that I like, they spread transients out. Too many places pack transients into one area. They didn't here. The view from site 105 was great. It overlooked San Diego Bay and downtown San Diego could be seen. Rows are terraced, so just about everyone gets a view. Nice touch. RV Parks around here are very expensive and for the price, I thought they should have cable TV. They don't. Full hookups at each site, but none of the usual central facilities (showers, bath, etc.) They do have a putting green, landscaping is great. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
Great place. Adult park. Nice little pet area. View of the San Diego Bay. Very large sites. Very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Great adult park. This park is near the 901 bus line which takes you to Coronado Island or to the Blue Line Trolley station. Wi-Fi was a little iffy at first but worked well after a few days. This campground does not have public restrooms or showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$43
Very nice clean park with excellent security. The spaces were nice and wide. We had a space that was backed up along the fence that had a view of San Diego lit up at night. The noise from the road was next to nothing. This was a good starting point for discovering San Diego and Coronado. Friendly, helpful staff. Rate reflects staying for 4 nights for the price of three. For the price we think the Wi-Fi should have been included. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
This is an "adult" park and although children may stay here, there is really no activities directed to their group. The most descriptive word for this park is "IMMACULATE." The security and location is excellent. It would be hard to find a better value within thirty miles of San Diego. Wi-Fi is available, but expensive at 4.95$/day. One of the really convenient aspects is that mail is delivered to a mailbox at each site. Also, UPS delivers directly to each site. There are continuous ocean breezes which keeps temperatures lower than just a couple of miles inland. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$39
This is a wonderful park right on the southern end of San Diego's Mission Bay, in Imperial Beach. The daily rate is $55, but we stayed for a week with Good Sam so it lowered it a lot. Lovely breezes off the water, and we had a clear view of the bay as well (not all sites do). Very neat and clean, hedges between sites, which are huge (big enough for two cars). Putting green and driving cages for golfers. No cable TV, but our antenna/digital converter got all the SD stations clearly. Very nice, modern laundry. They charge extra for wireless internet, so we used our aircard: 5 bars with ATT. Only small issue was they only collect trash twice a week, have no dumpsters and don't recycle. (We found recyclers in the nearby shopping center and cut our trash output by 75% by taking plastics and bottles there). Park is right by the bike trail that runs 8+ miles up the Silver Strand to the lovely Hotel del Coronado. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
I found this park to be one of the nicest, cleanest, well manicured and centrally located parks in San Diego County. It's location on San Diego Bay at the south end of the Coronado Strand is prime for long walks or bike rides along the strand, with excellent bird watching opportunities. The mild ocean breezes are constant and the sunsets from the beach are spectacular. Most of San Diego's major attractions are within a 20 minute drive. I'm surprised that there have been no other reviews submitted for this park. I usually rely on RV Reviews in selecting a park, but found this one by accident. The back-in sites are spacious for big rigs including parking for two cars, with a large paving stone patio at each site. You are separated from your neighbor by hedges that border both sides of your site. The park has two golf driving cages and two synthetic putting greens. This is an adult park where most guests respect peace and quiet. There are no shower or restroom facilities but the laundry room was as clean as can be. I highly recommend this park as a base point when visiting San Diego. It's peaceful, quiet and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$50
Very nice park. Great people in the office for help. Friendly neighbors. Would use this park again without question. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$45
We love it at Bernardo Shores. We consider this place our second home. We have been coming here for about nine years now and the people here are very friendly and the park is located close to the Ocean and also shopping. This is a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
Clean RV park with very wide sites. No pull through sites available. I did not observe any bath house. WiFi is available for a fee. Park is located near Coronado. There is a do-it-yourself dog wash across the street. Park is gated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com