206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunset Point Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (207) 483-4412
CGID8565

Sunset Point Campground

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   10   10   9   8   9   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Great place. Somewhat off the beaten path, in the heart if wild blueberry country. Situated along a tidal bay with huge tidal changes. Very picturesque. Mosquitos are in abundance, but that's to be expected in a saltwater tidal zone. Sites are large, with lots of open areas. Everything appears to be well maintained. Reasonably priced steamed lobster delivered to your camp site was a very option. Rate shown was for a week, using a combo of Passport America and Good Sam discounts. FHU 30 amp - #11. Easy satellite connection and Wi-Fi worked well. Firewood is very reasonably priced. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
This small, friendly campground is well-groomed and attractively laid out to provide quiet and privacy. Basic utilities are good but Wi-Fi is just okay (slow and prone to interruption). Gravel interior roads lead to level gravel RV sites or grassy tent sites. Many sites have sturdy pavilions over the picnic tables. Mown, grassy paths wind through the park connecting sites to the small pier or rocky water overlook. Restrooms are worn, but clean. The laundry facilities consist of a single washer and dryer. The host will deliver freshly prepared lobster to your door. We would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
We were here for a week and it was great. We will definitely be back. We had site #4, which is one of several that have little roofs built over the picnic tables. The sites are so well spaced, and extra vegetation makes for lots of privacy. The hosts are very friendly, with advice on what's going on in the surrounding area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Our second time here, and once again made the same mistake. Should have booked a longer stay!! I told the owner, that I would not do a review this time but I just could not help it. I am worried that too many more campers will find this absolute gem of a quiet serene "real Maine" life style here and he will fill up too soon. Bath house always clean, and they even have music piped in! Loved our perfect and delicious steamers for lunch, and a couple of beautifully steamed lobsters for dinner brought right to our door. Magical sunsets and relaxation on "the rock" down by the water. Even wild raspberries and blueberries growing in the field! Perfect hosts and really go all out to make you feel at home. We can't wait to return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
A campground along Maine's rocky coast, met with a smile a willing host. To accommodate your every need, for eight bucks a pound he'll even feed. The finest lobster upon which to feast, no finer place you'll find "DownEast". I'm reluctant to offer up this place, with all its' charm and all it's grace. No swimming pools, no big events, Just motorhomes, pop-ups, room for tents. A game of horseshoes if you desire, a picnic table, a ring for fire. Walk the trail along the shore, please don't expect a huge camp store. While there, become one with the tide, the ebb and flow such a soothing glide. Go back in time, remember when... Sunset Point it rates a ten! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
Rate is with Good Sam discount. This is a great campground. The host is very friendly and offered several recommendations on places to see in the area. We booked a Puffin Cruise through one of the local captains and had a wonderful time. The restrooms are a little dated, but were always clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
Sunset Point is a jewel. We stayed in mid-October, but we could just imagine how lovely it would be with all the vegetation in bloom. Everything met with our approval from the wonderful host to the Wi-Fi. The host wasn't sure if the signal would be strong at site #1, but it was just fine. If you can get site #1, and the tide is in, the view is superb. The only reason we don't give Sunset Point a 10 rating, is because of the remoteness of the location. Some would give it a 10 because it is so remote. When we pulled out, the host came out, waved and thanked us for staying with them. My wife remarked that it was nice of him, and I told her that it would have surprised me if he hadn't. He just seemed like that sort of a fellow. The Lobster dinners stop after Labor Day, but we'll surely stay here if we get back this way, and we'll make sure it's before Labor Day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Greeted by friendly staff. Very level site. Great view. Clean bath house. Only minor issue is our phones were on Canadian towers so charges applied. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This is a different park than the one in Lubec, Maine near Canadian border. Price was with Good Sam discount and includes tax. Older campground with dated restrooms and showers that, though roomy, needed a thorough cleaning. One washer and one dryer only, at $1.50 each per load. Saw several large rigs, a lot of dog walking and we enjoyed chatting with dog owners. There is a nice scenic trail along the water with benches for relaxing. Owner had sign that he could provide cooked lobster, though we didn't use the service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
We made our reservation for Sunrise 2 months before our arrival for a week’s stay, and were glad we did. Had we not had reservations the following week in Canada, we would have tried to stay longer. This RV park, located approximately 40 miles north of Bar Harbor suited us perfectly. The setting is absolutely gorgeous overlooking the Maine coast, and the grounds are maintained in a pristine manner with walking paths and benches to take in nature. We will definitely stay there again if proceeding up the coast of Maine but will schedule a longer stay next time. Posting a review is a very subjective task for those of us using RVParksReview so I must add that we are in a big rig, of a senior citizen age group, and traveled without the grandchildren during this stay. We were not looking for a park that had everything but were looking for an experience on the Maine Coast we would remember and our stay at Sunrise fulfilled our goal. Day trips down to Bar Harbor, (about a 90 minute drive or 40 minute boat ride), or up to the Canadian border, (near an hour’s + drive), are within reach as are boat tours and kayaking closer by. The owner has access to fresh lobster and delivered them freshly steamed to our campsite at very reasonable prices ($6/lb. for our stay). Wi-Fi was satisfactory at this park but check with the owner concerning available transmitters as there are more than just one with varying names. At our site we found “Bad Boy” to have the strongest signal, but it varies depending upon where you are. Bathrooms, showers and laundry were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
We did not find this campground as enjoyable as others. The owner, for some reason, wouldn't let us take the vacant spot that overlooked the ocean as it was apparently for motorhomes. We have a 5th wheel, that my husband could easily have put in there. We were willing to pay extra for the site with the view as my husband had pulled a muscle in his back and wasn't comfortable walking very far. Instead the owner told us to go take a pull through that did not have a view. We also noticed that the restroom trash cans were full and hadn't been emptied in what looked like several days. On the plus side, there were nice walking trails but my husband couldn't walk that far so he didn't get to enjoy the views. We found the other campers to be much friendlier than the owner. We'd been considering staying several days, but left the next morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
If you want a quiet and out of the way place, this is the park for you. Be careful for your trip planning because there are two campgrounds within an hour of each other by the same name. One is in Lubec, this one is in Harrington. Enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Very nice. Clean and well kept. Owner will cook lobster and deliver to your camper. We had two pound and a half lobster for $24. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$29
Hesitate to give this place such a glowing review, as previous poster suggested. "Would love to keep it ourselves!" But I really owe it to the owner to post a good review when deserved. Rate is Good Sam discount less $5.00 coupon over four nights. Passport America is not accepted during their busy July and August. I almost never give a "10" rating, and the park has to be pretty special to do so. This one is. Owner is fabulous and very proud of his campground. Boy did we feel spoiled! $9.00 a pound to have a full steamed to perfection lobster delivered to your site on a platter with convenient (as luckily as we forgot ours) claw cracker to share. Our site #4 is back in with full hookup and all sites seem very level. I am currently watching the owner pump out (for free) a pull through, non sewer site. Just one of the free perks along with great fast Wi-Fi, instant connect. They did have a storm one day that blew up their modem, so internet was down, but replaced and running again in 2 days. Our site does not have waterfront view, as most don't. Only a few select do. Tent sites in the woods have the best view, but they can't get Wi-Fi signal through the trees. Bathrooms dated, but very clean. The women's restroom had brand new sinks, cabinets and faucets but the men's side did not. Paper towels and soap available and very appreciated, as many do not supply that basic need. Laundry clean, but only one washer and one dryer at $1.50 each. Nice covered picnic tables at most sites with fire pit. Great shoreline walk was always nice to observe the tidal flats and view down the bay with great seating spots. Pure heaven. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Absolutely the highlight of our trip to date. This campground has owners that care. When we arrived he noticed that our step was not low enough to the ground so he brought over a wooden step to help. When we got ready to leave he asked another camper to move his truck to make it easier to get out. Oh did I mention that he delivered the cooked lobster to our rig, along with nut crackers and served on a cute lobster platter. Amazing view of tide rising and lowering. We will definitely find a way back to this little piece of campground heaven. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Paradise we found! What a beautiful place, hope no one else will come here so we can keep this spot hidden. Very well maintained campground, near the river/ocean/tidel. The sites are clean, and there are beautiful spring flowers. You can order your lobster with the owners, fresh and cooked for you! Big spots, we love this place. Very quiet: not suitable for children, just for nature lovers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
I agree with the other reviewers. This is my first entry into traveling with an RV, and a woman alone; I traveled from Florida to Nova Scotia, and I had two wonderful campgrounds, this being one of them. The owner saw that I might need extra help and was very nice. I enjoyed the lobster delivered to my site and they made me feel special. I was about the only one in the campground as it was May which made it even more special. I'll go back on my way thru. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
Everyone that stays in this park just raves about it. Include us as well. Restrooms and showers are not heated (and it was chilly), but that's about the only con we can think of. We did enjoy the lobster that the owner brought to our site. Just wish every owner was this concerned about their campground and it's visitors. They just did it right. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This is a wonderful RV park, located on the back side of a huge tidal basin. There are about 8-to-10 waterfront sites that offer great water views. Some of the others (e.g., the one we are in) offer limited views. The sites (even the pull-thrus) are very large, each with a covered picnic table (nice, since this is coastal Maine where rain does come). There is a beautiful shore walk maintained by the park with sitting benches and even a two-person swing (like on your grandmother's front porch) for viewing the birds, sunsets, and tide changes. Don't miss this. The manager is very helpful and will even cook and deliver fresh lobster upon request. The bathrooms are old, but spotless. This is not a park for people wanting video arcades, water slides, miniature golf, etc. It's for people who want to experience the quiet beauty of the Maine coast. As far as RV parks go, this represents (in my judgment) the best of real "Downeast Maine." Reserve ahead, for even in mid-week, mid-September, the place is full. This is a good place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
This was a great find in a very scenic area of Maine. I have to agree with the other post. Very nice sites with a friendly staff. Very well maintained camp ground. We stayed here under Passport America rates even over a holiday weekend. If in the area we would stay again. A very relaxing place to spend some time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
One of the nicest little campgrounds that we have stayed at. Very big rig friendly. The owner is very friendly and helpful. He takes great pride in his campground. Several of the sites have great water views and fantastic sunsets, thus the name of the campground. The owner prepares "lobstah" on request and will deliver it directly to your campsite. We will definitely stay here again if we ever return to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
This is a small quiet campground. The lawns and trails are meticulously groomed. The sites are good sized. There are great views of an ocean bay. There are several benches and a swing at the water front to view the water, sunrises and sunsets. The owners are friendly and helpful. The owner will even cook a lobster for you and bring it to your site at the time you specify. Ice and wood are reasonably priced. There is a free book exchange at the office. The owners even put out their surplus garden produce free to whoever could use it. Bathrooms and showers older but clean. 1 washer and dryer in laundry. Some very nice private tent sites. There is also room for big rigs. Very relaxing and low key. We stayed 3 days and would come back again if in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This park was very easy to get into, with wide, level sites. If sewer was not available, free pumpout was. Each site had a shaded table area and nice grassy areas, tent sites too. Has great views of the bay and walking paths. The office staff was very helpful, lobster could be cooked and delivered to site. We spent 4 nights and it was a very peaceful, picturesque spot. We definitely would stay here again and longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
A great campground, and really nice host. It sits at the end of an inlet, which the tide drains completely twice a day. There's a beautiful walking path, with benches to sit and enjoy the sunset. Wi-Fi is sporadic at best, but they've been working on improving it. We would definitely stay here again. (We paid for a month, hence reduced rate.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Sunset Point is one of the best places we have stayed. We enjoyed the shore walk and walking around on nice lush grass. It is very well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
This is a nice small campground off the beaten path. We got a level gravel pad with an outstanding view of the river/bay. Even though it had rained for several days before our arrival, we got a nice dry spot. 50A and water and sewer all worked without problems. Wi-Fi was average or better. A little slow but no drop outs. Good bicycling and kayaking opportunities in the immediate vicinity. Owner was very friendly/helpful. We got two "soft shell" steamed lobsters from him for $15. They were the best lobsters of our trip so far. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
We loved loved loved this little campground out in the country. Friendly helpful owner; covered picnic table at every site; cute and well-maintained grounds and quiet and picturesque. I hesitate to sing the praises, because I don't want it to become too well-known. And the crowning touch is that the owner has a 'lobsta' pound on the premises and will deliver lobstas to your door at your specified time - live or cooked. He arrived with a cooked lobsta for each of us on a colorful platter accompanied with crackers. The best lobsta we had on the entire trip and the total cost was $22. We would make this a destination for a week's get-away!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
This is a very nice park. The owner was super helpful and hospitable. We enjoyed the walking trails and watching the sunset from a beautiful viewing area. I highly recommend it for those seeking a quiet, peaceful environment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
A very nice quiet CG away from the hustle and bustle of the high power and expensive "tourist" areas but yet close enough so you can take a day trip to Acadia NP and the Bar Harbor area. All the sites have a nice grassy area beside the RV pad. Tent sites are on nice grassy areas. Some of the tent sites have shade. The owner has lobster, clams or crabs available and will steam them free of charge if you like. Friendly and helpful owners on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com